The End of The Petroleum Age

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:21
ThreadID: 59005 Views:2582 Replies:8 FollowUps:9

There was a very interesting interview by Kerrie O'Brien on the 7:30 Report tonight with Richard Heinberg. For those that missed it an extended version of the interview is available from the ABC Web Page. Richard Heinberg is a so called expert in this field and has written a number of books about the topic of the End of the Petroleum Age.
GPM

Reply By: wigger - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 21:41

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 21:41
Hullo Mr S
Yes it was good stuff and i thought that he should meet up with the wacker ( not the poster) quoted in post 58815 who said"

""I was at a function a couple months ago and met a guy who works for some Australian patrolium company who seeks oil on land and ocean.
My question to him was how low on oil are we? He responded with a chuckle and said the world has enough oil for hundreds of years, and that is from what they have already found! He also said Australi is rich in oil and we are self sustaining if required.""

Maybe he doesn't believe in climate change either.
AnswerID: 311059

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:42

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:42
I don't think so Tim....oil is not just something that you pour into your tank and burn up........kitchen appliances,furniture, clothing, roads,plastics, paints, medicines,etc etc etc to list but a few are some of the many things we have in our lives today....all contain or are derived from oil...it is such a big part of our lives, what we wear, drive, etc etc...no, it's not the end...just becoming more expensive$$$$$$$$$$$$$
AnswerID: 311082

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 23:04

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 23:04
On TV last night George Negus interviewed a fella who is the retired secretary general of the OPEC council, sheik something or other?

Years ago he predicted that if the USA invaded IRAQ oil would hit $100 a 5 years. He was poo poo'd and scoffed at, yet his words were true.

Last night he predicted that if the USA invades or attacks IRAN oil will very quickly hit $200 a barrel, he said $300 a barrel is not out of the question within the next 5 years.

That's scary stuff !!!

AnswerID: 311094

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 23:50

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 23:50
So what are you saying?
The yanks are invading all the oil rich countries and taking control of the world via their captured oil resources?

The world saviour? Our ally? Our Friend is causing all this trouble?
Perish the thought, it just can't be....I won't believe it ;)
FollowupID: 577096

Follow Up By: PajeroTD - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 00:30

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 00:30
If what you said was true Wayne, they would have invaded Venezuela and Saudi Arabia. Although Hugo Chavez might think this actually did happen.
FollowupID: 577099

Follow Up By: feral - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 10:03

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 10:03
Why invade Venezuela and Saudi Arabia when you have good trading agreements and to a certain extent control with these countries?

Bush and the US do not have 'control' of Iran's vast oil reserves so you can see why he wants to invade.

It's all about the oil.
FollowupID: 577143

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 10:28

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 10:28
I differ, Iran needs money from selling its oil and America (and the rest of the world) need it. He doesn't need to invade Iran to get he just buys it like everyone else. Iran is about nuclear weapons and the move by Iran to acquire.....

Oil won't pail into insignificance as an issue if Iran has nuclear capacity..
FollowupID: 577149

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 01:09

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 01:09
Hi PajeroTD,
That's the difference between invading and being invasive. The yanks need the Saudis onside and Venezuela is just next door so they can trade with them for certain benefits and concessions. So they become a part of their everyday lives with Maccas and coke etc. Thats invasive but non-threatening behaviour.

Whereas the raqs and rans are terrorist run extremist regimes which should be invaded, supressed and pillaged to maximise available benefits. And if you can spin a good yarn about their inherent threat to mankind with WMD and Nuclear (or is that nucular) armaments hey the rest of us will fall in line.

Then you control the oil and hold the world to ransome....but of course this is only conjecture and theory on my part. Just a mental exercise.
FollowupID: 577359

Reply By: EscapeArtists - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 23:50

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 23:50
It will all be shhhd up anyway as it has been since the 80's
and the fact still stands that, There are indeed cheaper energy
options that are being utilised by the very Government that we pay our taxes to/through. But they arent talking bout it.

Magnets. seriously.
AnswerID: 311100

Reply By: Robnicko - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 08:19

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 08:19
GPM,
On Wednesday night George Negus was talking with the head honcho from OPEC who said there is no shortage.prices are just being pushed up by 'speculators'. Since the credit crunch in the US it's easier to make money by buying Oil stocks.then post an Internet story about imaginary pipeline explosions.price goes up.then sell and do the same thing a few days later when the price has retreated.

It's all Wall St doing.........greedy people

Rob

AnswerID: 311130

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 08:54

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 08:54
I was quite glum after that interview, what with me planning to drive all over Oz in the next 10 years towing a sizeable van - Richard seemed to be very well informed.
AnswerID: 311139

Follow Up By: Member - John G- Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:04

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:04
G'day Darian

Like you I found the interview to be quite sobering. About a month back a forumite - "Landy" I think - suggested we (i.e. 4WD travellers) should all be thinking about the long term outcomes of continuing high and increasing costs of fuel. It's not only about the cost of fuel.

FollowupID: 577166

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 09:03

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 09:03
China raised fuel prices by around 18% overnight. Like many Asian countries China subsidises fuel costs, however the sharp increases in the price of oil has forced them to act.

The price of crude oil dropped around US$3 per barrel in response.

This is good news because the removal of these subsidies will hopefully have the effect of reducing demand and in turn prices.
AnswerID: 311140

Follow Up By: OldMike2 - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:07

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:07
1.Who proved that oil is in short supply?

2.The price goes up because someone said supply is short

3.How do you know supply is short?
because the price went up

4.Why did the price go up?
Because supply is short

5. Back to 3.

FollowupID: 577208

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:41

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:41
Yep...that sums it up. Along the same theme, the US non-farm payroll data is one of the most speculated on pieces of monthly data comin out of the US. Economist pick a number as to what they think it will be and huge bets are placed around the outcome, including your super money via investment managers.

How do they come up with the number? I mean pick a number....keeps me in a job though....
FollowupID: 577227

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:28

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:28
As someone else has already said; 'There is no shortage, it just costs more to get it out'

The Athbasca tar sand deposits in Canada have about twice the saudi reserves - and thats at only one location !

There is heaps of oil. It's the gready big business gamblers that have caused the 'accelerated' price changes.

AnswerID: 311226

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:05

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:05
HI Kiwi Kia,

Its true that there are vast supplies of oil sands and shale oils all over the world. But it is unlikely these will will ever replace the readily accessible oils of the oil fields of the middle east.
These alternatives will only complement supply and not be in sufficient quantities to offset ultimate falling production from the OPEC countries?
The use of shale oil and oil sands to produce crude oil has a high environmental cost – eg to produce 1 barrel of oil from oil sands takes 4.5 barrels of clean water plus enormous amounts of energy. The planet simply does not have enough clean water to process all the oil sands and shale deposits. And then what do you do with the huge lakes of polluted water from the extraction process?
Look what happened to the hundreds of millions of dollars invested in the Rundle Shale Oil project at Gladstone in Queensland. Receivers can only get scrap value for it now. Greenpeace and other environmental groups were the final death knoll for Rundle (after huge costs overruns) as no refinery would take their output for fear of losing market share due to consumer boycotts etc. What I am saying is there are massive environmental costs associated with extracting oil from shale and oil sands as well as huge energy requirements. I doubt these will ever supply anymore than a comlimentary oil supply.

Glen

FollowupID: 577245