Looking for Tite-Tie tie down tool
Submitted: Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:35
Rubin
Does anyone know where I can get this tie down tool that is called a Tite Tie? Or has anyone used one and can recommend it? I found a web site (
http://www.tite-tie.com.au ) on it and looked in some shops, but staff have never heard of it, anyone have one, if so where did you get it, how much was it?
Reply By: qubert - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:40
Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:40
just do a truckies knot ....free mate , free
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 04:37
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 04:37
Good call gubert !
As a one time forklift drive, I spent many hours helping "truckie's" tie down their tarps, and very soon picked it up..
Cheep
and much appreciated.
No need to buy gadgets, that will probably get lost or break
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:40
Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:40
Watch the video
http://www.tite-tie.com.au/gallery/gallery.html
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:45
Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:45
the bottom video that is ;-)
Follow Up By: Rubin - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:54
Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:54
The bottom video is not much help, good looking, but doesn't really show anything. Have you seen one used before?
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 23:07
Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 23:07
What the girl, I use to have one of those, but there like a sports car. expensive to run and everyone wants to steal them ..LOL
The thingie no, I can tie a knot but they look easy to use and would come in handy.
There are links on the site to where they are sold just give them a call.
Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 12:52
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 12:52
I use to have one of those, but there like a sports car. expensive to run and everyone wants to steal them
Never thought about it like that but very true ! lol
Reply By: Rubin - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:47
Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 22:47
Yeah, the old truckies knot is good, but not on nylon ropes and I've heard that the titetie works with nylon ropes. Anyway, I just want to find this dam thing so I can have a look at it for myself, maybe have a play with it and test it.
Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 23:08
Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 23:08
Errrm, didja click the
Where to Buy button??
;-)))
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 14:46
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 14:46
Out of all the
places listed, the only one around here is Landmark. So, with hopes raised, I dropped in there in my lunch hour today, only to find that the bloke says they don't have any. He wasn't too forthcoming with an offer to get any in for me either, so I went home and had my peanut butter roll and a cuppa kofi!
Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 19:49
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 19:49
Hey Roachie,
if ya want one o' them there "do-fer"s an' can't find one in your locality, gimme a "hoy" and next time I go by Bunnings or Mitre10 or wherever (prob'ly in the next coupla days), I'll pick one up and send it to ya....
(ya can buy me a beer next time we meet up;-))
Catch ya later... Ed C
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:50
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:50
G'day Ed and thanks for the offer...... I've gotta go to the smoke on wednesday to see a client, so I'll see if I can get to Bunnings then....
Follow Up By: nomadoz - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:59
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:59
that is not true,if you put on a lock,that is on the top loop.
Reply By: Krakka - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 05:08
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 05:08
Bunnings sell them, or similar. In the same aisle as jerry cans and car stuff.
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 09:09
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 09:09
You can get a similar product at virtually every
camping show in the country - a bloke goes to all of them (plus field days) selling his gadjet called the "Hitchmaster" - quite a laugh he is - all the usual carry-on of a sideshow spruiker, but the thing is he does as many demos on
the spot as you want. I bought a set and reckon its good value as a lifting tool - there are two sizes of tool in the kit - the large one, properly rigged with your rope is capable of lifting very heavy loads - that's why I wanted it and have used it to good effect. He recommends the small
tools in the kit as tie-downs in the same application as the one you are talking about.
ABN - 87003897050 -
http://www.thehitchmaster.com/
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 11:36
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 11:36
I have 2 sets of Hitchmasters at home in my cabinet. Although I do also have the instructions, I'm buggared if I can get em to sing the way the bloke at the shows does. I think the type and size of rope might be a factor?
Anyway, the humble truckies knot is not as common as it used to be. Many loads are now secured by 50mm rachet tie down straps and the
young blokes don't know as much about tieing knots as the old blokes do.
I think this new gizmo is the bees knees and will try to find one for myself too. The fact that it can be used with virtually any size rope/twine, as
well as webbing straps, makes it a winner in my book.
Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 11:59
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 11:59
G'day Bill - yep - ropes ain't ropes - the HM bloke used cod ordinary budget rope (the white polymer stuff you see sold everywhere) - the recommended diameter for each size of tool is probably very important - I've used expensive braided yachties type ropes too but they seem to have greater drag when in use with this tool - my fuzzy old head has problems remembering the rigging techniques too - mainly because I don't use them enough - I have to refer to the instruction sheet - my kit will mainly be used for lifting the second spare back onto the Kaymar (parked under a tree) - and any other heavy lift that may come along - I've got quite a dicky back, and there's no way I'm risking it in the middle of an expensive (fuel $$$) bush trip :-o).
Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:06
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:06
Roachie,
Stick with your hitchmasters mate. A little bit of thought and the correct size rope works a treat although I don't bother using
mine any more , usuallyuse trucies knot or ratchet.
These new things look great in the demo but by the loks of it you wold forget how to wind the rope around them like you did with the hitch masters.
Reply By: DIO - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 10:26
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 10:26
Bunnings Hardware - in the rope section.
Reply By: EscapeArtists - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 14:51
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 14:51
Demo
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:35
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:35
They look good, never considered buying one but they where at Bunnings a few weeks ago.
For me at the momentr truckie knot and my rachet straps will do.