Interstate vehicle registration transfer

Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:33
ThreadID: 58308 Views:28162 Replies:5 FollowUps:5

I am looking at buying a Nissan Patrol from Victoria, but will need to transfer the registration to NSW.

Has anyone done this recently and what costs will I be up for.

The vehicle is too good to turn down...

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:38

Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:38
You will need a written receipt of purchase from the previous owner, a full RWC (blue Slip), Green slip and then fill out the rego paperwork at the RTA.

If you don't have a written receipt but the Vic transfer papers the RTA will NOT accept it as a transfer of ownership.

Cheers Kev,
who has just gone through transfering rego from Vic to NSW to QLD in the last 6 months :)

AnswerID: 307395

Follow Up By: PAJBOY - Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:53

Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:53
Kev,
What do you mean by a 'written receipt'.

Also- as the rego expires mid June 08, do I need to cancel this, or can I get the blue slip, green slip and just re-register it in NSW.
FollowupID: 573249

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 07:02

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 07:02
You need a receipt signed and dated with the owner stating that they have sold you the vehicle. The RTA are a PITA for this and will not accept anything different.

FollowupID: 573288

Reply By: madfisher - Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:51

Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:51
I brought a Jack from Vic 12 months ago. I was up for the cost to recover it, blue slip and rego. Biggest hassle is my rego and insurance are now due at the same time. It was the best deal arround at the time. Had to go from Bathurst to Sale to get it which was a fair run.
Good luck Pete
AnswerID: 307398

Follow Up By: PAJBOY - Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:56

Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:56
Pete, know the feeling. I am going from Orange to Sunbury for this one.

How much are the blue slips, and are they hard to get. The Patrol is modified, but nothing out of the ordinary.
FollowupID: 573251

Follow Up By: madfisher - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 17:48

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 17:48
Pajboy the Jack sailed through the blue slip. Email me on hanrahanfamily@dodo.com.au and I will give you a good place to get it done.
Mate check the rental car cos to see if they have any Vic cars they want returned . Save you running two veh back and you will not pay a one way fee.
One other thing not every garage can do blue slips, only one in Bathurst I know of.
Not going for another Paj mate lol.
FollowupID: 573389

Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 06:36

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 06:36
G'day, I did it the other way, NSW to Vic, just make sure it stays rego'ed till you are ready to register it in NSW, it was going to cost a fortune for a couple of hours driving in NSW on temporary CTP. And much easier to change rego, rather than re register it. Hope that makes sense?

AnswerID: 307445

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 07:04

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 07:04
I had to get an Unregistered vehicle permit for Darkie when I picked him up from Vic and from memory it cost less than $100 and was valid for 28 days.

FollowupID: 573289

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 09:25

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 09:25
Why not just check with RTA to get all the facts. After all, they are the registering authority. These types of transactions happen all the time. No big deal about it.
AnswerID: 307471

Reply By: donks1 - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 11:14

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 11:14
HI THERE

the transfer is 3% of purchase price up to $45000. + 3% of amount over $ 45000

donks1

AnswerID: 307494