Travelling and radios...earlier times.

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 13:06
ThreadID: 59325 Views:3234 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
I have always travelled with radios on board, just in case. The first few were ham radios.

This one crossed the Simpson with me in the early 80's. Of course it couldn't talk to the guy over the next dune with a CB, but you get that. It was great for ordering bits for a bike that had broken down, over the Travellers Net. The bits were in Birdsville before we got there.
By detuning it I could actually access the RFDS frequencies (sort of). Of course it didn't have any RFDS emergency call. Thank goodness I didn't need their services.

Sadly, it didn't survive the corregations of the Oodna track. It fell to bits in my wife's lap, and had to be fixed in Darwin. The aerial lasted almost until Perth.

The next few years saw me travelling with one of these. All Hf frequencies were accessable, although lack of wideband whips restricted useage somewhat. This one managed a few trips to the tropics and the Cape without mishap. Without selcall or the RFDS emergency tone button it was limited on anything other than the amateur bands. Trying to talk to a particular person at a particular time was frustrating as you never knew if they were actually on the radio at that time, especially under weak signal or crowded conditions.
The "Travellers Net" did a great job of keeping track of us, but they only operated at certain times.
This radio survived until six months after we got home. It then developed rust in the chassis, and intermittent joints on the circuit board.
It was replaced with an identical one, but its replacement suffered the same fate.

The current radio is a Codan, and I've used these ones without any hassled for over 10 years.(I'm sure that Barrett are just as good in this respect). Nothing phases it, dust and corregations are taken in its stride. Selcall, RFDS emergency button, the 737 network and an auto tuning aerial turn the radio experience into an almost "too easy" one these days.

Getting older and often travelling by myself, these days I also carry one of these. Overkill, perhaps. But in case of a vehicle fire I know that I can yell for help, and it's handy for talking directly to those at home.

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 13:13

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 13:13
Gday Footy,
Never been into them there modern gadgets...
Not until Kim showed me his new form of communications.....
Two baked bean tins and 3000km of string.

AnswerID: 312852

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 13:41

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 13:41
goodday hairy
i believe he just added extra tins for a party line but its cheap and works better than telstra lolololoilololol

FollowupID: 578867

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 15:56

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 15:56
Hairy (and Steve)

It's wire you bloody dill. How many times I got to tell you..... string doesn't work.

At the moment I'm in the garage adding another 1000 miles to the length of the wire.

I've come up with an Idea for a new gizmo, called BroadWire. This'll allow people to send messages using the typewriter.

What'd reckon, pretty flash aye?

Kim
FollowupID: 578882

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:50

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:50
ROTFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Wire now hey!
See bloody technology.....I just cant keep up with it...

FollowupID: 578928

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 16:54

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 16:54
It's so funny looking back at what we used years ago.

We are in the process of getting rid of old gear, we just sold our Icom IC735 that gave us many years of service.

and a heap of old CB gear.

Brings back fond memories of our old TenTec's we used and Yaesu FT7 and FT101's

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 312882

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:55

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:55
I am just restoring a couple of Atlas radios. I like them because they are pre smt technology (I can see the components). Not worth a litre of diesel these days but some things are priceless for their memories :)
FollowupID: 578900

Reply By: TD100 - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:49

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:49
How did the disc go Footy ?
AnswerID: 312916

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 20:29

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 20:29
Footie,

Think you'd have to call it Radio Evolution, or something like that.

My first memories are of a Traegar (spelling??) base radio, and an AWA Teleradio, in the stockcamp.

Later graduated to 7727 sets, complete with Radphone. Could make a phone call while mustering, or even listen to Mrs....... making a hair appointment!

Now use UHF on station, and have a couple of Iridium Satphones for travel, or when the Telstra deal is u/s.

Hooroo,

AnswerID: 312950

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 20:38

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 20:38
Bob, was told by a guy from a station south west of Three Ways that a few people still use the 7727's and 8525's out there.
I am surprised that they haven't upgraded, but like farmers everywhere they hate spending money I guess :))
FollowupID: 578956

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 08:39

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 08:39
G'day Footy

I have a Codan 6924 Radio which travels with me. I seldom use it and I wonder if it still works....lol

These days I use the Satphone to call home or to find out stuff. It works well and hasn't let me down so far. Still have the old HF as back-up

AnswerID: 313210