when did it happen?
Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:22
Member - shane (SA)
the wife and i have been together for around 34 years and somewhere in that time i stopped wearing the pants. I became the the last in the food change, wife, kids, birds, dogs and then me. I remember making most of the decisions and disciplining the kids and the dogs a few years back but now, nothing. being told what to do, what to wear, and how much i can spend, had to many beers, ect,ect.
I have been thinking about it for days, cant think when it happened though. Cant ask my dad, same thing has happened to him. he can't remember when it happened to him, so he will not remember when it happened to me. The bloke next door, same thing.
Went to ask the bloke across the road, he cant even come out to play, has to do something inside. guy that works for me can't help, has not happened to him yet, but said if i find out he would like to know.
so can someone help me with this?
cheers shane.
Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:26
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:26
had the snip?? if so about then I reckon!!! :)
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:28
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:28
they pick at the edges over the years (women)....a little here a little there.......then one day you think shyte I am ASKING if I can have a beer with my mates!! LOL
Reply By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:31
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:31
I dunno either. Hasn't happened to me yet but only 22 years.
I do know this but - you better make sure she doesn't see this otherwise you're gunna be a bit lighter in the knacker department!!
Cheers Paul B Kalgoorlie
Reply By: Supercalafreakinawesome - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:36
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:36
It hasn't happened to me yet, but my wife gave me permission to put this reply on the
forum.......she said I was to say that perhaps it happened around the time you started driving a nissan and people stopped taking you seriously then (LOL)... anyway I better go wash and wipe up, mop the floors and hang out the washing.
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 14:47
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 14:47
LOL!!
Reply By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:47
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:47
Hi Shane,
Sorry to hear about your condition.
I would spend a bit more time replying to your plaintive pleas for help but I have to go back and clean up the kitchen after I made a mess cooking tea.
William,
(24.5 years of marriage)
Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:56
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:56
G'day Shane,
If you really want to know I'll tell you.................come a little closer to the screen ........................... it happened around 34 years ago.....hahahaha....you just never realised it at the time.
Hahahaha !
Those other blokes who reckon it hasn't happened to them yet are just deluded............LOL
Oppppps............I better go. ;-)
Reply By: Member - Au-2 - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:58
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 20:58
You poor old darlings, don't you realise that your relationships are in the democratic phase? When you married your sweet
young brides, they were used to being ruled by their fathers, so they automatically acceded to his superior wisdom, in all things. It came to pass that the SYBs 'matured' and realised that the male of our species was not a font of all knowledge and it was possible that things could be done better/quicker/cheaper with a little logic or common sense.
So what you are dealing with now is the passing from Autocracy/Paternalism to Democracy. You are now in a partnership, where logic is debated and you both come to the same conclusion which is a 'win-win' solution for both of you. Peace is maintained because common sense prevails.
Sheila.
Follow Up By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:38
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:38
Sheila,
When you say "You are now in a partnership, where logic is debated and you both come to the same conclusion" is that women speak for "I am right so leave or accept it"?
Anonymous male.
Follow Up By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:39
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:39
Ahh bugga knew I should have logged on as a nameless visitor....
Follow Up By: Member - Au-2 - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:23
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:23
Brian . . sweetie .. . You know that question, "Are we there yet?"
Well dear, "YES," You are there, NOW!
Now that you understand my logic, my job is done.
Sheila.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 08:08
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 08:08
Shane,
it's not "Friday" yet.
Well done Sheila. I LIKE the way you THINK!!
Nette
Follow Up By: Squizzy - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 11:35
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 11:35
Hey Nette, have you been able to successfully clean Bill's underwear after his small scare on the weekend!!
I imagine it will be a topic at
Innamincka.
Geoff.
Follow Up By: Member - Au-2 - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 19:05
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 19:05
Well,
well,
well, one woman is 'allowed' to read the
forum and have a say!
So you all think you're hard-done-by, do you? I don't think so!
I hope you are going to Innaminka, Nette, you will have to alert the SYBs about this unjustice to all woman-kind.
Maybe you could arrange a 'pointing of the bone' ceremony to bring some logical wisdom to our brethren.
Sheila.
Follow Up By: Member - Au-2 - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 19:08
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 19:08
. . . and Nette? your signature/quote says it all. Very relevant to the topic.
Sheila
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 20:08
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 20:08
Well Hello Mr Squizzy,
You may have to let us know what Mr Roach did on the w/e with the big shoot!!!
Seems that he has forgotten to tell us about it!
He maybe in the running, again, for ANOTHER MUCHUP AWARD from his favourite 4wd club.
He is a busy man, looking after all that money,
well checking to see if his offsider has anyway.
I dont think he is going to be at Inamincka when we are there, but that wont stop us from talking about him LOL
Sheila
I will be there with the love of my life, of over 35 years, but I suppose dragging her around the common by the hair will be seen to be unacceptable? LOL
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:40
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:40
I hear the said chev-nissan had a near roll over and that the only thing stopping it was the fact that the camper was on the back. The only evidence of this event happening is the hearsay of those there. Unfortunately the photographer missed out on getting the 'pictorial' evidence because he was packing his gear away at the time. And, Geoff, where was your camera??
All I can say is I am GLAD I wasn't there!!!
Nette
Follow Up By: Member - Au-2 - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 22:56
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 22:56
Mr Pesty,
I think lynching went out many years ago but there might be a similar retaliation by the silent majority if such a thing were to be seen or experienced by any one of them. The grapevine does not discriminate and it is faster than the internet. You could bring this site down! Do you want that?
Heh heh, how's that for logic?
Sheila.
Follow Up By: Squizzy - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 07:12
Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 07:12
Pesty,
I'll let Bill tell the story first, all I can say is, hopefully his underwear will still be able to be retrieved from his rear end!!
Nette,
I am still kicking myself, first time out without the damn camera, and missed an ideal shot. The front left wheel was the height of my chest and Bill would have been looking down a nasty 300m drop.
The camper did have a big part in preventing a nasty incident.
The photographer was not able to get another shot, as he was stunned by what was happening.
Geoff.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 08:05
Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 08:05
Kinda makes me wonder why they call it 4WD ACTION ??? hahaha
I give him the best shots of his career and he's got his hand gripping the wrong sort of canon!!! hahahaha
Not only did the camper trailer assist in keeping the rig "shiny side up", but the diver's side step is a bit bit bent and buckled in testament to the part it played as
well....... looking at getting a new set of sliders now!
Reply By: macbushy - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:10
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:10
If my wife sees this
sign of mutiny or disention (you aren't starting a cult movement are you?) she will report this site to NET Nanny and I wont be allowed to look at it any more. So please stop this dangerous and useless anti-social behaviour and just grow up and except it.
You will just make it worse for us. I've heard of males having visiting rights to the shed restricted, smoke detectors adjusted to detect offensive smells and only pretty coloured drinks allowed in the beer fridge, all because "they" thought we may have looked at a pretty girl on a 20" high bill board, dead in front of a set of traffic lights jammed on red.
For heavens sake.... think about the rest of us....
Pleaaseeeeeeee
Oh no.... she's coming down the hall.... (time to click onto the other site to hide this.. (how to make macrame covers for the BBQ.com) bye
Follow Up By: macbushy - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:32
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:32
oh great guys. now im in for it.....
How does she know? was it the quiver in my voice when I denied chatting to another male, or was it the fact that i avoided eye contact when disputing evidence of a warm monitor.....
Good grief, I have now had computor privlages withdrawn for a week....
....apparently I have to go now 'cause my mother inlaw needs to come for a sleepover and I have to move my bed to the laundry floor before she gets here.
Reply By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:17
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:17
What an odd post?
Those more quallified than me maybe able to help.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:58
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:58
"What an odd post"
That is an understatement, posts such as this are spoiling this
forum.
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 14:14
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 14:14
'odd post'....Yer get them now and then.
Brings to mind another odd one a few days ago, something about an ex PM and a chopping board.....hehehe.
Nah...its all good.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 15:11
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 15:11
Touche
Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:22
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:22
Hi Shane,
I'm allowed to do anything my wife lets me. Also I wear the pants in my household, just that my wife tells me what size and colour they'll be.
I'm a stay at home dad atm. The bit I hate is after I've had to deal with the kids all arvo, When I'm at the sink doing the spuds and vegies for dinner and she comes home,Comes up behind me, Feels me up the bum, peck on the cheek and asks how my day was. I'm not a sex object, if ever she comes home with grog on her breath, I'm telling ya I'm packing and out the door.
You got no idea how that makes me feel?
I feel you pain Shane.
;-))
Life is good.
Reply By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:24
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:24
Ditto here.. 32.5 years of holey deadlock with a few years before the knot was tied where the writing was already on the wall..
Strange delusion we all start with.
I'm the boss in my family [cos my wife tells me I am]
Cheers Royce
Reply By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:38
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:38
Geez Shane,
I'm a mere pup at this gig. Married 11 years to a girl 10 years my junior (dont ask, it's a long but somewhat entertaining story!).
Dont worry mate, even at my somewhat infant state the rot has set in. I'm here the garage on the computer instead of spending "quality time" in front of the TV watching some Corby drug special! Or so I'm told.
The old sayings "you'd get less for murder" and " cant live with 'em, cant live without 'em" spring to mind!
Cheers, Matt
Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:56
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 21:56
i agree with you a 100%, last week i had to clean up MY shed because someone said they cant find anything.
i hang my head in disgrace.
shane.
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 00:05
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 00:05
It's called "pussy whipped".
Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:20
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:20
It is a slippery slide down,
And God forbid if you get Man Boobs.
There is little or no help for that.
Reply By: Trev (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:23
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:23
I've got 18 years up and all I can say to you all is ..... get some balls! Sounds like you are happy not being the boss.....some sort of support network for each other by complaining about it.
LOL Trev
Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:25
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:25
It all started when you uttered those fateful words " I do " I've got my 40th coming up this year. But now those two fateful words have become " Yes Dear" !!!! Learn to live with it.......
| May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.
Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:53
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 22:53
My darling of almost 30 years duration hates those 2 words "Yes Dear" when i utter them. I think its all in the delivery. Never been one to sugar coat my responses, no point is there, after 30 years you can't lie to them they have told you what to think for ages
Reply By: troopyman - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:11
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:11
You have to turn it around to suit your self . The wife is in charge and i have no worries . I only need money for
beer and diesel . Heres a bill love , wheres that
beer .
Reply By: neil&brenda - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:45
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:45
Ahh yes, the typical bravado and the subserviant responses! All very well for those still in their original relationships! What about those of us batting for a second time? Have we learnt from our mistakes? Me thinks not! Initial independence is only a smoke screen to the inevitable! 'Tis a battle to be fought, with a smirk and a wink!
Neil. (the misses is asleep) Gotta love it.
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 05:29
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 05:29
The Boss and I have just clocked up 35 years of "pure bliss".
In saying that, I would like to qualify a few things.
1) She wears the pants, I just get the chance to rip them off her, when I am allowed to.
2) No need for me to remember any dates, birthdays, anniversaries, deaths.ect,,. these are etched into their minds forever, but she can't remember how to turn on things like remotes or a new piece in or sound system .. that's puzzling.
3) Has the ability to remember stuff said 20 years back, and hate you for saying that, even though you can't remember, you still have to apologize for it.
4) Not allowed to "take the bleep " out of her,, that's hurtfull
Why bother listing more things,,, ?
But do I care,, not likely...
I still love her, and besides, she keeps out of my shed, the "Testosterone Zone"... that's important
Lets face it, it takes a long time to train them, so why train 2 of them..?
Bloody hell,, I will be in the shyte as soon as she reads this,,
Look out
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 13:46
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 13:46
Gotta agree there Bucky, experts at opening old wounds dem women.
I keep mine under control with the constant threat of violence.
If I dont get my way I'll hurt myself.......hehehe.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 06:37
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 06:37
This just about sums it up. It is true ;-)
Men's Brain Women's Brain
I love my nothing Box,
All these years I had no idea what was happening, then I watched this and it all fell into place.
I have learnt that it is like the Moon & the Tides, Just let it be.
Enjoy
;))
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 05:14
Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 05:14
Hairs
Spot on U-tube,
Well done
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 07:27
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 07:27
Us blokes are lucky we are not Spiders, when we finish Copulating,
we get eaten, by the Female, she gets it both ways, she just drops
off the Kids in one bunch, and goes on her merry way,
I reckon with evolution the Female Human Being, has fallen way behind, the Insect and Animal Kingdom, so that is why we "let" them
boss us around, its in a Blokes nature to pander to her every whim
knowing that one day if she copies the Spiders she might just try to
Gobble us up.
Daza
Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 07:58
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 07:58
it doesnt get any worse Shane....
well not much anyway .......gunna get back at her in the future.... cant wait till i get dementia
Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 09:07
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 09:07
When she start wearing the pants?
Well for me it was about the time that I started having trouble getting into hers.
Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 09:08
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 09:08
When she start wearing the pants?
Well for me it was about the time that I started having trouble getting into hers.
Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 09:11
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 09:11
I just had a shocking thought.
Been married 38 years.
You get twenty for murder!
Out after 14 for good behaviour!
Would have been free 24 years ago.
Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 09:34
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 09:34
Gooday,
Just passed 41 years under Management, the day it happened was when you lost the words "TOLERANCE and COMMUNICATION" form your partnerships VOCABULARY.
Boroma604.
Reply By: westozal - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 10:02
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 10:02
Hello all,
Some very entertaining thoughts re the "joys" of marriage. Myself only clocking up 22 years of unholy matrimony this year.(been together over 26 years)
I must confess that mostly I do as told and frankly the thought of swapping this "handbrake" for another gives me
cold shivers.
At least I have my 4by,caravan (which doubles as emergency accomadation for those doghouse moments) and booze money to consol myself with.
Now I think about it maybe this is the definition of happiness.
Regards Alan
Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 11:36
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 11:36
Guys......guys....you should all know this, as my daddy said, " A man is NEVER completed until he is married.....then after he's married....HE'S FINISHED".
38 Years and still going strong....keeps getting better.
Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 18:31
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 18:31
Shane
I have the same problem.
My wife tells me what to do and I always obey her.
Last easter she made me buy a boat. Now she is trying to make me go
fishing.
It is tragic the way I am under the thumb. We have only been married 35 years.
Tjilpi
Reply By: richard - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 22:12
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 22:12
Awhile ago Lindsay Fox was being interviewed (I think it was him but he will do if it wasn't).
He maintained the male of the family should always have the last word.
"YES DEAR"
How bloody true. I have been with my wife around 34 years as well and I thought I was still wearing the pants but after reading the above and giving it a bit more thought I am deluded.
Still try to show some independence though. Naa not realy.
RIchard
Reply By: astrawed - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 13:22
Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 13:22
Get a life you guys and get on with it!