Save money while travelling (25 ways)

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 17, 2008 at 22:17
ThreadID: 58920 Views:4631 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
25 Cost reducing ideas

1/ Travel at a speed to 85 - 90kph (saving varies but could be as much as 20%)
2/ Avoid travelling with strong head winds (big savings)
3/ Reduce all unnecessary items (I off loaded 35 kg from the van)
4/ Do not buy fuel at expensive road houses (but do not run out before next town)
5/ Fill a jerry can at cheaper service stations (travel further on less money)
6/ Use fuel vouchers (usually 4c per litre)
7/ Make use of the one off 10 cent discount voucher (register by 28/6/08)
8/ Do not buy coffee / tea while having a break, make your own (saving up to $8 for 2 persons)
9/ Use free camp sites from time to time (save up to $30 per night)
10/ Eat in do not eat, cook your own meals ($30 - $$80 saved)
11/ Buy non perishables in bulk (save a bit)
12/ Limit souvenirs (we often get home and ask ourselves why we bought it)
13/ Avoid paying rip off tourist fees (walk instead and get fitter)
14/ Use the Telstra free mobile phone calls (max 20 min per call/day during your nominated hour)
16/ Take a lap top to search and plan the next week activities (use free sites or internet cafes)
16/ Bargain (I love it)
17/ Take a shopping list when stocking up (do not shop when hungry)
18/ Make a budget and stick to it (put the weekly budget in tin and draw from it)
19/ Check the tyre pressures regularly (improve fuel economy)
20/ Use a digital camera (you can delete any bad shots)
21/ Get a friend to collect your mail and post onto you as required in express satchels (about $10 ea)
22/ Don’t buy for friends back home (they wont for you while your away)
23/ Cryovac meat from your local butcher (can last weeks)
24/ Do not give in to the kids wanting everything (they will soon learn)
25/ Plan your trip (its fun , you will learn and save)

Reply By: Gronk - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 00:56

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 00:56
Please don't get annoyed if I buffet you with a bit of wind as I go by you at 110 K's.......because I can't slow down as I will use too much fuel getting back up to 110....

Use free camp sites from time to time ?? Use them all the time if you can....so much more peaceful..

Offload all unnecessary items ? That includes the missus....she weighs 80kg !!!

Use a laptop ? Can't afford one....serious..
AnswerID: 310685

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 08:38

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 08:38
GRONK; has she read this,game boy.i dont think it would pass the minister for defence in my regiment, he he :-(
FollowupID: 576695

Follow Up By: Gronk - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 09:46

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 09:46
I'm pretty lucky....she doesn't look at 4x4 forums !!
FollowupID: 576702

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 09:54

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 09:54
you are lucky!!!!
FollowupID: 576703

Reply By: Brian - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 08:06

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 08:06
Some good ideas there Avan... thank you.

Brian (Gold Coast)

AnswerID: 310702

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 10:27

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 10:27
Re item 12/ Souvenirs..
We always bring back something to remind us of the 'trip' ..
Like a cup of sand from Big Red
A nice looking rock from Arkaroola
A piece of the corrugation on the Anne Beadell Road
A shell from Cape York
A flake of salt from Lake Eyre
A chunk of Huon Pine from Tassie
A chunk of Red Gum from the Murray
These are labelled with the dates of the trip, and displayed on a bookcase shelf.
etc etc
And, of course, heaps of digital pics.....!!!!

AnswerID: 310725

Follow Up By: Moose - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:23

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:23
OK Signman, I'll bite. How do you collect a piece of corrugation?
Cheers from a perplexed Moose
FollowupID: 576724

Follow Up By: Gronk - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 14:03

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 14:03
And if everybody collected a sample from everywhere they went......there would be no trees left ha,ha
FollowupID: 576735

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 14:50

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 14:50
Moose
On the AB Road- the roughest sections seem to be created with some black type of rock....so we got a bit of it...so if EVERYONE took a piece of it- there'd be no corrugations..!!

Gronk
And if everyone took a cup of BigRed sand- there's be no BigRed..!!
Nah-the wood I bring home is from fallen trees- in fact the Huon Pine was from the Forestry people..

FollowupID: 576740

Follow Up By: Gronk - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 23:27

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 23:27
Apparently the same thing happened overseas.......bit before my time ...but it used to be called the Sahara Forest !!!!he,he !!
FollowupID: 576854

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:46

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:46
7/ Make use of the one off 10 cent discount voucher (register by 28/6/08)

what is this?
AnswerID: 310753

Follow Up By: Moose - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 16:52

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 16:52
Woolies offer - check their website
FollowupID: 576765

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 23:44

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 23:44
Only suckers buy fuel from supermarket owned service stations, they are the ones that have driven up the prices, if everyone boycotted them, the prices would come down very quickly!
FollowupID: 576856

Follow Up By: Steve - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 15:39

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 15:39
We've stopped using those for a while now. The Mrs stopped shopping at Woolies ("the fresh food people" - their fruit and vegies were far from fresh and their meat was crap) years ago, migrated to Coles who were a bit cheaper until this petrol business. Now she shops at Franklins and saves at least $50 a week. No kidding. I can't save that on vouchers, but I can get my petrol anywhere but Coles Express or the Caltex scam - they are always dearer than the non-participants anyway near us. I might pay a dollar or two more, if anything, for petrol at th4e max but BIG savings on groceries.
FollowupID: 576956

Reply By: jomah - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 18:44

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 18:44
I also used to pick up a small something as a memento from everywhere we went; but when I tried to bring back a LBFM from Thailand last trip the misses went ape and I had to send her back. Cant figure some people!!
AnswerID: 310812