4Runner/ Surf 2.4/ 2.8/ 3.0lt Diesels, turbo/ non-turbo

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 00:17
ThreadID: 59572 Views:9069 Replies:9 FollowUps:16
We're looking at spending $8-12k on a 4dr 4Runner diesel for a short (2 mth+) excursion around the NW corner ex Melb. The 2 of us travel pretty light, hiking gear rather than towing anything. Fuel consumption (or lack thereof) is extremely important.

Any info/insight/pearls of wisdom on 4Runner v's Surf(grey import) for starters, then 2.4 v's 2.8 v's 3lt diesels greatly appreciated.

At this stage an un-modified Australian delivered 4Runner 2.8D naturally aspirated with @180k on the clock is making the most sense.

Underpowered and sluggish is something we obviously expect and are happy to deal with, but we've heard about issues with the 2.8 blowing heads. If this justified? The 2.4 seems prone to overheating, the 3lt over our price range. Wary of the grey imports and reports of logical considerations regarding cooling and calibration issues. Are we misguided?

Turbo or naturally aspirated?

Any input?

I'm (evidently) no mechanic, but I appreciate an honest opinion, what's your experience?

Cheers all,

HowieB

Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:43

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:43
Ur mad!! Go the Isuzu MU...2.8 Turbo from factory.

There is plenty of space for two and returns 10L/100km religiously!

There are a few in the East (one in the West too but that too far to purchase!!) in the Autotrader!

These things will walk over a surf for the money!

Yes the Import Surfs did have trouble with heads and overheating but the Aussie 4 runner (2.8 NA) was reliable as a old dog just as slow as one too!

my2c

AnswerID: 314356

Follow Up By: HowieB - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:59

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:59
Matt,

Um, thanks for your appraisal of my mental state and your left field suggestion of a Mu, but no thanks I'm afraid. The simple fact you actually begin a sentence with the words 'there are a few in the east' speaks volumes!

I appreciate your insight into the surfs troubles, and your summary of the 4runner.

It's lucky I like reliable slow old dogs!

Thanks for your 2c.

Howie
FollowupID: 583520

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:06

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:06
No worries Howie, happy to offer advice thats what the forums for hey. Then its the persons choice if they choose to follow or not!...but wow...that was the latest response I have ever had, nearly a month later!!! Have you been away?

I dont think you would have any probs with the 4Runner if you dont mind the speed they are a great truck. Very reliable and easy to fix even if they go wrong.

Oh btw why does the statement "a few in the east" speak volumes?
Just curious?

FollowupID: 583526

Follow Up By: HowieB - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:28

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:28
Hey Matt,

Not away, just working crazy hours on a big job I'm only halfway through, hence me finding myself at home on the couch on a friday night!

Been meaning to get back to all you kind people and thank you for your efforts, just taken me this long to find the time...

The statement "a few in the east' speaks volumes meant that there are far fewer Mu's around compared to 4runner/hiluxs, less to choose from, less options, potentially harder to source parts and good service. That's all, I'm sure they're a great ride. Spent some time in fronteras in the dunes around Robe/Lake St George years ago and they were capable machines.

Howie
FollowupID: 583535

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:37

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:37
Ahh ok, guess I was just being a tad flippant with that remark...meaning you shoulndt have any problems finding a good one in the east. Not that it would be hard. There are a few high mileage ones around now...mine had done 300 000km and my mate bought it and its now getting an even larger hiding!!

The one I have for sale is my brothers and has only 149 000km but all the ones listed recently are under $10k with most for sale around the $7-9k mark.

Yes they are very capable machines and very underestimated...I was in a group from the ClubIsuzu.com in Sydney and we used to fly all over stockton beach, Mt Sugarloaf and the Barrington Tops, couldnt stop them!

Frontera is a good rig pity holden never brought the TD into Aust would have sold heaps!

Anyway Howie..I will leave you to your couch (me too) and all the best with your search and Im sure you will find something you are happy with!

FollowupID: 583538

Reply By: wildbill05 - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:46

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:46
http://www.toyotasurf.asn.au/forum/ - plenty to read here - Bill
AnswerID: 314358

Follow Up By: HowieB - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:00

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:00
Thanks Bill,

Had stumbled upon this earlier, will investigate further...

Howie
FollowupID: 583521

Reply By: stevesub - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:28

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:28
Steer well clear of the 2.4 - they are so under powered and are prone to head gasket failures

Stevesub
AnswerID: 314371

Follow Up By: HowieB - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:01

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:01
Cheers Steve, shall do..
FollowupID: 583524

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 13:17

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 13:17
Go the 2.8 runner very reliable if serviced every 4000ks. Heard of a few now that have done 400000ks. Bit slow but an exhaust upgrade will help power and economy.
AnswerID: 314383

Follow Up By: HowieB - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:06

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:06
Hey Pete,

Thanks for the input.

So hard finding ones with intact service records as obviously so many oil/filter changes were done by owners, and therefore no paperwork.

Seen a few out there that have done 4-500k. Still on it.

Howie
FollowupID: 583525

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:03

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:03
Hi Howie, personally wouldnt touch any of the surfs. 2.4 even turbo'd are a dog and have endless issues overheating with out doing some big mods, in the way of totally new radiator as the ones in the surfs are alot narrower than or 4 runners and a host of other things and as mentioned above have head issues. Generally they are rust buckets due to the salt been used overseas on the roads, doors, sills, tailgate the list goes on. Spare parts nearly always need to be ordered in from Japan and take weeks not something you need while travelling in the event you break down. The old 2.8 hilux/4 runner well what can I say. Guttless,slow, under powered BUT would I have another one ??YEP. I never had any issues with mine. 9/10L per 100 wether freeway,beach,city. Towing camper and flat to the boards 11L per 100 including lucky to reack 100k on the flats LOL. Providing they have had regular oil changes/filters every 4k no more then 5k max as mentioned above will go for a good 400/500 thou. If you can put up with them been sloooooow up hills, My personal opinion is there great. Like the 4.2 patrols. diesel 1hz cruisers most farms will have a part to fit if you get in trouble. No electronics. BUT in saying all the above what about a 2.8 T/D rodeo. Great on fuel, last the distance like the hilux's but have plenty of pulling power up hills and keeping up with the speed limits and are extremely reliable. Just my thoughts. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 314418

Follow Up By: HowieB - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:20

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:20
Steve,

Exactly the input/experience I was looking to hear, thanks. Your fuel efficiency notes are extremely helpful too.

Hear your point on the Rodeo, have driven a few over the years, always impressed. That said even an updated 2nd generation Jackaroo is an option. Problem is I do question their off road capabilities, parts availability in remoter areas, and I'd struggle to bring myself to ever buy a Holden, regardless of it's Isuzu parentage!

You'll find me in the slow lane...

Howie
FollowupID: 583531

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 16:09

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 16:09
Howie I had a 22 r runner which was a great old girl. Good ground clearance, but on really steep climbs not as impressive as my currant 3.5 jackaroo or wifes 3lt Paj. We took the paj and the runner to a Quarry one time as I wanted to teach my wife the stall out procedure. While we where their we done very steep climbs with both vehicles. The bloody Paj bleep all over my runner and she still had road tyres on.Where the runner was scrambling for traction the paj just climbed straight up. Must be due to the better lsd.
I have been back with the Jack and its only downfall was a lack of clearance under the transfer case, and a bit to much power,climbed just as well as the PAJ.
IF you can find a 3.1 diesel Jack their are a great car. STAY AWAY fr5om the later 3lts. Both V6s are great. I have got up to 8.6k/l out of my manual 3.5 on a long run.
Good Luck Pete
FollowupID: 583639

Reply By: trouper - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:50

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:50
Well HowieB I owned a 4 runner 2.4l diesel 1984 model for six years crossed the simpson three times plus numerous other trips averaged 10l/100kl around town and 14l/100km over the desert I did install extracters and a thru flow muffler and that made a huge difference to its power. I mean that it literally gave me another gear.

Never had any overheating/head gasget problems did 350,000 before sadly selling it for a Troopy 2000 model I love it as well

Regards Jeff
AnswerID: 314426

Follow Up By: HowieB - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:41

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:41
Jeff,

Too good. My sister did around Oz twice over an 18th month trip in an 84 2.4l 4runner about 10 yrs ago, trouble-free.

I'll look into the extractors/exhaust for the 2.8.

Howie
FollowupID: 583542

Reply By: Louie the fly - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:05

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:05
I have a 2.8D non turbo 92 4runner DX. Someone said they are as reliable as an old dog. Spot on. Mines done 260000kms with an engine rebuild about 60000 ago by previous owner. At some stage it wasn't looked after as it should have been. We did a trip SA to QLD last year and averaged 11.2l/100KM. It was loaded with everything including 4 people and it didn't miss a beat. Used 1/2 litre of oil after a fairly heavy 8 days on Fraser Island. They are fairly slow in acceleration, but not gutless. You just got to keep the revs in the right range for what you're doing.

I just bought extractors for mine. Be interesting to see the difference. The 2.8 needs to have the oil changed religiously or you can get problems. Surfs have issues - they need therapy! The guy I bought my 4runner off bought a Surf and was having major overheating problems. I paid just under 8K for mine 18 mths ago. Its not limo, but its reliable and cheap to run.
AnswerID: 314429

Follow Up By: HowieB - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:47

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:47
Louie,

Great info, thanks. Totally looks like the 2.8D is the go over the Surf, it's now definitely off the list thanks to all your guys input.

I'd be really interested to hear how the extractors work out. What did you buy, where did you get them from & how much? Fitted them yet? What exhaust/muffler?

Let us know your progress.

Howie
FollowupID: 583547

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 08:45

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 08:45
Howie, I bought the extractors off ebay from a guy in NSW. They cost $140 delivered to my door (outer Adelaide area). I was planning on fitting them tomorrow. I have a 2 1/4" sports muffler that was left over from a previous car build, so I will probably put that on. Its one of those high flow jobs and they give a really good sound. I'll post my findings of the performance gains in a thread.

Louie
FollowupID: 583583

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:42

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:42
I had a 2.8 4 runner with after market turbo. Got rid of it in favour of a 60 series Cruiser. Cruiser much cheaper to run overall due to stronger build and reliability plus that useful extra space. The electric tailgate on the 4runner surf is a real problem, especially off road. They jam up and the motor goes. You can't open them manually. The back window must be lowered before you can open the tailgate. A real PIA to use. Even worse if you have a luggage barrier as you then can't get into the rear without breaking back glass if the motor goes or it jams up... and it will. Gutterless body design also makes roofracks difficult. Changing to the 60 series was one of my better moves.
AnswerID: 314437

Follow Up By: HowieB - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 22:02

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 22:02
I hear your point, I just don't need something the size of the 60 cruiser.

The tailgate a potential issue I agree, still I'd remove the rear seats and convert the cargo barrier to go behind the front seats, so WCS I can still get to the cargo space through the rear doors. Hardly ideal, but no broken glass.

Roofracks difficult yes, roofbars possible. I don't need them anyway. Was it the 60's series cruiser that has issues with the roof gutters rusting out or was that an earlier series?

Thanks for your view.

Howie
FollowupID: 583552

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 12:37

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 12:37
Hi Howie. Generally I quite liked the 2.8D 4runner, but from my experience with an after market turbo I'd go with the suggestions re extractors and bigger bore exhaust instead. They seem to need a higher range 5th gear and really run out of puff around 98kmh and also start chewing up fuel at a faster rate than might be expected.
Had quite a lot of problems with oil seals around rear axles and diff. Also check the headroom inside if you are on the tall side.
60 series much older but has been way cheaper to run overall. Yes, rust can be a problem on the gutters but this seems to depend on wher it has been used and parked. Very easy to check before buying however. If they are good, you sure can store a lot uo there, or use it for some sort of on top sleeping.
Something I'd really look for is a long range fuel tank already fitted. Makes a huge difference to convenience and costs when touring. These are rare and expensive on the 4runner but quite common on used 60's. What this saves balances the extra fuel used on the 60
FollowupID: 583607

Reply By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:50

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:50
Went through all this recently for a mate. She wanted a Surf.
Got that idea squashed and settled on OZ model toyota or maybe even nissan pathfinder.

Anything worth buying was at least $10k and still needed work for piece of mind travelling. Big milages on motors which means clutch / brakes bearings unis etc to be considered. Finally parts and repair costs were evaluated.

End result - she now has a 1998 Jeep Cherokee - power everything and luxury trim with only 130,000 on speedo. Has fitted new exhaust / air intake / welch plugs / main seal / all oils and liquids changed / replaced common electronic fault items and registered for 12mnths.

Total cost to date $ 8000.00....as for the fuel economy...At that price and for that capable a vehicle, its not an issue but 20-25mpg is totally acceptable as far as she is concerned.
AnswerID: 314443

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:11

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:11
Runner up choices wre the 2dr Isuzu diesel or the stronger built LWB Rocky. If your desperate for the false sense of fuel economy a diesel gives ( given todays fuel prices ) these two are well worth a look at as well.
FollowupID: 580483

Follow Up By: HowieB - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 22:24

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 22:24
OzTroopy,

Pathy was an option, but no diesel and I've spent a bit of time OR in the 3.3 petrol and it was ridiculously thirsty.

Could never buy an American car. Sorry but the philosophy is fundamentally flawed from the start. Sure, it's probably cool if gas is $2/gall. I've never needed power everything or luxury anything. Cherokee is pretty cramped inside too for its size. Not my cup of tea I'm afraid!

The Isuzu and the Rocky are both good suggestions, I hear you there. Just not convinced they're a better option than the 4runner/Hilux.

Don't get me wrong, I have no aloof 'false sense' expectations of fuel economy regarding diesels and the price of fuel today. My point is about fuel consumption. How much will I need to get from A to B, how much of that needs to be carried in/out of the vehicle, and what risks are associated with that. The cost is the cost, it's largely irrelevant.

Thanks for your input though, appreciate it.

Howie
FollowupID: 583558