Footies Thread 58447 reminded me of my Mis Spent Youth

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 08:50
ThreadID: 58466 Views:1694 Replies:10 FollowUps:9
Reading Footies thread about Petrol Rationing,reminded me of the
days when they used to have COIN IN THE SLOT Petrol Bowsers, a few Service Stations would have these on site, for after hours Serve
Your Self Petrol, as long as you had plenty of Twenty Cent Pieces
you would be able to feed the Coin in the Slot in the wall adjacent to
the Petrol Bowser, and top up your tank, I used to do this in Southport, on the Gold Coast, it is surprising how far Twenty Cents
would take you, if you had a Young Lady with you, and she wanted to get home, she would allways donate to the Filling Fund.

Daza

Reply By: Brian - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 08:53

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 08:53
I don't remember coin-slot petrol bowsers, but my aunty had a coin operated TV back in the early/mid 60's..... my old man hated it 'cos he'd run outta 2 bobs before the movie ended and he didn't get to see "whodunnit"....... LOL.......

Brian (Gold Coast)
AnswerID: 308294

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 08:59

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 08:59
Daza,

LOL I remember one of those near the old bridge over the railway at Fairfield in Sydney's west. Thank God we did'nt need too many 20c pieces to top up the tank.

AnswerID: 308297

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 09:02

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 09:02
So its the old school version of teh credit card swiper thats around these days!!

and 20c coin.... these days maybe start at a $20 note!!!!
AnswerID: 308298

Follow Up By: TD100 - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 09:45

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 09:45
$20 note these days wouldnt make the gauge move ! LOL Paul
FollowupID: 574161

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 11:50

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 11:50
TD your supposed to put the $20 in the bowser not in your tank......

FollowupID: 574171

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 10:25

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 10:25
And here was I thinking that I was an old fossil. You guys guy back Waaay furthere than I by the sounds of it. Or perhaps my memory isn't just that good... LOL
AnswerID: 308311

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 15:25

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 15:25
Gees Footy

I am not up to the Old Fossil stage yet, just a worn out old Tube
Surgeon, (Plumber) who is 61 in October, but I have seen a lot of
Fluid pass under my Boots.

Daza
FollowupID: 574189

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 15:40

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 15:40
And here I was thinking a Tube surgeon was a Gyno...crikey, I have tried to get someone to replace my guttering for two years...I think that all the "Tube surgeons " must be in the mines .
FollowupID: 574192

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 15:56

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 15:56
Hey if I was that sort of Tube Surgeon, you wouldnt get the smile of
my face with a Pinch Bar, and I would not charge, and my Cook might
not see the funny side of it.

Daza
FollowupID: 574195

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 16:26

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 16:26
I rekkon I'd have ended up single. Imagine how boring you'd find the fairer sex after doing that stuff all day.
FollowupID: 574199

Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 11:22

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 11:22
Yes Daza I too can remember those coin operated bowsers but it was before I was old enough to drive. If I recall correctly Brisbane metro area had a petrol roster in those days as well so that only a limited number of stations were allowed open on the week -end - one or two in each area. The rest were open only Mon to Friday (certainly no 24 hr places except on main highways). So all service stations had a turn at being open on weekend. I remember when we had to travel outside metro are to get fuel as it was closer to do this than go to nearest rostered station.
The coin operated bowsers came into being so that they could sell fuel when they were rostered off as well as after hours.
How times have changed!
Glen
AnswerID: 308315

Reply By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 13:55

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 13:55
Guys, as a youngen I can just remember when on a trip with my mates dad up the street...late 50's early 60's....we pulled into a place and he pumped the fuel up into the top of the bowser so you could how many gallons you were buying and then drain it into the tank...which was on the rear of the vehicle which was where the fuel guage was located....the radiator cap had a thermometer built into it which you could see from the front seat...the tail light had to switch you pulled to turn on....NO stop light....the head lights were HUGE and the wiper motor(with ONE wiper) was up high on the windscreen....in our street, maybe 50 families only 3 had a car of any sought...the fish man had a scooter come van thing...the baker had a horse and cart... the milko had a ute of some kind....the ice man had a big truck( I was little then)....there were corner shops...the grocery bus would come into our street...you could buy wheat and chaff by the bushell for the chooks....I had to help when it was time to clean out the grease trap (remember the french drains) and to go down town...AWESOME what a trip that was...I can remember mum's share number 1658 at the co-op....this was my world..did not know much about Bunbury, Perth, or Sydney...that was the other end of the earth...LOL
AnswerID: 308337

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 14:51

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 14:51
Now i'm starting to understand why families were so much larger back then... ;-)

AnswerID: 308347

Now i'm starting to understand why families were so much larger back then... ;-)

AnswerID: 308348

AnswerID: 308349

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 14:52

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 14:52
Damn server issue again.....

FollowupID: 574184

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 23:49

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 23:49
Hahahahahahaha fat fingers more likely :)))

FollowupID: 574378

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 05:57

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 05:57
You leave my fingers alone...they have feelings also. :-)

FollowupID: 574388

Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 23:46

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 23:46
Daza. In 1966, the year we went decimal, I was a young Soldier living in RedHill, Brisbane, and along the main road where the tram ran, was a coin in the slot servo. I went to use it one night to put a couple of coins in to get enough fuel to get me to Wacol the next day, but it seemed to be jammed. After a bit of poking around, I discovered one of those new 2 cent coins was the culprit, and as I tried to clear it out it went in the slot, and lo and behold, the pump lit up and the motor ran. Poked the nozzle in my tank and got 20 cents worth of fuel. Fumbled around in my pocket and the glove box and found a few more, and yes they worked. Beauty. Went home and got a few more from my very new SWMBO, and just about filled the old Simca up for 10 or 20 cents. Went back the following night, but as expected it only took 20c. coins. Damn!! Was that 42 years ago? Seemed like only yesterday. Same SWMBO though. Plus four adult kids, and eleven Grandkids.Time flies. Cheers.
Roger B.....
AnswerID: 308451