Hilux Help.

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 18:25
ThreadID: 59303 Views:2768 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
Hi, yes I am still alive hahaha

I am selling the Explorer or Trading it ASAP, hard decision for me as I rely do like it, but for rego and insurance it’s just too much for the amount I drive it, that combined with insurance rego and PULP fuel for my Turbo falcon the $$ are adding up and with my dirt bikes I’m sick of towing a trailer around so it’s time for a Old Ute.

Looking at a 1996 4WD Signal Cab Tray top Hilux on Monday it’s a 2.4 Petrol with 220,000km on the clock it’s fairly neat, looks like a Ex builders car as the Tray has cement stains in it.

It’s at a dealer and they want $7990> does this sound fair (In WA)

What are the 2.4 Petrol’s like reliability wise
Gearbox and T/case on the Lux’s are they OK
Will it cruse on 110km/h and not be screaming its balls off.

What else should I be on the look out for when I inspect it more closely?

She will be a 4WD/ Knock around Rig only so will only see about 4000km a year

I would also like to fit 32’s, rebuild the rear LSD and Lock the front diff when I get some $$ aside, am I asking for problems with a front Locker in a LUX .

Reply By: madfisher - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:11

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:11
Exploder the 22r motor is one of the most durable petrol motors ever built. On an American web site I found one that had done 400000 miles. Will need a timing chain at about 300000ks. They stretch and sound like a machine gun when first started. Eventually they will sound like this all the time. Sold mine at 215000ks compression was still purfect, chain was just starting to make a noise when cold.
Radiators can give trouble also. Will not have enough power for 32s without some tweaking
Went to tassie in our old runner sitting on 110 and got 11/100. 120 is about max cruise. Top speed with sports exhaust about 150.
3000rpm is 100ks with 205/16s but speedo is optimistic by about 6ks(was in myn antway). Sorry thats in fifth.
The single cab will be a lot lighter than my old runner so should go better(1800kg)
AnswerID: 312789

Follow Up By: Exploder - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:40

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:40
Thanks i will listen for the chain.

ill stick on some Extractors and i got some 2.5" Stainless tube in the shed so i can fab up a exhaust for it, that with a few other little tweaks should see it good.

I'v got a 289 V8 idea in my head, Thank god i don't have the funds for that ATM LOL

Just Missed out on a GQ Coil cab the other week, so i will be fronting up at 8am on Monday to see if i can make a deal on the Lux.
FollowupID: 578795

Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 15:36

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 15:36
v6 com motor is the go. Overheating issues with v8s. Then put on bigger tyres to up your gearing.
FollowupID: 578881

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 16:34

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 16:34
Bloody hell if i have a Toyota fitted with a Holden engine parked alongside the Falcon in the garage there will be War's LOL
FollowupID: 578889

Reply By: Mudripper - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:17

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:17
Exploder,

That price is way out of proportion

Just to make sure, go to the Red Book website.

www.redbookasiapacific.com/au/vehicle/index.php

Can't comment on your other questions tho.

Good luck!
AnswerID: 312792

Follow Up By: Exploder - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:32

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:32
Redbook says around $7500 but I am in WA evrything is a tad $$ over hear.

see how i go, I will have to see if they will do a Trade in on the X and I"m not expecting anything Flash despite all the chit it's got on it, But i would like to do a 3.5k change over for the LUX.

FollowupID: 578790

Reply By: V64Runner - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 10:55

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 10:55
Hi Exploder. I have a 3.5 litre V6 4Runner ( turfed the underpowered 3.0 litre motor out and replaced with 3.5 plus engine management system) and as far as gearbox and transfer case goes , they are pretty well bullet proof. I have a feeling - could be totally wrong - that the transfer case is chain driven as against gear driven to reduce noise. Never had any problems with my gearbox or transfer case since getting vehicle new in 1996 and now with 231000 clicks ,everything mechanical except motor ( 10,000Km ) nothing to report in terms of mechanical failures , apart from one clutch, brake pads etc. The 22R motor is strong and very reliable. On the subject of lockers, I`m in two minds about fitting a locker on the front diff as I`ve come across quite a few broken drive shafts in my time. I run a detroit in the rear and open diff in the front. Hope that helps
AnswerID: 312837

Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 16:31

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 16:31
Just took it for a Lap, drives nice, started first time, didn't see it blow any smoke, it's a STD Toyota, Plane, Simple and it works Don't have A/C thou, Guss i will have to live with that (Not a daily anyway)

Power, What power!! LOL.

Going down in the morning to do the swap at this stage, They offered me a better Trade than i was expecting for my Explorer, so i am happy about that but am Sad to see the X go despite there reputation i have enjoyed owning it.

Well let you all know if i end up with it but it's looking 95% ATM.
AnswerID: 312876