Tassie Ferry Fares

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 11:11
ThreadID: 59429 Views:3907 Replies:17 FollowUps:5
Just noticed that the cost to take ones van over on the ferry has been revised. Hmmm, I thought, maybe we can do that sometime. Quick calculations of fares for 2A & 2C + car and van... $1596. (peak period... bit cheaper if you go in wwwiiiinttttter) ouch! And it's not the car and van that's the expensive bit... Sorry Tassie, we won't be coming :(

Nige.

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 11:45

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 11:45
dont blame you,does a lot for Tassie tourism doesn't it.
AnswerID: 313406

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:55

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:55

For the price they quoted, does that include a Cabin, or is that only
for Seats, plus your Vehicle & Van.

Daza
FollowupID: 579538

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:30

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:30
just seats... it's a couple of bucks cheaper if you don't want a reserved seat
FollowupID: 579550

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:13

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:13
maybe they are just copying WA - they want tourism and tourism dollars - just not the tourists........rgds
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 313427

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:56

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:56
is that return or just 1 way

AnswerID: 313440

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:59

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:59
return fares... that's the kicker actually, they advertise everything as single fares these days which makes it sound good, until you realise you have to get back again!
FollowupID: 579485

Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 15:58

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 15:58
The Minister for Doom & Gloom,
Bob Brown probably has something to do with that.

AnswerID: 313451

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 16:17

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 16:17
i thought he was your mate,Hairs!
FollowupID: 579496

Reply By: Member - John G- Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 16:12

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 16:12
G'day HG

The most expensive road toll in Oz!

I think if you do the sums e.g compare 4 weeks travelling with car and van (incl the ferry fare) against 4 weeks of fly / drive + accommodation, you'd find that taking the car+van is the cheaper option by far.

I appreciate that it still comes back to the budget bottom line, but Tassie is a great destination and I think you need to look past the ferry fare, as steep as it is.

AnswerID: 313452

Reply By: austastar - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 16:21

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 16:21
Ah, but in winter you get the whole beach to yourself !
AnswerID: 313454

Reply By: RalfR - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:02

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:02
For what it's worth, having lived in Tassie for a few years a long time ago, the winter is beautiful, you just have to dress for it -

Not a lot of rain!

Snow in the higher regions (Mt Field is fantastic)

No tourists (well not many)

The scenery is wonderful, as opposed to summer when Tassie dries off a lot.

I took a number of friends on a circuit during my few years there, and for me, winter was the best time. You wouldn't really want to be in a tent though.

I'd love to go back, but the ferry prices are a killer. What "s@*&s me even more is that fares are increased during the only time I (and many other other families) am able to travel there. I know it's all market forces, supply and demand etc, but I still retain the right to p&%*#d off with the whole practice.

They're al the same too - Kangaroo Island (the most expensive car ferry in the worlrd apparently, on a per KM basis) and the Lucky Bay ferry bump up thier prices for the school hols.

Ah that feels better now.

Back on tack now, don't be put off by travelling in winter, its quite special that time of year.

AnswerID: 313459

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:26

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:26
We did the same trip before Easter and it cost us just under $1500 towing a little Teardrop Camper. Travelling from Brisbane down and back is not cheap either. I had a look and you can fly for $149 return if you plan ahead and get a small rental car over there. We will be going back but not by boat.
The Ferry was packed , it seems like nobody cares paying that much. Might be the same with petrol prices.........nobody seems to care.
Reiner
AnswerID: 313464

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:43

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 17:43
Yep, its a rip off.What more can I say.
And to make it worse, we dont have a choice to go holiday anywhere else bar here unless we pay big time, at least you guys have the whole of our great country to choose from.
AnswerID: 313467

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:09

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:09
$800 each way for 4 people, a 4 wheel drive & a van at the xmas holiday period sounds half reasonable to me with the price of fuel these days particually for a one off trip. Would certainly become a major expense however for Tasweigens coming over to the mainland on regular trips & know one such couple who store their van in Melbourne to avoid the transport costs.
Cheers Craig.............
AnswerID: 313472

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:13

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:13
Yeh, Craig, I reckon the snorkel would have to lengthened a bit to handle the crossing, not just the diesel cost. LOL
FollowupID: 579560

Reply By: madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:26

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:26
We went down in Feb(2 a) and cost about $1000.00 return. That was with a 4wd packed to the roof. We camped so our only expense down their was food and petrol. Considered taking boat but was an extra $600.00 so forgot that idea.
It was still a very cheap holiday costing about $2000.00 for a fortnight. If we had flown down we would have had to stay in motels or cabins plus hired a car, would have cost over $2000.00 and you are limited to what fishing gear you can take. (20kg I think
I really enjoy the ferry trip ea time as well. Hard to believe how quick that thing is if they are behind schedule.
If you go you will not regret it.
AnswerID: 313475

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:56

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:56
I think the cost of getting there & back is also relevant to how long you intend to be there. We did a fly/drive about 7 years ago.
for only about one week & found it expensive. We stayed in medium priced motels (great western) but found food cost us much more than we had budgeted for.
We intend going back, but next time maybe for a month or so. We have not yet "done the sums" but have sought of hoped that if we took our van it would reduce cost of overnight accommodation & being able to use the vans facilities to cook our own meals would well & truly offset cost of getting the van over & back. Plus as already pointed out, we would think of the ferry trip as part of out adventure.
Any comments on the option of hiring a van over there? Cheers.
AnswerID: 313482

Reply By: time waster - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:46

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:46
Yep we had planned 4 weeks from boxing day day but after $1850 with van and kids decided too much thats 4 weeks of diesel for traveling.

Shame but.

AnswerID: 313491

Reply By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:38

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:38
trouble with kids is they don't get 4 weeks off in the middle of the year and they don't think holidaying in winter is great either.

Once you calcuate the total holiday cost, it's probably not as bad as it initially seems... can drive a fair way for that amount in petrol though!
AnswerID: 313502

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:43

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:43
Cancelled our trip at Easter for exactly the same reason.

Went to Mallacoota instead. Stayed for 10 days at about $240 for the site. Fished my ar$e off. Awesome fishing.

Bit of 4wding, had a look at the excellent WWII Bunker Museum and spent many an evening in the pub. Did a day trip up to Merimbula too.

Came back with a couple of grand in change on what the Tassie trip would have cost.

Easy decision. No regrets.

AnswerID: 313511

Reply By: pjd - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 15:04

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 15:04
stay on the main land & travel its much cheaper
melb to devenport 910 klm's
& $1596 = 887ltrs @ 1.80 per ltr
thats 97 ltrs per 100 k's
you could do better than that in a bugatti veyron
AnswerID: 313623

Reply By: austastar - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 13:42

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 13:42
Why not team up with another couple and share the car and van while in Tassie. couple 1 take the van and car do the holiday, fly back.
Couple 2 fly down and holiday and then drive back.
That way the cheaper airfairs help a bit.
You need friendly couples though.
AnswerID: 314671