Buying a mid-size second hand 4wd

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 16:51
ThreadID: 59090 Views:5358 Replies:8 FollowUps:20
G'day,

I am in the market for a mid-size 4wd and would appreciate your assitance. I am looking for the following:

- budget of $15,000 - $18,000
- mid-size (can take four people plus gear comfortably, but will normally have just two)
- capable off-road
- manual
- petrol (diesel is just expensive these days and I can't afford the latest technology)
- fuel economy of 11L per 100km on highway or less
- will be a weekend trip car (canyoning, 4wd trips, camping etc) and will not be used to commute
- reliable / cheap(ish) to maintain

I will use the car as a weekender or for road trips - most driving will be on highways or good dirt roads, with some technical/mud occassionally. I want to be able to hear the radio in fifth gear and not have a broken back after a three hour drive (some comfort).

Am looking at late 90's Petrol Prado but feel it's a bit big for my needs. Alternatives are a Suziki Vitara, but I hear it has the same fuel economy as the four cyclinder Prado, so why not a Toyota? Heard Pajero's and older Jackeroos are also good.

Appreciate your thoughts!

Adam

Reply By: Member - John G- Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 17:39

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 17:39
G'day Adam

I'm no expert, but from experience with a Hilux dual cab (TD diesel), and from general reading, my two bob would be on Hilux, or Mazda, dual cabs. For what it's worth, our 2000 Hilux (SR5) Dual Cab 3.0TD does around 11 litres / 1000km around town, less on the highway.

Having said, if we could have afforded a Prado we would have bought one.

AnswerID: 311645

Reply By: 2 grey nomads - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 17:59

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 17:59
Hi Adam,

We have a Mitsubishi Challenger and cannot fault it. Ours is an automatic though. It's a 3L petrol on gas and I would say we use about 12L per 100 on petrol. We only use ours on the bitumen not into "off road"

AnswerID: 311650

Follow Up By: oz doc - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 19:35

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 19:35
I will second that. We have just sold a Challenger - a very good all round 4wd. Ours wasnt that great on fuel though- 13.5 l/100km but we were so happy with it otherwise. Had very good rear cargo space too. Cheers. Oz doc.
FollowupID: 577634

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 18:38

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 18:38
The 90series Prado are avery capable vehicle, with good clearance, nice low range, and have a good history for reliability. Petrol ones are hard to sell at the moment, so bargain hard, and you'll get a good cheap 4wd. The GXL V6 has all the goodies like cruise control, extra fuel tank etc. The 4 cylinder is bare basics, and only single fuel tank.

I see a lot of people get into 4wding and buy a smaller vehicle, only to be disappointed by what it won't do.
AnswerID: 311661

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 19:39

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 19:39
2nd that.

The 90series prado is pretty good.
(Yes, iown a 1996 pajero, but more 90 series prados sold so better range toselect from and more accessories.)
I would put the 1990 to 1999 pajeros next then jackeroos.
Unless the twin cabs seem more like what you want.
FollowupID: 577636

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 09:37

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 09:37
John we have a low k NH Paj(90000) and a 98 Jack with 127000ks. THe Paj has very good fronts seats and a very good ride but the jack carries weight far better(both have sandard springs) and the 3.5 Jack motor is a lot smoother and gives better economy than the 3lt. by about 2mpg. THe jack also has outstanding low down torque for a modern v6. Best economy from the jack has been 25mpg and the paj about 23mpg. That said swmbo loves the paj and it has been very reliable.
FollowupID: 577712

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 14:25

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 14:25
Pete,

Yes, I have not had a lot to do with Jackaroos, but friends who have owned them swear by them. Just a couple of problems with the diesels and the injection system.
FollowupID: 577755

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 21:23

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 21:23
John if you have a 3lt diesel you would be swearing at it. lol
FollowupID: 577873

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 19:46

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 19:46
Adam,

Hyundai Terracan.

You will pick up a V6 with some of the 5 year warranty left at the money you are talking.

Absolutely ripping car. I sadly parted with mine only because I needed a ute for business.

To get 11L/100 km you'll need to be judicious with the loud pedal, but that is the same with all V6 wagons.

AnswerID: 311680

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 21:36

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 21:36
If your after cheap motoring around town you wont get it from a petrol prado. Averaging around 15/17L per 100 that is purely around town, short runs to and from work and one about 70k there and back on a saturday, about 160k all up. I have checked mine over the last month. Freeway use to be about 12.2 per 100 but since adding a/t tyres, bulbar etc has gone upto 13.3L per 100. But a big advantage is LPG. You can get a 85 litre tank fitted (67 useable) at the back, you keep the reserve tank (70L) so have duel fuel and you will save a pocket load, and dont forget you still get the 2g cash back at the moment. Prices range roughly from 2300 to 3000 for the system. While I dont do big klms around town Im in the process of thinking fitting LPG to mine as we do alot of runs up to the mid north coast, and central coast and with the cost of fuel heading north I will recoup the added cost very very quickly. No doubt the LPG will go up as well eventually but still a heap load cheaper, only restriction to me will be any desert runs, but none planned for a while so not to concerned. Can still do a fair bit of Aus on LPG and with the reserve tank. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 311706

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 09:57

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 09:57
Hi Steve, the v6 Prados take gas ok, no latter head problems?
FollowupID: 577714

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 10:40

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 10:40
Hi Pete, yeah chased all that up. Rang Toyota they donot recomend gas on any of there range but then again he's not going to say yes incase anything goes wrong, I then cant turn around and say "well you said it would be ok". I am getting the valves/tappets checked to make sure the clearance's are all ok. Can bet Toyota have never checked them. Will replace the leads (original still on there done 170k) Its getting done by gas and go at Prestons $2900 supply and fit and he adds an oxygen sensor in the exhaust (95 series dont have them) and this will make it run better and delivery better economy they call it a closed circuit. He has been doing and still doing roughly 3 to 4, 95 series petrol prado's a week so he has obviously done a fair few so Im not a ginnie pig like some of the other places I rang. I will recoup the 900 in 6 months if just going to and from work. BUt with going up the coast quit freqently I will recoup in about 3 months maybe earlier. I have spoke to a bloke who has had his done there and was rapped with it and so far no problems. I have spoke to numerous other prado owners I have seen in carparks etc (wife reckons Ill talk to anyone LOL) and havnt heard a bad word yet, most only wishing they had done it earlier. I have also found a website that has every gas outlet in Australia for when we go away and there are heaps, places I wouldnt have thought of. So I took the plunge and booked it in on the 13 of August last appointment left cant get in till mid september now if you rang up. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 577721

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 14:30

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 14:30
Hope it goes well Steve. I am sure you will let us know.lol
FollowupID: 577759

Follow Up By: AP100 - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 00:14

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 00:14
Will think seriously about a gas Prado. As I'm not going to commute in the car, may see how Petrol goes first. Am just a little concerned about the size.

Are the really no decent "small-ish" 4wds out there? Can anyone talk about the Suzuki Vitara?
FollowupID: 577902

Follow Up By: madfisher - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 09:14

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 09:14
A.p. The v6 Vitara are good reliable vehicles(ex wife has one now up to 180000) but they are very low slung. On a recent fishing trip one holed a fuel tank while no one else had a problem.
Stephen above use to have one I am sure and he can give you more info.A mild lift and larger tyres may help.
The problem is a lot of tracks start off easy and get progressively worst so you can find yourself in trouble with a car with inadquate clearance. If you only intent to use it on forestry roads etc it would be fine.
FollowupID: 577922

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 09:20

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 09:20
Hi there AP, the suzks are a brilliant 4wd. I have had two, the older 1.6 petrol carby 3 door, and a 2000 grand vitara 2 litre manual. Both great cars but we found even with a lift in both of them there was not enough ground clearance, and luggage area was another issue for us and we dont even have kids. Great on the fuel (round 8L per 100) in the grand, went like a little rocket and was fantastic on the beach due to its weight plus a great responsive motor. Depends on your needs, towing,luggage etc. Friends of ours have the brand new model V6 and boy does it suck fuel. They come down from QLD at xmas and he averaged 15L per 100 doing the speed limits, thats more then my prado. In general the suzuki is a fantastic and very capable 4wd depending on your needs. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 577923

Follow Up By: madfisher - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 09:36

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 09:36
I did not think you would be far away steve. LOL
Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 577928

Reply By: madfisher - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 09:54

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 09:54
Adam,
When you find a vehicle that will do everything you require let me know and I will order one too. lol
My old 22r 4runner once done 10/100 with mild ats on and driven like Granny but had no reserve power for towing.
I was going to replace it with a 2.7 prado, but found out they often do heads at about 170000ks. If driven gently they seem to give reasonable economy but for most people the v6 gives similar economy and much nicer and quiter to drive.
I ended up buying a 3.5 v6 Jack because you got a lot more for your money. I love it does not even notice my boat is behind it.
All petrols 4wds values are in freefall at the moment as people panic. Same thing happened in the 70s my xy 302 halved in value overnight. SO there are bargains to be had.
You could pick up a low k Jack from 2002/3 for this money.
Good luck Pete
AnswerID: 311746

Follow Up By: AP100 - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 00:15

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 00:15
Thanks Pete. What Jackeroo models would you look at? I do like the car.
FollowupID: 577903

Reply By: AP100 - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 10:04

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 10:04
Thank you all for your input. Many of you push for a V6 - in terms of fuel economy aren't the older sixes going to eat a lot more than the 4cyl? Has anyone got a 4cyl Prado that they think is too gutless?

With an early 2000 Jackeroo - what models would people recommend?

Adam
AnswerID: 311749

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 10:49

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 10:49
The 2.7 petrol motor is quit a gusty motor with fairly good torque, but have heard of head issues with them, but only a few. Early 96 V6 model prados also had head issues so if heading down the prado track make sure its a 97 upwards. Mind you any that did have head troubles would have been fixed by now anyway. Cant comment on the jacks only what Ive read and that is if you decide to get a diesel in one be prepared for big repair costs as the parts are worth a fortune. (only what I have read on here ) not from my own experiance. The V6 jack motors seem to go very well with heaps of get up and go. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 577725

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 10:51

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 10:51
One in very good condition.lol. The diesel could be troublesome so that leaves the 3.5 v6 in either the standard model or the SE. I went with the SE as they look better(alloys two tone treatment etc.) but the most importent thing with 4bys is condition , condition and a service history is most importent with todays hitech moters. If no service history walk. When I brought mine the vendor wents halfs with me on and arranged a racv inspection. This put my mind at rest as he would not have done this if he knew of problems. In the 15 months I have owned it I have changed all fluids/belts etc but it has required no repairs. Great vehicle . Their are very few medium sized 4bys with 4 cylinder motors. The old Jacks with 2.6s are now getting very long in the tooth, but their is still the rare good one arround. Paj 2.6s used more fuel than the 3lts which in turn use more fuel then the hi tech Jack 3.5(dohc, 24v, variable inlets)
Good luck and let us know how you go. Prados normally with the same tyres etc are the most economical v6.
Good luck Pete
FollowupID: 577726

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 16:02

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 16:02
Must support Petes views on the Jack. I have a standard V6,
2000 model auto, gives 12k/100 driven steadily & got 15k/100
towing C/t with 4 adults on board on 13k outback trip. Great
vehicle, strong motor, excellent throttle control for the slow
rough stuff too. Probably bigger than mid size. Cant fault it after 20k. Paid $14k for it nearly 2 years ago with only 80k on it. Your budget should get you into a low k model up to 03, last year
made. Check them out on Ebay, Carsonline etc. I wouldnt sell
mine for $20k. Only used as holiday car. May be a bit hard on fuel
if required for peakhour traffic........oldbaz.
FollowupID: 577788

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 21:42

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 21:42
Baz I have just switched to a lighter oil on the advice of a mate who was the service manager at the local holden dealer. The oil is 10/30 xp professional from Castrol. Supposed to give better economy in the cooler weather. Apparently their was a bullitin from gmh advising people to use this oil. Would give better start up protection also. Will keep an eye on economy and advise if any measurable improvement.
You are doing verywell to get 12s from a auto.
I get better economy towing my 600kilo boat then wifes paj with only a canadian canoe on roof.
FollowupID: 577879

Follow Up By: AP100 - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 00:20

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 00:20
Again, thanks to you all for the input. Very helpful.

Is the consensus that unless you have a very new hi-tech diesel pertol (or LPG if you dare) is the go?
FollowupID: 577904

Follow Up By: madfisher - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 09:29

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 09:29
AP everyone has a different opinion on this, but I seem to be getting similat economy figs to 90 series prado td.11.6 to 12.6 open road, 14s towing my boat, 14 to 16 arround town. But I do have mild ats and the restrictors removed. I get the best economy figs using cruise where possible. I rarely have to change out of 4th arround town as the 3.5 is sooo towie.
When I purchased mine I drove heaps and for some reason mine went heaps better then average, could have something to do with why I am getting reasonable consumption.
Manual Jacks do on average 50ks per tank further than auto.
Cheers pete
FollowupID: 577925

Reply By: madfisher - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 09:47

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 09:47
AP on reflection a 2.7 prado would most likly suit you best.Positives are very good off road capabilities, plenty of room for camping gear. not to wide, economy to 10/100 possible with carefull driving, very good low down torque, good resale.
The only neg is the issue with the head which is advoidable, eg tappetts adjusted every 40000ks and valves shimmed at 100000ks.
Please note my knowledge on these vehicles only comes from what I have read.
I did find it very hard to find a good one, thats why I brought the Jack.
On a recent trip to tassie with only two occupants we had the jack loaded to the roof with the rearmost seats removed, so you will find the extra space usefull if you value a few comforts when camping
AnswerID: 311960

Follow Up By: AP100 - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 14:35

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 14:35
Am on the lookout for a 2.7 Petrol Prado in good nick. Service history and low kms will be the deciding factors.

Thanks for the input - I may messgae you if I have a specific car in my sights.

Thanks again.

Adam
FollowupID: 578294