Cameron Corner / Innamincka supplies
Submitted: Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:30
Member - Sheepie (NSW)
Hi all - me again! Am working out whether to take the 12 volt fridge or rely on the Esky (one of those good yellow ones, so keeps the ice cold for a few days)...
Anyone know whether I can rely on ice being available at
Cameron Corner and
Innamincka?
Ta heaps, looking forward to seeing some of you lot soon :)
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:43
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:43
Sadly I'm not going but have been in contact with a few. I'd say take everything that you can lay your hands on...by the sounds of it some are taking their Taj Mahals along and you have to have something to show off...bragging rights etc. I rekkon Willem will get sick of the diamond in the rough jokes pretty quickly...I know that I would :))
Oh and keep an eye out for flag nappers.
I'm sure that whatever you do or don't take you'll have a ball :))
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:58
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:58
Sheepie
From a trip a year ago I seem to remember seeing ice available in both
places, but why not invest a couple of bucks in phone calls to check?
Innaminka Trading Post 08 8675 9900
Corner Store 08 8091 3872
Happy travels
Max
ps we always find it easier to sling the fridge in the back of the car rather than chasing mess in an Esky.
Follow Up By: Member - Sheepie (NSW) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 19:06
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 19:06
Thanks Max - yes, was thinking it may pay to talk to the horses mouth (so to speak) but am wary they may get sick of silly questions over the phone ;)
Reply By: Cupie - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 20:09
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 20:09
G'day ..
If you do take an ice box, have you tried a layer of dry ice on the bottom covered by a sheet of newspaper, then a layer of normal ice (replaced periodically). Works MUCH better. Used to use this technique up on Frazer Is in the 70's.
cheers .. G
Reply By: Krakka - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 20:31
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 20:31
I was wondering why you would bother mucking around with ice if you have a 12v fridge. Just curious.
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:40
Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:40
Take
water, and the washing up bowl, leave it out overnight, and you may be surprised with whats there in the morning...
Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 06:48
Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 06:48
I would be very surprised if they didn't have ice, but I would almost guarantee it would be crushed ice, not block ice.