fgree camping

Submitted: Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 10:49
ThreadID: 59019 Views:4962 Replies:17 FollowUps:15
Hi to all who enjoy free camping below is a letter extract sent byVicParks [the caravan parks ass ]to it's members .It should be of concern to all who want freedom of choice as to where to camp .
It shows the determination of these groups ,australia wide, to take that choice from you .
It is obvious that their ultimate aim is : YOU will camp /sleep in a 'legal '? caravan park or pay similar fees for fewer facilities.
As many are aware they tried to have o/n camping banned in QLD mrd rest areas some years ago & had a short term sucess until the minister of the day bowed to public outcry & rescinded the decision ,but they havn't given up I believe NSWrta are reviewing their policy.
They have had this done in the name of "competitive neutrality " backed by the QLD OMBUDSMAN forced Barcaldine council to encrease it's showground fee to $20powered from previous$10 .
Blackall council closed its town camp area under the same pressure.
Similar pressure is being applied to Forbes council regarding its free areas .
NSW NAT PARKS has given the need for beng "neutral to commercial establihments" [ competitive neutrality ]as one of the reasons for its massive encrease fees .
If you wish to retain your freedom of choice you have a big job ahead . it need leters to your local member , council etc .

EXTRACT FROM VicPARK'S LETTER
An intensive "campaign was carried out by VicParks through mailings to various government departments and Ministers. A template letter was made available to VicParks Members to be send to local MP’s and schools etc. to raise the awareness of this issue, from which a significant number of replies have been received. We still have some way to go with this issue, but between the VicParks approach and that of other state associations the topic is gaining high recognition at all levels of government Australia-wide.
The VicParks Committee of Management identified the emergence of unregistered caravan parks and the nation-wide increase in illegal camping as a threat to the caravan park industry during their 2007/08 Strategic Planning process and as such has formed a Working Group to deal with this issue.
VicParks have been in active contact with a range of organisations in an attempt to prevent the proliferation of unregistered caravan parks.
It is important that we target our efforts carefully as we do not want the industry to be seen as stifling tourism growth or preventing local communities from holding events vital to their area. Nor can we be seen to be campaigning against the proper use of rest areas. What we can, and are doing, is arguing that the inappropriate use of crown land, school grounds, rest areas and the like is not beneficial to the tourism industry, is unfair to the legitimate operators who must comply with onerous regulations and operating standards, and is potentially dangerous to users who will ultimately seek compensation if injured or suffer vehicle damage from the body who
allowed such overnight camping etc. Our intention is to fight this battle on solid ground and avoid all the emotive rhetoric which is often put forward by user groups and the media.”

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:14

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:14
Perhaps we shoud write to the governent and say that in the interest of "competitive neutrality" all public servants should work in the same manner as the workers in private enterprise.

i.e. Work on average 45 hours a week without extra pay,
No 6 months of paid maternity leave,
No time off in lieu, .
No stress leave,
No career advencement until you can prove that you are actually good at what you are doing.
No lifetime job security
etc..

R.
AnswerID: 311170

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:06

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:06
Robak - I am now a public servant after giving 32 years of my life in the military. I can assure you that a 45 hour week would be a blessing where I work as would time off in lieu. I afraid you are believing the rhetoric of others a little too much.
FollowupID: 577281

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 09:46

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 09:46
My apologies patrol.

I was simply generalising about the people I know who are public servants. Naturally there are always exceptions.

R.
FollowupID: 577713

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 10:03

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 10:03
Patrol 22 You will never convince the populous of the working life of a Public Servant. I agree with them and then get on with my work. Don't have time to argue with them.
FollowupID: 577716

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:43

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:43
A similar proposal was raised in the NT recently whereby the Govt is looking at ways to charge 4x4 tourists for access to a variety of now free access places. They specifically mentioned 4x4 tourists.

It is a sign of the times.

Wait till fuel prices reach $5 litre as that may wipe out the Caravan Park industry

The argument that >inappropriate use of crown land, school grounds, rest areas and the like is not beneficial to the tourism industry< only goes to show that the CP Association has a strong lobby group chewing the ear of Vic Parks and Public Servants and Pollies. It remains to be seen if they can legislate to stop people using the mentioned facilities

They fail to see that all people on the road are keeping local economies going by spending money in the towns. They want more of the cake
AnswerID: 311177

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:47

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:47
oldtrack123

"users who will ultimately seek compensation if injured or suffer vehicle damage"

Not the full story but, if my car is damaged by an other visitor to the caravan park, who would pay for the damage? The park owner,? I think not.

Two days from Brisi and I can be in the desert and from there they can get stuffed.

I must be getting old, I am sick and tired of all the regulations.
These so and so's are not happy unless they can find a new way to intrude on our lives.

*^%# the lot of them in all three levels of government.

Now, that feels a lot better.

To all who are travelling this season,,,, safe journey.

The old fart.
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 311178

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:19

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:19
Well said Wim.
My sentiments exactly.

Maybe we all should get a lobby group going, if it is not happening already, between all the various organisations associated with travelling throughout this great country.

I am sure we would outway the parks movement, both state and private, with numbers.
Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 577195

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 16:03

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 16:03
Well done, Wim, it's obvious you are due for your holidays. I think you deserve a drink for what you've just said and I think I know in which house you'll find some ready for you.
Considering my most recent employment I totally agree with you about free camping and the rest of them can go.......
(I even believed that during my last employment - LOL) and have always free camped!!!! and will continue to do so.
We found it impossible in the summer time to free camp (or camp for that matter) anywhere in Victoria.
FollowupID: 577237

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen - Melb) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:45

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:45
Hey Ruth

You guys are always welcome to free camp at our place when you are in VIC next... its just a given!
Not long now til we head up to the gathering and beyond, actually only 1more sleep! Not sure which one of the BigKidz is more excited!!
Looking forward to some yabbies and red.....just not in the quantities of last time:)

Jen
FollowupID: 577294

Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:55

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:55
Stopped late one evening to 'sleep' for the night in a nice public car park with all amenities like showers and toilets and also a 'no camping' sign.

Early next morning there was a visit from the local 'ranger', he explained to me and the two other 'campers' who had stopped there for the night, I was not permitted to 'camp' there and mentioned there was a sign there stating such.

I duly advised the 'ranger' the sign on the adjacent highway states I should not drive while tired, and he could book me and we would meet in Court to settle the problem in front of a Magistrate.

The ranger left me alone and I was gone before 8am.

Mainey . . .
AnswerID: 311180

Reply By: Member - Douglas M (SA) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:20

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:20
I agree with most of the comments above especially the get stuffed one. The only way we can afford to take extended holidays is to make good use of free camping areas. The fatigue argument against moving on is a good one which can be combined with alcohol consumption (not too much) No official in their right mind is going to force you to move on if you are not fit to drive, all they can do is slap a fine on you. If you get fined once in say three months it is still cheap camping.
Doug
AnswerID: 311183

Reply By: traveller2 - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:12

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:12
To follow on from the "too tired to drive" argument, you are not "camping" as there is nothing erected etc but are in fact sleeping/resting overnight as the highway signs promote.
We've had them say we were camping with ath Shippshape up, just said we stopped for breakfast and put it up to dry, not camping at all!
AnswerID: 311205

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:09

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:09
Sorry mate your definition of camping is not the definition as described under most regulations thats the strength of the cps arguement.
There needs to be a CLEAR DEFINITION DEFINED AUST WIDE hopefully in OUR favour as to what is camping. DON'T HOLD YOUR BREATHE THOUGH .
The current rule seems to be that: sleeping in a tent ,or vehicle of any sort [ trucks seem to be excepted] during the night IS CAMPING.
FollowupID: 577210

Reply By: Gazal Champion - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:27

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:27
You know there is another way around this albeit a longer term solution and that is to get as many people you know to sign a petition, or better still get them to sign their own letter and present each letter of protest to the local member, and do it on a 6 monthly basis. Give them the impression that it will not stop till the parks associations are sent packing.

After all, either way we are paying the bill, both for these rest areas and for the parks if we stay in them, which I do but intersperse it with free camps.
Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 311208

Reply By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:55

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:55
Hi Bruce
Yes mate, that's exactly what is needed , I was being A LITTLE SUBTLER IN MY POST, but thats the message I'm trying to get thru.
I have sent letters/emails to the QLD Ombudsman ,the ministers for NRE ,local govt , local member etc & one of support to my local council whiich does offer low cost camps also letters/emails of support to BARCALDINE , FORBES & CALLIOPE[who are have also been under pressure from Gladstone council to close Calliope Rv rest area .
To all those concerned take action NOW , THE CP ASS ARE WORKING NOW in your state , council area. etc & you may not know until the" NO CAMPING "sign goes up
AnswerID: 311216

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:24

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:24
Calliope River Rest area is not under threat from Gladstone council as the person in question who was pushing the envelope is now not involved in council as of the 17 Mar 08. He missed out on re- election to the new Gladstone Regional Council (Gladstone City, Calliope and Miriam Vale shires).

As far as I can find out the matter has not been bought to councils attention since the amalgamation.

Cheers Sir Kev

FollowupID: 577216

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:08

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:08
Gooday,
How about a few more join Aust Caravan Club to give it some more clout. Yes they accept Camper Trailers as well as Caravans, cost$50-00 for first year & then $40-00 a year thereafter.
They are doing there best with fledgling number of members but it is the old story, "STRENGTH IN NUMBERS", several other benefits available to Members.
Sadly they are only accepting these 2 forms of Mobile Accommodation asmembership!!!!!!!, which I personally disagree with, but I live in hope.
As you have just read in the letter extract, when an Industry becomes united there is a good chance of being heard.
Boroma 604.
AnswerID: 311219

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:20

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:20
Hi Boroma
I am a member of another club who are trying to fight the case Aust wide.
My personel opinion is that ALL interested parties need to unite because as you say strength is in numbers l& we are too fragmented , united we would surely have more chance.
FollowupID: 577214

Reply By: Member - Big Al. Gold Coast - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:32

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:32
We are planning our next trip, and will only stay in "free" camping areas. As we are fully self contained we have no need to stop except for fuel and rest.
If we find any town without free camping we won't be stopping
With a range of over 1000km we can pick and choose when we need to stop. Luckily we will be staying with relatives in Vic. and Nsw.
However if I am too tired to drive I will be stopping no matter what any sign's say, as long as it is safe to do so.

Our road trip will be Gold Coast to Melbourne (Highway 1) then on to the Grampians and then home via Hay and Bathurst, about 4500kn
AnswerID: 311227

Follow Up By: bazza j - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:49

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:49
Hi BigAl we also live on the coast Elanora when are you going or have you been ?how long did it take?we are new to caravaning and only do ing 3 weeks away .when all health probs are fixed we are off.hope to hear bout places&roads ,good camps regards Bazza
FollowupID: 577260

Follow Up By: Member - Big Al. Gold Coast - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 10:01

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 10:01
Bazza, just planning at the moment ,heading off in September.
We tend to rush from place to place, but this time will take it a bit slower. First time with a van, previously had a CT or stayed in motels.
FollowupID: 577386

Reply By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:39

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:39
HI Sir Kev
Thanks for that update.
I hope the new council [under amalgamation] has a much friendlier attitude ,[ no CP OWNERS or associates]
Is the new council likely to be pro or anti free /low cost camping in your opinion?
AnswerID: 311228

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:41

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:41
As far as I can tell, the one at Calliope River is a good source of income to the area, especially to the Historical Village that it is close to.

The old Miriam Vale Shire also has a few free camp sites which I am sure will remain.

Cheers Sir Kev

FollowupID: 577225

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 16:33

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 16:33
Gooday oldtrack123,
Yes you are correct have made representations to try to have a United Club but it seems to be the way with many groups, like the Aussie BBq where blokes gather in one group and the Ladies in another. Sadly I find their seems to be a an attitude of exclusion rather than inclusiontoo often.
CheersBoroma604.
AnswerID: 311239

Reply By: sweetwill - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:02

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:02
hi all
after just completing a drive halfway around the block 8,700 ks in 9 days in my ute, i used the free camp sites each night and found n.t. had the best then q.l.d. v.i.c.were almost none existant or they were just a drive through,i live in wollongong and yes it is gods country but the free camps around here are few and far beteen. the way the price of all fuel is going the councils that have the better f/camps are the ones that will attract the traveler and the better the site the longer they will stay
bill
AnswerID: 311292

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:34

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:34
Bloody hell Bill....halfway around the block in 9 days, who was chasing you? Lol
Cheers Ray
FollowupID: 577310

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 23:50

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 23:50
I heard many years ago that if you put up the union jack on your camp, you can camp for a few days legally anywhere on crown/government land.
Just something the royals did to protect their royal subjects. I am sure it is a law that may have been overlooked as it is not widely known
AnswerID: 311330

Follow Up By: Ray - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 09:44

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 09:44
I believe that under "common law" you can camp for a maximum of three nights on any "common" land. This was written in the Magna Carter at Honey Read ( I believe that is the right place) several hundred years ago and cannot be changed without an act of parliament and take precedence over any bi-laws local councils may try to enforce. Please correct me if I am wrong
FollowupID: 577383

Follow Up By: JimDi - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 16:21

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 16:21
Ray,
I think you mean Runnymede.
Di
FollowupID: 577434

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 16:30

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 16:30
If you use the Camps Australia Wide books and keep them updated you will undoubtedly have noticed how many of the previously free camping sites are now "Day Use Only" or deleted altogether.

AnswerID: 311455

Reply By: Member - kevin Y (SA) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 16:30

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 16:30
the way fuel is going free nights are appreciated save the c/p fees and spend on fuel
perhaps the c/p could give a discount if you spend a few nights there as an encentive
AnswerID: 311456

Reply By: sweetwill - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 16:42

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 16:42
hi poppy
no one was chasing me, i had all the time in the world, a holiday to me is bum on seat wheels turning and i must addmit that as the days go by the fresher and destressed i get, in a couple of months it will be all the way round cheers bill
AnswerID: 311633