Patrol Vs Pajero

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 19:22
ThreadID: 5907 Views:4864 Replies:10 FollowUps:9
Good evening all,

My next door neighbors have not got a computer and asked me to post the following question.

They are looking at buying a 4by and have the choice of the cars listed below.

Patrol: 1998 3L turbo diesel. 70,000K's. $30,000 or
Pajero: 1997 2.8L turbo diesel 170,000K's. $38,000.

They say that both cars drove well on test drive. The Pajero has a Bullbar and the Patrol has a long range tank.

All they want to know is, from the info listed above, what's the better buy.

Thanks in advance for any reply,

The J-Man.

Reply By: Tony - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 19:37

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 19:37
The patrol wins handsdown in my opinion, especially if they are considering any serious 4b trips in future.

AnswerID: 24621

Follow Up By: The J - Man - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 19:45

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 19:45
Sorry everyone,

I've just been told that the price of the Pajero is $24,500.
Once again, sorry for any inconveniance.

The J-Man.
FollowupID: 16554

Reply By: bruce.h (WA) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 19:47

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 19:47
Hay j-man
pajero 170,000 ks to borrow a line from a movie tell the seller he is dreaming & go for the patrol
Regards Bruce
AnswerID: 24622

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 20:10

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 20:10
J-man,

From a tojo owner, go the Patrol. Probably better vehicle allround, and the clicks make it the better buy. $5,500 saving isn't much for the Pajero, when you consider the extra 100K on speedo.

A b'bar on the patrol, and it's set for heavy touring.

hooroo...

AnswerID: 24624

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 20:51

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 20:51
This would almost have to be a troll!

Patrol: 1998 3L turbo diesel. 70,000K's. $30,000 or
Pajero: 1997 2.8L turbo diesel 170,000K's. $38,000.

OK, newer car, 100 THOUSAND less klms, and $8000 cheaper.. Does that not speak for itself? $8000 is a lot of accessories. Thats bleep loads of accessories, and with the lots on second hand market for GU... you would nearly fully deck it out for touring on that sort of $.

Although it is a 3.0 GU..and in the danger period for holing pistons ($12k repair)and gearbox failures($3000+)... Search the archives for more info.
AnswerID: 24629

Follow Up By: The J - Man - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 21:06

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 21:06
Sorry Truckster,

You may have missed my correction, $24,500 for the Pajero.

Thanks for the comments,
much apreciated.

J-Man.
FollowupID: 16563

Follow Up By: Salty - Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 01:01

Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 01:01
Truckster,
What was the last model and year that Nissan produced a wagon and ute with an auto and 4.2 motor? Regards Salty,
FollowupID: 16587

Follow Up By: tristjo - Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 01:48

Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 01:48
Salty,

The last 4.2ltr diesel/auto combo was the GQ TI's, ceasing production in the mid 90's(?). Nissan never made an auto in any of the Patrol ute's. You can still buy a brand new 4.2ltr ITD in the current series of Patrol wagons and utes, but only with a manual.

Just thought I would beat Truckster for once!!!

Tristjo.
FollowupID: 16588

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 16:43

Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 16:43
Right up to the GU you could get GQ Auto 4.2's. 1997.
I looked at one the other day with a mate at Car yard in Carrum Downs.
FollowupID: 16616

Reply By: Hugh - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 21:07

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 21:07
You might recommend your neighbour re-checks the Patrol. My choice by a long shot, however 1998 GUs were not available with the 3.0L 4-cyl t/ diesel. The '98 and early '99 models were fitted with the 2.8L 6-cyl t/diesel. At $30,000 I would think this is definitely a '98 w/ 2.8L engine, not the optional 4.2L engine. Even given the new, lower price for the Pajero, I would still recommend the Patrol.

Hugh
AnswerID: 24631

Follow Up By: Member - Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 22:17

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 22:17
yes even the 208td patrol would be a petter buy than the paj, km's aside they are a lot more rugged and the love axle is a boon, unless you are planning on majority road use, then go for a Toyota Soarer like another post here.

all the bestSo many places to go!
So much work to do :0(
FollowupID: 16567

Follow Up By: relaxed QLD - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 22:19

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 22:19
My thoughts exactly Hugh, I didn't think a '98 GU would have a 3lt TD, they didn't come out until 2000.
Realxed
FollowupID: 16569

Reply By: Luke - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 23:00

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 23:00
I had a 1998 GU 2.8lt TDI Patrol and recently sold it with 80,000 kms on it for $31,000 so you're in the ball park. Mine had alloy bar, IPF lights, 33" BFG's, CB's etc etc though so the 2.8 you describe might be a little exxy.

Having said that - it was a great vehicle. Fine for round town, good touring, and off road - although for all round driveability I'd go for the 4.2 TD over the 2.8 if I did it again - the 2.8lt TDI is somewhat underpowered for a 2.5 tonne 4WD.

So all thing considered - I'd go the Patrol over the cheaper Pajero without a doubt...but I'd probably fork out a little extra for the bigger 4.2lt TD Patrol over the 2.8.

Luke.
AnswerID: 24647

Follow Up By: Luke - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 23:16

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 23:16
...and the Patrol comes standard with a 95 lt main tank and 30lt auxilliary tank - so check whether or not that is what is in it or if someone has actually fitted a larger capacity long range tank?

Just FYI - the best fuel economy I had from my 2.8lt GU was 1153kms on a full load of fuel.....that was about 50% highway 50% city...

when I fitted a TJM roofrack to it - the fuel economy literally went down the tubes :-)

Luke.
FollowupID: 16576

Reply By: kezza - Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 23:43

Thursday, Jul 10, 2003 at 23:43
In my opinion if you are thinking of spending under $30k on a nissan patrol - KEEP LOOKING there are heaps of excellent vehicles out there for that sort of money.

Even consider a very good late low klm turbo 4.2 diesel GQ (with none of the problems truckster pointed out with the 3 lit gu)though they are dated they will last forever in a diesel (at that sort of money or less - very low Klms and good value for money and youll have $s to spare for accessories) and go the same places than the heavier GU but not as comfortably or as quietly but mayby easier.

Or go up a few $Ks for a really good 4.2 TD GU

Depends on whats important to you in your decision to get a 4by

kezza

AnswerID: 24656

Reply By: Steve from Drive Systems Victoria - Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 11:13

Friday, Jul 11, 2003 at 11:13
It's fairly academic really. Not enough information to give advice on. How many in the family?Where do they want to drive it?How often?What sort of terrain do they wish to visit and do they have any former 4x4 experience.?Do they tow anything?Or is it purely mums taxi?
AnswerID: 24681

Follow Up By: Fred - Saturday, Jul 12, 2003 at 23:09

Saturday, Jul 12, 2003 at 23:09
Too many questions with too many answers Steve!
FollowupID: 16684

Reply By: Member - Michael - Saturday, Jul 12, 2003 at 03:12

Saturday, Jul 12, 2003 at 03:12
At that year would probably be a 2.8.But the Patrol is a much better vehicle.Gotta get out there. Debbie and Mike
AnswerID: 24758

Reply By: Brian - Saturday, Jul 12, 2003 at 08:37

Saturday, Jul 12, 2003 at 08:37
The Patrol... although as one of the other guys pointed out... for a lot less you could pick up a late GQ with a bucketload of accessories as well as the mighty 4.2l diesel.
AnswerID: 24763