Radar Headlight Flashers

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 16:50
ThreadID: 59332 Views:4596 Replies:26 FollowUps:45
Twice in the last couple days I have been approaching a radar and the oncoming vehicles have been flashing headlights to warn me.

We have had 7 people die on the roads in the past 2 days!!! A number from speeding.

Why on earth would total strangers want to warn me about radar? Surely the better option is to NOT WARN and let the speeders get caught. Why let speeders slow down, then maybe cause accidents later?

Be interested to get the flashers thoughts on this ?

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:08

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:08
If speed was the reason and radars weren't predominantly revenue raising you would have a point.

Of course both assertions are false so its a courtesy to other road users not to get caught helping the government coffers.

AnswerID: 312884

Reply By: SteveL - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:11

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:11
They probably warn you because radars are often placed where they are most likely to catch people speeding rather than where people are most likely to have an accident.
AnswerID: 312885

Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 21:14

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 21:14
Yes Steve at the bottom of a long straight downhill strectch. I hate having to brake because it is a waste of energy ie fuel
Pete
FollowupID: 578961

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:21

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:21
So when the other drivers flashed thier lights did you look at your speedo?

A number died from speeding ?....... what number would that be? and what facts are you basing your comment on.

This seems like a baited question so I will fence sit as I have done both flashed (not often) and been flashed (not speeding).

Murphies law tells me I will not be flashed and will get booked but hey if that happens I deserve it. Only been booked once in 30 years for speeding so don't feel at risk, now that I have said that hmmmmmmmm.

AnswerID: 312890

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:38

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:38
Well back in Paradise it is not a crime to flash your lights to warn of a speed camera as it is here.
The Police take the view that at least people slow down which is what they want them to do.
In my hometown there is a fixed speed camera part way up a long hill. Most locals know its there and only speed up after passing it ( it points toward you down the hill).
However the police are a bit cunning and quite often put a mobile camera just around the corner a bit further up the hill.
It gets twice as many as the fixed one cos its not always there and some like to gamble.
They also have cameras in both the front and back of a vehicle so can get you either way and theirs will pick up on both sides of a multilane road.
Moral of story is dont speed and you wont have to pay.
FollowupID: 578898

Follow Up By: floody- Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 08:52

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 08:52
Graham H

It maybe not an offence to flash your headlights to warn others about a speed camera in QLD. However there is an offence for flashing high beam when 200 metres from an approaching, or when following another vehicle. That includes day or night.

I don't care about headlight flashers for notifying other of speed cameras, but I cant believe the intelligence of those who warn other drivers that there is a random breath testing/drug testing station positioned up the road. I often wonder if they would be so happy to warn others if one of their family or friends were killed by the actions of a drug or alcohol affeted driver.

FollowupID: 579019

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 15:06

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 15:06
Sorry, gents but you are wrong, it is illegal in Queensland, as well as anywhere else in Australia to warn of a the presence of the police or radar by flashing your lights. If you flash your headlights to warn of a radar it regarded as Obstructing Police and you will get fined, as a mate of mine was, if caught south of Rockhampton.

The other thing is it is also illegal to use high beam unless in such a manner as well.

Here you go.

444 Offence to assault or obstruct police officer

(1) A person must not assault or obstruct a police officer in the
performance of the officer's duties.

Maximum penalty--40 penalty units or 6 months imprisonment.

(2) For subsection (1), a person who obstructs a police dog or police horse under the control of a police officer in the performance of the police officer's duties is taken to obstruct the police officer.

(3) In this section--

assault has the meaning given by the Criminal Code, section 245.

obstruct includes hinder, resist and attempt to obstruct.
FollowupID: 579059

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:34

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:34
I was actually referring to New Zealand as Paradise not Queerland

I agree about the RBT checks no one should get a warning about them
FollowupID: 579071

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:30

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:30
Grahan H

I am not sure how long ago you were in NZ but I came over to OZ in 2000 and it was certainly illegal to flash your lights to warn others even then
FollowupID: 579085

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:41

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:41
I came over in 2002 and am positve I read in the paper that the police themselves looked upon it as an aid to getting people to slow down rather than an offence against the police.
I used to do it and so did most others. Never ever saw anyone fined for doing it.
Whether it was actually illegal Im not sure but definitely remember the article as when I cam here I couldnt believe it was an offence.
Dont do it here Let the idiots get caught. My work vehicle is speed limited to 102kph so I cant get caught I reckon as its all flat going and no matter how hard I try it wont go over that.LOL
FollowupID: 579092

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 11:46

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 11:46
Its funy isn't it, how Graam thinks his homeland is paradise yet he lives in Queensland and then slags it by calling it queerland.

If its so queer I'm sure you could return to paradise? I know where I'd rather live.
FollowupID: 579252

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 17:44

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 17:44
I was joking, havent you got a sense of humour and my name is not GRAAM
FollowupID: 579343

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 18:42

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 18:42
Reply to KiwiAngler.
I emailed the Transport Dept in good old NZ who referred me to the Police
This is what I sent

"We are having a discussion here in Australia about flashing headlights to warn of speed cameras. It is an offence here but I was under the impression that when I left NZ in 2002 it was not over there.
I seem to remember a news item where the police said that it was better to flash and slow them down than not.

Can you confirm or not that it is/ was an offence to do this in NZ"
Today I got this reply

Graham
You win - no it's not. L

It came from here

information@police.govt.nz

1 nil to me LOL

And to Wizard1 At least Im a member
FollowupID: 580897

Reply By: Rock Ape - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:45

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:45
The last time I flashed the girls laughed at what I presented to them, bloody well cured me. Next time I am going to buy an extension.

The Ape

I was not put on this earth to live up to your expectations, and you weren't put on this earth to live up to mine. Life goes on
AnswerID: 312893

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:54

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:54
"Why on earth would total strangers want to warn me about radar? "

Courtesy?????? Some people still show it!
AnswerID: 312895

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:58

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 17:58
I think if you read your post you will se how silly it sounds

"We have had 7 people die on the roads in the past 2 days!!! A number from speeding"

and then

"Surely the better option is to NOT WARN and let the speeders get caught"

If your talking camera then thers no "catching" anyone in fact here in WA there is a minimum 3 month and sometimes over a year for fines to be sent out.
Atleast getting flashed slows people down and makes them think
a fine 12 months later in the mail is of NO assistance to road safety

AnswerID: 312898

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:04

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:04
You having my problem with the Server playing up at the moment? :-)

It has gone crazy....

FollowupID: 578905

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:05

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:05
yep.............
FollowupID: 578908

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:14

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:14
short answers, no preview is the way to go :-)

FollowupID: 578911

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:02

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:02
I will sometimes flash at obvious speedsters (some motorcycles etc) just to slow them down so they hopefully don't kill someone.

I'm all for flashing as much as possible when there is nothing around....when there is, i couldn't be bothered, as enough others do it. :-)

AnswerID: 312901

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 12:57

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 12:57
How often do you think a speeding motorcyclist kills a car driver? Don`t think you slow them down either as its fairly obvious to bike riders that some people feel the need to flash for the fun of it.
FollowupID: 579052

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:06

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:06
If it really didnt work (which is garbage as many a speeding motorcyclist and vehicle have slowed down when i have done it, even it is only for the kilometre or two) then what's the harm?

How do these motorcyclists know it isn't real? How can it be "fairly obvious"?

BTW, "someone" could possibly mean themselves!

FollowupID: 579082

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 19:50

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 19:50
I have ridden bikes on and off for the past 20 odd years and have had plenty of car drivers flash me when speeding by a fair amount.
People that flash rapidly as you approach them at high speed normally are the ones to ignore. You also look at the person driving and judge them by age, driving style and general look on their face.

Most motorcyclists also understand the risk of their hobby,ride to suit the conditions, their ability and don`t need the pitiful attempt of someone like yourself trying to save lives.

If your so concerned about saving lives maybe you could hang out at smokers lounges and pull smokes out of peoples mouths.

FollowupID: 579123

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:01

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:01
Ok, you have gone from using "your experience" to assume that ALL riders are in the same category....hmmm.

Again, i am saying to you that when i do it, it works. Maybe it has to do with the speed of the flashes, the fact that i make hand gestures to indicate to slow down and estimated distance/time and want them to summise that "i'm on your side".

If you dont like it, then ignore it.....your choice.

{{....,ride to suit the conditions, their ability ...}}

What ever happen to riding to the general requirement of the law.....or should we just turn into a lawless society where you can do what you want, when you want. A very poor reasoning for breaking the law IMO.

and don't patronise me with that crap about pulling smokes out of other mouths....

I understand that you will disagree with my reasoning....that is part of your nature being a motorcyclist, and i understand that. I will continue to do what i feel is necessary, and you will obviously do the same. I just hope that we all end up outliving our driver's licences. :-)

FollowupID: 579139

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 22:02

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 22:02
So long as it makes you happy do it.... I will continue to speed and make my own judgments
FollowupID: 579169

Reply By: plusteck - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:14

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:14
flashing is a wate of time, compulsive speeders will just slow down for that short distance, pass the radar and down goes there foot again, let them get caught loose all their demit points then they will be off the road for at least 3 months, if you speed well then suffer the consequences.

Ozzie
AnswerID: 312905

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:19

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:19
Are you suggestingb that flashing should be confined to the cricket pitch ? Hmmmm :)

I'm afraid that speed is a somewhot contentious issue in the forum, dependis upon which side of the fence you sit on.

Generally I rekkon that if you travel over the speed limit then ypu should get caught. But NOT downhill . The revenue angle is also valid.

Question: Have deaths per 1000 vehicles registered in Australia gone down in any state since the introduction of these devices ?
AnswerID: 312906

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:46

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:46
I answered your question but due to yet another SERVER APPLICATION UNAVAILABLE error, it got lost. Emailed EO re the error but can't be bothered redoing the answer until this site is fixed once and for all.

FollowupID: 578924

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 19:47

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 19:47
What was the answer gramps?

FollowupID: 578940

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 19:56

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 19:56
Bonz,

Yes. Now I'll wait for the troglodytes to start assuming.

FollowupID: 578947

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 21:11

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 21:11
Footy,

Sorry, meant to include you in my response to Bonz. The answer to your question is YES.

FollowupID: 578960

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:45

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 18:45
In my younger years seemed to spend a lot of time in the back seat of 'Panda' cars. Then two good mates joined the force, we catch up often for a beer or two.
Now, as a tradie, I spend a lot of time working on police housing.

You only have to listen to the conversations the 'Boys in Blue' have with each other, both on the job and socially, to realise they have this 'THEM AND US' view to society.

Its just a big game....They want to catch us, we try to avoid getting caught.

Warning one of our own to a radar camera is just part of that game......cant see a problem really.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 312915

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 09:31

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 09:31
Lionel, interesting comment "they have this 'THEM AND US' view to society." I was interested working in the Commonwealth Games Village back in 2006 to have the police talk about life outside in some of the outer western areas in those terms. In the CGV we were all working on the same thing, and talking to everyone
FollowupID: 579024

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 14:03

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 14:03
Hi John, I think the police, by the very nature of the job, acquire a certain mind set.

Probably see more bad than good in people, get lied to, attacked and despised by certain sections of society.

My mates cant seem to switch-off from the job, most of their socialising is done amoungst their own collegues.

I think the old adage "once a cop always a cop" is generally true.

Wouldnt have their job for quids, wouldnt want to see what they have to see, have to hear or have to do.

Cheers......Lionel.
FollowupID: 579055

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 18:59

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 18:59
You have to ask why they seek a job in which they spend their working lives controlling others? It's an unhealthy desire and one we should be cautious of, we need to ensure they are constrained in their power. The current situation in Victoria, highlighted by the OPI, seems to confirm this.

In my experience around the world... Oz is amongst the worst Western countries I have encountered for the depth of division between police and public.

FollowupID: 579106

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 19:16

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 19:16
No - we should thank the flashers :-o) ....... they want us to slow down now ! (instead of later).... surely that is good.
AnswerID: 312925

Reply By: Stu-k - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 19:35

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 19:35
I am all for flashing lights, radar ahead signs and covering of number plates.
When the government start focusing even a little bit on saving lives and not on how much money they make out us my view may change.
AnswerID: 312927

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 19:47

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 19:47
How can the covering of number plates possibly save lives?

FollowupID: 578941

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 21:50

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 21:50
Doesn't save lives saves money and points.
FollowupID: 578969

Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 19:51

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 19:51
The whole thing is, most of the time the radar is set up in a area

That is not a accident prone place but a area where the average motorist can easily exceed the speed limit because the road conditions are so good, My mind is made up about revenue grabbing.

AnswerID: 312936

Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 21:24

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 21:24
Yes Axle they always patrol the really good bits of road where it would be quite safe to do 115.
FollowupID: 578963

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 19:56

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 19:56
I always flash (no boiled lollies and trench coat though).

The Coppers assure us they only place "safety" (ROFLMAO) cameras in dangerous places. Hence I feel I am carrying out my civic responsibilty by letting other drivers know they are approaching a "black" spot.

Just making my contribution to reducing the road toll.

AnswerID: 312937

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 14:26

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 14:26
Jimbo.....boiled lollies eh !!!

Times have changed my good friend....Chocolate bars, tobacco and alco-pops are whats in demand these days....hehehe.

Cheers......Lionel.
FollowupID: 579056

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 09:38

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 09:38
I still find offering a packet of twisties from my lap opened both ends works best....
FollowupID: 579227

Reply By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 20:23

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 20:23
I think the mentality of the flash is due to the disgust people have for the revenue raising aspect of radars.
I for one am not condoning speeding when I flash someone, just trying to help a fellow citizen from getting screwed by govt revenue raising disguised as "we're trying to save lives".
if anything I see it as others looking out for others on the road, which is generally non existent in most places of all states and territories in OZ.

sometimes it's nice to get a friendly gesture from a total stranger!
lighten up man!
Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains!

AnswerID: 312947

Reply By: allanmac856 - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 20:57

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 20:57
Was it a speed camera or a police car?????.

IMO, doesnt make alot of difference, because no matter what anyone thinks of speed cameras in respect to revenue raising, by flashing you are condoning speeding. The driver will slow down when passing the camera then speed up again. Bottom line, this is a voluntary tax, which I have paid a couple of times, & if you happen to get caught it may make you reconsider your driving habits, especially when you are getting close to the maximum points allowed before your licence is in on the line.

What annoys more, is those who whinge about the cameras & want more police presence on the roads, & guess what, are the 1st to boast how they flash other motorists when the 'boys in blue' are lurking. Cant have it both ways.

I never 'flash' other motorists whether it be a speed camera or the police. I'm sure the attitude of some may change if they have had a family member killed or badly injured by a speeding motorist.

AnswerID: 312955

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:07

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:07
I see your point....So if this said speeding motorist was doing the speed limit and killed your family because, They fell asleep,sending text messages, drunk, stoned, inexperienced, weren't concentrating, etc.
You would be fine for the cops to handle it by just putting a speed camera down the road from the crash site?
I have a blackspot near where I live and that is all they do and everyone in the area knows that speeding has not been a factor.

But a least brainwashed people like yourself think the government care.
FollowupID: 578972

Follow Up By: allanmac856 - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 00:30

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 00:30
Not brainwashed Stu-k, just realistic. Govt do care because "less car injuries = less cost to them".

Yes, I agree SOME speed camera locations are a 'revenue raising' exercise, but not all. On a road like the Hume I do find it a little mystifying because if you run off the road at 100klm or 110 & hit a tree it doesnt matter, you are dead. But, for arguments sake, if you have a blowout & you are doing 100 instead of 110, you do have a better chance of bringing the car under control. The lower the speed, the greater chance of survival; this cannot be disputed.

I have no issue with any speed camera set up in residential streets where the limit maybe 50 klm etc. Some do not believe that 5 or 10klm makes a difference, but it does when it comes to stopping a vehicle. If some dont believe that, well they shouldnt have a licence; or maybe they should do a driver training course to see what difference 5-10klm can make.

Whether we like it or not, speed cameras are here to stay. Take the risk, your call, but dont whinge about them because most of us speed far more regularily than we get caught. If we were all honest, if we got caught everytime we sped, none of us would have our licences.

Sorry to say, but am wasting my breath on any 4wd forum, as the biggiest whingers when it comes to speed cameras, police presence etc are 4wders.

FollowupID: 578999

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 06:07

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 06:07
No, no allanmac, you've got it wrong - speed is good:

A safe speed

FollowupID: 579003

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 12:42

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 12:42
With that line of thinking we should all be traveling at 25 kph on freeways. Then the hopeless driver training would be fine
FollowupID: 579049

Follow Up By: allanmac856 - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:09

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:09
Stu-k, think you are now pushing the boundaries to the extreme. I never said driver training was the 'be all end all', but the one think it does demonstrate is the difference 5-10klm does make trying to stop a vehicle.

Obviously you are Australia's best driver/rider, so I would be interested to hear how you would go about reducing the carnage on the roads. From some of your comments, it seems that you think speed plays only a minor role, which is a ridiculous statement.

Contrary to what some believe; doesnt take much skill to drive a vehicle fast; any idiot can do this.

Anyway, still think anyone who flashes is doing the community no favours, no matter what lame excuse they use to justify it.

FollowupID: 579144

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 09:12

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 09:12
Yes 5-10 kph does make a difference but what I meant was...should we make 100k zones 90k or 80 or 70k zones the slower you go the less braking distance. 100 is not some magical figure that if you don`t exceed you wont die( the gov try and convince us otherwise)

No way I would say I m the best driver in oz but I would like to think I m about average. I drive about 600-700ks a week in Brisbane, a lot of the time towing large heavy trailers. Have also done four motorcycle courses and countless track days.

If you think it takes no skill to drive fast go and visit a race track and give it a shot.

Lack of concentration is a major problem because for a lot of people driving is only secondary to what there doing. Most days I see people sending text messages, talking on the phone, looking at the passenger beside or even behind them. I have also see builders reading plans on their steering wheels!

It is becoming the mentality that so long as you don't speed you won`t get booked.
I find the people that speed a little(10 or so over) at least watch the road and concentrate. School zones are a classic, have followed people into school zone that think its a great time to change cd`s or look anywhere but where there going.

Licenses should be a lot more involved to get, at least a few driver trainer courses on closed tracks etc.

We should be training people to be aware of there surroundings and to drive appropriately. To concentrate on there driving at all times.
Speed is a beat up factor because in a crash investigation if the vehicles involved are proved to be doing 1k over the limit speed is a factor.

Radar is not the answer.

FollowupID: 579222

Follow Up By: allanmac856 - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 19:45

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 19:45
Whilst we agree to disagee on some things, I agree that licencing should be far more difficult than it is. I drive anywhere between 1-2k per week & no doubt like you, are amazed at the idiotic behaviour on the roads. Problem is most drivers, male & female, do not appreciate that driving a motor vehicle is probably the most dangerous thing all of us do everyday & to do it properly requires concentarate & obeying road rules, ie speed limits/stop signs, rd lights etc, whether we agree with them or not.

I did not advocate we should all drive at 70-80klm etc, as there are some roads, such as sections of the Hume where the limit could be 120kph. But then you will have drivers who say, "I'll do 130 or 135" etc etc.

Again, if any driver wants to break the law, I'm not going to flash to help them get away with it.

(BTW, have been lucky enough to race at every racetrack in Vic & a few interstate)
FollowupID: 579366

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 21:05

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 21:05
I think people are getting peezzed off at being booked for doing 6-8 kms over the limit..

Now if the person was doing 10-50kms over it well warranted !

AnswerID: 312957

Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 21:09

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 21:09
How many people die from speeding ? Has anyone got figures for it ?

I think too many people get speeding and unsafe driving mixed up ?

Exceeding the speed limit is against the law, but you can't assume it's unsafe to exceed the speed limit..

Is there a difference between country NSW roads and 100K speed limit and NT 130K roads ??

I exceed the speed limit nearly every time I get on the road and if I get cuaght I've only got myself to blame, but don't imply I'm an unsafe driver because I'm sitting 10K's over the limit..
AnswerID: 312960

Reply By: sastra - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 23:22

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 23:22
No radar required!

I like to flash at anyone who looks like a speeder or smartarse knobhead.

I derive great delight from seeing their brake lights come on.

It is my way of encouraging safer driving.

I have seen lots of sadness and waste in the course of my job when people stuff up.

If you are stupid enough to speed then cop the fine and don't cry like babies.

Watch for my flash heh! heh!

Life is precious.

AnswerID: 313006

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:28

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:28
Same here ! Many years ago I would flash to warn of radars now I flash idiots and check to see if the break lights come on.

I have seen the leftovers of to many speeding cars that have come unstuck.

Life is to precious to be spent as a vegetable in a rehabilitation ward.

I have no objection if speeding motorists kill themselves I do object to them killing or injuring innocent others or injuring themselves so they need to be cared for in public funded hospitals.
FollowupID: 579151

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 18:36

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 18:36
Has there been any leftovers as a result of your flashing and someone has slammed their brakes on and the following car has tailended it. Something to consider
FollowupID: 580896

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:40

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:40
This does not happen if people travel with a safe distance between them and the car ahead.

minimum 2 second gap in good conditions minimum 5 second gap on a wet road.
FollowupID: 580927

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:15

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:15
The operative word here is" if"

Here in Queensland you can change the word seconds and substitute meters which is more like the truth.

And it doesnt alway change to 5 in the wet either.

Most times I cant see the number plates of a car following me at 100kph as they are too close behind me.
FollowupID: 580987

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:29

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:29
I had just such an idiot behind us yesterday :-(

He was bullying people off the road and sitting inches behind them. The traffic was slowed to a crawl because of an accident on a 2 lane highway and he was still weaving from lane to lane and taking stupid risks. Unfortunately we were in Margo's little car or he would have had an accident running into the back of my truck as we went past the police at the accident scene. I doubt he would have been happy to take a drug or booze test. He was off his face on something.
FollowupID: 580990

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 23:35

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 23:35
Stay at home, wear your woolen underwear and eat your muesli.

Maybe you have been cought in a moment of laps of concentration with the cruise control off behind a speed sign where they just reduced 80 to 60 and had the camera 20 meters behind the 60 sign. This is extortion and I congratualte every one who tries to help to avaoid that legalised theft.

You must be a perfect driver .. never caught exceeding the speed limit ..

good luck
gmd
AnswerID: 313008

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 11:48

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 11:48
Hi I'm Wayne and I'm a flasher.

I came to this meeting of flashers unanimous (FU) to seek support for my little problem. I now see i am not alone in this affliction so fellow brother and sister flashers keep fighting the good fight. I am home here.

I flash to rebel against the cynical use of power to extort even more taxes, in the form of fines, from the honest man/woman.
Speed cameras are not usually in a black spot but in the most convenient spot to collect the most revenue per manhour. However as was mentioned in another reply here, I will not warn of RBT... you drive and drink, you stink you fink

We have had a 50km/h zone inflicted upon us because a kid made a silly mistake walked out into traffic against lights and was killed. The traffic problems this now causes during peak hour are now very significant and the Police just love to patrol the area and setup their camera cars. This is on the Princes Hwy, Heathcote.

Now while i feel very sad for the loss of the family of the kid, who went to school with my kids btw, the trouble did not occur due to a speeding driver. The speed limit 80km/h was a bit high, i will admit, for a busy shopping centre, but 50km/h is just too much overkill and the length of the zone is far too long.

This has just become another revenue raising killing field for Dillemma and Costa the Imposter. There is no interest here other than what they can get on their investments. These bastards will turn me Liberal yet.

AnswerID: 313050

Reply By: deserter - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:54

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:54
Well bugger me. That drew some interesting responses. Just to clarify. Both radars were hand held and both were in school zones.
AnswerID: 313093

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 09:42

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 09:42
makes alot of difference.
BTW i copped a flash about 3 1/2 months back still waiting for the bill (will be my first in 12 years). i was on an unfamiure road and assumed it to be 70 (was doing about 68) if i had been flashed being unsure of the limit i would have checked my speed and backed of to 60.
So a flash can be a reminer to those wanting to do the right thing not just help habitual speeders (being a 1hz owner i definitly am not)
FollowupID: 579228

Reply By: RosscoH - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 09:51

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 09:51
Never yet seen anyone die from speed, it is the method of deceleration that causes the problems.
AnswerID: 313218

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:36

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:36
It's not the fall that hurts

It is the sudden stop at the bottom that does the damage :-(

Sadly you are still just as dead or injured.
FollowupID: 580925

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:37

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:37
THERE IS A HUGE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN EXCEEDING THE SPEED LIMIT BY JUST ENOUGH TO GET A TICKET AND SPPPPPEEEDING!!

IN THERE LIES THE ANSWER!!! MICHAEL
AnswerID: 313258

Reply By: The Landy - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 09:05

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 09:05
Drive a Landy...no risk of speeding.

Interesting read though....

AnswerID: 314923

Reply By: D200Dug- Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:36

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:36
To those who say speed is not the problem you are part right but in reality wrong.

Most accidents are caused by multiple factors speed just increases the risk and severity of the accident. If I recall the maths stopping distance is VxM2 velocity, times the mass of the vehicle, SQUARED!.

Most accidents happen for other reasons than speed just the speed takes away your reaction time and ability to stop safely before harm is done.

This is especially true in a vehicle with a large mass like a 4 wheel drive or truck.

AnswerID: 314933

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:41

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:41
VxM2

if speed is 2 and mass is 2 then the equation = 16
if speed is 4 and mass is 2 then the equation = 64

and so on up the range.
FollowupID: 580991