home made gear

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 11:13
ThreadID: 59055 Views:5183 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
who's done what, things to save you money or something new.
lets see them.
cheers shane.

Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 11:51

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 11:51
Hi Shane. When setting up a vehicle most of us do all that can to keep the costs down. I do all my own fitting of after market products, lucky I am able due to always working on my own cars. Looks like you packed on a few yourself. I also like tackling the larger projects and at one time fitted out a bus and drove around Australia towing my Suzuki 4x4 on a A Frame. My latest project is Our new Holden Rodeo (See Profile). The slide off camper was home made (and fitted out) with a light steel frame covered in sheet alloy (Another lucky thing, with my job I have access at no cost to old large/scrapped Directional Signs). We found a second Hand Shipp Shape Roof Top Tent and fitted it to the camper. Long range tank I found at a wreckers and fitted up under the tray and all other accessories (Water tanks, Tool Boxes, HF Radio, reverse camera etc) I purchased off ebay at bargain prices.

Our fridge slide (80ltr Waeco) is home made, did that on the cheap with 2nd hand steel and roller blade bearings purchased of Ebay. I will post a photo later and if any one is interested can draw up some plans and post on the site. Regards Tony
AnswerID: 311424

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 12:32

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 12:32
that's a nice setup mate, nothing like the satisfaction of knowing you have done it yourself. i am getting the plans together for a similar project for my trailer. it seems the bride is getting to like comfort more and more and dislikes the tent. cant always take the van in where i want to go so this is going to be our compromise.
cheers Shane.
AnswerID: 311429

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 16:17

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 16:17
Ta Shane. Well Im lucky again, the bride loves to camp and loves to camp in a tent. So what we now have is our luxury. Have fun bulding the rig and I hope you get to use it heaps all around OZ. Regards Tony.
FollowupID: 577433

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 15:58

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 15:58
Hi Shane, fitted out the troopy myself...you can buy stuff but it usually does not do exactly what you want, I wanted a set up that suited me.....so I started from scratch and built it over time and you will make changes as you road test it but I am very happy with it and I get a lot of satisfaction out of it...a lot of photo's on my home page...
AnswerID: 311451

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:37

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:37
nice setup also mate. your one lucky man if your wife loves the tent and camping too. Mine is not that keen. I was dragged up in the N.T. and army life and could think of nothing better than a life in the bush, but we have to give and take ( i do all the giving and guess who does all the taking.) when we become family people. i lived for over twelve months on army ration packs, wife will not even try one, makes it real easy to go bush if we eat the same.
cheers Shane.
FollowupID: 577478

Reply By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 21:00

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 21:00
Hi Shane,
Us defence types seem to be more accustomed to "rat packs" than most others. However I digress.........
Here's a bit of a list of my owner mods, some of which can be seen on my profile:
Note: Most mods were done prior to our Oz Trip in 2002;
(my then) Hilux 3.0L Diesel (N/A) Dual Cab:
Fridge Slide to suit 40L Engel,
Storage _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx & bins for rear tray,
Storage bins that replaced rear seat,
98 Litre Long Range fuel tank (replaced original spare wheel),
Dual Battery system (designed & built by owner),
Swing away spare wheel carrier,
Roof console (housing 2 radios, voltage meter, light, etc), and
various other bits & pieces.

The Camper Trailer:

Everything apart from the basic trailer and canvas.
Includes:
Roll out kitchen unit,
swing up spare wheel carrier,
alloy storage bins,
Jerry can holders,
water tank plumbing,
240v & 12v electricals + on-board 12v battery.

Thats a start!

Cheers, Matt

AnswerID: 311524

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 23:52

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 23:52
Hi matt, a lot of work has gone into your setup. looks good, do you get away much? I don't seem to get the time, but am going to make a real effort for the rest of this year.
cheers shane
FollowupID: 577517

Follow Up By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 20:59

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 20:59
Hi Shane,
Mate, spent about 1000 hours in 12 months getting the rig ready for the "big trip". Another 2 years saving the $$$ to pay for the trip and mortgage, car loan, etc while we were away.
We actually did Oz on a budget of $100 per day - including everything. Got the travel log to prove it!
To answer your question, we dont get away as much as we'd like too, not so much from the money side of it, but work commitments and a 22 month VERY labour intensive boy. After winter we'll introduce him to the camper trailer for the first time (locally - in case things go "pear shaped"), with the view of a trip to the Flinders later this year.
Our trip around Oz was a highlight - I'm glad I didn't have to wait for retirement to do it!

It wasn't good luck - it was good planning!

Email me off line if you want to natter further.

Cheers, Matt
FollowupID: 577658

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 21:59

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 21:59
hi again Matt, I have not done the big trip yet but have lived in all states bar W.A., hope to get there one day. just hope we don't have to mortgage the house for the fuel bill. i think the best memories have to be the N.T. top place and never got tied of all the great things to See and do. but in later years the heat started to slow us down, getting older maybe.
we bought the van in 2004 but don't get much time to go away and when you get the time you have to watch the dollars. the van still has that new smell in it and the wife has still on the don't do this don't do that crap encase you scratch something.
I think back at some of the trips we have had and i think some of the best days were when you had the old banger and the army tarp with the branch stuck up the middle to keep the water off. every body slept in the 7x4 on top of each other, everything you cooked was in the same billy and it all had sand in it. the good old days.
I don't know about you but i think about how to make things some times for months, i would rather make it than buy it.
my next project is going to be a rear bar with swing away tyre. i am a mould maker now and was thinking about moulding both sides of the back bumper then reshaping them so they fit around a new bar running straight across the back above the towbar. the steel that the normal ones have back to the wheels just does not look right to me. after this i will have a go at making another fuel tank to replace the main.
cheers Shane.
FollowupID: 577675

Follow Up By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 20:55

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 20:55
G'Day Shane,
I share many of your sentiments mate. Using hoochies to stay dry and trying to cook over a hexamine stove! Memories of 5 day "adventures" with 6 hours sleep are still vivid. Especially when followed by the BEST night's sleep I've ever had - 14 hours straight!
You will love WA - it was the pick of the States for us. In fact, we spent a total of 2 months there and didn't want to leave. Karinjini NP was a great, but we really loved Marble Bar (quiet & secluded), also, Derby, Wyndam & Mt Tom Price. Do the 90 minute mine tour there - it was fully $10 and hosted by a couple of miners - fantastic. If there were places we couldn't really warm to, it was Broome and Coral Bay. With Broome, maybe we hit it at peak tourist season (it took us 4 caravan park to find a vacancy - and then we were pushed up against the perimeter fence with all the traffic from the Port roaring by).Coral Bay would be home (at that time, anyhow) to rudest caravan proprietor we've ever met. No pleasant memories of the place, though the scenery was spectacular.
Building Stuff. If I spent 1000 hours making stuff, then I spent at double that long planning/designing it. Among my files I have plans for the wheel carrier I made for the Hilux - I'll see if I can find it for you. Hey, it survived getting airborne on the Cape - but that's another story! The only mods that I paid someone to do for me was the Safari Snorkel and the Toyota bullbar and towbar.
I could go on, but not tonight!

Cheers, Matt
FollowupID: 577861

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 01:02

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 01:02
Most of it's on my web site (click here) including the drawer & tilting fridge slide plans. I haven't put the pics of the Patrol build up (replacing the Courier) on there yet, or the 100 series stuff I've done in the last few weeks.

AnswerID: 311553

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 07:56

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 07:56
I find that most of the things I do have significant personnal input Shane, but this is more because I don't compromises involved with many aftermarket products.

I have had to make towbars/fuel tanks/ winch mounts and have had to engineer and modify many small items as well to get best out of them as well.
I find most aftermarket products a bit of a compromise.
AnswerID: 311730