GU Patrol 2.8 TDI .... Pros & Cons?
Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 23:27
Shaker
There is heaps written about 3.0 Patrols being "grenades", & the desirabilty & big price tag for 4.2 diesels.
So, I am interested to know what the 2.8 is like, any comments would be appreciated.
Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 06:54
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 06:54
HI Shaker, the only real negative thing Ive heard/read about is the gearbox isnt as strong as the 4.2 D and a bit of turbo lag but that can be fixed up. Other than that all the other running gear the same (so Ive read). Im sure when Stefan gets home this arvo he will fill you in as he has one..... Red book figures .....4.2D Power 85kW @4000rpm Torque 264Nm .......2.8TDPower 85kW @ 4400rpm
Torque 235Nm
There was some talk/issues of head gaskets but as Stefan found out with a lot of searching (1 to 2 years on) with his it turned out to be a header
tank after he also was told his head had gone so maybe not such an issue. Regards steve M
Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 06:56
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 06:56
Stefen has one (nsw member) so Im sure he'll be on here sooner or later to give his run down on them.
I cannt see how a 2.8lt would go
well in a big patrol.
Reply By: Malleerv - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 07:27
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 07:27
We have had a 99 Patrol with a 2.8TD for the last 3 years and have had no probs with it. Has now done 190thou/km with just general maintenance. Also my folks had a 98 from new and the only extra thing needed was a set of glow plugs as it was smoky and rough at startup. Was told there is a mod to the fuel pump to help this also but our 99 model has no problems.
They are sluggish on take off until the revs come up and the turbo kicks in. This is more noticeable when towing but you tend to allow for it after a while. We have towed a camper trailer quite bit and a car trailer also. Once your on the road and up to speed it is fine and has plenty of go even enough to pass. I can't fault ours and am happy with the amount of fuel it uses ( would always like it to use less of course) . I cant give you a mileage as I have not taken one for a while.
Cheers Matt
Reply By: Grungle - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 07:39
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 07:39
Hi Shaker,
The gearbox is strong for the motor and has no issues. It is only if you decide to do a conversion up to a 4.2T or Chev V8 that you will "probably" encounter problems if you want bucket loads of torque. Even then the main problem is that the stub pattern to bolt them up is different and there are no adaptor kits.
The early 4.2 gearboxes had the only issues in the Patrol lineup.
Unfortunately it is an urban myth and because the 2.8 gearbox is the same one used in the 300ZX people associate it with being light duty.
I tested
mine out pretty
well with a Motsons box, Marks crawler gears, 4.88 diffs, 35" tyres towing a 1.5 ton camper and she stood the task
well. I also navied for a guy who had one as his comp truck for the ASCC (now Tuff Tracks) and
Gold Coast 2000 and we had no problems.
The only bad points that I have experienced and heard about is lack of power on take off and the odd cracked head.
I did do a big end bearing on the motor back in 2004 as it was driven hard. I then did a conversion to a TD42T and have never looked back.
Reply By: Member - Glenn G (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 08:50
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 08:50
Shaker
I have a 98 GU 2.8 TD and it is sluggish at take off but gets going at about 2200rpm.I drop it into low range to pull the boat out at the ramp to save the cluth.Once you are moving it is fine.I also replaced the Dual Mass flywheel and clutch with a solid flywheel and Excedy cluth.for a big, car not too bad on fuel.
Giffo
Reply By: Member - Fred - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 10:06
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 10:06
I think Stephen is quoting power/torque figures for GQ Patrol - not intercooled
My recollection is that GU 2.8 is 96 kW and 252 Nm
Mine has done 220 000 km with no dramas - not towing more than the rubbish to the dump
Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 16:12
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 16:12
Well they said it would happen.....here I am :):)
Underated car,
bloody cheap to buy
Bit slow off the mark...free flow exhaust helps alot my turbo comes on around 500-700 rpm sooner than before
once rolling you will out accelerate 4.2's
You MUST be in the right gear for the situation or you will pay the price. Drop below 2000rpm and its all over red rover
Keep the coolant
services up and you should have no dramas
one of the quietest and smoothest diesels going around
I am very happy with
mine now 175k old and very happy with the $20000 extra in my top pocket from buying the 2.8 and not the 4.2
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: 93 Navara - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:33
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:33
Stefan,
A mate is kicking around the idea of doing the exhaust on his. Did you alter boost or the like or just do the exhaust? He doesn't want to go overboard and is overall very happy with his.
Ben
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:33
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:33
G'day Ben
Just the exhaust at the moment, I have been told by people in the know that they respond very
well to a SMALL increase in boost...like around 2 psi increase. The exhaust didn't make it much quicker overall BUT the improvment in drivability was most welcome.....pulls from 1000 rpm in third from corners ect without any dramas....and no turbo lag....plus sounds fantastic :):)
Now if you want to go nuts.....bigger turbo, larger intercooler, chip it ect ect
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:47
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:47
Well all we can say is we know 5 that have all **** themselves. Not one of them was used for touringTheir opinions were the cruiser is too expensive. We shrugged our shoulders with oh
well. we bought one of them and are currently putting a Gen3 motor to play with. As a cruiser owner we would have had great pleasure in saying I Told You So but wasnt game.Image Could Not Be Found
Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:05
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:05
You have confused the 4 cylinder 3lt with the 6 cylinder 2.8.
Yes we all know about the 3lt, but the 2.8s had no where near the problems.
Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:24
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:24
Pete
Sorry but one was a 6 the others were 4. Forgot about one that got dust in the motor over WA. That makes 6.
A couple of ph calls would reveal more details, but not worth reminding them of the amount of $$ they have lost. I will only get abused. Any how thats that.
Go the Blues.