Submitted: Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:06
The Geriatric Gypsies
goodday all
well almost back into the city of stupidity(melb)we pulled up in shepparton this evening and while unhooking our van found my autotune stainless whip has broken of at the screw adaptor was there earlier
just wondering if any body else has had this problem i will discuss it with my supplier when we get into melb but will look around for a newone in shep
can i use an aerial with a spring base to try and protect it a bit we did not go under anything low to bend it but we did travel down that fantastic highway from
lightning ridge to dubbo (most of the clothes dropped off the coat hangers in the van
Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:22
Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:22
Yes I've broken three now, no longer leave the whip on when travelling.
The first two were genuine Barrett whips and the third one was from another WA supplier whose name escapes me at the moment.
All snapped/fatigued just above the bit that screws to the autotune base.
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 21:59
Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 21:59
Hi Steve, do you mean the fibreglass whip or the shorter steel one ? That has a habit of breaking just above the little coil if its one of the older ones. Crikey you must have whacked a few servo flouros with it :)
Try this mob for a replacement
Codan autotune whips
Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:45
Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:45
G'day Footy,
I have broken my stainless whip a couple of times now, but have always managed to retrieve the broken bit. No worries, just weld it back together and all is good. It does cop a hard time around town, what with shopping centre car parks etc.
Note that I do carry a spare S/s whip for the time when I can't find the broken off bit :)
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:49
Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:49
I use a stainless whip top that is the same length as the fibreglass one without the fibreglass casing. I got a bolt that fitted the top of the spring and drilled it out to take the whip top and drilled and tapped one of the flats of the head to take a grub screw.
Very flexible - doesn't trash the flouros - and hasn't broken in the past four years.
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:46
Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:46
Try Geoff Angus at Angus Communications in behind the SPC packing shed.
Go all the way up Knight St over the railway line, through the SPC boom gates on Andrew Fairley Ave. Left at the roundabout into Adams Ave. He's at the end on the right hand side.
Tell him Dave the Ambo said g'day. Not even sure if I told him I was moving to Lake Entrance.
Reply By: Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:48
Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:48
Yep -
mine last about 6-12 months.
The last one broke nearer the top than at the base, interestingly whereas the previous ones break off at the screw adaptor.
I've migrated away from the genuine CODAN ones to another tapered one that seems to last longer.
I don't think there are autotune aerials with spring bases. You just have to remember to take it off when in town.
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 09:05
Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 09:05
My Barrett has two stainless whips - the heavy duty 1.8m job has a decent spring base and seems bullet proof - but I don't use that one when mobile anyway.
The light duty 1.5m whip has no spring base, so I added one ! .... I was warned by a supplier about the expected whip breakages.....you can buy the chromed brass spring at any radio
shop (this metal is taken care of during the auto-tune process). Also I have wrapped the female screw-on base and the bottom 40mm or so of the actual whip in self amalgamating tape - this, plus the spring must be reducing the tendency toward metal fatique at the bottom of the whip, because I'm yet to break one.... I'm happy.
Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:03
Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:03
May be of interest.............Image Could Not Be Found