Gearbox choice ? Manual V automatic ?

Submitted: Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:37
ThreadID: 59385 Views:7485 Replies:12 FollowUps:34
We are looking at buying a tow vehicle for a caravan we are still very much in the planning stage but I was talking to a Toyota salesman today who strongly recommended an automatic gearbox for towing a van as he said "They are stronger and more reliable" he also said "you are always in the right gear"

I personally hate automatic gearboxes, a personal thing, Does anyone have a reason or opinion on this matter?

At the moment we are looking at a Landcruiser 4.2 diesel and adding turbo or supercharger but are open to suggestions.

Reply By: donk - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:42

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:42
Modern auto's are pretty hard to beat & with a auto is it easier to back a van on to a site slowly or to start off on a hill

What sort of cruiser are you looking at buying & how much money are you looking at spending

Regards Don
AnswerID: 313151

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:46

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:46
There are a few cruiser wagons for sale from Qfleet.

My last 3 utes have been Qfleet and I have had a great run from them.

They seem to run out around the $30 to $35 K range.

I want something basic that does not matter if it gets a tiny little bit dirty :-) !!
FollowupID: 579159

Reply By: D200Dug- Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:50

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:50
PS I am used to towing boats I learned to tow a large boat with a V8 3 speed manual kingswood wagon that did not have power steering.

My present ute is the first vehicle that I have ever owned with power steering.

I cannot see backing or towing with a modern rig would be more difficult than that !
AnswerID: 313154

Follow Up By: donk - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:56

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:56
The auto allows you to reverse slowly without riding the clutch & the same when hill starting with he van on

Regards Don
FollowupID: 579166

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 23:17

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 23:17
The idea is not to attempt to make things difficult for yourself. Get an auto and enjoy the trip. As Don said, autos are much better when maneouvering your rig.

FollowupID: 579421

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:57

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:57
D200Dug,

For what its worth I post the following.

I tow a very heavy tent trailer, up untill recently I towed it behind a vehicle with a manual box because I was wary of towing with an auto. The tow tug was a crew cab ute which itself was heavily loaded.

Two months ago we updated to a diesel with auto transmission and I now wish to hell I had done it years ago.

As previously posted "you are always in the right gear" to suit load/incline and revs. Just so much more rleaxing to drive and I'm getting better fuel economy.

When it come to reversing the sucker up my very steep driveway I find that low range in the auto allows me far more control than the manual ever did.

AnswerID: 313158

Reply By: D200Dug- Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 22:18

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 22:18
Bugga :-(

I may have to let reason overcome my preconceived ideas.

I hate it when that happens.

cheers doug
AnswerID: 313171

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 22:33

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 22:33
Not really Doug,

Your no different to me. that's why I stuck with the manual for so long. Even in low range my manual used to generate that awful burning smell from the clutch when trying to get the sucker up the driveway.

I don't know if you can manage it but why not try a test drive. Try to find a real steep reversing site that tests your current vehicle. Then visit a car dealer and "test drive" an auto of the type you are considering to buy. A sort of back to back test so to speak.

FollowupID: 579177

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 22:28

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 22:28
Err,sounds like u can drive! So go for A MANUAL :)
I guess i'm in for a blasting! :)
Do the army use auto's?
Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 313174

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 22:35

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 22:35
Do the army tow caravans?

lol,

FollowupID: 579178

Follow Up By: donk - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 22:44

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 22:44
I don't think that the driving ability has anything to do with what is the better transmission for towing (or 4wding or day to day driving for that matter)

Modern auto's are clever things that are easy on the rest of the drivetrain & apart from less (not much less any more) engine braking than the same vehicle with a manual transmission don't have to many disadvantages

I have a 4.2 tdi manual Patrol (i have never owned a auto vehicle so i have no bias either way) & tow a 23 foot 2500kg + van (full time on the road for the past 7 years) & there are lots of occasions when a auto would be a better choice than the manual (i have worked at toyota dealerships since 1982 so i have some experience on the pro's & cons of both transmission types on which to base my opinion

Regards Don
FollowupID: 579181

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 22:55

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 22:55
I am EX RAAF we used to tow aircraft !!!

I have helped tow an Air Garuda Viscount out of a bog !!

Beat that :-)
FollowupID: 579182

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 23:05

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 23:05
Ok, so what do the army us to tow there equipment, auto or manual?
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 579183

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 23:14

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 23:14
I have only ever seen manual army trucks and Landrovers the RAAF had manual landcruisers. I believe the new M1 Abrams tanks do have an automatic transmission but PLEASE do not get me started on those useless heaps of crud ! :-(
FollowupID: 579184

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 23:18

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 23:18
The RAAF prefered tow vehicle was a manual 4 cylinder deisel paymover They were a compact vehicle with very low gearing and 1" thick steel bodywork so they weighed well over a ton. They could tow anything, just very slowly.
FollowupID: 579185

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 23:18

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 23:18
The RAAF preferred tow vehicle was a manual 4 cylinder diesel pay-mover They were a compact vehicle with very low gearing and 1" thick steel bodywork so they weighed well over a ton. They could tow anything, just very slowly.
FollowupID: 579186

Follow Up By: roblin - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 23:20

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 23:20
The Bushmaster is an auto, isn't it? So are the LAVs, and tanks, their large buses and, maybe, the new prime movers. However, I don't believe the L110 comes in auto!

The Cruisers were poverty pack 100 series, therefore no auto available. Now that the 200 series is out, it would appear that the Army (at least) are buying poverty pack Prados plus troopies.
FollowupID: 579187

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 23:34

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 23:34
When I was in the only auto was the CO's Fairlane or Statesman !
FollowupID: 579191

Reply By: Member - Douglas M (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 09:03

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 09:03
"They are stronger and more reliable"? Did you ask him why Toyota make the manuals weaker and less reliable? If you have always had manuals you will always be in the right gear anyway!
Doug
AnswerID: 313214

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 09:18

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 09:18
You may want a rethink.

The LandCruiser you are choosing (HZJ105) came with a relatively weak manual gearbox (called R151F) which became less reliable when you turboed it or towed with it. So, if you want a 1Hz Landcruiser then go for the automatic. Having said that, there were very few made in that combination, and they are as rare as hens teeth.

If you can stretch to a HDJ100 (factory TD 2000-2007), you will be rewarded with a much better, more reliable motor, that won't overheat and has great power and torque, and delivers better fuel consumption than a turboed 1Hz. If you want a manual, then the gearbox in this vehicle is the considerably stronger H150F, which is as reliable as any box put into any 4wd. But the automatics were very good in this series as well.
AnswerID: 313215

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 10:25

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 10:25
Is there a reason for the difference between the HZJ105 and the HDJ100 gearboxes ? I find it surprising that they would fit a dodgy box in such a vehicle.

What would a changeover to a stronger box cost ? any ideas ?
FollowupID: 579233

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:40

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:40
The 1HD-FTE has 50% more power and torque than the 1Hz. The petrol motors also got the stronger box.

The lighter R151F box was also used in the Prado and Hilux.
FollowupID: 579292

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:52

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:52
And changeover to the stronger box
Check this link.
FollowupID: 579295

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 15:02

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 15:02
MMM Some food for thought there !
FollowupID: 579309

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 20:33

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 20:33
The prices of the factory TDs have come down, now that they have been around for a while, the cost of diesel is high, and a bit of panic is setting into the economy.

Heres a link to whats on Carsales. $35k for 200km or $45k for 100km may be better than the $60k you were thinking.
FollowupID: 579387

Reply By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 10:13

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 10:13
Having disassembled a few autotransmissions for repair, I would not buy an auto vehicle. Army does not tow vans (they tow big guns) and truck does not use autos. There should be reason behind this. As for me it is no brainier – manual only, thus I am, not stupid piece of software running questionable hydraulic computer via conventional ones stays in control. I agree that auto may have some advantages in certain situation for lazy people, but staying in control far overweight this. Personal opinion only and YMMV.

Serg
AnswerID: 313220

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 10:23

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 10:23
:-) I know I am not that smart but I still hope my IQ is higher than an automatic gearbox. if I cannot chose a gear to be in by now I should not be driving. :-)

I can see advantages in both I just think I would be happier with a manual.

FollowupID: 579232

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 10:27

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 10:27
Therefore you answer your question by yourself – it *IS* personal preference. :-)))))))

I just know by trying way too many autos that I will not be able to stand when it shift in situation that I would not and visa versa. Yes you can play by your right foot and force it to shift earlier or later, but I would prefer to play by my left one instead of studying what been programmed in this particular gearbox.

Serg
FollowupID: 579234

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 10:43

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 10:43
Strange as it may seem I have been wrong in the past :-) but then I also don't believe everything a used car salesman tells me either !!!

By asking and listening to the advice of others here I hope I can make a more informed decision.

I just think $30k for a poverty pack V $60K for a nice 100 series TD.

There are a LOT of options and features I can add for $30K that I think are important.

I do not want a pretty, nice, good looking vehicle I want something that will tow and go.
FollowupID: 579237

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 11:11

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 11:11
Same was with me 2 years back. $20K well-used versus $50K+ shiny. I have chosen $20K option. Main reasons I can add so much for $30K is not a joke! Also I already managed to put couple of small underbody damages and if they are just small nuisance with my 10 y.o. LC, it would be p155ed me to the death if it would be relatively new car. If properly maintained it appears like those things can run endlessly. Although I think that getting older car and bring it up to proper condition only make financial sense if you mechanically minded. Depends what you after actually. If not for hard 4WD, but rather for calm towing then perhaps sub 100K (in milage, not dollars LOL) make most sense.

Serg
FollowupID: 579243

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 11:24

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 11:24
I am not mechanically minded or good with my hands but I know what I can and cannot do !

I love my old utes and hate changing them the last one was a 2.2 lt petrol hilux 4x2 with 350,000km on the clock and original motor and gearbox.

We had driven it across the outback highway and on many many dirt road treks, on more than one occasion people had commented "That must be a really good 4 wheel drive to make it over that road"

By taking it slow and careful driving it could cover most tracks safely and comfortably.

We are only going to a larger 4wd to tow a van. I don't see that my driving style will change significantly.

On a trip we sit on the speed limit on highways but rarely go over 80kph on back roads and usually stop at least every 100km to take photos. If you travel at high speed you miss seeing the photo opportunities beside the road.

If the car already has dings in it them Margo is less inclined to complain when I put a few more into it as well :-)
FollowupID: 579247

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 12:08

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 12:08
"I agree that auto may have some advantages in certain situation for lazy people" So if we drive auto's we are lazy people ?? What a load of sh%t. Could you please tell me what the advantages are in certain situations for a LAZY person ?? May I ask what Vehicle you drive ?? If late model Im sure its ran by "not stupid piece of software" like nearly all new petrol and diesel vehicles are. Have seen many auto gear boxes in 4wdrives do big klms with no drama's. Being used as rock climbers, hard core stuff, and towing big heavy loads. The only advantage I see in a manual over an auto is decending extremely steep stuff. I know for sure my prado AUTO doesnt hold as well as my old diesel hilux did but for all other stuff is great. Might be your personal opinion but dont label people who drive autos lazy. I would prefer a nice continous flow through the gears when accelerating, then the traditional forwards and backwards motion you get when changing gears with a huge load on the back. Personal opinion only !! Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 579259

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 12:08

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 12:08
"Having disassembled a few autotransmissions for repair, I would not buy an auto vehicle"

Fair point. I'm sure someone will come along and post " having disassembled a few clutches and /or gearboxes for repair I would not buy a manual." to counter that argument.

I drive an auto and IMO it's a far better vehicle off road than a manual most of the time, and a dream to tow with.

"...I agree that auto may have some advantages in certain situation for lazy people, but staying in control far overweight this...'
Maybe I'm lazy or can't drive, maybe I'm always out of control, although i have driven manual for thirty years and still do occaisionally. Maybe my brain turns off whenI'm in an auto, or maybe the argument that only lazy people or people who can't drive manuals choose autos is completely daft in most cases. I say most because my missus couldn't drive a manual to save her life, she's happy to admit that. Me I drive an auto becasue of the advantages that they offer me.

Maybe we need to get rid of synchro gearboxes, self cancelling indicators, GPS navigators, electric starter motors and all those other things that make driving so much more convenient for us lazy bar stewards.
FollowupID: 579260

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 12:31

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 12:31
I did not mean to start an argument over this I know there are pros and cons to both sides. If one gearbox was better in all conditions and all situations they would not bother making 2 kinds.

I am very used to using manual gearboxes and very un-used to using automatics, I am asking opinions here and voicing my own limited knowledge.

I am sure none of the comments made are a personal assault on anyone or their choices. I could have asked "What is a better vehicle Toyota or Nissan?" if I really wanted to see a fight develop:-)

Via la difference !

FollowupID: 579264

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 12:32

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 12:32
PS My missus also dislikes auto boxes and prefers a manual. :-)

But we are more than willing to listen to any good reasons for or against.
FollowupID: 579267

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 12:58

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 12:58
Stephen,

You *ARE* angry and that shows me best then anything else that somewhere inside your soul you believe that I am right :-)))))))). Funny enough when this ridiculous (auto vs manual) arguments arises (consensus been done ages ago – it is personal choice), most angry and pushy those who drive autos while manual brigade usually says “I am happy with manual and do not mind if you happy with auto”. Interesting to know why. :-)))))

It is*PERSONAL* choice and you more then welcome to have you own preference. I have crossed Victorian Alpine in different direction 6 times in two different manual vehicles and not single time when I wish I had an auto. In contrast I drove auto Commodore from Melbourne to Townsville and back – worst, most frustrating drive in whole my life. Mine piece of sh1t (manual brand new SS) broken down and dealer give me rental, obviously auto one. What is better Nissan or Toyota? Do not know, but definitely know that not Holden :-))))))).

I have absolutely no problem if *YOU* more comfortable with auto, but that does not mean that *I* will be. Probably word “lazy” not exact fit in that sentence but I am sure you get what I was talking about. What I drive? Mechanically injected manual diesel if you interested to know.

Patrolman Pat,

About 80% of population believes that extra saturated photos with enormous field of depth from small digicam are fare superior to black and white ones with blurry background, but it does not means they are better. Clutches? Yep, have changed a few. Frankly clutch need to be changed much earlier that modern auto need an attention, but it cost peanuts if doing by yourself comparing to auto recondition. Modern autos reliable enough and do not consume more juice comparing to manuals. Furthermore - selling auto *MUCH* easier (have tried to sell manual quite a few times, so I do know). It is nothing about economy or reliability, but rather about having full control. Thing is 80% of population do not like to have control over photo processing and thus happily convinced themselves that those super-vivid colored pictures from digicams are better :-)))).

Serg
FollowupID: 579275

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:07

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:07
Hi D200Dug, my reply wasnt aimed at you it was aimed at Serg, claiming people who drive autos are lazy. Yes we all choose what we want to drive either manual or auto. I have driven manual for years and wasnt untill we bought the prado I went auto. My wife drives auto, she can drive manual (if she has too) but hates them & chooses not to so got her auto in her new Toyota as she sits in traffic daily so auto is what she wanted. I bought the auto in the prado so if she wants to she can just jump in it and drive it also if we go some where and I decide to have a few she doesnt mind driving home. She will also drive with the trailer on the back (if Im in the car with her) with the prado where she wouldnt with the hilux (manual). I wish that she liked manual as both cars would be manual. I enjoy manual and myself find it not as boring as auto but I bought to work in with what my wife likes as well. Anyway she had to hand over the $$ to get the prado so I couldnt say too much :):) But I must say I really like the auto in the sand/beach compared to the hilux, but do miss the walking pace the hilux did on low range down steep stuff, I find the pardo in auto does/will get away from you on exstremely steep stuff but just a matter of changing my driving style etc. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 579277

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:15

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:15
:-) no problems I just don't want to be responsible for a slanging match on my post threads.

I am after information and opinions.
FollowupID: 579280

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:18

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:18
Hi Serg, maybe I jumped too quick (usual) and maybe could have read it better and thought that you had chosen the wrong word but that just pi##ed me off when you decribed auto drivers as lazy. Yes everyone to their own opinion or the world would be a boring place. No offence taken, just read your reply. Give me manual diesel anyday for extremely steep stuff auto for the rest of it. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 579281

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:30

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:30
Stephen,

You see I was right – you get auto Prado because your missus agreed to get new car, but auto only. Thus you compromise your feeling (because you love manual) and still unsuccessfully trying to convince yourself that auto *may* be better in *some* situation :-))))))))

Sorry, mate, could not resist.

Serg

PS I really should say “lazy driving” rather then “lazy people” – sorry if I offend you, it was not intentional.
FollowupID: 579288

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 14:06

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 14:06
No offence taken (now LOL). Was just wrong wording and me ready to jump down some ones throat here at work and read your post at the same time LOL. All good. But I truely like auto's !!All the best Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 579300

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:26

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:26
Auto and manual gear boxes both have advantages and disadvantages.
Have driven and owned both over the last 50 years 4WD and for towing.
Auto is great for maneuvering a trailer in tight awkward places, no clutch slipping to keep a slow speed. Disadvantages some auto's don't hold well on descents, though I now tow a 9mt 5th wheeler behind an F250 6Lt power Stroke diesel Auto with Power/Haul mode. I don't use that mode much for general use but it is great for down hill. holds as good as a manual and will even down change.
On the other hand I use an old Mid wheel base Toyota (Jap Import) Auto. great to drive especially crawling over rough ground but biggest problem is lack of feel for off road use, can't tell if wheels are losing traction or it is the Torque converter. not so good for long steep descents either.
Horses for Courses I suppose
I use both, quite like both
AnswerID: 313255

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:37

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:37
I am picking up a new 4WD next week
Guess what 5 speed Manual!!
I hope it will help the recovery of full left Knee replacement. the right Knee works OK now for what you use the right foot for.
FollowupID: 579291

Reply By: Paul_L - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 21:02

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 21:02
It comes down to personal preference, sure. But there are a lot of people who were manual fans, then for whatever reason one day get a manual. They, almost without exception, say "wish I'd done that earlier." That may be why they are a bit more evangelical about it - trying to help other people avoiding the mistake they made for many years of not at least trying it.

My other half likes manuals, when we bought the LC we looked at manuals. But after driving the auto, it'd be a pain to go back. On the road it is easier (sure, that means lazy, but a lower powered diesel, and towing, can mean an awful lot of gear changing).

If the vehicle and engine choice you want only comes in manual (I'm including here at your price point), there's your choice made. If you can have either, I'd strongly recommend spending a bit of time trying both. You may be surprised.

For us, I wanted a factory TD cruiser. Rare as hen's teeth and expensive, so I got a petrol one. For the difference in price, I'll probably end up better off. And I have it today, rather than saving up for another 6-12 months. How can you put a value on that?
AnswerID: 313347

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 00:41

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 00:41
After about seven manual sedans and then three manual 4X4's I now drive an auto TD patrol and love it. I'm not sure it would be my choice if I was towing a heavy caravan, but we tow a Jayco Outback camper --- just over a ton loaded -- plus the load in the car and the auto is a joy to drive.

Off-road it is unreal. Learning to use the brakes AND accelerator at the same time when going down steep slopes off road doesn't take long. Mind you I haven't encountered an extremely long downhill slope that has threatened to overheat the brakes.

A five speed auto would be so much better than a 4 speed. In the 4 speed auto the gearbox is sometimes "searching" for the right gear, which means the torque converter is working hard which can very quickly overheat the gearbox. Also, slugging the motor at 2000 RPM or less can increase EGT's which is detrimental to the engine.

In a 5 speed auto, you click it back to 4th and tow all day "happy as larry"

I was very sceptical obout getting the auto patrol, and it took two freinds who have the same vehicle to let me drive theirs a few times before I became a convert.

Now, to go back to a manual would be like punishment, but it wouldn't be the end of the world.
AnswerID: 313371

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 10:01

Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 10:01
For long haul driving I use all the assistance I can get - cruise control, air conditioning, good seats, music, navigation, tyre sensors, and auto transmission.

For desert work, the auto means there is torque to all wheels all the time. Manual down changes half way up a dune can result in loss of forward progress. The auto overcomes this.

Towing seems easier with the auto too.
AnswerID: 314225