Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 23:24
pippy62
As I am new to
forum I am probably opening a can of worms with my question. With limited funds (under $30k) what 4wd do I seriously look at, and considering fuel prices vs engine reliability what engine size. We have a small 13' caravan and would like to work towards a loooong holiday and be able to go off road. A friend stated his 80 series was definately the best he'd ever had despite it's age.
If what I should go for is too open a question...what should I stay away from. With thanks
Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 23:34
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 23:34
Stay away from early model 3lt Patrols, Can't go to wrong with an 80 series.
Cheers Dave...
Follow Up By: pippy62 - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 23:38
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 23:38
What years do you consider 'early' model
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 17:04
Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 17:04
early is anything earlier than 2010.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 00:16
Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 00:16
Come off it Truckster! Our Nissan 3 litre is going strong without any problems. The Landcruiser has just blown the head - now which is the "grenade"? It also is the one that did in the gearbox, like cruisers tend to do. No, we are not crazy drivers.
Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:01
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:01
2000/2003,But others have had problems to, Do a search on
http://http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/
Cheers Dave...
Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:03
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:03
Might have to drop the first http://
Reply By: EscapeArtists - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:04
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:04
Gday Pip
$30,000 will buy you a great 4bee.
go diesel ... towage: grab a 4.2ltr at least, that will tow your 13 footer no wucks mate and get you anywhere where people's would fear to walk.
have fun choosing ..its hard as, but fun doing It.
Reply By: disco driver - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:09
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:09
Hi Pippy,
As you are new to this
forum allow me to offer some advice (albeit with tongue firmly planted in cheek).
Yes, you are opening a VERY LARGE can of worms.
There are those on this
forum who consider that there are only 2 4wd's even worth considering, Toyota and Nissan. These people tend to be very one eyed about their vehicles and think that everyone should own one or the other.
There are also others who are not so biased and offer suggestions other than the big 2.
There are those who drive Jackaroo's, Pajero's, Tritons, Mazda's, Fords and various other makes or models.
Some drive wagons, some tray back utes, others dual cabs.
Some even drive LandRover Discovery's and Defenders (but these are usually extremely biased about their choice of transport.)
Any of these vehicles will do everything you need for your trip and more and many will come in under your budget figure as good secondhand units.
Go in with an open mind, check all potential vehicles thoroughly, log book, service records, previous history and appearance, bearing in mind diesels are generally better for towing but cost more to service, petrols are generally cheaper to buy but use more fuel when towing.
Take your time in looking, don't buy the first one you look at, drive as many makes and models as you can and make sure that your 'significant other' is also happy with your eventual choice as he/she may also have to drive it ocassionaly.
Disco.
Follow Up By: EscapeArtists - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:20
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:20
Disco may have a Rav4 supercharged v6.. wont help you stuck in mud 4ft deep though.
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:20
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:20
Great unbiased advice Disco
Cheers.....Borgy
Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:57
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:57
No one mentioned little SUV's, not even the original poster.
and no one would deliberately drive into mud 4ft (1.2m) deep would they or would they???????
Don't think any normal 4wd could handle those conditions either.
Disco.
Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 12:08
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 12:08
Hiya Disco
*Take your time in looking, don't buy the first one you look at, drive as many makes and models as you can and make sure that your 'significant other' is also happy with your eventual choice as he/she may also have to drive it ocassionaly.*
Yep took me about 8 months to find my Hilux and i love it..Havnt said that about any vehicle ive owned before..
Reading through other forums a lot of blokes mention i should hav bought this but i wanted a 4wd in a hurry and could not wait...
Dont fall into this trap..Read/Review and BE PATIENT..
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 14:15
Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 14:15
disco driver :
"and no one would deliberately drive into mud 4ft (1.2m) deep would they or would they???????"
Yes They Would
Reply By: EscapeArtists - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:29
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 00:29
A few weeks ago we watched a new v6 reversing a boat into
Waroona dam.. aA medium sized 4x4 with apparantly 185KW.
what a joke, he didnt make it up the mud and got towed out buy a Nissan Patrol (an oldie) chuck ya small so called 4x4's back to Japan, they are NOT built for Australian conditions.
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 07:13
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 07:13
I would suggest that had more to do with driver skill than the capablity of the car.
Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 09:41
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 09:41
the fact that you equate 4x4 ability with 185 kw means you dont know what your on about. Did you mention MUD? what does this have to do with 185kw? Oh and is Australia the only place you find mud?
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 10:18
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 10:18
A Daihatsu Charade probably could have pulled him out of that situation....nothing whatsoever to do with it being a Patrol and being better for Australian conditions!
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 01:09
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 01:09
I have owned a diesel 80 series, a 3.0TD Patrol but now have a 200 series cruiser so can speak from experience of owning these, yet not "biased" from current ownership :)
I would not not hesitate to get a 2003 or later 3.0TD patrol given your requirements. While the early 3.0TD's had issues, the latter models are very reliable despite the knockers on this
forum (no vehicle has a 100% record and well maintained +2003 3.0TD's are as good as any - and better value for money).
While the 80 series is an excellent vehicle, it has less power, worse economy and is S..L..O..W.. when towing. I towed my
Windsor Rapid (~1,600kg) with both and there is no comparison between the non-turbo 4.2 80 series and the 3.0TD GU, the GU eats the 80 series by a considerable margin.
While the 80 series non-turbo 4.2 is a great vehicle and arguably better offroad (the lowdown torque of the 4.2 is very handy), I wouldn't put myself thru the torture of long distance towing with an underpowered vehicle again.
There are other 4WD's on the market that would also probably be suitable, but cannot speak from experience on those.
Reply By: EscapeArtists - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 01:30
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 01:30
I think the Ole Capatain loves Baldchin Groper cooked in butter and cracked peppercorns. :-)
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 08:15
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 08:15
Good can of worms, worth opening every now and then. :o)
Welcome anyway, to the
forum.
You got to start some where.
"go offroad' in your question is the biggest question. As mentioned above, the lighter SUVs are not mentioned either. There are some good 4wds out there in the lighter range that are OK at medium duty off roading. Suzuki Vitara etc.
Off roading needs clearance, and slow speed gearing for a start, then most probably articulation. Tyres help with the traction.
13' van is not that heavy, and most probably within the range of most vehicles to tow. 2nd hand 4wds like 80 series, patrols , prados, pajeros, jackeroos, and the range of utes would handle most roads and medium duty tracks in OZ.
Bigger engines and larger bodies do generally give worse economy, but the older engines are possibly cheaper to repair/maintain.
If you are new to 4wding, you most probably would be stopping before you go too far. Most 4wds are more capable than novice 4wders, and it is the driver that is the limit, in courage and experience.
So it really comes down as to how far off the bitumen you want to go. As to the towing of a 13' van, most would do it.
Reply By: pippy62 - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 09:31
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 09:31
Thanks to all who have replied so far. By 'off road' I mean we intend to start local, gentle stuff, join a club, get some help and experiance etc. then in about 4 yrs retire early and go.
Her indoors dream is to do the CSR, Cape and inland roads around Bloomfield and anywhere else she can direct me. She has travelled much more than I so far... Abvoiusly these trips would be by tent only.
Reply By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 09:46
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 09:46
If your not fussy about diesel or petrol You could pick up a second hand Prado 3.4 V6 form less than $20000. It will pull a 13' van without a problem.
Follow Up By: pippy62 - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 10:53
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 10:53
mmm...Petrol..small fuel tank..lots to carry in jerry cans on CSR. After looking at specs on redbook a 2003 prado looks interesting..might have to wait awhile 'till I see one at the right price tho
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 15:18
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 15:18
Pippy, its only the 2.7 petrol that has a 90 litre tank. If you go the GXL,snowy,vx,vxgrande they all have 159 litres available both in diesel and petrol form in the 95 series. The 120 series prado have 180 litres both in diesel and petrol form. The 120 series is better on fuel then the 95 series in V6 petrol form. The diesel in the 95 series is the 1kz turbo motor, great motor but in my opinion a little under powered for the 120 series. The D4D is a ripper in the 120 series but might be out of your price range. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 17:32
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 17:32
Sorry also the RV6 has duel tanks also. But also for under 30g's you would pick up the diesel model (95 series). Will tow no problems. I think you will find the petrol very expensive in the amount it will drink towing BUT you will pick up a petrol model for 10g's less so that is alot of petrol or extra's you may want/need to add to a petrol model. I reckon you would be looking at roughly around the 15/17 per 100 towing in petrol (highway) and around the 12/13 for the diesel. Im sure some one will correct me if these figures are wayout. Also meant to point out the 120 series with the 4litre petrol motor is extremly powerful 179kw compared to the 95 series of I think around the 132kw. There are heaps of prados (either model) on www.ebay.com.au for you to have a squiz at or checkout www.carsales.com.au Regards Steve M
Reply By: Member - Ross S (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 10:25
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 10:25
Or you could get a REAL 4wd
Ford Bronco. Even at the buy it now price of $6500 and running lpg the $23500 would buy you a lot of lpg.
Now that's going to really open a can of worms ;)
Ross
Follow Up By: Member - Ross S (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 10:33
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 10:33
Or if you want diesel
F150 4x4
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 14:04
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 14:04
For a totally unbiased opinion, Get a Nissan 4,2 tdi GU !!! Michael
Reply By: pjd - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 14:49
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 14:49
toyota make great cars but NISSAN make better 4wd's
just get a gu 4.2 not a 3.0
& if you do go toyota an 80 series is the way to go
Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 19:08
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 19:08
I saw an article in a 4WD magazine written by a fellow from Fine Choice Autos in Vic stating that he would not go any where near a 3litre turbo Prado as in his opinion, and I quote "They are a hand-grenade waiting to go off".
I have heard nothing else negative about these vehicles.
Can anyone shed any light on these comments by someone in the trade.
Gazal.
| At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:46
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:46
Gazel, not sure if you mis typed and meant to say nissan 3 litre or not but 3 litre prado motor ??? What a load of sh#t obviously by some one who thinks he knows alot and knows sweet ###k all. (not meaning you in any way). Also depending on which motor he's talking about as both motors in either model prado is also available in the hilux's. The only issue I have heard of (and not common) is a few heads going on the 1kz motors but only a few. This could also be put down to how they are treated by the owner, flogging the crapper out of them, lack of service etc. Have not heard any issues on the D4D motors, have heard of a few diff issues and clutch only. I dont doubt that their is some BUT obviously not enough for everybody to know about unlike the patrol 3 litre motors in the earlier models. (a few on the later models one known on here ( !!project toni !!) As usual you cant believe every thing you read. I am not a mechanic nor in the motor trade (was) but I still have a lot of contacts and friends who still work for Toyota and we see each other quite regulary Im always asking, So hows these new D4D's been, usual reply, yeah no issues. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:00
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:00
Hey PJD, think you contradicted yourself a bit !!!
"toyota make great cars but NISSAN make better 4wd's
just get a gu 4.2 ""not a 3.0""
MMMMM so Nissan make a great 4wd just dont get a 3 litre. Toyota make 3 litre no issues, Toyota make 4.2 no issues.
Sorry couldnt help myself LOL, yes Im a Toyota man but I would have a patrol as well. But as you have said, and good advice not the 3 litre (early model mainly) They all have their faults I just think Nissan let down there loyal customers when they know they had issues with the 3 litre motors and unfortunately have hert a lot of people who will from now on bag the crapper out of the 3 litres. Have they fixed the issues ?? Who knows but if I had the $$$ I wouldnt chance buying one or it would be gone before warranty ran out. I agree that except for the Toyota 80 series and the 100 series with the live axle front ends, patrols are a strong off road vehicle. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: pjd - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 12:39
Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 12:39
im talking about front & rear live axels & manual locking hubs
the way a REAL 4WD should be
why do you need to put in 4wd at 30-40k's per hour
you should stop & drop tyre pressures first
the 100 series had a serious problem with there wishbone
front end colapsing & leaving you stranded like a 3ltr nissan
but because not many of them get on rough roads
you didnt here alot about it.the city cars didnt brake
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 14:56
Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 14:56
I have always stopped before putting in 4wd anyway, I think majority do. Low range you definately need to stop. Im not sure I agree with you in regards to "manual locking hubs the way a REAL 4WD should be". I dont see any major issues with say an 80 series GXL or Sahara that are all wheel drive or Disco. They all have live axels, coil sprung on all four corners, Sahara also having front and rear diff locks standard, would you not class any of these as not being a real 4 wheel drive ?? The only thing that I could see is maybe a tad more fuel usage because everything is turning instead of manual hubs where as nothing up front would be turning except the wheels unless you lock the hubs in. I would say definately more wear and tear on the drive line same as any all wheel drive, but dont see any issue with that untill you had covered high klms, but by then the back would be just as worn. Ive had both. Live front end (leaf spring) definatey without question better wheel travel than IFS but then I have found the prado flexs with better wheel travel in the rear then the lux (leaf spring) did, but dont think you could compare even the hilux with coil all round, hence why the 80 series cruisers, patrols,discos are great in the real hard stuff,corrugations etc. Totally agree with you about the 100 series IFS cracking a wishbone, but supposidly rectified now since that first happening ??? Must say I dont always drop my tyre pressures as soon as I hit a dirt road. I take note of the conditions, muddy ??,rutted ??, rocks ?? etc. Regards Steve M
Reply By: kiwicol - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 19:13
Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 19:13
I own a 4.2 nisan diesal not a rocket ship but the 6 gives all the tourge down low, same as a toyota 6 diesal, when you get into the 4 cylinder diesals they have nothing under 2000 revs so a lot of clutch slipping to get going, but they have no problems when momentom is acheived, as for fuel consumption mine is a 92 modl and get the same consumption as a 3 ltr patrol. Try hireing vehicles your looking at and try them where you intend to travel could save heaps of heart acke. Look at the posts of people trying to get more from a 4 while towing. Col
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 11:33
Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 11:33
If you're looking at the 80's just keep an eye on the GVM, with a few
accessories on there (bull bar ,tire carrier, winch etc) it doesn't leave that much room for extra weight in people and gear - so depends how much you plan to carry in the car really. Othewise consider a ute.
We had a '91 80 series, you can convert the hubs to nanual (we did).
Great car, but like I mentioned probably a bit more weighty than I like and not too economic with the standard engine.
Models of that age go for around $10k now - gives you $20k for a Brunswick's Chev - yeah big motor but it does improve the economy.