wild pigs?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:19
ThreadID: 59180 Views:8996 Replies:12 FollowUps:15
Does anyone know if you can eat the pigs found in the kimberley region. Had a mate ask me the other day but couldnt give him an answer.

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:27

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:27
I would but that doesnt mean you can ..... but Im pretty sure you could. I guess be wary of diseases in them.

Laura
AnswerID: 312121

Follow Up By: EscapeArtists - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 00:32

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 00:32
I have
Alot more fat than the domestic/Coles new fashioned pork for sure, but Wild pork (to me) has alot more flavour than the crap from a supermarket, with an inch and a half of rind.
If you have shot the animal yourself always check the animals health so to speak. Check the head, namely eyes and moist areas for signs of disease. If the Beast appears to be in good nick, then away ya go.
FollowupID: 578230

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:34

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:34
Heaps of feral pig meat is exported to Europe for human consumption, lots of info about it on Google.
AnswerID: 312122

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:51

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 23:51
I have shot pigs in the Kimberly for a number of years and have eaten the meat on many occasions with no ill efects.Better(for taste) to use the smaller female pigs as the large boars can be rather tough.It goes without saying that the meat should be handled and cooked properly.Ihave shot a few sick looking pigs in the N.Territory which I would not eat just in case.As said many tons of feral pig meat are exported every year (mainly to Germany) for human consumption.
AnswerID: 312124

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 00:37

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 00:37
Diesel

The answer is yes. Just make sure their dead before munching.

Kim
AnswerID: 312128

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 19:59

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 19:59
Gday Kim,
You forgot to tell them to make sure they dispose of their uniforms properly and hide the car!!!

FollowupID: 578182

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:12

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:12
Hairy

I thought he was talking about those cute little furry critters.

Kim
FollowupID: 578201

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 18:41

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 18:41
Yeah!......

So was I.

FollowupID: 578356

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 08:18

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 08:18
......and have a good anthelmintic on hand just in case.........
AnswerID: 312145

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 08:24

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 08:24
Open up lovely young female pig and check liver, lungs and kidneys for TB and cancer.If clear, go ahead.
We , I , used to kill and slaughter little piggies in NT and feed the butchers .It was not unusual to see me wandering across the planes with five or six of the little fellas on clothes line string getting them relaxed for the big kill and then into the chillers for a few days.
The old days aahhh
Murray

AnswerID: 312146

Follow Up By: Phillipn - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 18:28

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 18:28
That may be OK but do you know what you are looking for?

Unless you have experence in Meat Inspection, I would say you don`t know what you are talking about.
FollowupID: 578172

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 19:06

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 19:06
Theyve just got to look clean and no cists or discolouring in the major organs such as heart, lungs and liver. No deformation of the tissue. So if you shoot one make sure its a head shot, dont botch it.
Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 578178

Follow Up By: Phillipn - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 19:53

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 19:53
As I said before," you don`t hae any idea of what these wild pigs may be infected with."
FollowupID: 578756

Reply By: Chambo - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 08:31

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 08:31
As a matter of interest, did you know that there are more feral pigs in Australia than humans. This was fact I found hard to believe when a ranger at Cania Gorge told us last year. Cheers, Chambo
AnswerID: 312147

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 00:35

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 00:35
Feral humans? How do you count them?
FollowupID: 578233

Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 09:09

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 09:09
If you have a taste for an animal that eats carrion....go for it. Not for me though.
'kæri?n/ Pronunciation Key - [kar-ee-uhn] -

–noun
1. dead and putrefying flesh.
2. rottenness; anything vile.
AnswerID: 312153

Follow Up By: guzzi - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 15:04

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 15:04
They can eat carrion, and will if theres bugger all else available.
They do prefer other fresher feed if the can get it.
A bit like people in a lot of ways.
FollowupID: 578152

Follow Up By: Marn - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 18:07

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 18:07
They are also cannibals.
FollowupID: 578170

Reply By: brushmarx - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 09:32

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 09:32
Not if you are of the Muslim faith.
AnswerID: 312157

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 16:28

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 16:28
or Jewish ( ??? ) for that matter. I think it's about the only thing they agree on :)))

FollowupID: 578157

Reply By: Member - Craig M (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 18:16

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 18:16
How about this one. caught 300km south of katherine!Image Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 312213

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 19:02

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 19:02
shoulda thrown it back mate! It would be a bit too tough.

By the way they just love them in Gemany. It's called Game meat and they prefer it. I would give it a go, but not this one.
Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 578176

Follow Up By: EscapeArtists - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 00:35

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 00:35
That is one huge mutha! pick the bones outer that one then doris!
FollowupID: 578232

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 08:56

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 08:56
you beat me to it....just had this sent to me from the local hunting club.....!!
FollowupID: 578262

Reply By: Phillipn - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 18:21

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 18:21
So you want to have a feast on wild pigs, don`t unless you know a lot about diseases that they can carry.

Sparganosis, leptospirosis,TB, brucellosis, Melioidosis are a few conditions they may be infected with.

Meat workers have contacted lepto from handling affected animals.

Wild pigs that are exported over seas are inspected be AQIS vets and Meat Inspectors prior to export.

So think before you decide to have a bush feast, it may cause you quite a few problems. It may be safer to have a game of Russian roulete.

AnswerID: 312214

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 22:02

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 22:02
what are you worried about Phillipn,you can get all these just from 1 sitting at MACCAS cant you?????? LOL.
FollowupID: 578211

Reply By: madfisher - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:33

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:33
I have only ever tasted wild boar once, never again thank you and it was a young one.
Rabbit, hare, deer all taste a lot better.
AnswerID: 312238