Auto transmission holed.

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:24
ThreadID: 59474 Views:4717 Replies:17 FollowUps:25
Hi everyone, we have one of our rental ravs stuck on top of a mountain with a 10mm by 5mm hole in the auto transmission sump.
Went over today to recover it and spend all afternoon trying to remove a major tree accross the track.
I think it will be very difficult to try and tow it out, if we can temporarily block the hole we can drive it out with the occassional snatch from the lux.
What recomendations do people have. It will only have to work for one hour, I have though of soap..
Moral of this story do not take a rav into serious 4wd territory.
Thank you Pete

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:33

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:33
I would cut a piece of tin quite a bit larger than the hole, then cut a piece of felt or thick rubber the same size and tekscrew it into place. Replace transmission fluid and away you go. You could also rub some soap over the edges and tek screws.

AnswerID: 313700

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:56

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:56
thanks Willem,
cheers Pete
FollowupID: 579790

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:37

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:37
Selleys Knead-it (an epoxy sealant) - haven't used it for autotrans, but it works well on radiators and fuel tanks. Hardens pretty quick.
AnswerID: 313701

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:58

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:58
Thats the sort of stuff I was Thinking off, good on you Phil
FollowupID: 579792

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 09:41

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 09:41
I can 2nd the 'knead it'. My dads cruiser had a crack in the top radiator tank about 50mm long. I used knead it to seal it and thought we'd get it fixed back in Melbourne..........................................that was about 2 years ago.........still going

Rob

Always have some of this stuff in your tooll kit
FollowupID: 579846

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 13:01

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 13:01
try the aqua need it - it dries underwater
FollowupID: 579870

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:37

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:37
Hi Pete

If you can only use what you have on hand, try shapeing a bit of
wood into a spear point, just break of a green branch, just a bit bigger than those dimensions you quoted, a sappy bit will easily
twist into the hole and grip into the jagged edges, just make sure it
doesn't go in to far.

Daza
AnswerID: 313702

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:02

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:02
We are going back sat, just needed people to show us where it was, and start removing the tree. Phils suggestion was what I had in mind.
Have used your suggestion in a old rivetted tinnie that poped a rivit once and it worked well.
FollowupID: 579794

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 00:02

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 00:02
I'd make a plug out of DRY wood, not green. That way the trannie fluid [oil] will make it swell and fill the hole.

FollowupID: 579810

Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:39

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:39
Butterfly wall mounting bolt through the sump with rubber and silicone under a body washer on the outside.
AnswerID: 313703

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:04

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:04
Thanks Squizzy,
cheers Pete
FollowupID: 579796

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:39

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:39
Knead-it

;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 313704

Reply By: bloosted - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:47

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 20:47
yep Knead it
AnswerID: 313710

Reply By: John R (SA) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:01

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:01
Just the other day I used a putty to plug a hole in a diesel tank. It's not knead it, but similar. Used in emergency services for plugging all sorts of holes; labelling says it will work on hydraulic systems and adheres to dirty services.

I can find out what it's called if you like.

A bit ambiguous I know. To me it's a tub of very efficient putty on the fire truck used for plugging holes in tanks of flamible stuff.
AnswerID: 313713

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:10

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:10
John this sounds the go, I would appreciate it if you can find out for me. Once we get it off the mountain we can put it on a tilttray if need be,.
Thank you Pete
FollowupID: 579798

Reply By: happytravelers - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:01

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:01
G'day Pete
I'll have to agree with the others knead it is the way to go, I've used it to repair all sorts of things. I would avoid trying to plug the hole with anything that is long as the shift solenoids are usually very close to the pan. Did they stop the car before it ran out of fluid?
Jon
AnswerID: 313714

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:15

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:15
I agree. We will find out I guess when we fill it up with auto fluid. If the transmission is cactus it will need two 4bys to recover it. And I do not fancy going down hill in neutral either.
Thank you Pete
FollowupID: 579800

Reply By: landed eagle - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:08

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:08
Once broke the heater hose fitting off the water pump of a 302 V8 in a Canberra van park many moons ago. Had to come up with a quick fix as I was supposed to be on the ferry to Tassie the next evening.

Saturated a polishing cloth with grease and jammed it in the hole with a screwdriver really tight. Didn't leak and had perfect water pressure for the next six months until I fixed it.Heater didn't work though :(
Dont know if it would work with transmission but who knows.
AnswerID: 313719

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:18

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:18
Thanks landed eagle but for our application the knead type of material will do the job,
Thank you Pete
FollowupID: 579801

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:09

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:09
Devcon putty or Plasti-Bond will fix it.
Devcon should fix it permanently if you have a clean surface.

HTH

AnswerID: 313720

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:45

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:45
Devcon s the stuff to use , but I think it takes a fair while to go off , you can get different types , steel alloy plastic etc.

One of my friends cracked an alloy rocker cover in pieces and permanently fixed it with this .

Glenn.
FollowupID: 579786

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:28

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:28
Thanks chaps, would prefer one that goes off fairly quicky. Spent 7 hours just driving ea wat today.
FollowupID: 579804

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:19

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:19
Seems like you are out of your depth with the business ...and u haven't a clue about the problems that are incumbent with such an operation !!! Why are you asking such dopey questions ??? Any Suck Wit in the bush would not have a problem !!..
AnswerID: 313724

Follow Up By: flashcher - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:29

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:29
You are a charmer, aren't you?
FollowupID: 579783

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:25

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:25
Thats right its school holiday time again.
I Have great respect and comradie with a lot of the wise people on this site and greatly appreciate their advice and friendship, its a shame I can not say the same about you.
FollowupID: 579803

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 11:45

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 11:45
Oh thats right schools out isnt it. Obviously !!!! Always a moron about. Shame you dont make use of your time finding a part time job ???
FollowupID: 579857

Follow Up By: madfisher - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 20:45

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 20:45
Good day Stephen, looking on the bright side we got to go 4wding in the bosses new lux. Thank god he just had eye surgery, the scratches are unbelievable. Beautiful scenery on the edge of the wollomai national park. This is when I miss my old lj80, never worried about scratches and it was so narrow it rarely got one.
God knows how they got a Rav as far as they did.
Taking a v8 traytop and the v6 dc lux over in the morning to recover it. Still got to get rid of the blxxdy great tree across the track yet as well.
FollowupID: 579952

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 21:13

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 21:13
HiYa Pete, I imagine will cost the customer a small fortune for all the damage and recovery cost, although I would imagine this is covered by your insurance and them paying an excess. They wouldnt be covered would they for taking off road?? It amazes me how some people treat a car/4wd what ever when they dont own it. Our company cars at work, some of them are a disgrace. If I was the boss I would be taking the keys off them till they appreciated having one. Im talking brand new VE calais, feet prints on the passengers side dash, chewing gum stuck to the steering wheel centre, puts his smoke buts out on the outside rubber just on top of door the part the windows slides up and down on (not suppose to smoke in them). Too lazy to lift anything they are putting in the back seat and drags it off the roof or the boot lid, paint scratched all over (dark blue in colour) mags scuffed all round, food scraps in back (from kids I would say) not to mention dents up the side of it. Hes not a rep or anything (still wouldnt be justified) just gets used for to and from work to home. Absolutely disgusting. Makes me wonder how some people live at home eh. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 579956

Follow Up By: madfisher - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 22:58

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 22:58
The two young people are eco scientists sent up to study flora and fauna.Wanted to take their work rodeo, boss told them to just hire a 4wd when they got to Mudgee.Only spare 4wd we had their was the rav. They had no idea how rough the track was, and we had no idea where they where going.
They where such lovely young people it was hard to stay angry with them for long.
Insurance would be null and void I would think and would not cover wages for two days for three blokes anyway. It will cost in the thousands, but their work has agree to pay for it. The other Rav is also off the road after hitting a huge pothole and damaging the front suspension. I think it will be the last rav the boss will be buying.
On another note Steve how do you think we would go using the trayback as an anchor to get down the mountain, thats the bit that worries me. I guess some handbrake and keep speed right down would be the go.
It breaks my heart sometimes when you see the condition some of the cars come back in. Funny thing is some cars will clock up 60000ks with barely a mark, and others are wrecks by 20000ks.
I have a bit of a problem because I love 4wheeling but HATE getting scratches.lol. I think I must be getting to the old fart age
FollowupID: 579969

Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:46

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 21:46
An interesting post with lots of positive comments and help from a variety of people and then someone called STEVE came along! What a shame.
M.
AnswerID: 313730

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 08:29

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 08:29
MAL & DI; WOT IS HIS PROBLEM.GEES?

MADFISHER only asked a Q's, maybe Steve should take a break from the forum for a while?
FollowupID: 579833

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:50

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 22:50
G'day Pete,
I did 18 mths in an Auto trans work shop.
First I hope it wasn't driven with no oil in the trans......
To have any chance of it driving down the hill with out any probs you must make sure that the damage to the pan has not pushed up into the Valve body. If it has it may restrict fluid going to either the bands or clutch plates.
So, I would take a gasket and remove the pan.
Then Straighten the Pan. (Better still if you can get your hands on a pan and simply replace it there.)
Whilst the pan is off then as others have said above use some filler/putty.
Use petrol to clean the pan and the filler should stay.
if you try this method you may save the gearbox
AnswerID: 313738

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 23:25

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 23:25
Had a look at the hole, no dent just like someone got a canopener to it. The box may well be stuffed as they drove it to a hut , stayed overnight next day no drive in any gears. They had a very long walk out. They went back with us today to show us whewre it was, and to help recover it. Lovely young couple doing eco research but it will cost them a lot of money, more if box is stuffed.
FollowupID: 579806

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 23:40

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 23:40
Bugga dude....... Lets hope the toyatas did the same as the mitsu's. If something broke in the box you would still be able to get it to a repairer. It would lock the box in one gear.
I wish you all the best in getting it back down
FollowupID: 579807

Follow Up By: Member - grant M (VIC) - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 01:58

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 01:58
Hi Pete,
The fire brigade im with use DENSO putty for fuel tanks, hope this may help. good luck . Grant
FollowupID: 579814

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 08:25

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 08:25
GRANT M; yes that DENSO putty is the go , we used that stuff when we attended truck rollovers to plug deisel tank leaks when i was in the brigade.the other thing is that KNEAD IT, i used that to stop radiator leak in my race car,only trouble its there to stay when you put it on!
FollowupID: 579832

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 09:50

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 09:50
Madfisher,
Thortex putty, a very dense compound (putty) with excellent structural strength, surfaces need to be clean unfortunately. If you can take a can of solvent cleaner this would be a great start. I think with any of the puttys the cleaner the surface the better chance you have of success.
Take a beer to kill the time whilst the putty goes off.

Good luck with the recovery. catchya
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 313798

Follow Up By: madfisher - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 19:51

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 19:51
Take a beer to kill the time whilst the putty goes off. lol
Sounds like a great idea, m,aybe the boss will shoutlol.
Unfortunalty I will have some curly downhill bits with hairpins to drive down with no low range, relying on brakes, better to save it till jobs done.
Thanks For the input Martyn,
Cheers Pete.
FollowupID: 579937

Reply By: Member - Rodney B- Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 12:15

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 12:15
Pete

Blew a hole in my diff housing in a Landrover years ago (broke the Crown wheel bolts on a hill) and poked a bolt out the rear of the housing.
Cleaned the area with petrol, Cut up a coke can and used 5 minute Araldite on it. Was still there 2 years later.
You will probably be lucky with the trannie as it sounds like they left it overnight and it drained out rather than was driven dry.

Rod
AnswerID: 313819

Follow Up By: madfisher - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 20:49

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 20:49
Thanks Rod,
Cheers pete
FollowupID: 579953

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 15:19

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 15:19
Knead It.

Used it to fix my tinnie leak.
When I got home about 3 weeks later was unable to remove repair. It is still there going strong with no leaks 5 years later.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 313847

Reply By: madfisher - Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 20:55

Friday, Jul 04, 2008 at 20:55
I would like to thank everyone for their feedback. Engineer mate of mine put us onto a product called Quicksteel. Its a knead type of product.
Going over in the morning better prepared I hope. Will let everyone know how we went.
AnswerID: 313905