transport stoppage
Submitted: Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 21:27
Member - Mark G (NSW)
has anybody heard of the transport stoppage that is supposed to be happening this sat 28th? heard about it on a talkback radio show earlier this week,and just caught the end of it.maybe this is the big one they've been talking about for ages.
Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 23:53
Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 09:30
Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 09:30
No!
Big one what ?
Whatever it s, how will impact on caravanning, travelling etc?
Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 10:19
Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 10:19
DIO,
You obviously aren't going anywhere on the 28th, so it won't impact on you, but I for one will be travelling on 28th and dont want to be caught up in a blockade (even though I can see their point of view)
Thats how it impacts on "caravanning, travelling etc?"
Cruiser
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 11:22
Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 11:22
This I fully and unconditionally support. Strewth is it not about time someone did something, anything to try and get someone who has the power to bight the expletive deleted bullet re fuel prices? Sure it may be an inconvenience and I for ONE am sick to the eye teeth of the fence sitting, posturing, sabre rattling and procrastination re fuel prices. It's a very complex problem and as we now know not actually the fault of the crude suppliers but the smooth operators who are buying "futures" and forcing the price skyhigh...
If there is a blockade anywhere near me on the day you will find me handing out refreshments.....
I HAVE HAD A GUTFULL OF OUR ELECTED REPRESENTATIVES RIPPING US OF TAX WISE FOR THEIR OWN SELF ENGRANDESMENT.....
We supply the world in LPG and sell it for peanuts yet we charge ourselves around 70 cents/ ltr, now try and tell me that is justifiable, what possible spin can you put on it?
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 12:33
Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 12:33
as far as i know it isn't going to be a blockade as such,it will be run as a "
park up" and shouldn't block any road as by doing that would have a negative effect.trucks would only be
parking in depots and the like.i will keep my ears to the ground and if i hear anything on the road you'll be the first to know,cheers.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 14:09
Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 14:09
MR FAULTY; bloody
well said!!!!!!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 11:54
Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 11:54
Thanks Mark for your support... I salute you....
Reply By: rumpig - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 20:39
Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 20:39
here's a C & P from another
forum on the subject, don't know how much of it is hype or not but will be interesting to see what happens on the dates mentioned. below are 2 extracts from the guy who posted the thread
As you have probably read and heard the transport industry is at its knees,with proposed rego hikes and changes to fatigue management,the industry is organising a National Transport Shutdown on the 28th July.We have had meetings in
Townsville,
Toowoomba and there is a meeting at Dubbo on Sunday 29th June 08.Please dont think this doesnt affect you if you dont drive a truck,this is going to affect everything you buy from milk & bread to the fuel we use for our trips away..I urge you to contact your local member for parliment and express your
views,the more people involved the better chance we have.Think about it,if the industry shutsdown for 2 weeks,what will be left on the
supermarket shelves?For more info contact MICK PATTEL-0429-413-161 or email;kevpat50@bigpond.net.au.Remember WITHOUT TRUCKS AUSTRALIA STOPS
this will affect everyone from the major companies to the yardperson.i know of one major company that has had 19 of its drivers give their notice to finish on the 29th september when new fatigue laws come in and that company will probably shut the doors.this is our last chance
Reply By: Geoff & Karen - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 21:27
Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 21:27
No there will be no blockades, we are not doing it to interrupt travellers. But we should be doing it for more than one day. It should be for a week and it will stop this country. And that is what we need to do to make those people who sit in government realise the price of fuel, rego, insurance. You cant pass the costs onto the customers because they only go and find some truckie who is willing to under cut someone else because he needs a load to get home to the family. Some money for a load home is better than running home empty. It's not only truckies doing it hard it is the farmers as
well. More the people who HAVE to buy fuel, pay rego on trucks and tractors, and insurance on big rigs and farming equipment, to make a living. Yeah I know families have these costs as
well, but they can choose to go for a day trip and put fuel in their 4WD, truckies and farmers have no choice.....................
So Mr Fawlty, I'm with you, give the guys all the support you can, after all, everyone will benefit from this IF the prices come down a tad. They are not doing this to upset people, but to try and help the cost of running trucks.
Good on em, and I hope it all works out for them.
Karen & Geoff
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 11:52
Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 11:52
Yeah look it's about time a few of us started to think independantly for ourselves rather than thinking that all those who pursue some form of injustice are out to penalise everyone.
THE ONLY WAY WE CAN GET ANYONE IN POWER TO SEE THINGS FROM THE PUBLIC PERSPECTIVE IS TO SPEAK UP...
Sure things are inconvenient whern someone decides to excercise their democratic rights, and not everyone gets what they want in a democracy but it sure feels better when you stand up for what you believe in....
Reply By: patrolmann - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 15:27
Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 15:27
why doesnt the government drop or cut the taxes on diesel to relieve the situation. petrol users can find alternative ways to travel to work etc. Truckies cant
Follow Up By: Hairs (NSW) - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 15:42
Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 15:42
I'm having a guess here,
I reckon they're so addicted to the revenue that they get from them it would impossible for them to give some of it up.
I would hate to think how much they rake in from it.