help req 2h motor problems

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 17, 2008 at 21:28
ThreadID: 58918 Views:8498 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
G'day all its been a long time since i've been here as i've been on the road now for 6 months and loving it.
As my post heading suggests i've run into a few issues with the old bus its a 2h diesel troopy 89 model.
the motor was rebuilt about 40k ago by the previous owner and i was thinking about putting a turbo on it.
I've taken the car to Mike Vine in Brisbane and hes indicated to me that hes come into a few problems the car has high compression and the power output is too low, he's indicated to me that these problems occur when the rebuild is of poor quality. Mike is currently working thru these problems but said some issues aren't worth fixing as the part are hard to come by.
I'm hoping for a good result but with the problems that exist i think i may be looking at a worst case scenario.
My questions too you guys and girls are what would you do i really don't want to sell the car. and i'm thinking about putting in a 12ht if i can find one in good nick or putting in a V8 diesel.
Any help that you guys can offer is appericated

Cheers.............Steve

Reply By: David A A - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2008 at 21:53

Tuesday, Jun 17, 2008 at 21:53
Hi Steve
You say you have problem, but only mention high compression and low power, what are the problems.

Not trying to be funny/smart, my old 60 has only 263000 on the clock and I bet compression is still "high" and I know she is gutless. It is after all a 2H diesel = low power.

I would suggest maybe check filters, injectors and pump.

AnswerID: 310648

Follow Up By: stephen looking - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:55

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:55
David, i have been informed that the compression is out of spec, all filter have ben done, injectors are ok and the pump is being looked at by a specialist.

FollowupID: 576732

Reply By: Rock Ape - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 07:24

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 07:24
There is one problem I know of and that is the head on some of the 2h's. I had one of these in an 89 troopy, couldn't get any power out of it and overheating was a problem. Don't know why certain 2h engines were dogs but they were. I chased the problem for ages and couldn't fault anything wrong with it. Everything on the engine was spot on except the bloody power.

I finally dropped a 6.5l in and have never looked back. Money wise the 12ht would be the goods as they are a top motor and drop straight in. I would think you would be looking between 8 to 10K for a reconed motor. If you decide to go the V8 there is a person in brisbane who is a wealth of knowledge on the chev diesels and that is Les Addison, he can be contacted through the 4wd monthly site for questions and answers.

Have a good one
AnswerID: 310694

Follow Up By: stephen looking - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:58

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:58
Cheers RA what sort of power output did you get on a dyno?

How much did you pay for the 6.5 chev?
FollowupID: 576734

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 15:41

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 15:41
Stephan, 84KW at the back wheels and 408nm of torque, the pump could be opened up for more power but then my fuel consumption would go up. I get over 8K per litre or 12l/100 which is better than my old motor.

Cost at the time was $15,000 which would have gone up now, I put in a genuine 79 series radiator which cost another $900 so it isn't cheap.

I also didn't want to sell my Troopy as it would have cost to much to replace all the gear on it. The vehicle is also in top condition barring a little bark off here and there.

The 12ht would be far cheaper than the V8 and more a known quanity than turboing a 2H, some of them turbo well and others spend a lot of there time temp gauge in the red even though the owners don't over fuel them.

I don't think Mr Vine would be spinning you a line as he has probably lost a turbo installation.

If you are in Brisbane, give Roger at ARB a call as he has been there for many years and will put you onto someone who knows 2H motors backwards. They maybe able to put you on the right track regarding your problems. If someone else reads this thread they also may know of someone who is a Toyota specialist

Have a safe one
FollowupID: 576748

Reply By: howesy - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 07:39

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 07:39
Sounds to me like he is feeding you with B.S. If the motor has high compression and its not really leaking down then the head and the rings are doing fine and its more likely that the injector pump hasn't been set up right on the rebuild or the injectors werent serviced at rebuild. If there is slight leak down maybe he refitted injectors with old washers. There are heaps of reasons but generally if a motor turns freely without restriction and has plenty of compression without leakdown the the motor is fine and you start looking at everyting that hangs off it.
AnswerID: 310697

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 08:05

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 08:05
It could have high compression due to gasket thickness, these engines came with different thickness head gaskets.

But on the other hand the same bloke was known for the number of customer engines he launched into the arms of simsmetal.
FollowupID: 576692

Follow Up By: stephen looking - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:52

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:52
Howesy, Mike has indicated to me that the compression is higher than toyota spec and the power out put is well below toyota spec about half.
The injector pump has been sent to a pump specialist and hes also checking the timing of the engine.

Rock Ape as you mentioned gasket thickness is another item being checked, also are you tell me that mike has stuffed up a lot of the engines?

FollowupID: 576731

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 11:54

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 11:54
Get a second opinion. If Mike has installed the turbo, then pay him for that and take it to a diesel specialist for a checkup...it might end up being a pump rebuild/recalibration and /or injecters, but if it has good compression and uses no oil, then it should work fine, and maybe Mike has not adjusted the pump properly....there are heaps of possibilities, blocked inlet in tank, blocked fuel filters, blocked inlet, cracked head from previous rebuild... only a specialist will find it....like when your sick....if the doctor caqnt fix you, ther specialist does....and you pay for it
Andrew ps the 12ht is the best option in hind sight
AnswerID: 310736

Follow Up By: stephen looking - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 14:07

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 14:07
Thanks for the feed back mate pump is at a specialist , i have been told that the compression is too high and out of spec, and as a result this leads to low power of the motor, motor uses no oil and i have never had an over heating problem either.
When you mention blocked inlet are you suggesting not enought fuel flow? also all filters have been replaced.
If all else fails with Mike do you know some one in Brisbane that know there stuff on diesels?
FollowupID: 576737