Stolen Camper Trailer

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 18:27
ThreadID: 59194 Views:7811 Replies:19 FollowUps:43
Hi Everyone!
we joined this forum to get the word out about a camper trailer we recently had stolen from us while out on hire. We hired it out to an older couple. They are from the Merredin/Boddallin area in WA. The camper was a Cavalier Off Roader number plate 1TEP 391. The vehicle they are driving is a White 100 series landcruiser, which is also stolen, with the plates YL 5118. The man has a prosthetic leg. If anybody sees them on there Travels please phone merriden police 90411322 and speak to Jamie, or phone us on 92746569. This is the second trailer we have had stolen in the last 3 months, and we are not happy, as you can imagine. We have a photo of the man

any help is greatly appreciated!

Cassie
Billabong Camping Australia

Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 18:55

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 18:55
With respect, a suggestion. Perhaps you might consider including the number of the Police Report so that it not only validates your claim but would make it much easier if someone from outrside WA reported to their local Police. Sorry to hear that it's your 2nd unit stolen. There ar lots of 'bad people' around these days. You can't be too careful.
AnswerID: 312220

Follow Up By: Member - Craig M (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 20:57

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 20:57
A picture of the camper unfolded might help as well (if you have one). I don't know about you but I am a bit reluctant to go sniffing around other camper trailers in camping areas peering at number plates.

Have you posted similar to this on www.campertrailers.org? Maybe a bulk e-mail out to all Big 4 or similar caravan/camping areas.

I sympathise. I know what it is like to have stuff go on the 'eternal hire'

Damnation! May their tyres always be flat, fuel always expensive and their drinking water taste like plastic!

Craig
FollowupID: 578196

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 19:45

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 19:45
that does not look like a drivers licence photo to me.
FollowupID: 578374

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 20:08

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 20:08
Shane,

Read reply 13 by Simone below for the background to the photo.

FollowupID: 578385

Follow Up By: Simone- Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 12:05

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 12:05
thankyou Andrew :D
FollowupID: 578497

Reply By: mowing - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 19:23

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 19:23
This may seem strange but why would you have a photo of the fellow who hired the trailer?
If they have stolen a landcruiser with Yealering plates on it and now stolen your trailer, I don't think that you can believe them if they say they were from Merredin unless they known to the police in Merredin (I am guessing that they are otherwise, your local police would be the contact).
I guess the address on the drivers licence is an old one to.

All the best in locating the trailer

AnswerID: 312224

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:20

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:20
I work for a hire car Co and we photo copy drivers lic, unless person is known to us.
FollowupID: 578203

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 20:27

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 20:27
All the points posted are quite pertinant to your post. Basically, a little more info wouldn't go astray.

Older people, one without a leg. Who would have thought it ?

This leaves a very bad taste in the mouth, and tarnishes anyone wishing to do business with you in the future. Please try and remember that given half a chance, most peoiple are honest. (Yes I do know...I hire stuff also).
Wishing you every success with recovering your STOLEN GOODS.
AnswerID: 312231

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 20:41

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 20:41
Did you have it insured?

If not you do not have any sympathy from me. People who do not use insurance only put the price up for the rest of us.

It is a shared cost.

If it was insured, what is the problem?

Further, if your only purpose to join here is for your personal benefit, well I'd say, go whistle.

This forum is about people sharing.

Boot and scoot posters, who just use this place once for a personal use should be scorned.

AnswerID: 312232

Follow Up By: Ken65 - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 20:48

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 20:48
Kind words?
FollowupID: 578194

Follow Up By: donk - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:05

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:05
Jim

Your reply was disappointing

Regards Don
FollowupID: 578199

Follow Up By: Member - Craig M (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:11

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:11
I am trying to figure out how people who do not use (have??) insurance only put up the price up for the rest of us.

Surely people who do not have insurance do not claim therefore do not push premiums up (as a whole) for the rest of us.

People with insurance and suffer a loss make a claim therefore increasing the cost across the board for all of us.

Me puzzled..........

Craig
FollowupID: 578200

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:24

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:24
Had a bad day Jim?
Pete
FollowupID: 578204

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:48

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:48
Insurance is a very simple concept.

Many put in a little and on the odd occasion, someone benefits. It may or not be you.

My point was, don't squeal if you haven't paid insurance.

If you invest a large amount of money on an asset and don't insure it, quite simply, you are underwriting your own risk. Take your chances if you wish.

FollowupID: 578207

Follow Up By: Trippin' - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:50

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:50
Not sure what your problem is at the moment but can I suggest a combination of metamucil and evening primrose oil to treat it? Should cure any S.O.L. and P.M.S.
FollowupID: 578208

Follow Up By: donk - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 22:11

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 22:11
Jim

I have read their post & your replys & i don't see thaat they were doing anything other than asking people to keep a eye out for the stolen trailer & make a phone call if they see it (in my view a reasonable request) and saying they were not happy that it had happened for the 2nd time

I think both of your replies were a bit harsh & refered to things that were never mentioned in the original post & in view that the poster was a new member to the forum not warranted & perhaps a apology might be in order

Regards Don

FollowupID: 578213

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 00:28

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 00:28
If you HAVE insurance and make claims, it raises the cost of insurance. No insurance, no claims, no effect on rates....

Insurance is a form of gambling. Sometimes you win, sometimes the insurance company wins.

My vehicles are never expensive, always second hand and I drive them into the ground, so my gamble is that I only need insurance for something I hit. Third party property not comprehensive.. so I'm not insured in some ways and insured in others.

To not be insured is not a sin... it's a choice.

Cheers Royce
FollowupID: 578228

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 04:45

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 04:45
Jim,
Your comments do you no favours. in fact they are bordering on offensive.
If this same bloke purchased your overpriced goods with a stolen credit card you would be the first on this forum 'bleating', yet you show no sympathy for a fellow business.
No way would I ever deal with you.
This forum IS about all of us contiributing, sharing, asking questions, some of us (me especially) might get it wrong but you come across as a patronising, self opionated smartarse.

FollowupID: 578243

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 06:56

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 06:56
Thanks for your kind words Dennis.

Your point about contributing and sharing is very true.

However, far too many simply come on this forum, get what they need and shoot through. I'll give you an example. A person came on here earlier this year and put up 8 posts in a short time about camper trailers and got a myriad of helpful advice. He/she then disappeared after they had milked this place for all it was worth.

The reasonable thing would have been to hang around and share their new found knowledge, but no, it was all take and no give.

Oh, and can you let me know where you can buy a decent drawer system for less than A$850 in Scotland. I'd be interetsed in importing them LOL.

FollowupID: 578249

Follow Up By: John S (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 07:42

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 07:42
Jim,

So what your saying is, that unless someone gives useful information back to the site, their not welcome ?

What about all of the people who just read the threads, get the info they want and leave - how do we deal with these people ? Do we charge them with stealing ?

What you say here reflections on your business - people reading your comments would think twice about dealing with you as sometimes you come across as an arrogant person.

If you don't have something positive to contribute, don't post. Opinions are important, but sometimes you border on offensive attacks.

Jim, please think before you post :)

FollowupID: 578253

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 19:43

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 19:43
CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHAT THE REFERANCE TO SCOTLAND AND 850.00 meant please?
I don't get it.
cheers Shane.
FollowupID: 578373

Follow Up By: Kurd - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 20:22

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 20:22
Dennis P lives in Scotland and Best Off Road is a business which sells drawer systems for $850
FollowupID: 578395

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 22:59

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 22:59
Uninsured people don't lodge false or loaded claims, that is what puts up the price of premiums!
FollowupID: 579588

Reply By: qubert - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:19

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:19
there was a very cheap camper trailer advertised in the nt news ( darwin) on saturday . but i don't have the paper now. it sounded like it was too good a deal.
maybe someone else has the paper still
AnswerID: 312237

Reply By: nomadoz - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:39

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 21:39
JUST CHECKED sat. N T News, no Cavalier Off Roader

AnswerID: 312240

Reply By: qubert - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 22:18

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 22:18
oh...........maybe i read it wrong
AnswerID: 312245

Reply By: Member - Matthew C - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 22:38

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 22:38
Probably doesn't help but do you know what way they reckon they were heading.

MAtt
AnswerID: 312248

Follow Up By: Simone- Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 14:46

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 14:46
they told us they were going to stay out bush in Bodallin. but they also said they live in that area. didnt think anything of that at the time though
FollowupID: 578509

Reply By: EscapeArtists - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 23:27

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2008 at 23:27
Has anyone stopped and pondered the fact that the dude might be missing or something? ...and yeah why the photo of the "alledged Culprit"?

just a thought
AnswerID: 312251

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 00:30

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 00:30
Sounds and looks a bit like a leg-pull, but I'll keep my eyes open... one of us has got to see the one-legged nomad!
FollowupID: 578229

Follow Up By: Simone- Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:28

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:28
we did try to give him the benefit of the doubt at first, saying he could possibly be lost somewhere, but the fact that the car was stolen, they had been kicked out of their house and the police knew the name didnt really help his cause

Cassie
FollowupID: 578334

Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 08:15

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 08:15
I think some of the above comments have been a little harsh.
These people have done the right thing in my mind – they have joined up.
They could easily have made a post about a stolen camper without being a member!
To pre judge them by saying they won’t make a valuable contribution to the Forum in the future is quite ludicrous. I don’t think they deserve to be castigated in this way. It’s certainly not the way to welcome new members and encourage others who may be reading this forum to join. I think a little more tolerance is appropriate.
To Cassie (Simone) welcome to the Forum.
I hope you recover your camper undamaged.
Like all other Forumites you are a valued member and I would encourage you to share posts about topics of interest in the future.
All the best,
GPM

AnswerID: 312285

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 08:48

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 08:48
"They could easily have made a post about a stolen camper without being a member!"

I have no problem with them making the post, but I don't think they are members - just signed up to the Forum. It's not clear they're watching the thread either, so they're not doing much to help their cause.
FollowupID: 578261

Follow Up By: Simone- Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 15:23

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 15:23
so because i didnt reply for one day means im not active?
righto......
FollowupID: 578513

Follow Up By: Member - John G- Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:06

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:06
G'day Vivid Adventures

I have twice in the last month tried to contact you via your website with a genuine enquiry

Are you still in business?

FollowupID: 580985

Follow Up By: Simone- Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 11:57

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 11:57
Hi John Sorry for not replying we have been in Lovely Coral bay on tour.
Please send all emails to simone@billabongcamping.com
sorry for any inconvenience.
Happy Camping
Simone
FollowupID: 581002

Reply By: Ken - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 09:08

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 09:08
Jim I don't know you from Adam but your comments do little to foster your business which you are obviously keeping well to the fore in your Forum activity.
The people are seeking help for a problem none of us would like to have happen to us. A bit of support may have been a better response than your cynical lecture.
The Forum is about giving and sharing I reckon, for all you know these people could end up a valuable source of info sometime in future but this is hardly likely if they take your response as the held values of the Forum in general.
Ken
AnswerID: 312294

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 10:36

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 10:36
Hi Simone

Welcome to the forum and I hope you enjoy your time on the site and recover your trailer.

I can only apologise on behalf of the vast majority of the helpful members on this site for a handful of members who simply have a regular case of verbal diarrhoea and have only one side of the bed to get out of each day!

My very first post upon joining some 12 months ago received a very sarcastic and pathetic response from one member in particular...I chose to ignore him and I notice he has not get any better and I allow his peers to judge him

Some of the comments re further detail, explain the picture etc are perfectly valid and a response from you will certainly help members to be of more assistance to you

Lastly I suggest you do so in a new post rather than answering on the current thread simply because it will put it back in with the new posts and refreshed as otherwise readers will have moved on and your added details will be of less value for those who are no longer following this post

best of luck and once again welcome

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 312311

Follow Up By: Member - John G- Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 10:51

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 10:51
Good onya bungarra

Needed to be said

FollowupID: 578272

Reply By: Simone- Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 11:53

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 11:53
Hello,
thanks to those with positive remarks. In regards to having a photo, we actually googled his name as a joke, not actually thinking we would find anything, but we came across a post on the abc website, telling the story of how he lost his leg. here is the site http://www.abc.net.au/dimensions/dimensions_people/Transcripts/s686815.htm.
The police report number is IR18407873, speak to Jamie. They did not tell us they were from Merreden, we actually rung the home number they gave us, and another man answered, who had moved in because this couple had been kicked out, he did not know much about it but directed us to the Merreden police, who knew about the couple and the stolen car. Yes it was insured, but that is not the point, don't people have consciences? In reply to Jims comments, we are sharing our information for everyones benefit, hoping this does not happen to anyone else, and who is to say we are not going to post in the future, as we are only new?
if i have missed anyones questions please do reply!

Cassie
AnswerID: 312324

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 12:09

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 12:09
Cassie,

Sorry, I was having a bad day/night yesterday, just got a big insurance bill etc.

No excuse.

No way to welcome someone tothe forum.

Please accept my apology.

FollowupID: 578279

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 12:10

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 12:10
I will keep a vigilant eye out up here, as most people travel though Kakadu, we are on the road daily.

People who thieve from someone who are making a living to feed there families are the worst Kind.

Email me a photo of the camper and I will give it to my guides to look out for.

Hope you get a good result.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 578280

Follow Up By: Pnut (cns) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 12:42

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 12:42
Good on ya Cassie
Will keep an eye out up here - you never know - Cairns is a last major stop before the cape.

Hope you had a bit of a chuckle & a shake of the head at the sometimes self-rightseous regular(s) on this forum!
As has just been demonstrated - don't take it to heart - It's usually just bad day syndrome! It's part of what makes this site so infectious!

It's a publicly accessible forum, and anyone can post anything relevant to the site, whether they are a member, or a first time visitor.
Enjoy

FollowupID: 578282

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:36

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:36
Jim...if you are sincere then welcome back.....you have been a bit firey lately....but stay with us, you add colour to a dull day!!!!!

: )
FollowupID: 578338

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 18:34

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 18:34
Good on you Jim it takes a big man to apologise, Thought you where just having a bad day.lol

Welcome to the forum Cassie , can you put up a photo of a similar ct so we know what we are looking for. Do so on a new tread.
Cheers and good luck Pete
FollowupID: 578353

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 20:10

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 20:10
Thanks Chaps,

I do some dopey things at times.

I'm happy to admit to it.

That's just me.

The sun will rise tomorrow and all will be well.

FollowupID: 578388

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 12:33

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 12:33
What a strange bloke to have gone through a life experience like he apparently has (ABC Link) and then start stealing cars and trailers.

I somehow don't think a one legged man driving a stolen car/trailer will get to far before someone wakes up and they are caught.

Hope it works out for you Cassie.

AnswerID: 312327

Follow Up By: Simone- Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 15:25

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 15:25
yes he certainly doesnt fit any sort of crim description does he :D
thankyou John
FollowupID: 578515

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 12:34

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 12:34
Just wait until they have to pay for their first refuelling....will teach them a lesson to steal something a little more fuel efficient :-)

Seriously, i hope that someone returns your property in good condition.....we can only hope sometimes.

AnswerID: 312328

Follow Up By: Simone- Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 14:17

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 14:17
Hi There, Have just had a message from another guy on another forum saying they might have seen the guy, and he had his fuel stolen at a Boat ramp in BALLA BALLA in the Pilbara between Port Sampson and Port Hedland 28kms down a gravel road near the Whim Creek Pub., He said he cant be 100% sure it was the old couple but he looked at the country number plate as he was from Yilgarn near Southern Cross area and noticed the nice rig he had. A white 100 series land cruiser and camper trailer thinking how nice it was. He said he had a feeling he was using free camp sites and heading towards 80 mile beach north of Port Hedland. Gettin back to the man that had his fuel stolen-
His 80 series cruiser was left there at the boat ramp for 2 days as he works off shore when he returned to do another trip he noticed his car had been milked,. so thats why we have to let others know what these guys are up too. They obviously dont have any money now so they are stealing fuel from Boat ramps etc.
Thanks to all for your feedback...
FollowupID: 578679

Reply By: HowdyDoody - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:20

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:20
Hi Simone/Cassie,

How long has it been missing for? Do you know which way they were heading?

I have a recollection of sighting a gentleman with a prosthetic leg eating some lunch outside a bakery on our way back from a recent trip in eastern Victoria. Across the road was a landcruiser with camper attached (WA Plates). I have no idea if it was theirs as I did not see them get into it. I noticed the WA plates as my partner is from WA - I do not know the brand of camper.

If you or the police have reason to believe that they may have been in the area at the time I am able to provide a location and date (offline) as I don't want to get anybody into trouble based on heresay, nor in the public domain - people are still entiteld to the presumption of innocence, especially considering my sighting is more likely to be totally unrelated. I did not get a good look at the gentleman except to notice he had grey hair poking out under a cap much like the image. Now considering the qty of people travelling who have WA plates with grey hair and baseball caps on I may well be barking up the wrong tree and have no intentions of dropping anybody in the proverbial based on a coincidence so if you need further info let me know.
AnswerID: 312359

Follow Up By: Simone- Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:26

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:26
it has been gone for 3 weeks, so it could be anywhere in Australia really and i dont have any proof to say they were there unfortunately
thanks for your help!
FollowupID: 578332

Follow Up By: HowdyDoody - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:31

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:31
No worries, our 'sighting' was a few weeks ago so highly unlikely.

Good luck.
FollowupID: 578335

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:39

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:39
OOP's I have grey hair and wear a cap....better lie low..lol
FollowupID: 578339

Follow Up By: HowdyDoody - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 19:11

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 19:11
Yeah sorry about that Redbakk, hence the reason I didn't want to provide too many details. You never know though... :)
FollowupID: 578363

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 11:57

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 11:57
Howdy it is still plausable that the gentleman you saw was the gentleman in question. I admire your consideration for his privacy but all leads are worth checkin up in the case of theft...despicable!

I used to travel from Sydney to Perth in my old MU towing a soft-floor camper on my own in 3 days! Syd to Pt Aguta 1st day, then PT Aug to Caiguna next day and then into Perth by about early afternoon.

Simone....all the best with the search, I despise theives!!

FollowupID: 578495

Follow Up By: HowdyDoody - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 12:02

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 12:02
Thanks Matt, I have no problems revealing more specific details to the police or Simone if required. I prefer not to do it online as you never know. Besides, the only details I can provide are an exact date, time and location and a couple of little 'quirks' that may help to identify him but I prefer not to do it online as that would surely identify this man to somebody and I prefer to err on the side of caution. I am happy to provide details offline if required so am not preventing any possible leads being followed up.
FollowupID: 578496

Follow Up By: Simone- Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 12:06

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 12:06
Howdy, would you like to discuss more offline, just to be on th safe side? my email is simone@billabongcamping.com

Cassie
FollowupID: 578498

Reply By: Simone- Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 15:39

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 15:39
i have a few pics here of the camper. Just copy and past the links, the pics will come up (for those unsure) . The photo of the open camper, im not sure if it is the exact one, but it is a cavalier. I have a photo of the exact plates, and also a plate we put on there with our name. probabaly ripped of by now though if theyre smart :D

http://i25.tinypic.com/6gzzgy.jpg

http://i32.tinypic.com/33ng4y0.jpg

http://i31.tinypic.com/jv6b78.jpg

AnswerID: 312541

Follow Up By: Simone- Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:37

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:37
just an update - we got in contact with the owner of the stolen car, they are a car hire place in Yilgarn and these guys actually hired the Cruiser from them! they didnt know much more than we did - only that this man was actually on bail for stealing previously and was in hiding from the police!
just gets more and more interesting.
FollowupID: 578566

Reply By: Marzm8 - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 11:13

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 11:13
ZANDRA HERE SOUTHERN CROSS RENTALS WE WERE THE COMPANY THAT HAD THE VEHICLE STOLEN.
THE VEHICLE WAS HIRED ON THE MONDAY 26TH MAY 08 ON THE WED MORNING HAD A CALL FROM A PERTH DETECTIVE SAYING HAD WE HIRED A VEHICLE REDG NO YL5118 TO A PERSON AND ASKED THE NAME WE SAID WE HAD AND THEY SAID FINE WE WILL CALL BACK, LATER THAT MORNING THEY RANG BACK TO SAY THAT THEY HAD BEEN CHARGED BUT AS THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INVOLVED AND WAS RENTED IT WAS GIVEN BACK TO THEM. ON THE WED THE POLICE SENT A SQUAD OUT TO THERE FARM HOUSE AND RAIDED IT RECOVERING MANY STOLEN ITEMS (STOLEN CAR ETC)
THEY CONFISICATED THESE ITEMS NOW ON THURS NIGHT THEY CALLED OUR RENTAL COMPANY SAYING THAT THEY WOULD BE LATE BACK, WE SAID WE WOULD WAIT, THEY NEVER SHOWED UP, AS THEY WOULD NOT HAVE KNOWN THERE FARM HOUSE HAD BEEN RAIDED I ASSUME THEY WENT THERE TO PICK UP THE VEHICLE THEY HAD THERE AND IT WAS GONE SO HENCE THEY NEVER RETURNED OUR VEHICLE AND ARE NOW MOVING AROUND. OUR PLATES ARE YL PLATES AND THATS FROM THE YILGARN SHIRE WHICH IS SOUTHERN CROSS WA. I WOULD LIKE TO TAKE THIS IOPORTUNITY TO THANK THE LADIES FOR THE BILLABONG CAMPING SHOP AND ALL THE TRAVELLERS THAT HAVE ADDED TO THIS, I WOULD LIKE TO SORT THESE PEOPLE OUT BEFORE THEY RIP OTHER PEOPLE OFF, MANY THANKS ZANDRA SOUTHERN CROSS RENTALS.
AnswerID: 312695

Reply By: EscapeArtists - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 01:06

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 01:06
well, Yeah Shout and you Will be heard.
AnswerID: 313556