patrol 2001 ST 3.0lt TD

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 12:53
ThreadID: 59158 Views:4415 Replies:10 FollowUps:35
Looked at a Patrol just a while ago, 12/01, 108,000km, spare wheel carrier, bullbar, tinted windows, looks pretty good, 1 owner, 5 cooper atr's with a good 50,000km left on them, 12 month warrenty / 25,000km...
straight swap for our Navara......you know about it....(22,000km, winch bullbar, tow bar, airbags suspension, tint windows, draw, floor and canopy.....)
they have $27,000 on it.....has almost guarrenteed a straight swap.

what you think???????

and b4 you ask why......Im not telling!

Laura

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 12:57

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 12:57
I think you can view it here.....
AnswerID: 311991

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 16:30

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 16:30
Take the Landcruiser ;)

FollowupID: 577976

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 17:55

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 17:55
PMSL Laura.....

Perhaps a bus is in order after all....lol..

I wouldn't touch the Patrol , i think yours is worth much more than that...Sell privately maybe??

Cheers......Borgy

FollowupID: 577987

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 13:22

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 13:22
Kiwi,
The 3lt motor would be the only thing I would be worried about. Make shore it's had all it's services and any up grades or mods to the motor and ask if the warranty covers melted piston.Good Luck with it.
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 312001

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 13:26

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 13:26
all service history is there....no mods....i think the prob was with the 02's???????
FollowupID: 577953

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:56

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:56
No, the probs were with the Series 2 which went from 2000 to late 2001 or maybe even early 2002, when the series III was introduced. You can tell the difference between series 2 and III by the headlights and tail-lights. The series 2 has the headlights that are NOT clear glass and the driver's side dummy tail light is totally red.

I'd be VERY careful about buying/swapping one of these. There have even been a few reported cases of series III blowing a piston etc.

There are several ways to stop this from being a problem (apparently), but they relate to doing things like fitting boost/pyro gauges, blocking off EGR valves etc. Best to have a good long read of all the stuff on the Patrol4x4 forum.

Good luck.

FollowupID: 577967

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:48

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:48
Kiwi, buddy
I'm here to tell you the problem still exists in 2003 GUIII's
Colin.
FollowupID: 577999

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:41

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:41
" I'd be VERY careful about buying/swapping one of these. There have even been a few reported cases of series III blowing a piston etc.

There are several ways to stop this from being a problem"

Get a Landcruiser as Kev says!!!!!!!

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 578020

Reply By: brushmarx - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 13:33

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 13:33
Take the Commodore, same price and better economy. The kids on Top Gear last night drove 2 wheel drives across central Africa without too many problems, just to show you don't need 4x4's.
AnswerID: 312002

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 17:38

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 17:38
How funny was that ?? Last week it was the trip across the water in vehicles made to float, well sort of. These guys do some crazy stuff. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 577984

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 13:39

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 13:39
I had a 2000 model and it was fine except for the manual gearbox which went around 40,000, fixed up and no further problems.

I do know of a lot of people who have had problems with them though, including the 2001 model. Number 3 or 4 pistons with holes in them.

27,000 is a fair bit for one of them too.
AnswerID: 312004

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:02

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:02
its got less than average km. looked around and ave private sale $22,000 with a lot more km.
FollowupID: 577956

Follow Up By: Notso - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:05

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:05
It is above the top recommended range in Red Book, but if it is special I guess that makes a difference.

FollowupID: 577959

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:14

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:14
finally got through to nissan....prbs were 2000 - 2002......might not be a goer!
FollowupID: 577960

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:25

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:25
Kinda lends a new meaning to the "old banger", doesn't it ? Personally I wouldn't touch a 3L after reading about the engine problems.
FollowupID: 577962

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:34

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:34
and '03 (my parents 180,000 kms BANG)

some 04 have gone bang as well

Would want to be a bloody good reason to swap
FollowupID: 577963

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:48

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:48
yours is worth 10k more than the patrol
FollowupID: 577965

Follow Up By: madfisher - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:48

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:48
I reckon it would be worth $15000.00 tops and I still would not risk i
You would be better off with a diesel 80, you could at lest depend on it to get you home.
FollowupID: 577966

Reply By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:58

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 14:58
Stick with the Mahindra mate- you're getting it all setup to how you want it !!

"and b4 you ask why......Im not telling!" -Ummm- could be that there's something we don't know about the Mahindra- you've just won Lotto- or there's another 'little one' on the way????

AnswerID: 312014

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 17:13

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 17:13
on the right kinda track there signman! I wouldnt be changing unless it was needed!!
FollowupID: 577982

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:52

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:52
you hit the nail right on the head signmam :):)

have we got any names picked out yet kiwi
FollowupID: 578000

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:00

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:00
Hi Laura, what year is your Navara?

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 312033

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:10

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:10
dec 06
FollowupID: 577990

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:24

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:24
Thanks Laura, our Daughter has a 2002 (late) model and has only done 40,000ks with it, I am a little concerned about the motor but have been assured that it is the later motor, also I realise it is not a 'Patrol' therefore a lighter vehicle.

D

FollowupID: 577995

Follow Up By: nickb - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 20:45

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 20:45
I believe the Navara had a different turbo to the patrol. The patrol had a turbo with variable vanes that were electronically controlled where as the navara had a traditional turbo.

As others have said, Patrol4x4.com had plenty of info (good and bad). There is also a document (made by a forum member) describing in detail the modifications strongly advised to improve reliability.
FollowupID: 578193

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 01:22

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 01:22
Thanks nickb for that info, will head for the Patrol4x4 forum.

D

FollowupID: 578239

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:00

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:00
If anyone cant see this is a cast then thier blind...............
dont know why I look LOL
AnswerID: 312034

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:10

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:10
???????????????????????????????????????
dont know why you would reply!
FollowupID: 577991

Reply By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:54

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:54
Kiwi,
Get it for $15000 and put a 1HD-FTE in it and you'll have a GREAT car for under $35000
Colin.
AnswerID: 312046

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:57

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 18:57
Sorry Laura. not kiwi.
FollowupID: 578001

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:51

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:51
Laura / Kiwi .... all the same!!
FollowupID: 578061

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:31

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:31
Hi Laura,
Give it a miss. Its a vehicle with a reputation - you'll find hard to sell in the future. And the mechanical hassles include flywheel, clutch, 5th gear, turbo. airflow sensors etc etc etc You don't need those dramas.
AnswerID: 312066

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:27

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:27

I know there is a reputation here for there reported faults. But having just traded one through a dealer i have begun to doubt that it iis seen the same way others.

Remenberin that most of these vehicles probably dont ever go off road and are used by "soccer mums" and useally have low city mileage the view by a large majority of the buyers are that they are good value.

I traded mine to a dealer and bought the latest model, this was done in two transactions so the tradein was not dependant on the sale of the new one. The trade in was higher than the red book and they sold it again a week later for $4k more.

Because of this i have started to believe the view by the "normal" drivers are that they are good value.

Just my 2c worth

FollowupID: 578051

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:43

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:43
Gday Alan,
All fair comment.
What do you think about Laura's deal?
FollowupID: 578057

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:46

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:46

Based on what she says, 6 year old, 108000 Kms ( approx 20k per year), series 3 GU, as long as the fixes have been done , the oil pressure sensor near the turbo. it has decent tyres etc. The series 3 had most faults fixed.

Things not stated are service history, body condition etc.

As far as price goes most dealers will have probaly $3-4K in profit in the price so i woulnt pay what they ask for. There probably is potential to get it cheaper. Mine had 140k, 2004 model, very good body, paint work, ful service history and was sold by the dealer quickly for $31K.

If this one laura is looking at is good it may be a fair price.

what i am wondering though why trade a newer car on a old. This never makes sense to me.

FollowupID: 578073

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 07:04

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 07:04
"The series 3 had most faults fixed". Wrong.

Mine is a 2003 srIII, why do you think i'm doing what I am then???

Project TONI is because that statement is incorrect mate.

It's NOT a fair price IF it costs $15000-20000 to fix. It's still a lottery as to how they survive.
Colin.
FollowupID: 578087

Follow Up By: RosscoH - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 07:22

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 07:22
I fail to see how it could cost $15,000 to $20,000 to fix, there are are plenty of 3 lt motors in late model writeoffs in wrecking yards, depending on the yard $6,500/ $7,500 if it cost $1,000 to get it installed, still a lot cheaper than a full rebuild on a 4.2 whether it be nissan or toyota.
FollowupID: 578091

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 08:12

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 08:12
RosscoH
Then you can buy another ticket in the same old lottery, and hope you dont get the lucky prize, what fun!!!!!

Only an option if you want to "dump the car" on some other poor sucker.

But then it's not your problem any more eh!!!!
Colin
FollowupID: 578100

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 13:06

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 13:06
Alan the vast majority of soccer Mums do not get on 4wd forums so are uninformed. A lot of people buy from the heart not the head.
FollowupID: 578139

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 13:36

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 13:36
I agree with Phil.
These vehicles have such a poor history that you would be mad to take on the risk of such future possible heartache.
Particularly as a couple with a young family.

FollowupID: 578140

Follow Up By: Nutta - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 13:38

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 13:38
Christ On Patrol, there are thousands of these things on the road, why arent they parked up broken down on the side oif the road everywhere?

U got a DUD, GET OVER IT!
FollowupID: 578141

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 13:50

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 13:50
Lots of Duds out there.

You would have to be a Nutta to consider buying the issues involved with these vehicles.

FollowupID: 578145

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 14:57

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 14:57
Nutta by name and nature, I have a right to say what I please, so just BUTT OUT.
FollowupID: 578151

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 17:09

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 17:09
You chaps crack me up. Made my day.
FollowupID: 578161

Reply By: nickb - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 20:41

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 20:41
Surely you could sell the Navara for more than $27k? Not yet 2 years old and 22,000km with some accessories.

My best mate was looking at buying a Navara in the 03-04 age and they wanted low to mid $20k.
AnswerID: 312233