CHEAP fuel in SA!

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:51
ThreadID: 58619 Views:2640 Replies:4 FollowUps:8
Hi Gang,
Well, done a bit travelling interstate in the last month, namely SA to NSW several times on holidays and work. If your travelling through RENMARK, fill up at the Woolie's on the main drag. I've filled up there 4 times in the past month and the price is consistently 14 CPL cheaper ( with a 4 cent docket) for diesel than anywhere in SA or NSW. Dont know why it is - but I filled the Prado anyhow. On Saturday 7th June, I filled at $1.72.9, where everywhere else was $1.84.9.
As Molly Meldrum would say: "Do yourself a favour".
Anyone else got a hot tip on petrol/diesel prices?

Cheers, Matt

Reply By: Member - David P (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 22:46

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 22:46
Until they get a fresh load I suspect
AnswerID: 309131

Follow Up By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 08:10

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 08:10
Dave,
Maybe, maybe not. I filled up there May 7th for $1.60.9 cpl, again on May 24th for $1.68.9 and June 7th for $1.72.9.
Fresh load or price gouging on the load already in their tanks?
Either way, cheaper than anywhere else in SA that I've seen!

Cheers, Matt
FollowupID: 575195

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 19:41

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 19:41
I guess you would have to look at the ability of a business to survive outside of selling just fuel such as servicing , food etc and also if they are on and service a truck route ....I wouldn't want to be trying to survive on fuel sales predominantly ......cheers Matt
FollowupID: 575303

Reply By: tukka - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 22:49

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 22:49
Yeah Wyndham in the Kimberleys mate, if anywhere near there then make sure ya pop into Kimberley Motors (Tourist Information place also), 1.64 a litre for diesel. Always has been and always will be the cheapest fuel in the Kimberley. Expect to pay 1.90+ in Kununurra which is only 100k away.
AnswerID: 309133

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 23:00

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 23:00
So I should save one of my 20 cents per litre vouchers until I get to Renmark.

AnswerID: 309140

Follow Up By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 08:11

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 08:11
Gone Bush,
Yep - I've had similiar dockets to you that I redeemed interstate without question.

Cheers, Matt
FollowupID: 575196

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 08:55

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 08:55
Now they load them onto those plastic cards Woolies issue. It's a national scheme so I'm not expecting any problems.

FollowupID: 575205

Follow Up By: DIO - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 09:24

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 09:24
I signed on for one of WW Everday Rewards, got my 10 cents per litre, used it and cut the card up. I refuse to play their game as every time you shop they record what you buy, the quantities, sizes, weights etc etc and over a period of time gather quite a handy profile of your shopping habits. Something they don't tell you about when they issue them. You don't have to use the card to get petrol discounts. They will still issue you with the paper receipt which I find much better as I can keep an eye on the expiry date and not have to bother about logging on etc in order to check it. When these cards were first introduced, checkout staff regularly asked if you had one. They don't bother anymore as most people are a 'wake-up' and refuse to use them. The WW petrol discount has always been a 'national scheme' and petrol vouchers were always redeemable at any WW or Safeway servo.
FollowupID: 575209

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 09:54

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 09:54
Gone Bush, I got the 20c offer too, but I wanted to know from Woolies when it could be used, as I already had a couple of 4c entries on the card.
I rang the 1300 number and they said the larger amount is used first, you have no choice, that's it.
The reason I rang was my wife wanted to get some fuel in her little runabout, but I didn't have time to get there and fill up my 150 litres worth, and I didn't want to waste the 20c offer on about 20 litres in her car.

DIO, we have no choice here about getting the paper docket, they stopped issuiing those in a few stores around SA and in Broken Hil You eitherr get the plastic card or nothing.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 575212

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 13:04

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 13:04
I'm not a big fan of Woolies and their desire to be in control of everything retail in Australia, but if there's an opportunity to make a real saving I'll take it.

Just filled up. 170 litres of diesel. Presented my 20 cents off voucher (see above), bought the morning paper and some milk to get an extra 4 cents off.

24 cents per litre off made the price $1.60 per litre. I'll cop all the accusations of caving in to big business but that saved me $36 at the pump. I buy wine anyway, and the paper and milk.

And I'll do it a couple more times on the way to Innamicka.

Laughing.

AnswerID: 309209

Follow Up By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 20:26

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 20:26
Gone Bush,

Wot? Via Remark? :-)

Cheers, Matt
FollowupID: 575318

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 20:32

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 20:32
Yeah, dropping in to Melbourne on the way over.

I believe there's a prize for the longest distance travelled to get there.

FollowupID: 575324