As a new member but a long term visitor

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:25
ThreadID: 58618 Views:1766 Replies:3 FollowUps:8
I would like to welcome myself to the forum and ask the question How are long term travellers coping with the rising fuel prices.
Come July, I will be heading off from Tassie for my second attempt at touring Aus.
Cheers and G'day to everyone
Kev

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:31

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:31
Like the government, I can't help you with rising fuel prices.

I can however, welcome you to the nuthouse.

AnswerID: 309108

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:33

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:33
G'day Kev. Buy six bottles of wine from Woolies and save 20c a litre. That's what I'm doing at the moment. Can save $30 on a 3/4 fill up so worth it for me.

AnswerID: 309110

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:45

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:45
is there a limit on the amount of lts you can get the discount on?
also hallo Kev, welcome mate.
FollowupID: 575137

Follow Up By: Member -Outback Mac C (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 22:29

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 22:29
Yep limit 150 litres. However you can get a couple over their 2 week promotion, which for me is great as we hit the road to FNQ this weekend. It will help soften my $400 fill a couple of times.
Cheers Mac
FollowupID: 575151

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 22:55

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 22:55
I bought four lots of six bottles in one hit yesterday.

Four receipts.

Going over to Melbourne on Sunday then up to the Gathering so that will save me a few dollars.

FollowupID: 575154

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 23:05

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 23:05
& the good thing is you can get clean skins for about $6 a bottle and get 10% of the bottle prices. So a damn good deal for once.
I was going to travel to Kalgoorlie lugging empty jerries on the roof to save weight but may fill up in Perth, before we leave for the desert at the end of the month, instead of filling them in Laverton or Kal..

FollowupID: 575156

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 08:20

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 08:20
We do not have a BWS in the town where there is a Woolies (Kingaroy) so I miss out, would have been nice to stock up on both and save a few bucks haha.

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 575197

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 22:51

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 22:51
That's a very good question, Kev. I'd assume that they would be driving more slowly and perhaps waiting for the monthly pension instead of the fortnight before moving on. Also making more pension stops along the way ?
AnswerID: 309135

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 23:07

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 23:07
What are 'pension stops?' Is it really late at night or am I really young?
FollowupID: 575158

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 23:12

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 23:12
Brian, probably both :))
Some pensioners stop in a cheap place(cp or free camp) until they have enough money to afford to travel to the next one. They in effect "save" enough to continue travelling.
I was told this some years ago when I was also young. I was amazed that you could actually do it that way.
Sneeky ol buggars these old people eh ? LOL
FollowupID: 575160

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 03:47

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 03:47
I doubt that it is both (but I can dream about youthful virility) LOL

FollowupID: 575177