O.T. but RETIREMENT arrived half an hour ago.
Submitted: Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:41
Member - barry F (NSW)
The big day has arrived. My back pack vacuum cleaner is hung up, the mop bucket has been emptied, the mop was given to my least favourite customer & I told them to jam it where it fits best.! It had a long one inch handle that was starting to splinter & it gave me a great deal of pleasure to deviate from "the customer is always right" thingo!!
My twin cab ute will be emptied in the morning of all other bits & pieces of cleaning crap. The caravan checked for the final time, ute polished,tyres blackened, a bit of Mr sheen on the tow ball & all will be ready for the great adventure.
But....... only to be told by SHMBI that the van is going to stay parked for the time being as she wants to go to New Zealand!! She has spoken. I have been told. It's one of them Coach things, driver with a cap driving the bloody thing,pointing out all the interesting bits. Pile off here, Pile off there, do what you are told affairs.
No stopping at a pub now & then for a beer. Oh No, only stopping at arty farty little pooftery
places for tea & scones now & then. I will probably end up sitting next to another old geezer who will be extrolling the virtues of how lovely it all is & setting a bad example for all the rest of us old geezers. Spare me please. LOL
Our son & his wife have been picking up the reins of our business since the end of the March quarter & the time to quietly go has at last arrived.
I just wanted to Shout out about, so thanks for "listening" & Cheers
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:43
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:43
You've worked hard for it, waited long enough for it, now go and enjoy it :)
Wishing you a healthy and enjoyable retirement .
Reply By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:47
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:47
Good on you barry,
Congratulations.
I think you will find the coach trip around NZ better than you think.
Enjoy the begining of the next stage of your life.
Still a few years away for me.
William
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:50
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:50
Good on yer, barry, go for it. Dont feel too upset about the coach not stopping for a beer at NZ pubs. Dont get me wrong , lovely country, wonderful people, superb rugby players, but...the
beer is p***.!!!. Take a bottle of duty free Bundy & enjoy.:)))
cheers...oldbaz.
Follow Up By: The Bigfella - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:55
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:55
Have to disagree about the beer.
Speights, I will agree with but Monteiths and Mac's are some of the best beers made. They make some of our beers in Oz second rate.
A great country to visit as
well.
The Bigfella
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:14
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:14
Hey, Bigfella, not sure I tried Monteiths or Macs, but anyway I refuse to argue over beer, its too good..I have been known to argue over a beer though, matter of fact about to go for my weekly rehydration class at the local pub, where a lovely
young
lass will expertly administer several frothy samples until I say Whoa.
Tooheys Black..of course..cheers....oldbaz.
Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:37
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:37
Oldbaz, I'm glad your talking about the good stuff lol.
Cheers Dave... Image Could Not Be Found
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:41
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:41
Arrrrrrrrrrr the black, the black. Mothers milk :)))
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:50
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:50
They still make that stuff?? LOL There was a time here in
Newcastle back in the 70's & 80's it was as popular as all heck & I like many others could not get enough of it. Mothers milk? you are right, spot on!! But a bit heavy these days for me.LOL & cheers & beers
Follow Up By: Member - Richard K (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 13:19
Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 13:19
Have all you OLD lovers tried James Squire Porter?
Now there's a beer....
Reply By: DesF - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:54
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:54
Well done , Enjoy!
My friends have just got back from a 20day NZ tour ( Bus) and said it was terrific, and the bus drivers were very obliging , let you look at things as long as it didn't interfere with their times too much .
cheers Des.
Reply By: Member - Tessa (NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:43
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:43
Barry
Good on you mate. Enjoy!!! Might be time to think about buying something with a front diff and getting off the beaten track. Who knows, maybe SWMBO will find she likes it!!! If not consider leaving her behind!!!
tessa
Reply By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:47
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:47
Congratulations Barry!!!!!
I hope your retirement is what you wished for and make sure you get ourt and enjoy it I just wish ours was around a smaller corner. Best of Luck and God Bless
Barb
Reply By: Holden4th - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:24
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:24
Congrats on your retirement Baz but the Missus got it wrong. A fly-drive is a much cheaper and much more enjoyable way to see Un Zud.
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:46
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:46
Thanks to you all for your best wishes & I am looking forward to the upcoming NZ trip. & it will happen about September.
Think I will have another beer. Cheers.
Reply By: Member - AVA 191 (QLD) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:43
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 18:43
Good luck with the retirement Barry.
The way that story was developing I thought you & the missus were going to end up going different ways!!
You'll enjoy UnZud m8.....with some one else doing the driving, crikey, when you do stop at a pub, there's no holding back hey. You can turn this to your advantage.
Taste as many beers as you can over there - some of the dark ales from South Island are very moorish indeed.
All the best.
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 19:05
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 19:05
Barry................Barry..............................Barry..................
You should postpone retiring till next Friday as at least you will have some really good news after the Maroons flog the cockroaches on Wednesday night hehehehe
Good luck with being retired
Cheers Sir Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 19:40
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 19:40
Young Kev, Oh to be
young again & full of impossible dreams & bull bleep !! Thanks & cheers.
Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 19:05
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 19:05
Sounds like you've deserved it, Barry!
Can vouch for the retired life after nearly 8 years of it (sometimes I get the urge to go back to work, but I take a lie down and the urge soon passes!)
Re UnZud, just sit back and enjoy it! Was over there back in Feb/Mar, and it was brilliant. They even speak the same language (sort of!). Their beers are pretty good, esp Speights, and their pinot noirs aren't too bad either.
Now if they could export some of that rain on their South Island west coast back to Oz!
Gerry
Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 19:09
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 19:09
goodday barry
congrats on your retirement we pulled the pin at the end of feb and we wonder how we had time to go to work lololol
its great though
Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 21:48
Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 21:48
Congrats Barry....
You obey swmbo and enjoy NZ....it wont be as bad as you think....!!
Enjoy it!!
Laura
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 06:38
Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 06:38
Laura,if you look at my post I used swmb "I" NOT swmb "O".
Its wimpy Qld's who Obey their wives, Real men from all other states Ignore their wives. LOL
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 07:41
Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 07:41
I saw the I and wondered whether it was a type-o or wondered what it stood for....so if she is to be Ignored....she is off to NZ and your off to where????LOL!!!!!
congrats anyway mate!
Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 11:20
Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 11:20
I have now officially joined the Club
Letter arrived today to say I am now on Aunty Helens Payroll. That is why I will be In
Innamincka in a fortnight.
Enjoy the Bus Trip. A few years ago we did a Europe trip on a bus with a bunch of Aussies a few Canadians and South Africans what a great bunch. The real males soon got tired of looking at ABC (another bloody church) and soon found somewhere else to go to. German wheat beer is only suitable for Germans.
SPEIGHTS IS GREAT unfortunately it is now exported to the North Island and even to Australia so I have been told. Must need a real man's beer over there too.
Enjoy. More mountains, sea, bush, than ABC's here in NZ.
Russ