Navara ST-X (RX) The good the bad and the ugly

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 10:30
ThreadID: 59052 Views:7173 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
It's trade in time, been looking at the current Navara. Nice to drive, bags of power finish seems OK. Sits a bit low for my liking. Nissan warranty may be an issue.

So before I sign on the dotted, I thought I'd get your input.
On this specific vehicle (2.5 diesel 6 speed manual)

I am particularly interested to hear from people who have one and what they had before and how it compares in all manner of situations.

This car will be used as a general car, farm ute, fetching and carrying of all and sundry gear, taking the rubbish to the bins, dog transport, occasional off road, and medium distance highway driving 2 to 3 hour trips.

And before anyone starts NO I'm not thinking of buying a Toyota.

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 10:40

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 10:40
Hi GoneTroppo,

I was taken for a test drive on some VERY steep farmland by a dealer employed demonstration driver and I was very impressed. It scared me to death how steep we were able to climb and descend with both feet on the floor. I was rather keen on getting one but was turned off by some comments from my nephew who is an estimator at a panel shop. He told me that (like a lot of modern vehicles) the metal skin was very thin and reckoned that I would be better getting an older vehicle for the heavy bush work where I would be using it.
AnswerID: 311405

Reply By: dave73 - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 11:18

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 11:18
gday mate
i bought one a few weeks ago and find it great so far. i am getting it lifted 2 inches next week because they sit to low especially if you intend putting any weight in the back.they have heaps of power and all the extras

cheers dave
AnswerID: 311419

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 11:30

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 11:30
Interesting about the lift, who's doing it and how many $$.
FollowupID: 577398

Reply By: dave73 - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 11:38

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 11:38
redcliffe springs are doing it. been quoted around $1600.
i carry a bit of weight so for work. there is alot of extra body in the style sides compared to the str's and sits fairly low so i would do it reguardless just for piece of mind.
AnswerID: 311423

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 13:49

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 13:49
I have a 2006 D22, I presume it is the same chassis. It has got over 100 000 ks on the clock approx 40 000 has been off the tar. Mainly on dirt tracks such as Garry Junction highway, Talawana track, Simpson desert and Tanami rd. It has also been approx 400 kms off track.... Ie no road, track or any signs of vehicles.
As a 4wd I can not fault it and it is very capable. As for build I really am not happy. It has snapped 3 Bullbars, Front radiator support is cracked, the bracket that holds the rear brake distribution valve has been replaced (it snapped), front seat has been replaced (it sagged) and it has 7 cracks in the chassis, Nissan will not warrant it and will cost almost $7000 to repair...... This was all in the first 18 months.
I do not trash the truck nor have I overloaded it. My attitude is, "If your vehicle breaks in some of the places I go to alone. You'll die!!". On a trip I would probably be carrying approx 700kgs in the back which is under the GVM.
If you want a tuff truck that can handle farm conditions I would advice you not to go down the Nissan road. They cannot handle corrogations and such.
AnswerID: 311438

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 13:59

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 13:59
Oh yes it is very comfortable to drive and powerful but I would never consider another one
FollowupID: 577414

Reply By: Member - Marco T (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 18:12

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 18:12
Hi troppo,

I have the D40 2.5 6 speed.
I use it for work (Carpenter). I removed the tub and installed a tool box body. I have a suspension lift of 50mm (ARB $1900), run 265/75 R16 cooper ST tyres and installed a bull bar/winch-warn 9000.
I carry allot of tools and the boxes weigh 300kg, and 2-3 times a week tow a trailer of 1.5 ton. So it does work fairly hard but I treat it well ( service every 5000km) Current weight day to day loaded @2600kg

On the road - Brilliant! Plenty of power even when towing 1.5ton. Need to give it 1500-2000 revs to get going in first when towing though. I had a patrol 4.2TD before this I have noticed the patrol had more power down low in the revs than the Navara - but the Navara has much more go than the patrol overall.

Off road - I am not a hard core 4x4 driver, I have set the Navara up for touring. With the lift and the 20mm gain in the tyres I have noticed a huge difference in off road performance. I understand the limited travel in the IFS is a drawback, but with the ARB suspension upgrade it is fantastic within it's limits. Departure angle is not so good as it has a big ass ( again - how hard core are you). I intend to get a custom bar made to suit my tool box setup soon.
Also, the engine sump is just waiting to be smashed it is so low and unprotected. I have 2 bash plates from TJM to protect all those bits under there. The only other thing is the fuel tank - fairly low and no protection but it is plastic. It might be able to flex a bit.

Longevity - ??? The other guy with the D22 has a few issues with cracking..... By the sound of it yours will have a good life, not working to hard.

Efficiency - I get day to day 12.5l / 100km. This is loaded and no highway driving.

On the highway i get 10.5-11.0 l /100km loaded.

These figures are with the cooper ST tyres. You will get better with standard size highway treads. I lost about 40km per tank when I changed.
I also have big racks(75mm tube) for carrying materials for work and this will really effect the economy to.

I am taking mine to the Cape in 4 weeks. I can give you a report then as to the real performance on a long trip off road.

Hope this has helped
AnswerID: 311477

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 18:42

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 18:42
Thanks everyone for your input, much appreciated.
Marco, have you you a PM re your trip
AnswerID: 311662