Got my new Patrol

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 20:06
ThreadID: 58614 Views:2887 Replies:5 FollowUps:11
Picked up my new Patrol last night, traded a Series 3 Gu for a new 2008 CRD. I stayed with the St model as it appears a lot of the features that was in the ST-L when i bought my last one has now been incorporated into the ST model.

Besides a noticeable upgrade in interior trim the main difference is the common rail injection.

As it is not run in yet the motor feels tighter than my old one, but it appears to be able to pull better at low revs. I see how it goes over the next few months as the motor loosens up.

I also scored free sat nav and reversing camera, the nissan operating manuals are very short on technical details for these so over the next few weeks i may be asking the forum some questions.

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 20:24

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 20:24
Hi Alan

We ordered ours on the weekend, we pick it up at the end of the month, suits our business, its an Automatic, we got the Bull Bar and
Tow Bar and Driving Lights with the deal, colour is Desert Gold its also 2008 model,
Got a good deal because its the second Nissan we have bought in
the last 18 months, it will suit our needs.hope you enjoy yours.

Happy Motoring

Daza
AnswerID: 309088

Follow Up By: Member - Bob K (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:23

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:23
Hi Daza,
Just a couple of quick questions -
How do you find the navara as a tow vehicle?

And, how much does the York weigh?

Looks a nice setup.

Chers,
bobk
FollowupID: 575131

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:38

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:38
Daza

I got the steel bull bar because of personnel preference, i kept my driving lights, accesory wiring etc and i will be fitting all this back into the new vehicle.

All round though on a dollar for dollar basis i reckon i got good deal .

FollowupID: 575134

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 15:56

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 15:56
Hi Bob K

We find the Navara is very capable for towing our van, I recently had
the van weighed out at the local Weigh Bridge, fully loaded , with full
water tanks it come in at 2200 kgs, we sit on about 100ks when
travelling, and we mostly drive in 4th gear, which is recommended
by Nissan, it also goes well in 5th gear when your on flat roads ect.
we also tow the van up Teewah Beach every chance we get, I
ordered the New Patrol for the Cook, because she wants to share the driving when we go on tour, currently she has a Ford Exploder
with only 70000ks on the dial, its only 6years old, she uses it as a
shopping trolley,I will be glad to see it go.

Daza
FollowupID: 575254

Follow Up By: Member - Bob K (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 17:36

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 17:36
Thanks for that Dazza, sounds great.
cheers,
bobk
FollowupID: 575275

Reply By: donk - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:54

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:54
Lots of Patrol information here

Site Link

Regards Don
AnswerID: 309120

Reply By: new boy - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 14:50

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 14:50
I also have ordered an Auto Stone colour Patrol I liked the extra's Bull bar lights snorkel tow bar and roof rack pick mine up after a O/S trip in July
AnswerID: 309227

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 22:23

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 22:23
As per usual after i get mine and pay for the bullbar, snorkel & towbar, they start to offer them free.

Happen the same when i bought my last one.

FollowupID: 575381

Reply By: Member - Darren & Janella (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 15:25

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 15:25
G'day Alan, congrats on your new purchase. In addition to the Patrol 4x4 Forum posted above there is also a WA offshoot at Nissan Patrol 4x4 WA Forum
Also, not sure if you are aware but there is also a WA based Patrol club (with its own forum now as well) Western Patrol Club
It's a family orientated club with a great bunch of people.

Darren
Bungle Bungle - The Kimberley

AnswerID: 309242

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 22:21

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 22:21
I found about the club a few weeks ago when a mate from work who belongs to LC club dropped in for a meeting.

I am interest as i have been considering joining a club for a while.

I ma going to try to make the next meeting.

Are you member sof it?

FollowupID: 575380

Follow Up By: Member - Darren & Janella (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 22:43

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 22:43
Hi Alan,

Yep, come along to the next meeting on Wed 25 June, 7pm @ Rivervale Community Centre and see what you think. If you check out the forum there are a heap of trips that are basically open to all at present that you might be interested in coming along to. Oh and yes we just became members at the last meeting.

Might see you there. My forum name is Bloggsy.

Darren
Bungle Bungle - The Kimberley

FollowupID: 575385

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 22:55

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 22:55
I will try to get there, just i live well out of perth so i can be difficult at times.
Might see you then.
FollowupID: 575390

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 20:59

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 20:59
Nice Alan , I'm sure you will like it even more than the previous one but you didn't tell us if its auto/manual and why !

AnswerID: 309358

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 22:16

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 22:16
I have a fixation that 4wd's need to be manual, cars can be auto so i forget that because others think differently i should say what it is.

This one is manual, and my last two were all manuals. So the performance and drive between the series 3 and the new Series 6 is based on he same transmission.

The change is still very tight so i am keen to see how it loosens up over time.

The first trip away is in july, heading north toward Mt Elvire round to Menzies, Kal and home via cave hill so it will be good to see how it gors then.

FollowupID: 575376

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Jun 12, 2008 at 08:10

Thursday, Jun 12, 2008 at 08:10
Hi Alan

Prefer manual also, but I have never really driven a manual 3lt.
Last time i tried I was told that there was a worldwide shortage and local Nissan would not get one for 4 months.
My 4800 is a manual but it has lots of low down torque and so doesn't need the auto's off line advantage in that area.

The one you have would be interesting now that torque has been inceased to 380 over the 354 of the auto and it will be interesting to here if yours has a noticeable improvement in that area when it frees up.

FollowupID: 575416

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Thursday, Jun 12, 2008 at 12:31

Thursday, Jun 12, 2008 at 12:31
Robin

I had no problem getting a manual, there was a slight delay though if i wanted white, so i chose the platinum and it was exstock in the dealers yard.

The increase in torque is probably why it pulls better at low revs.

FollowupID: 575461