Fuel Prices - Nullabor

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 09:42
ThreadID: 58750 Views:4384 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
Hi there. I am about to drive the Nullabor and guess what I'm concerned about fuel prices. Anyone know current diesel prices at Norseman, Balladonia, Caiguna, Cocklebiddy, Madura, Eucla and Nundroo? Thanks very much

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 09:54

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 09:54
Try looking Here

AnswerID: 309850

Follow Up By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 10:16

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 10:16
Hi John,

Isn't it interesting (having had a look at your link) that the prices in WA (with Fuel Watch) are dearer than the rest of the country.

I guess Fuel Watch really works ........... if your in the oil game but not if your a paying consumer.

There will be hell to pay if Rudd gets this wrong and this is the result of Fuel Watch being introduced nationally.
FollowupID: 575801

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 10:29

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 10:29
I would say that it is hard to tell because the WA scheme requires that the prices are phoned in daily so they are more up to date, and WA would have much more remote fuel prices (like $3/litre) to skew the avg.
FollowupID: 575806

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 11:11

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 11:11
Fuel Watch does not work, many of Rudd's own government departments have advised him that it will not mean lower prices.
The only one that differed was the ACCC and its pretty clear that Samuel is trying to keep favor with his boss.

Remember that this is a populist PM that will tell people anything they want to hear.

FollowupID: 575824

Follow Up By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 16:13

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 16:13
G'day John,

Don't we all want to hear that fuel prices have fallen back below the $1.00 mark ??????? Yah, I know.....I'm dreaming...LOL

FollowupID: 575869

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 09:58

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 09:58
Mate
Up to $2.20 a lt, as far as know, but I could be wrong

Don't even worry about it..

I have the attitude.............. you are gunna need it, so why worry, as there is nothing you can do to avoid paying higher prices.

The only thing you can do is change your driving style a little, to get the most mileage out of your hard earned $ ,,

Try holding your speed at 95 km/hr, this will give you better economy, and if your diesel motor is turbo'd, then let the turbo whistle up on hills, and not kick down on the throttle.

This works a treat !

AnswerID: 309852

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 10:22

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 10:22
*Don't even worry about it..
I have the attitude.............. you are gunna need it, so why worry, as there is nothing you can do to avoid paying higher prices.*

Spot on Bucky,If its that much of a concern get out of the 4wd game because its bloody expensive,Always has been and always will be....But people dont think twice about eating takeway,Buying food and drinks from service stations etc etc.

FollowupID: 575804

Follow Up By: DIO - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 10:31

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 10:31
1. You've obviously decided to go on your trip.

2. In order to partake of and complete your trip you will obviously require fuel.

3. With an empty tank and without fuel you will be unable to continue your journey.

4. If you desire to continue your journey then you will HAVE to buy fuel.

5. Under these circumstances, why continue to worry about the price of fuel at the risk of spoiling your trip. Just get out there and enjoy yourselves. Above all keep safe.
FollowupID: 575809

Follow Up By: Member - kevin Y (SA) - Monday, Jun 16, 2008 at 17:37

Monday, Jun 16, 2008 at 17:37
way to go------ best 5 reasons to keep going lol
FollowupID: 576370

Reply By: Member - kevin Y (SA) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 10:00

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 10:00
week ago at nunroo diesel was 1.85 nullabor 2.16 penong 1.82
AnswerID: 309853

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 10:54

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 10:54
Diesel in Kempsey NSW last week $1.81

Nullabour looks OK!
Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 575819

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 22:44

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 22:44
I get diesel at Caltex Penong - as well as being cheapest, the trucks fill up there - used to be $1000 at a time, but I guess they'd be putting a few $$$ more in now!
FollowupID: 576250

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 11:21

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 11:21
Paul,

You'll find that the Shell servo in Norseman is the cheapest there, only by a cent or so, but it's still cheapest.

Next, avoid Balladonia like the plague.

After that, Mundrabilla, Nundroo and Penong are the cheapest but I believe Eucla is now matching Mundrabilla.

These three, M, N & P, are all SAFF outlets (South Australian Farmers Fuel ?? , I think) and while cheapest, be aware that their diesel is 5% bio, just in case you don't like biodiesel.

We are leaving tomorrow to go east as well. We had planned going to Hyden then on the dirt to Norseman but the odds are that road will be rain afected by Monday so we will go via Coolgardie.

If you see a red Cruiser trayback towing a Trakmaster sing out. We'll be on CH40.

AnswerID: 309869

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 12:38

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 12:38
Does it matter?
When ya need it ya got to pay for it.
Last Christmas we went from Alice to Kalbari across the Nullabour and back and it cost us about $3500 in fuel. Being concerned about fuel prices doesnt help, it just depresses you. Besides its still heaps cheaper than beer!

AnswerID: 309896

Follow Up By: Member - kevin Y (SA) - Monday, Jun 16, 2008 at 17:42

Monday, Jun 16, 2008 at 17:42
lots of hangovers on $3.500-- BEER BETTER DO THE TRIP INSTEAD
FollowupID: 576373

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jun 16, 2008 at 18:34

Monday, Jun 16, 2008 at 18:34
huh?
FollowupID: 576385

Reply By: Trev (SA) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 17:51

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 17:51
It's probably only going to cost you $5 to $10 a tank more and it will only be a one or two off so just go!
AnswerID: 309955