Rain Photos - Birdsville

Submitted: Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 15:20
ThreadID: 58558 Views:3427 Replies:12 FollowUps:18
Just loaded a few photos taken at lunchtime following the rain. Note the two new signs which will be of interest. The river is rising - just from local rain - good for the fishing and yabbieing.

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 15:21

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 15:21
Sorry, forgot to say the photos are in my Gallery.
AnswerID: 308775

Follow Up By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 15:48

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 15:48
So with so many fish.....dinner at your place tonight?
FollowupID: 574800

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 15:59

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 15:59
Good photos Ruth.
Is it still raining?
Vince
FollowupID: 574801

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 18:14

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 18:14
Phillip - unfortunately those fish were caught last year. Now the river is filling up the fish dinner WIlll be at our place, hopefully.
Vince, stopped raining at 11:00 pm last night. Cloudy but sunny today - enough to dry out bits of everything.
FollowupID: 574830

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 15:57

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 15:57
Great to see the rain out your way and wish some was here in Dubbo.
Great catch of Yellowbelly. IMHO the best inland fish to eat.
Thanks for the info and pics.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 308779

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 18:17

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 18:17
Hopefully we will have plenty of yellowbelly again - Ian just came back and the river is up another foot from when I took those photos. Plenty of froth on top.
FollowupID: 574831

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 19:45

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 19:45
Dodger it appears the rain isa heading east . Bourke has has 26mm since 9am so we may get some next.
FollowupID: 574863

Reply By: T-Ribby - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 16:39

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 16:39
Interesting pics Ruth, thanks
T.R.
AnswerID: 308788

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 18:18

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 18:18
Hello TR - you've been quiet.
FollowupID: 574832

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 17:01

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 17:01
Ruth

Excellent info - even with pictures - thanks for that.

Going by those photos, maybe I won't be in Birdsville in a weeks time

AnswerID: 308797

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 18:21

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 18:21
ALan, you know the EO motto - Never Give Up! Provided there is not anymore rain in that lot coming over from WA - few days sun and bit of wind makes all the world of difference to the drying out. You may not be able to come the way you hoped - that's why it's called 'adventures'. Mind you, Cordillo has had 3 inches as well. Keep positive, until the last minute.
FollowupID: 574834

Reply By: Max 460 - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 17:59

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 17:59
Given that we're sitting at lake view caravan park at broken hill for the last couple of days impatiently waiting for roads to open so we can go to camerons corner, down the strezleiki and back up to birdsville...I've got everything crossed hoping that magnificent rain and river subsides!!
AnswerID: 308825

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 18:24

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 18:24
Max, might be a bit wet at Camerons seeing as Tibboburra had 26 mm but you never know.Marree to Mungerannie is Open to 4WD but Mung. to Bdv is still closed - the heaviest rain was at Clifton Hills, half way along (and the turn off to Walkers Crossing.
A lot depends on how much falls in the next predicted rain on Thursday - I think the cloud will slip south of us. LIke I said to the others - keep positive and make other plans, in case!
FollowupID: 574835

Follow Up By: Max 460 - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 19:16

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 19:16
Cheers Ruth - Agreed, have the weather radar just playing out on the laptop this arvo, hopefully the next front fizzles out up this way. Plans B, C and D being formed!
FollowupID: 574852

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 20:17

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 20:17
Ruth,

Good stuff. Awesome cloud bank.
Stopping over in 3 weeks and I now know what your place looks like. :)
Will drop by a say G'day.
AnswerID: 308866

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 07:18

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 07:18
Richard, that cloud bank was taken by Blue the Plumber who lives across the road - it was in December 07 and the dumped 52 mm, no rain until this week.
See you in a while.
FollowupID: 574962

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen - Melb) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 20:25

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 20:25
Yabbies eh. I can remember a great night with a whole bowl of yabbies. Jen had never eaten yabbies and boy was she full when we got to the bottom of that bowl. Was it chilli dip and a garlic dip and some red sitting out with Mr and Mrs Pesty - cmon Jen - help me - she can't remember either for some reason....

AnswerID: 308869

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 07:23

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 07:23
We remember that night because it was such fun - that was the night the yabbies had been marinated in heaps of garlic and olive oil and chucked on the barbie and you encouraged Jen to lose her inhibitions (so it would work to your advantage later) - but the best laid plans of mice and men - not too romantic with her head in a bucket all night, eh Andrew? And you had such plans!
Hopefully, the yabbies will be back quick time soon.
FollowupID: 574963

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 20:32

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 20:32
Ruth

the cold front that passed thru here last night was a beauty. A few houses lost their roofs just north of us. A fair bit of rain but a whole lot of wind. It extended up to Shark Bay so if it picks up some moisture in the Bight, look out.

I reckon Adelaide will definitely get a drenching at the end of the week.

All depends on how far inland it reaches.

Better pack my wellies.

AnswerID: 308873

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 07:26

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 07:26
Oh didn't realise about that until the News last night. I think it will slip south of us - lately it seems as though the fronts have to be up as far as Broome to come past here. Bit foggy here this a.m. and going to put another photo up it a minute.
See you and R. soon.
FollowupID: 574964

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 06:00

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 06:00
Gr8 pics Ruth ,, gotta love it

All the best to you and Ian !

AnswerID: 308943

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 07:27

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 07:27
Thanks Bucky.
FollowupID: 574966

Reply By: Brian - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 07:10

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 07:10
Of course it's raining out there....... it's because we planned to visit! LOL....

Brian (Gold Coast)
AnswerID: 308944

Reply By: Brian - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 07:13

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 07:13
Great pics there Ruth!!

Brian (Gold Coast)
AnswerID: 308945

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 07:28

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 07:28
Brian, go back into the Gallery and check out the fog this a.m.
See you soon.
FollowupID: 574967

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 13:45

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 13:45
Hi Ruth.
About 8 of us plan to spend a night with you on the 1st July and then head up the Hay River. Will come across Walker's Crossing if its open. Your updates are much appreciated and given the approaching school holidays many will be looking for your info over coming weeks. I certainly will be!
With this recent rain how long till the flowers are likely to come out? Heard lots of stories but never been there at the right time.
Second question is whether the Museum is still open. It would have to be one of the most entertaining 3 hours I have ever spent!!
Cheers for now.
AnswerID: 308996

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 14:44

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 14:44
Same here Leigh , will be heading up for school holidays staying sat 28th , should things be open.
On our hay river trip , same time 2 years ago, the weather was seriously perfect.

FollowupID: 575039

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 19:36

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 19:36
Thanks for that Robin. I am chaffing at the bit to get out of here and hoping for a great 3 week trip. Three 4wd's and three seasoned bike riders. Cheers
FollowupID: 575107

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 07:34

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 07:34
Leigh and Robin - sorry couldn't get in yesterday to reply because EO kept coming up with Server Error.
Now, the Museum is still open and John Menzies is still the man to listen to.
Flowers should be starting to come out - the northern part of the SImpson hasn't received the rains (as far as we can tell) so the Hay should be right. The weather has been perfect - cold sunny mornings with clear blue days (warm) and should be like that again after this next fron due today/tomorrow - only difference will be it should be much colder. At least there have been no winds!
I think Walkers may still be out - but you never know. OF course I will post as soon as anything changes. You'll have a good trip either way.
FollowupID: 575190

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 08:09

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 08:09
Many thanks Ruth.
FollowupID: 575194