Project TONI

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 15:08
ThreadID: 58766 Views:5740 Replies:9 FollowUps:15
Some of you have been following my exploits re the 3lt patrol going POP, see thread: 58452.

Project TONI is soon to be under way, we have located and purchased a donor 2006 model 1HD-FTE Motor, Auto Trans (5spd) and Transfer case, along with CPU and wiring harness. The donor unit is only 25000km young.
The project will start in earnest next week 15/6/08 and with luck and good planning will take 4-6 weeks to complete.

I will from time to time post pics and info as we go. This will offer others in the 3ltr mine field an alternative option to rebuilding the zd30 engine and the chance for it to happen again.

The Nissan chassis and body are as tough as any on the market, it's a sad pity the zd30 does not match it, while working they are a sweet motor and a pleasure to drive, BUT come that fateful moment it's a sad disappointment.

So rebuilding the zd30 was NEVER an option, nor was putting in a thumping great lump of cast iron in the form of the Chevy V8, it added way too much weight, for the power provided.

The sr 100TD engine seemed to me the only real option with an automatic transmission (Wife's everyday drive).

As far as I know it's not been done before, but I could be wrong.

The overall cost is a bit cheaper ($2-3K) than the V8 option too.

Stay tuned if you are interested in how it's going. I will try to include a pic or two along the way.

Project TO-NI, a Nissan body with a Toyota heart, an unbeatable combination of attributes.

Colin.

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 15:12

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 15:12
Hope all goes well.
Will be watching with baited breath.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 309918

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 15:31

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 15:31
Thanks Dodg,
If planning means anything it should not be as hard as it may seem at first, and we have spent 3.5 weeks planning this so far. I hope we have thought of as many things as possible, if not all.
Colin
FollowupID: 575860

Reply By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 15:27

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 15:27
When you get that engine in there mated up to the auto box it will be a top unit.
Hope all goes well for Col

Remember no throwing spanners when things go wrong.
Have a good one

AnswerID: 309923

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 15:34

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 15:34
Thanks Rock Ape.
What's behind the name??
Are you from Gibraltar??, they have rock apes there.LOL

Colin.
FollowupID: 575862

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 16:11

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 16:11
No Col I am a born and bred cane toad. The name comes from what I do for a living, I work underground in hard rock mining and the name given to us by ethers are rock apes. (I am sure they mean it in a nice way) .As the saying goes strong like bull, smart like tractor.

I have a 6.5l in my troopy which is a great setup, I get just over 12l/100k- 8.2/litre at 2200 to 2300 revs with the big tires I run this is 95k/h. This setup is fine for me dynoed at 408kn at the back wheels in 4th gear.

What you are doing will make a top unit as the Toyota is a much more technically advanced and refined engine than the chev also you are mating it to a great drive train.

FollowupID: 575867

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 16:28

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 16:28
Rock Ape
My family originally came from Yorkshire and the have a saying
"Yorkshire born, Yorkshire bred, strong in back, weak in head"
Like yours I am sure they mean well !!!!!

The V8 6.5 is a heavy engine, how does the Troopy like it up front, and does it effect your handling much.

I belive the added weight is near 175-200Kg OVER the original motor. Thats a lot of extra metal above the front axle.
Colin
FollowupID: 575873

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 16:47

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 16:47
The 6.5l is only 15kg heavier than the original engine so there is no difference in handling at all, I believe someone has given you the wrong info on the engine weight. One good thing about them is they have roller rockers and hydralic lifters so you don't have to adjust tappets.
People say they are noisy but mine is only slightly noiser then the original motor, the 7.3l F truck Ivco motors are the noisy ones.

I will follow your progress with great interest

Have a safe one Colin

The Ape
FollowupID: 575878

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 17:07

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 17:07
Rock Ape
I bow to your superior knowledge, I was sure someone said that the V8 comes in at 350kg, obviously I am wrong, thanks for that mate.
Colin
FollowupID: 575891

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 20:37

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 20:37
Colin
Don't bow to anything just get even.

Good luck and I really hope you succeed in what you are doing, cause I know you will.

There are those who don't and there are those who do and I believe you are the latter.

FollowupID: 575978

Reply By: Member -Signman - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 15:57

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 15:57
There will still be a place for you on the Simpson Trip...
Could be a good ' run in' exersise !!!
Cheers..

AnswerID: 309931

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 16:17

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 16:17
Did'nt you know David

"Pist'n Broke"

I would love to, as you well know, but funds will be a bit tight this year still following the heart & lung transplant, anyway fuel will come down in price next year, you see, a flying pig told me so.

The Simpson will be absolutly beautiful in August following the recent rains.

I was talking to a woman from Desert Parks SA last week and they are predicting a bumper year for wild flowers and plant life for the remainder of this year and possibly next year too.

Try to have a good time without us mate, however hard it might be. LOL
Colin.
FollowupID: 575870

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 17:43

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 17:43
could have done you a deal on a SWEET 2.8 diesel, low kms ect

AnswerID: 309951

Reply By: Member -Captain Chaos (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 19:17

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 19:17
Hi on Patrol
I will be very interested in this project I have been contemplating the same thing when mine goes bang so please keep us informed.
AnswerID: 309972

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 20:13

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 20:13
Captain Chaos & 3.0Turbob

All future posts on this subject will be titled "Project TONI" keep a look out for them, thanks.

Colin.
FollowupID: 575969

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 21:41

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 21:41
I reckon "NITA" sounds better.......

;-)))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 576238

Reply By: 3.0turbob - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 19:58

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 19:58
I'll be watching with great interest as well. I'v often wondered if you could transplant a Tojo motor into a Patrol. I had a 4 cylinder petrol 4Runner before the Patrol, that I had converted to a V6 commodore motor that went very well.

Rob
AnswerID: 309980

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 20:14

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 20:14
Captain Chaos & 3.0Turbob

All future posts on this subject will be titled "Project TONI" keep a look out for them, thanks.

Colin.
FollowupID: 575970

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 09:45

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 09:45
Good luck with it Col, did the TD42T enter into the equation or was it just too heavy on juice to consider?

Torque figures are not with the toyota's but HP certainly higher in my Patrol than the Toyota's. I would have thought it to be a fairly "simple" operation as far as conversions go????? (3.0 to 4.2 Patrol motors)

Again, like others I will be watching with interest.

Best regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 310044

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:12

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 10:12
G'day Trev
Many factors were considered when the choice was made including converting the Nissan 4.2 to auto etc.., availability of donor engines (Toyota's seem to be more common) power on tap without expensive mods (this project is expensive enough already without adding to it). The Tojo is a tried and proven motor with a 5spd auto attached and well matched to that engine. The Nissan converted would be a bit of an unknown quantity (not the engine, rather the conversion).

We looked at many options including 4.8 petrol Nissan, Chevy V8, ZD30 again, 4.2TD Nissan and the 1HD-FTE full conversion (which surprisingly turned out one of the cheaper options other than the ZD30 rebuild) The secondhand market for Toyota engine/transmission assemblies is surprisingly reasonable.

Thanks for your interest Trev. As stated I will keep you all posted as we go.

Colin

PS it's a year ago this week we missed you in Mackay, don time fly.
FollowupID: 576063

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 19:46

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 19:46
Bloomin eck 12 months hey? That has gone fast. Won't be that I missed you next time, just that I won't be able to catch you hey? Just have to keep your young fella's dirty mits off "TONI" and it should last a little longer than the ZD30.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 576207

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 20:58

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 20:58
now why would I want to touch TONI when I have the MIGHTY 2.8 to play with HA HA HA HE HE HE
FollowupID: 576228

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 21:53

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 21:53
There was a fella on one of the other forums putting the 1HD-FTE motor into a standard GXL 100 series so he could have the turbo donk and live axle front end.

I realise it's not the same but he may have some helpful info for you. Certainly more helpful than me, I can't remember which forum I saw it on.

te he

AnswerID: 310212

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Monday, Jun 16, 2008 at 07:33

Monday, Jun 16, 2008 at 07:33
Thanks Muzzgit !!!!!
Did you hear the one about the Stripper, the Dwarf and the Priest !!!
I would tell you, but I forgot it !!!! LOL

Cheers mate, the mechanic that's doing the work is VERY experienced in this sort of thing, he builds Comp cars & specials etc for a living and has fitted this type of Engine-G/box into nearly all model Toyota's, in fact his own 78 tray back has this motor and auto transmission fitted, he was keen as mustard to get his hands on a Patrol, then along came me!!!!
Colin.

FollowupID: 576286

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 08:51

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 08:51
Will be watching....

Will be waiting....

do not forget to email me on lot of pics, with the swearing included...
to bryan.ohalloran@yahoo.com.au always gets thru .. my aapt address can be bounced back,, not enuf space

you may even get good/reasonable economy out of your "hybrid" when finished

Are you to include the Intercooler too ?

AnswerID: 314082