Attention to the Ribbiter

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 23:53
ThreadID: 58963 Views:3275 Replies:16 FollowUps:44
I have your number.....although you have made it a "private" number....its not so private anymore is it! I have traces put on my mobile phone as I have had problems in the past....and seeing that my phone has been missing for a few days I have now heard your message, again....and now have your number.

Beware - I have innsomnia so most nights Im awake till all hours of the morning....you will be called......but when...???!!!!

good night!

Laura

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 00:02

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 00:02
by the way...should have added...this starting to be beyond a joke and becoming serious in my eyes.....i dont take this $h!t
AnswerID: 310875

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 00:02

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 00:02
Oh oh. A woman ribbeted is not one to be trifled with. LOL
AnswerID: 310876

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 00:09

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 00:09
****A woman ribbeted is not one to be trifled with****

more like A WOMAN IS NOT TO BE TRIFLED WITH.......!!!
FollowupID: 576857

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 00:18

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 00:18
I know that this isn't a trivial matter, so I won't say that some women I've known have actually enjoyed being trifled with...in fact sometimes they've trifled with me (hard to believe, I know :)

But I doubt that they'd enjoy your current situation either, I know I wouldn't.

Don't get mad, its not worth the blood pressure.

Just get even !
FollowupID: 576859

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 00:36

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 00:36
G'day Laura

I agree with Footy Laura , dont let it get to you , although i do know what its like to recieve those bloody nuisance calls....eventually you will find out who it is , then you will be able to have your revenge....in the meantime keep a whistle handy , if he or she happens to call again , let em have it full blast...lol..

Watch the blood pessure Laura, definetly not good for the heart..believe me!

Cheers......Borgy
FollowupID: 576862

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 07:39

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 07:39
no blood pressure probs dont worry....just a nuicence....Ive already changed my number 3 times in 5 yrs because of this stuff and Im over it!
But revenge is sweet!!
FollowupID: 576871

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 08:31

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 08:31
Hi Laura

As a simple old Queenslander, I was wondering what kind of Trifle are
you talking about,? is it the Trifle Dessert? or a Threatening Trifle,?
of a Womens Scorn, I love Trifles, my Cook makes the best Trifle
especially when she puts a bottle of Port in the mix, now just calm
down, you will have the last laugh about this Pesky Ribbiter,
I am sure he wont Croak before you have your revenge.

Daza
FollowupID: 576882

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:21

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:21
thinking with your stomach again Daza!! LOL!! I love trifles!!!.....and make a massive one......doesnt last long!!LOL!!
FollowupID: 576895

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:30

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:30
Kiwi,

Does that mean you are also making a Trifle at Innamincka???

I can bring a big bowl if needed LOL

Cheers Sir Kev

FollowupID: 576937

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:45

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:45
I dont have a fridge big enough Kev....! Otherwise I would....!!

I have a feeling you guys are gunna be coming up to me and asking for desert and rum balls!!LOL!!

Laura
FollowupID: 577075

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 07:26

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 07:26
uuuuuuummmmmmmmmmm yes hehehe

FollowupID: 577105

Reply By: Krakka - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 05:03

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 05:03
Hi Laura, I know it is a hassle and you shouldn't have to, BUT, why not change your number. We did years ago and have never had this problem since.
Cheers Krakka
AnswerID: 310884

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 07:39

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 07:39
3 times in 5 yrs is enough!
FollowupID: 576872

Follow Up By: Krakka - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:18

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:18
Must be someone that knows you who is providing the number to the nuisance person then.
FollowupID: 577017

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 06:01

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 06:01
AnswerID: 310886

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 06:18

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 06:18
As a receiver of many of these calls.................i think you need to take a CHILL PILL :)
You should have made your revenge as sneaklily as possible.
AnswerID: 310888

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 08:03

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 08:03
So does that mean you are 2 - 1 up in the ribbit calls??

Hopefully that will be the only thing you beat me....... cause I am still going to win the horse shoe throwing LOL

Cheers Sir Kev

AnswerID: 310895

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 08:08

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 08:08
Laura,

If you've changed your number 3 times in 5 years already, it's time you were a lot more discerning in who you gave the number to in future. Don't take that the wrong way.

As you well know, there's far too many idiots out there.

AnswerID: 310898

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:16

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:16
theres only a selected few on here that have my number, as with kev, so this person has certainly done some searching especially when everything is under hwmbo's name!
FollowupID: 576890

Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 08:12

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 08:12
Hardly think this forum is the place to deal with domestic/personal issues. You should report the matter to Telstra and local Police. Let them deal with it in an appropiate manner.
AnswerID: 310899

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:17

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:17
this is an eo issue as others on here have been done too by someone on here.
if it was personal noone would have known about it, maybe Kev....but htats it!
FollowupID: 576891

Reply By: Turist - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 08:58

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 08:58
Agree completely that this Forum is not the place to deal with personal issues that don't effect the majority of members and that can be dealt with elsewhere.

AnswerID: 310907

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:12

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:12
If you did some research you will see that the Ribbiting phone calls are an ExplorOz related thing with Members(I noticed you are not one) receiving these nuisance calls. It started at the last EO National Gathering via UHF and some one is having a lend of us. He/She will be found out sooner or later. It is possible that an unrelated person is carrying on with the calls.
FollowupID: 576889

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:19

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:19
tell them how it Willem...cheers!
FollowupID: 576893

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:47

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:47
Im outa the loop here somewhere
- the only thing im annoyed about with this thread is I dunno what your talking about - cmon it sounds interesting.
its like a soapy the first 10 min is reviewing what happend lasrt week
FollowupID: 577174

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:52

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:52
READ THE ENTIRE THREAD....
FollowupID: 577177

Reply By: zacc - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:13

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:13
post there number on the forum
AnswerID: 310911

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:18

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:18
revenge is sweet....
FollowupID: 576892

Follow Up By: zacc - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:40

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:40
if you are so peeved about it post it. then they will have to change there number. then when they do it again post there new number. in my appinion if they have been able to get your number three time then it is some one you know.
FollowupID: 576899

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 16:04

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 16:04
other times have been very seperate to this

FollowupID: 576963

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 16:05

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 16:05
im not going to post a private number on here....not that low!!LOL!!
FollowupID: 576964

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 10:13

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 10:13
Here is the perfect opportunity to post the number on the Forum/
AnswerID: 310917

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 10:34

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 10:34
G'day Laura,
I was the original "target" of the ribbiter.....as I was leaving the warraweena gathering last year, he/she/it was on the UHF saying "cya" and ribbiting away at the same time.

Once we were home I got ribbetted for the next few months on my mobile phone....as have a lot of others.

I soon twigged to the idea of turning my mobile off at night, so no more dramas.

It strikes me that whoever it is must be either using a company-provided phone or they have oodles of $$$ to waste. I hate making mobile phone calls cos I know how much the bloody things cost me; and I haven't got enough $$$ to be wasting on nuisance calls.

It was all very funny in the beginning, but the novelty has well and truly worn off.

I agree with others....if you have the number, publish it on here and then THEY will have to change number rather than you.

AnswerID: 310920

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 15:31

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 15:31
So does that mean after this years Gathering- we have to put up with all this personal chit-chat and crap on the Forum for another 12 months...

FollowupID: 576952

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:23

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:23
Could be......Just another reason why I'm not going. ;-)
FollowupID: 577019

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 23:17

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 23:17
didnt think we'd had 12 months of this on here????
FollowupID: 577090

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 10:58

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 10:58
Laura,

I would be very cautious about posting a private number with the sole intent of harassing someone, there may be a law against it?

Understand your frustration, but you could end up in strife. Perhaps a call to your local Plod would be prudent.

AnswerID: 310922

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 16:06

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 16:06
not going to dont worry Jim.

but its definetely useful to have!
FollowupID: 576965

Follow Up By: Krakka - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:44

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:44
OOOHHH YEAHHHH, having that number is sooo useful. For what? Post it here, give it to the police or give it to your phone provider, THEN it may be useful to have.
FollowupID: 577072

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 07:24

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 07:24
sarcasm doesnt suit you krakka....
reasons why number is useful??
1. if I want to i can ring it annnoy them
2. if things got really bad (which they havent yet) i can take it police, not that they will do anything (not my locals anyway)
3. post it here
4. i have caller id....if they ring again....i know i wont answer!
5. do a bit of digging and actually find who they are....because once again....i dont know names!

please tell me.....why else would a number be useful????
FollowupID: 577104

Reply By: bockstar1 - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 11:44

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 11:44
I have no idea on what this thread is about.

Can it be turfed???
AnswerID: 310931

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:15

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:15
please refer to my response below to ozboc.

If we asked for every post that we didn't understand or have an interest in to be deleted, this would be a very skinny forum indeed.

I know that, these days, I am only drawn to look at about 1 in 20 posts on here. I've been a member for several years and the same questions about batteries, fridges, tyres, vehicles etc etc x 10000000 keep coming up. I used to respond to just about every question raised by people, but now couldn't be bothered as it's all just the same-old, same-old.

BUT: I don't complain about posts just because they don't interest me.
FollowupID: 576935

Reply By: Ozboc - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 12:54

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 12:54
Greetings all involved -- for the sake of all the others that have no idea whats going on ( including me ) can you give us a little run down as to whats happening and how it came about -- so the rest of us can either help flush this person out -- or avoid this happening to them

and whats " Ribbiter"

thanks

Boc
AnswerID: 310946

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:12

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:12
It's all about the queerlanders...... somebody from "up there" is making phone calls to people on the forum at all hours of the day and night. They don't say anything on the phone, but rather they "play" one of those frog gizmos....the type that you sometimes see at the door way of a shop or house which react to movement and commence to make a "ribbit-ribbit" sound (like a frog).

It's getting up some people's nose and I guess it could be said that the funny side of it has worn off now.... (it's been going on for 12 months or so).

Hope this clears the matter up for you

FollowupID: 576932

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:23

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:23
AAh ok , thanks - Kind of makes you wonder what kind of Brain dead immature peanut would do this

You say its been going on for 12 months ? This is actually bordering on Psychopathic behavior and could be a very disturbed person

As for Telsrta - Optus - or whoever your phone carrier is - you just have to ask them to investigate harassment calls to your line - they will ask you to keep a log of the exact time and date of the events - they generally need 3 - and provided they are stupid enough to use private phones and not public - they should be caught

Dont take this into your own hands - if this person is doing this over a 12 month period to a number of people , then he/she is clearly disturbed and confrontation in person should be left to the authorities
FollowupID: 576936

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 14:11

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 14:11
Ozboc, it is peanut country up there and the person has that sort of brain as Roachie says. A peanut getting up people's noses.
FollowupID: 576942

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 14:24

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 14:24
Ahhh Bro...you are at your best today.....LOL

FollowupID: 576943

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 15:41

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 15:41
Geez Roachie

Whats this Queerlanders,?lol
We dont call you South Australians Crow Rooters, no its Crow Eaters,
just because we have that Queen bit in front dosent mean we are
Mardi Gras Marchers. if we find out this Ribbiter is in our State, we will
treat him or her to Queensland justice,
Kiwi can decide the punishment.

Daza
FollowupID: 576957

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:25

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:25
Sorry Daza, no offence meant mate....

But I don't mind if you call me a crow rooter.....

You can call me anything you like; just don't call me late for tea! hahaha

FollowupID: 577023

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:43

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:43
No offence taken mate, its all in jest.lol

Daza
FollowupID: 577031

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 19:20

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 19:20
Some Blonds wear Camouflage (Black Hair), pleased you found out who it is, so at least you can't point the bone this way.

Lighs are on but nobody home.

I would say give only what you can take.
AnswerID: 311010

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 19:21

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 19:21
If you had the number????? why not advertise it??????????????
FollowupID: 577004

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:47

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:47
96er....its a private number and i wouldnt post it in a public place....not going to stoop that low!
FollowupID: 577076

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:51

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:51
Why??????????????? they are or it is harassing you, so give it up.

I think you are kidding everyone + yourself
FollowupID: 577079

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:59

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:59
there is only a few people involved with the phone calls so its not going to be publicised to the entire world. like roachie said before, it started last yr on the uhf.....and not tooo many that we know of that has copped the phone calls.

I dont know who it is by the way....all I said is that I have their number.

and just out of curiosity.....are you referring to me as the blonde in camouflage????
FollowupID: 577083

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 00:03

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 00:03
I think your bluffing or trying toooooooooooooooooo
They are breaking the law, so why not advertise it for all to see???????????????

Just pointing out that some Blondes do go undercover.
FollowupID: 577098

Follow Up By: Krakka - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 05:13

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 05:13
Totally agree. Obviously it is not too much of a problem, I wouldn't hesitate putting the number up publicaly, who gives a stuff if it is a private number, Kiwi, if your number isn't a silent No, then anyone can get it off of the internet. Only need your surname, and rough area where you live. White pages .com.au
FollowupID: 577101

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 07:13

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 07:13
they arent breaking any law, just being a nuisence. and krakka I know how white pages work....
FollowupID: 577102

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:57

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:57
They also have the Blonde disguise or under cover version, called the "Yellow Pages"
FollowupID: 577234

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 21:54

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 21:54
It seems like a case of:

Some Mothers do have em, and the worst of all is the grand kids have em as parents.
FollowupID: 577331