The OKA works a treat.

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 10:58
ThreadID: 59428 Views:4530 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
Well guys I took possession of the OKA on Monday, It went on it's first tour yesterday and what a truck, It's by no means a race car but sat on 90 on the highway, 80 over the corrugations (rode them well) and worked perfect on the 4WD track.

If this keeps up I will get another one next year.

I have seen heaps of EO stickers and wheel covers in at the falls, Anja even saw a woman walk the Jim Jim creek Xing to take a photo of hubby xing the creek, as the car exited the creek she noticed a EO sticker on the HF radio aerial, they then sat down to a VB or two in the picnic area, last year and this year parks set a trap near the Xing and both years the trap had been released and the bait removed, this was not done by humans, and the trap is 4 metres long you guys can draw your own conclusion.

I actually helped some EO site visitors last week, the lady had twisted her ankle so we strapped it and helped her out to the car, sorry I can't remember your name.

Just remember that if you are in Jabiru you are welcome to stop in for a beer (tea or coffee).

Cheers Steve.

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 11:17

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 11:17
G'day Steve,

Sounds like you're pleased with the truck that is the main thing. If I read this message correctly it would be a little foolish to walk the Jim Jim Ck crossing?

I hope I havn't drawn the wrong conclusion.

AnswerID: 313402

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:45

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:45
Hey Beatit.

You certainly haven't.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 579463

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:13

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:13
I have always liked the idea of the OKA as a Tourer.
I just wondered how well they went with a 4 cylinder pushing such a huge truck. I'll be curious to see how it goes for you Steve.
Happy Travels in it.
AnswerID: 313411

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:46

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:46
Hey Waynepd.

I just wondered how well they went with a 4 cylinder pushing such a huge truck.

Verrrrry slowly LOL.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 579466

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:36

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:36
Good to hear Steve!

Guess the OKA bit is really an Occa truck in the meaning of the word...

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 313415

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:50

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:50
Hey Crazy Dog.

Yeah it's a beauty, It makes people sit up and look.

The Jim Jim 4WD track has 1 lane in and the same lane out people move out of the way of this truck.

Say G/Day to the family.

Cheers Steve.

FollowupID: 579467

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 14:33

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 14:33
I wonder why!!!

How's the youngun and the bowser oohh!!!! and the First lady of course.

Good ta hear things are going well..

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 579487

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:40

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:40
Steve, I'm really pleased for you that the truck is working out well. I hope it continues to do so for years to come. I'm surprised about that 90K/h though, as I followed one years ago and couldn't catch him ! :)
AnswerID: 313419

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:52

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:52
With invite lite this who can really resist! Ah Footie, he may well have been doing 90KPH!

FollowupID: 579468

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:53

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:53
Hey Footy.

A 4 cyl Perkins pushing a 6 tonne brick, I was surprised when it got to 90 LOL.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 579469

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:04

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:04
I was chasing this one to get a better squiz at it. Up the hills it did 90 but more like 110 downhill. It was on tour, and I knew the company owner, and he told me that driver only had one speed ...flat out.
He used to run tours from Byron Bay to the West Coast and back but doesn't any more.
There was a company down here using them to take Japenese tourists along a beach and then up the mountain for a day trip with all the trimmings...$150 a pop ! But their Okas were always in the workshop. They flew some parts from WA as it was too costly to have em off the road for long. I forget the details but imagine the freight costs ...overnight gearbox or whatever from WA to the GC.
FollowupID: 579472

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:16

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:16
Footie I think they could be had with a 350 chev as well. Remember reading about them about 20 years ago.
FollowupID: 579476

Reply By: garrycol - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:09

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:09
There is a dual cab Okka near where I live and it cruises at just under 120kph on the expressway. I have clocked it doingthat speed over quite a few Ks - and it wasn't going downhill either.

Garry
AnswerID: 313426

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:29

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:29
See my post above.
FollowupID: 579519

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:13

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:13
Steve, hope you have a bonza run with it. Not a Bonza run cos it would cut itself. I was talking to a tour operator a couple of years ago with one who said he had to keep on top of the servicing with his as it wasn't like Toyotas and the like, you had to expect leaks in seals and that sort of thing.

I must say though, I am a bit attracted to them myself. Great cross country tourer.
AnswerID: 313429

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:17

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:17
Hey I resemble that comment

FollowupID: 579509

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:33

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:33
How's the fuel economy compared to the 100 Series??

AnswerID: 313432

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:18

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:18
Steve get ianother and you never know mate, who will turn up to drive it for you! Glad it is going well, I still cant wipe the Jabiru smile off my face.

AnswerID: 313461