further to my question about tare weight of patrol

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:48
ThreadID: 59309 Views:2800 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
goodday all
further to my question about the tare weight of the 4.2diesel patrol I weighed mine today and it went 3300kgs and I definitely dont have almost a tonne of extras on mine
this was at a public weigh bridge in morwell so how can you trust what the scales say
the reason i asked the question was to confirm what i thought that i should have about 600kgs payload and I could not find any info in the owners manual telling me about this

Reply By: donk - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:57

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:57
What exta's & accessories do you have on it

Regards Don
AnswerID: 312781

Reply By: donk - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:07

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:07
I have a GU4 brochure & a 4.2 DX tares at 2410kg & a 4.2 ST is 2500kg

Tare is probably without full tanks so with full tanks you could add another 96 kg to this

Regards Don

l
AnswerID: 312786

Reply By: Eric Experience - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:09

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:09
Steve.
The public weighbridge will be spot on, they are checked regularly and usually very good. The vehicle weight shown in the glossy is the bare vehicle with no accessories and 10 litres of fuel. Eric.
AnswerID: 312788

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:33

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:33
thats rite Steve,you'll find public weigh bridges are accurate due to heavy vehicles that rely on them for loading,cheers mate.
FollowupID: 578791

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:32

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:32
how much does a bullbar weigh
by my calculations i have about 600kg +bullbar which i reckon should go about 80-90 kg not sure
probably still over but not by 300kg

AnswerID: 312796

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:35

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:35
How much fuel? Tare weight is a dry weight.
FollowupID: 578792

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:38

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:38
Steve ; my bar is approx 60kg
FollowupID: 578794

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:54

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:54
ARB steel bar for Nissan 61kg.

Winch if you have one 45kg

Fuel tanks 1kg per litre. full =135kg, longrange tank? +

Extra spare 35-40kg

Passengers varying weight

Drawers? 35kg or more.

Driving lights?

Extra battery 30kg

Roof rack ARB another 61 kg

All adds up
FollowupID: 578800

Follow Up By: guzzi - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 07:48

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 07:48
Diesel weight= .81 kg per liter @ 16deg C

134 lt x .81kg = 108.5 kg

assuming the standard tanks.

It doesnt take much to equal or exceed the GVM.
Manufacturer stated figures re weight etc are a bit like those for fuel consumption ie grossly optomistic.

Other things
Dual baterry
Tools
compressors

Weight of wife and jewlery :)
FollowupID: 578826

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 08:04

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 08:04
G'day Steve

Its interesting that my GQ has a Kerb Weight of 2115kg and a GVM of 2800kg

I have removed all the rear seats and replaced them with home made drawers. Have also removed flares(they don't weigh much).

Accessories include extra battery, bullbar and winch and Two-zone Engle fridge. Fully loaded with tools, 60lt water and stuff and the dog, the old truck weighs in at 2670kg. Add myself and the better half and it weighs in at 2790kg just 10kg shy of the GVM.

Now the trailer with all the camping gear and spare fuel and water........hmmm...thats another story....LOL

AnswerID: 312822

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 15:03

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 15:03
Willem U forgot something!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
You have to add your towball weight as part of the GVM of the towing vehicle.
FollowupID: 578877