Submitted: Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 11:14
Member - bungarra (WA)
I have just purchased one of these units to help to keep my sanity and our marriage intact for the times we head into town (
Perth)
I note that a couple of the small (and not so small) roads that lead to our property do not come up on the data base when I enter them as a GO TO and yet as I traveled home (after purchase ) the unit recognised where it was and their names appeared on the screen!
I can wear that locally because I am in familar territory in
my home paddock and doesnt bother me as it was purchased for the city anyway...but that got me thinking for when I stray further afield
Question.........are there maps that I can download or purchase that are suitable for outside the sensis where is maps so the unit may be of some use out the bush as
well?
thanks in advance
Reply By: Redeye - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 11:22
Reply By: KennyBWilson - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 11:32
Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 11:32
Hi bungarra,
for $226 you can buy the Oztopov2 which will give you all the tracks and roads in Australia.
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 12:16
Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 12:16
Bungarra,
don't bother with the POI downloads on variouse sites, they are USELESS.
I downloaded a whole bunch including BigW shops. Here I am in Bayswater in VICTORIA and they tell me the fourth closest BigW is in BUNBURY in WA.
Don't even get me started on Woolworths Fuel Outlets, Bunnings etc.
As I said, don't bother with the POIs.
Reply By: Featherfoot - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 12:51
Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 12:51
G'day Bungarra. I just loaded shonky maps to an sd card the otherday for my nuvi 760 an still have them on my computer. I could probably drop them on to an sd card for you. Where in WA are you.
Gary
Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 20:17
Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 20:17
Hi Gary
Thanks for that offer. I am down near Harvey but happy to travel wherever. I got a 1G SD card with it....I just had a look on the website and was a little staggered at the possible download time!
we run on a satellite connection and whilst it might be broadband it aint real quick!...in fact it would ptrobably drop out and blow my download limit as
well
my email is outwest6220@bordernet.com.au appreciate it if you can make contact
Graeme