Removing an Aftermarket Turbo on an 80 Series Cruiser

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 14:41
ThreadID: 59434 Views:3252 Replies:9 FollowUps:3
Just after some thoughts or pros and cons on the above.

We've just bought a 97 80 series with a Safari turbo. The head gasket needed to be replaced and now found out that the head is cracked.

It's at the mechanics as I type, and we're considering removing the turbo, fitting extractors and a 2.5" exhaust.

Any info appreciated.

Thanks.

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 15:07

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 15:07
It will make a very large difference in performance. I would leave it on but ensure you check the condition of the Turbo. Then ensure you get it reset-up by someone that knows what they are doing, and that the turbo is setup for reliability.
AnswerID: 313447

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 15:19

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 15:19
Thanks, how would I find someone who knows what they're doing? Do you mean in a big-name workshop? (genuine question, I've got no idea where to start!)
FollowupID: 579489

Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 15:51

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 15:51
To start with I would let people know where abouts ya are.
That way people who live near or have had dealings with people near you might be able to refer you to somebody.

Gotta start somewhere.
AnswerID: 313449

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 16:26

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 16:26
Cheers Jon! xD

I'm in Darwin, not sure if there are many NT members on here.

But yeah, anyone know of anyone that can help me up here? :D

Thanks.
FollowupID: 579497

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:43

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:43
JUZO; you should feel lucky that you struck him on a good day,Hairs that is ( he mustn't be drinking 2nite) to get that much sense out of him. there a funny crew them Lawrence mob. :-p
FollowupID: 579531

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:31

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:31
J&M
Get the head fixed, leave the turbo on, but have the mechanic install in the exhaust manifold a EGT gauge, and drive the cruiser to the maximum temperature of 600 pre turbo. If you have a std exhaust system, have a 3 inch straight through system made to suit (beaudesert exhaust sell them) alternately, there is a dump pipe fopr sale on www.lcool.org that you may be interested in....both will reduce heat to the new head, and it is pretty common for the head of a 1hz to crack if overstressed with heat....it will be interesting to hear what caused you to put it in to the mechanics, did it miss or loose comp or start leaking water???
AnswerID: 313478

Reply By: madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:51

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:51
Just bare in mind that a normally aspirated ihz will do arround a million ks if properly serviced. Mate has a standard 80 with the mods you are thinking of and I was surprised how well it went.
AnswerID: 313481

Reply By: tonysmc - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:05

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:05
I would contact "All Head Services" in melbourne and get them to send a brand new head up to Darwin. I did this a number of years ago and the price was heaps cheaper than getting it repaired in Darwin and being a brand new head you know you will not have any troubles as you may with a repaired one. I have no connections with this company, just found them excellent to deal with.
Tony.
AnswerID: 313497

Reply By: GerryP - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:32

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:32
All good advice above. I would leave the turbo on and fit an EGT. However, one other thing I would definitely have done is the injectors. If they are not atomising properly, that may well have been part of the reason for your cracked head problem in the first place.
Gerry
AnswerID: 313500

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 01:15

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 01:15
As everyone else has said, leave the turbo on and replace/renew the head. I have had two 80's. Current one is turbo and intercooled. Previous was NA, extractors, 2 1/2" exhaust and diesel gas. The turbo is a lot better than the old beast. Once you have had your head done, make sure the valves are shimmed correctly. Fit a egt and get the car dyno tuned. At full noise with a EGT fitted between head and turbo your temps should be under 600degc as stated above. Ian from thremogaurd who advertises on here sells an excellent EGT Thermoguard No affiliation just an extremely satisfied customer. Hope this helps.
Matt

AnswerID: 313559

Reply By: kiwicol - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 19:44

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 19:44
While the heads of put the turbo in for a recon as well do the job properly first time, will save money in the long run. You will not be able to fit extractors but a 2.5 inch exhaust will add benefits . I would also be puttig the radiator in to be cleaned and if need be replaced, this can be a cause why the head cracked, overheating is a big issue. Also check the fan clutch as this will add to lack of cooling, my past experiences by replacing silicone in the clutch is a short term solution. Col
AnswerID: 313685

Reply By: Member - Raazorj (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:10

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:10
Hi I was in darwin working few years ago subcontracting to a bunch of greek dudes good blokes (a cuz). one had cruiser ute 4.2 got his tricked up in Winnellie went really good.
AnswerID: 313695