Back early from Birdsville.

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 14:18
ThreadID: 59588 Views:3822 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Had to cut the trip short, thanks to irate neighbours who made a mountain out of a molehill at home while we were away. Anyways, that's another story, I just wanted to say that Birdsville, the Simpson Desert (the bit we saw, which was the Warburton/K1 Line/QAA line bit) is absolutely stunning! Lot's of thanks to Ruth out there in Birdsville for information on what to see and where to go etc etc, unfortunately circumstances prevented us meeting her so we'll just have to go back next year! Meal at the pub was great, the Bakery serves good tucker as well and the folks at BOTH the servo's are great people as well.

Saw heaps of ExplorOz stickers and banners, didn't get to talk to too many, but I did get to meet Robin Miller and Co.... lovely people, a pleasure to have met him after swapping forum messages here and there over the last few years!

As you can tell, we had a ball! And can't wait for round two, 2009!!!!

Member Brian (Gold Coast)

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 15:35

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 15:35
Brian, a great pity. Still, you did get to sample the place, and you'll be back.
AnswerID: 314395

Follow Up By: Brian - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 17:03

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 17:03
Footy,

Yep.... disappointed is a word that springs to mind, but that's the way it goes sometimes isn't it?
We're already planning our 2009 trip! LOL..... We'll be back out there for sure!!

FollowupID: 580423

Reply By: HappyCamper - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:30

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:30
Brian I can sympathise with you as my neighbours did the same to me some years ago. Took me 4 days to drive home from Darwin (solo) only to find there was absolutely NOTHING wrong at home...except a huge case of jealousy!! Then she asked if I was going back...sure!!

;-))

AnswerID: 314402

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 17:44

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 17:44
Brian you appear to have made one mistake. You turned your phone on or called home when on holidays :-))
Let this be a lesson ;-)
Cheers Craig.........
AnswerID: 314412

Follow Up By: Brian - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:05

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:05
Crackles,
Yep.... you're right. We called a friend near home who had our itinerary and was our "contact" for safe-and-sound reasons.

But in our defence, this was our first foray into the desert and we were well prepared and didn't leave anything to chance. So that's how come we phoned home...... to let our "contact" know that we were safe-and-sound! Next year, I will do the same thing again to ensure that someone knows where we are. (It's not just me out there, it's also my wife and one of my sons)

But next year, I will make sure there is NO work going on at home, and leave strict instructions on what I want to be bothered about!

FollowupID: 580430

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:09

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:09
Sounds like the kids had a party and the neighbours had a whinge.
Similar to what happened to me and they just forget how there kids caused kaos all those years ago.
Short memories

all the best
AnswerID: 314448

Follow Up By: Brian - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:20

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:20
Eric,
no.... had some contractors doing some work and the neighbours had issues with it is what happened.

FollowupID: 580465

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:46

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:46
Howdy Brian,

If out at Birdsville and the neighbours had a issue with the contractors I would have called the contractors and REALLY see what the issues are and if nothing of any real concern SEE you when we get back.

If the neighbours called you on holidays it would want to be MAJOR.

Have to agree Birdsville is a nice area and I would like to return.

FollowupID: 580487

Follow Up By: Brian - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:00

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:00
Brian,
Yep mate, you're spot on..... the problem is I am a stresser, and unfortunately I was losing sleep over this. Not ideal I know, but that's the kind of bloke I am. Runs in the family, most of my relatives are stressers as well.

FollowupID: 580495

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 07:42

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 07:42
LOL Brian it would appear that you have not grasp the concept of going on holidays - it has been a well known fact going on holidays is to de stress and put all you left behind - behind you and nay a thought until you return, de stressed and fully relaxed itching to escape again.

Mate you will have to leave again and practice this art and keep doing it till you get it right lol.

Hopefully all is fine at the home.

FollowupID: 580529

Follow Up By: Brian - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:51

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:51
Brian,
LOL... oh I know how to holiday! Just I don't know how to NOT stress.... LOL.. as I said above, it's something my family has turned into an art-form!!!!!

LOL...

FollowupID: 580535

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:23

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:23
Good to catch up with you Brian , sorry your trip was cut short.

Ours went well , but I haven't had time to do a note as I arrived back to find there had been a big storm in Melbourne which had taken out our companies server for which I'm also responsible.

Will post soon.
AnswerID: 314467

Follow Up By: Brian - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 10:35

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 10:35
Hi Robin,
While we were assisting a recovery on the Big Red Rd on the Sunday, we met a fellow in a 100 Series who was a friend of yours!

Small world huh??

And another in the "Small World" stakes, sitting in the Artesian Hot Springs at Mitchell on our journey home, I struck up a conversation with the bloke next to me, turns out he lives 15 minutes drive from us!!!!!
LOL.... never ceases to amaze me!

FollowupID: 580551

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 11:13

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 11:13
Hi Brian

That would have been Rod , he caught up with us soon after while we were playing at jumping Big Red.

Whilst there we heard a few seconds of "Camel Music" of UHF15.

Thats his signature - doesn't even need to talk on the radio any more.
AnswerID: 314515

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 06:47

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 06:47
Welcome to the club Brian ( great name too ! )

You will go back there, again, and again, and will find different ways to do it ,,
We did and love the place...

Cheers Mate

ps....... next time you head off, don't tell the priiiik !, and get a friend to drop in every couple of days, or get a slightly agressive house sitter..
AnswerID: 314641