Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:41
goff
Hi Guys and Gals
I have one of those two burner gas stoves (the cast iron ones) in the camper, was wondering if anyone has any good ideas on ways of making toast.
Thanks goff
Reply By: EscapeArtists - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:50
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:50
Gday Goff, these have been around since Noah built the ark and beat the electric toaster anyday!.. you can pick them up at supermarkets and
camping stores/army surplus etc.
happy toasting!
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 17:07
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 17:07
Second that.
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:26
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:26
Thanks, I have been watching with interest, as we need an answer to the cooking of toast on gas. Breakfast is just not the same without toast & we do not always have access to 240V or the BEST way to
cook toast, being of course a
camp fire & ridgy didge toasting
fork. Cheers.
Follow Up By: DesF - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:00
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:00
Have been using these for years and years, they also work great on coals, very quick and are light to carry, they even sell spare wire meshes for them ,
happy toasting , Cheers Des.
Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:11
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:11
We used this style 30 years ago when we used to go
camping with mum & dad. And we still use one now. In fact, I think I have the one my mum used to use. Its got a hole burnt in the mesh but still works great. I'm waiting for them to come out on sale so I can buy a new one!
Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:13
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:13
Have use three types of "so called" toasters.
The example shown above is the only one that toasts.
O.K! O.K! It won't toast twenty four slices at once, but, it does toast, which is something the otheres did not.
Reply By: Member - michael H (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 17:02
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 17:02
Hi goff, I'm onto my third and find its the best one so far, I got it from Whitworths Cat No 39693 (sorry dont know how to do links)
I have tried the other two in the catalogue they fly better than they toast bread lol.
Cheers Michael H
Reply By: Brian - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 17:08
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 17:08
goff,
We've tried 'em all mate.... but the one we have now is the best we've found. Don't know the name but it's is
camping shops, it's metal, almost round and has 4 metal hoops that fold up and interlock to support 4 pieces of bread on a slight angle while they're toasting over the burner. Now, at first this didn't work, but it occurred to me that a toaster uses Reflective Heat as
well as direct heat, so now we put tin foil over the bread and Voila! Almost PERFECT toast while we're
camping!!
Member Brian (
Gold Coast)
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:04
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:04
You'd think being on an angle the jam would run off, is this a problem?
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:07
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:07
Fair comment, I reckon you have "Gone Troppo"!! LOL
Follow Up By: Brian - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:07
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:07
GoneTroppo Member (FNQ)
LOL.... Only if you use the cheap butter that lubricates the jam!!! LOL.....
Member Brian (
Gold Coast)
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:30
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:30
Let's put some common sense into this!! You need to use one of those multi grain breads. All the seeds & debri & stuff protrude above the surface of the actual bread, thus producing a natural brake, which in turn stops the butter & jam from sliding off!! Eat & enjoy & let the butter & jam run off your chin. LOL
Follow Up By: Holden4th - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:43
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:43
Yep, it's cheap and effective! Should have been on the "New Inventors".
Follow Up By: Member - Robin M (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:46
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:46
Hello from Robin,
A quick repair job in the home workshop.......
I have used the simple gauze covered toasting frame over gas for many years. When the gauze eventually burnt out I replaced it with a piece of aluminium fly wire that I cut from an old flyscreen. I cut the gauze a tad larger than the wire frame and simply folded the edges over to keep it in place. A more thorough fix would have been to use florists wire (or similar) to bind the gauze to the frame.
Happy toasting,
Robin
Reply By: Member - kevin Y (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 16:14
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 16:14
what about those old round clamp together toastie toestie ones that make a sandwich ---were around 60 years ago ---do they still make them
Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 10:26
Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 10:26
Sure do we have a permanet home in the rear draws of the car for ours as we swag tent and caravan, they stay in the car.