Cost comparisons. Coles/ Caltex WW's/BP

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 21:56
ThreadID: 59241 Views:4208 Replies:9 FollowUps:16
Thes first two offer discounted fuel by way of dockets etc. BP do it by way of a credit card rebate. These three would capture the bulk of discount sales.
I noticed some time ago in a post that BP came in for a bit of flack for supposedly being the derest and thefore "wiping' out any benefit
The real culprits are Coles who seem to have their price running 2 to 4 cents above the average so that they negate the benefits of a "discount"
Example (without 4c off)
Cheapest Coles diesel on the Gold coast is Mudgereeba at 176.9 and their other sites running up to 179.9
Caltex WW at Tweed Heads 172.9
BP Biggers Waters 173.9 and other sites at 174 and 175.
( 7.5c off on your card) Overall the cheapest !!!!!!!!
Coles dockets are a con and they probably think we are all too dumb to work it out.

I notice all of this because I'm buying 250 litres a week

Your comments please

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:03

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:03
Anybody who goes to a supermarket specifically to get a fuel discount voucher is fooling themselves. ALL Fuel dockets are a con.

We go to the supermarket to do our normal food shopping. The fuel vouchers come with the deal.

AnswerID: 312442

Follow Up By: wigger - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:15

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:15
Al,
First sentence- don't think anyone really does that so not relevant.

Second - they are not necessarily a con if the pre discount price is
reasonably low and I gave you an example. Caltex WW at Tweed Heads 172.9 and then down to 168.9 with a coupon.
(recently WW's were silly enough to give 20c a litre on 6 bottles of wine and on 150 litres, that's $30)

'the fuel vouchers come with the deal' Yes, they're meant to be a "reward" for shopping there. Point I'm making is that if they then price the fuel up (and I suspect Coles do it to deliberately), then they have negated any value all these dockets have and done a con on lots of people.
FollowupID: 578428

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:24

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:24
Wigger,

LOL - you'd be surprised.

To single out Coles and omit Woolworths is wrong. WW are just as bad.

To make a general assertion based on a very small sample of service stations is dicey as well. For instance, in my area the Shell servo is ALWAYS lower than the nearest Woolies branded unit 10km away. The United servo is GENERALLY lower (by less than a cent) than the Shell 'undiscounted' price.

FollowupID: 578432

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:41

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:41
Wigger, you are wrong, they are a con.
Because of the supermarket influence fuel prices are artificially high to cater for the so called 'discount vouchers'.

What we need to do, is boycott the supermarket owned fuel sites, then watch what happens to prices!
FollowupID: 578436

Follow Up By: wigger - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:51

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:51
Yes, Al,
your experience may be different but I can only take what's here as an example and its an area of about 50kms long so not too small.
As regards WW's, I'm rather surprised myself because they're not into giving anything away for nothing but they're consistently lower in SE Q than Coles. What are they up to?

It will be very interesting to see the outcome of the ACC warning to WW's to desist from taking over a supermarket in Queanbeyan by "creeping acquisition". (SMH Pg 28 today) It looks as if this is one fight that they might not want to buy into on their way to owning the whole planet.

When are we going to get wise and have a national "Woolworths boycott day" to try and halt all this corporate greediness
FollowupID: 578437

Follow Up By: wigger - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 23:04

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 23:04
OK Shaker, I'll concede that in principle that they're a con because as you say these supermarket chiefs are smart enough to recoup in the store pricing the 2.35% discount they're "possibly"
having to give on a fuel purchase.
All I'm saying is be smart, compare prices, use your brain and if it is a saver then use the coupon (because it didn't cost you extra to acquire).
I gave you an example of a good saving on coupons. I drink wine and therefore have to buy it at some stage. WW's offered 20c a litre discount on a purchase of 6. Coles offered the same 20c on any $30 purchase. That's $30 off - wouldn't sniff at that.
FollowupID: 578440

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 23:59

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 23:59
When the discount servos first came into being a few years back with a 4 cent discount the price was less than $1 (4% discount) now it is nearly $2 it is 2%.

Do you see where it is going??
FollowupID: 578451

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:07

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:07
spot on Al

Wigger, try shopping at Franklins and see how much you save. It'll be a sight more than $6 or so.

Opted out of that racket long ago.
AnswerID: 312443

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:19

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:19
Thats right!! No free lunch. Michael
FollowupID: 578430

Follow Up By: wigger - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:20

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:20
Steve',
You could be right but no can do. None up here. Last one I saw was Port Macquarie (I think)
Now I'm waiting for someone to tell me how much they save at ALDI. Please don't. It offends my intelligence.
FollowupID: 578431

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 23:35

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 23:35
I take the fuel docket to IGA and get 4c per lt off the shopping.....atleast I know that my shopping doesnt have ethanol in it that is going to cause issues!!!!
FollowupID: 578447

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 07:40

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 07:40
Hey Grenade

How many litres do they take of the 4c/l for??
The one up here only does it for 70L which is crap unless you get the old girl behind the counter and she does the lot (185L) in one hit :)

Cheers Sir Kev

FollowupID: 578461

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 14:48

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 14:48
dont actually notice!!hahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!1 but yeah....could be 100lt, not for lpg though.,......
FollowupID: 578510

Reply By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 07:31

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 07:31
The ONLY true way to get prices down to competing levels is to support independents.

Near where I live we HAD 3 ind. servos and the Coles & Wollies were cheaper than surrounding areas, now we only have one Ind. and he is still cheaper than Wollies & Coles, & without vouchers.

This also applies to grocery shopping.
JMHO, Colin.
AnswerID: 312473

Follow Up By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 07:41

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 07:41
Colin,
The last time I bought 'petrol' from an independent, my car ran rough, stalled and started badly. I had to drain out the fuel and dilute it with real petrol from a proper fuel supplier. NEVER again. Later there were all the stories on TV about fuel substitution. I am pretty sure I was a victim. To me it is like buying ' made in China'.

Mike.
FollowupID: 578463

Reply By: Boobook2 - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 07:35

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 07:35
This works in Victoria, not sure about other states.
Firstly I must say that I don't work for any of these guys, and they don't promote it that heavily so I think it is an arbitrage in their system.

Step 1 Use Victoria Energy for you gas and electricity. They are one of 1000000000 retailers in Victoria. ( thanks for that Jeff Kennett - not)
If you pay on time you get a 7% discount ( yes they are about the same as everyone else if you pay late)
Step 2 Get their free Eco card - range of usual crap discounts like movies, bla bla PLUS 5% discount on the Woolworths/Dick Smith/Woolies Caltex gift cards. ie a $100 gift card is $95
Step 3 Buy a bunch of gift cards from Victoria energy online
Step 4 Shop as usual at Safeway / Woolworths and pay with gift card. ie 5% off your shopping. Don't forget to get your shoper docket.
Step 5 go fill up at the Safeway when it is competitive, present your 4c docket and then pay with another gift card.

So compared to doing nothing I reckon you save

Say 1 month

On$200 of electricity and gas = $14
On$600 of groceries = $30
On $600 of fuel ( 400l) = $16 + $30 = $46

There you go.
$90.00 per month or $1080 per year.

You can even save more by shopping at Dick Smith ( shop around and get them to price match first), etc.

Catches?
1)you gotta sign up for 2 years ( unless you find a cheaper power plan)
2)they may change the rules
3)you gotta pay your bills on time
4)they are monthly insead of 2 or 3 months with most companies.
5)some Caltex / woolies service stations don't take the gift card.

This works for me so hopefully it will help others, please no advice on shopping at mobil / BP /IGA / United etc as the 4cpl thing is a rip off. I know that, and only use this for food and fuel when it is the best option. Victoria Energy was as good as any other electricity offer I have seen anyway and I used it before they brought out this system.

AnswerID: 312474

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 07:43

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 07:43
Why not just buy the the the damn fuel because you need too & stop this stupid ranting about trying to bring the prices down it just won't work .Come on you blokes & some sheila's get over it it becoming & has been for some time a bloody big BORE.get over it.
Have a good day/weekend.:):)
AnswerID: 312477

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 08:52

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 08:52
Gooday,
It is an Illusion as already said, it is well covered in the prices of the food. However we need to buy food so sometimes you can get a few cents back that you got robbed so as to eat.
Have noticed though in recent months quite often Coles & W/W are at least .04Cents dearer than others before you start, some days they aren't.

I looked at card from BP but found that to get discount you need to buy a Minimum of $300-00 a month, guess as the price has escalated so would have their Minimum monthly purchase?.
Boroma604
AnswerID: 312489

Follow Up By: wigger - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:21

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:21
Boroma,
You have misunderstood the card conditions.
There is no minimum purchase amount. There is a maximun of $300 spend on fuel to which they will apply the 5% rebate.
The card will cost about $70 per year, about the same as any other card except virgin .
I have had about $650.51 rebate since September 2006.
Good value.
FollowupID: 578562

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 10:21

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 10:21
*The ONLY true way to get prices down to competing levels is to support independents.*

As Ive stated before we were WARNED about this years ago...We DID NOT LISTEN deciding to use the vouchers..Now its time to put up and shut up..Pay the price..

I thought United is about the only Australian owned and independent,Can someone set me straight with this,They always seem to be a couple of cents cheaper which basically zero's out any voucher...

AnswerID: 312506

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 15:07

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 15:07
Warfer,
well said......
Watching people line up at Safeway / Coles every tuesday night reminds me of communist Russia when people would line up for a loaf of bread.

Rob
FollowupID: 578511

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 13:46

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 13:46
we are all doomed.........ha ha ha ...: )
AnswerID: 312530

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:26

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:26
that you Frazer?
FollowupID: 578522

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 11:31

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 11:31
Gooday,
Thankyou for the correction wigger, will revisit their site and read it properly, what's another piece of plastic in the briefcase, "(WALLET TOO SMALL TO HOLD & CARRY THEM ALL NOW !.)"
Boroma604.
AnswerID: 312699

Follow Up By: wigger - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 13:53

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 13:53
Boroma,
The secret is to get rid of most of the cards and just have two (one being the backup (get the cheapest fee one you can) in case you lose the primary one and this means not carrying it in your wallet.
The BP mastercard I have has been the best one ever for usage althought the GM Holden mastercard gave us 2 lots of $3000 rebates on Holden cars we bought. Was a 5% rebate on the card spend so took $60,00 to get there over 3 years but with every thing going on it we got there easily. They have discontinued this deal.

This card gives a 1% rebate on total spend and the same on excess over $300 spent on fuel. It's a lot better than buying into that flybuys racket. 5% on fuel up to $300 and same on stuff bought at BP servos.
Other big plus is that they were the first to offer low sulphur diesel and are still the lowest at 10ppm so i wanted to use them.
FollowupID: 578678