Nissan Navara D40 ST-X Auto

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:21
ThreadID: 59442 Views:5943 Replies:8 FollowUps:14
Week 3 since delivery , 1000km on clock, averaging 12.5l/100 around city in run in mode.

Ain't broke yet and am still happy.

Just information for the neysayers and Toyota fans.

Russell

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:23

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:23
I hope you have no problems and don't have not make a warranty claim with Nissan!!

Leroy
AnswerID: 313508

Reply By: Stu-k - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:47

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:47
Yep thats suckin the juice.
Also service costs are way more than hilux.
AnswerID: 313512

Follow Up By: Russell [SA] - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 22:02

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 22:02
Hey its better than the v6 3.5l 1999 Paj just got rid of.

Any how fuel and service all covered by novated lease so who cares!!

Russell
FollowupID: 579570

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 22:03

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 22:03
Dont the hilux's D4D's get around the 9/10 per 100 ??? LOL. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 313516

Reply By: donk - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 22:18

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 22:18
Russell

I assume you had a good look at the competition before buying the Navara
In what areas do you think the Navara is better than the Hilux,Triton etc

Regards Don
AnswerID: 313524

Follow Up By: Russell [SA] - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 18:34

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 18:34
Needed to tow 2.59tonne, does Hilux have that legal capacity?

Russell
FollowupID: 579715

Reply By: disco driver - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 23:26

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 23:26
Russell,
Take no notice of all those who 'rant and rave' about how good the over rated over priced, magically fuel efficient Toyota thingy is.

Not everyone is fooled by Mr Toyota's incessant advertising, thank god.

Disco.
AnswerID: 313544

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 07:47

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 07:47
Yes its up to the Individual who buys the Vehicle they want, who
cares what others think or say,they dont pay for them,as for the
different Manufacturers Warranty Claims, if you stick to the Log Book
Servicing Schedule, and find you have difficulty with a claim you can
allways use the Second Umpire to officiate, some people flog there
vehicles to death, dont get them serviced properly and soon as a
problem occurs they cry fowl.

Daza
FollowupID: 579616

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 07:47

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 07:47
Yes its up to the Individual who buys the Vehicle they want, who
cares what others think or say,they dont pay for them,as for the
different Manufacturers Warranty Claims, if you stick to the Log Book
Servicing Schedule, and find you have difficulty with a claim you can
allways use the Second Umpire to officiate, some people flog there
vehicles to death, dont get them serviced properly and soon as a
problem occurs they cry fowl.

Daza
FollowupID: 579617

Follow Up By: Member - John F (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 10:17

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 10:17
Russell

I would agree with you to take no notice of the ranters and ravers, but a few facts for your digestion:
Yes, Toyotas are more expensive to purchase than most others, but have you noticed the resale value??
Yes, they have faults - my current model Hilux has pretty ordinary brakes for a car, haven't driven other utes, so can't compare. The rear springs are pretty ordinary as well.
It handles pretty well. It is quiet and comfortable.
One warranty item - noisey water pump dust seal - replaced no problem.
Oh, and the mythical fuel consumption... suggest you get your facts right before sprouting nonsense... it gets exactly what the windscreen sticker on the new car said it would, 7.8l/100 driven carefully. Even Her Indoors gets 8.1l/100 on her commute to work in the burbs. I can get 7.0l/100 if I put a lawn bowler's hat on the back seat, or 8.9l/100 at 120 on the F######F3 - take your pick.

Cheers, John.
FollowupID: 579640

Follow Up By: Member - John F (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 10:32

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 10:32
Sorry Russell, meant to address that to "Disco"

FollowupID: 579645

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 12:00

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 12:00
I don`t remember seeing a Hilux 4b add even on tv, gues i must have missed there incessant advertising.

As for price look all resale and the fuel consumption is not a little
FollowupID: 579656

Reply By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 10:38

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 10:38
12.5!!! From a high tech CRD variable vane turbo, etc, etc

I'm glad I didn't get that new Navara and kept my old trusty 95 series Prado TD after all. It constantly gets low 11s around town and freeway after 150000 km of faithful service.
AnswerID: 313590

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 11:28

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 11:28
*It constantly gets low 11s around town and freeway after 150000 km of faithful service*

Hiya Wizard

I'd say i get that in my 2004 Hilux T/D around town !

FollowupID: 579652

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 13:53

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 13:53
Warfer,

Yes, but I assume you have the more economical D4D CRD.Mine is a KZJ95 with the old technology 1KZ-TE donk. One would naturally assume you should get much better economy, but it doesn't seem that way. In theory mine should be worse, but no.

FollowupID: 579674

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 15:26

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 15:26
Wizard..04 hilux is not a d4d. But yes new lux does better than yours
FollowupID: 579686

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 18:34

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 18:34
Hiya Fellas

Yep your right Stu i have the 1KZ-TE donk too.From what i hav read elswhere mine is thirsty at 11/100 around town..Usually keep it about 2500rpm where i can between changes

FollowupID: 579718

Reply By: dave73 - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 15:45

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 15:45
I bought the D40 6 speed manual about 4 weeks ago and am getting 10 ltr /100 . So far i can't fault it.
AnswerID: 313629

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 16:35

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 16:35
You must drive very gently a mate of mine has one and drives it like an old lady, can`t get better than around 12. Its an auto but and he luvs the thing apart from fuel, service costs and replacing brake pads
FollowupID: 579691

Follow Up By: dave73 - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 19:46

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 19:46
yeah i've slowed down alot. i was given the choice of 1 demerit point for 1 year or lose the license for a few months so i took the 1 point deal. the milage is better than the d22 i had. thats one thing i noticed was the brake pad dust on the rims. spoke to the mechanic and he reckons pretty common and should be fine with better quality pads .
FollowupID: 579747

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 19:56

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 19:56
Just be careful not to get harder pads because the rotors are soft also.
FollowupID: 579753

Reply By: Russell [SA] - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 18:39

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 18:39
This is fun, Nissan's forever eh!

Just remember kids I've only got 1000 on the clock its not even officially run in.

The Missus drives it during the week, some 100kms, to and from her place of work across busy suburbs 5km one way. Bloody thing hardly get warm.

Nissans for ever

Russell
AnswerID: 313669