Bill n Di
Had some friends for a BBQ last night - we were staying at the Blue Dolphin C'
Park at one end of town and our friends at the Top Tourist
Park at the other end.
Whilst they were parked out the front near the road some mongrel took their Reece hitch! Wasn't until they went to put their van on this morning that they realised.
Now they have to drive to Carnavon without stablisiser bars as they could only buy a standard towbar here.
It's not just the costs to replace it, and the inconvenience but a real safety factor!
We'll be padlocking ours to the vehicle from now on. Has anyone else experienced this theft before and if so any suggestions on how not to have it happen ??
BTW if anyone is offered a brand new hitch - they only got it last week - in
Denham we love to hear about it.
Di
Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:26
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:26
Hiya Bill and Di
Yeah its very common from what ive been told..So i went to a canvas place,They had canvas bags for 10 bucks and now its wrapped up behind the back
seat of my Hilux for when i need it !
Follow Up By: Bill n Di - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:30
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:30
Thanks. I've never heard of it before - when you're caravanning and stopping for a day or so at each place taking it off is a pain.
Di
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:36
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:36
Howdy, We have never had one stolen, but our practise has always been to remove it if on site for a few days or more. We also drilled the hole in the pin a little larger in order to fit a padlock, rather than rely on the supplied safety pin.
But........ Never forget, padlocks only keep honest people out!!
Sorry to hear that someone stooped so low. Cheers
Reply By: Holden4th - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:41
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:41
I bought something similar to this in Anaconda for $25 (but less because I'm a member.
The brand is Lion but it will take a while for a hacksaw to get through it - who's going to bother in a van
park?
Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:54
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:54
Yes buy the lockable pin. I have one, many brands available at a cost of around that $25 mark. Cheers tony
Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:48
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:48
It pays to expect the worst I reckon.
I use a locking pin on the tow hitch and a drawbar lock on the van.
At least it would make them work a bit to knock something off.
Reply By: garryk - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:06
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:06
G'day
We also have a locking pin , different to above photo but doe's same job
And its not just thieveing that is a issue
I have heard of a problem where certain local hoons think its funny to pull someones pin while they are stopped for lunch , sightseeing , shopping or whatever then wait and watch the drama when they drive off
Garry
Reply By: Louie the fly - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:19
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:19
Happens regularly at public boat ramps. Funny thing is that (generally) if you go there you normally got a boat and a trailer, AND A TOWBAR!
Reply By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:51
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:51
I replaced my pin with a high grade stainless steel bolt securely closed and burred.
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:06
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:06
What happens when you want to remove the H/R insert??
I mean- you do remove the hitch and lubricate every now and again??
And you do remove the hitch when off-roading- so it doesn't 'dig in' & you can use the pin to snatch a mate out??
Follow Up By: D200Dug- Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 15:19
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 15:19
I usually leave the hitch attached.
I can get it undone with a good set of spanners but it is not something you would want to do in a hurry. I do this to check the bolt and everything is still ok and secure and then reconnect everything.
As the ute is 2wd I don't off road that often. I don't use the towbar often either, when it is used it is for short trips with a 6 x 4 trailer and I have nowhere to store the hitch other than the towbar.
My tow rope connects to the hitch as it stands so I do not need to use the pin for that.
Reply By: nsngood - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:52
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:52
look in the
shop on this site 24.50 for a standard one and 29.50 for a stainless pin lock ......tooooo easy.I think these prices are right
Follow Up By: nsngood - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:59
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:59
On a follow up.We just spent 3 weeks in
denham ourselves and had nissan and boat parked out front with all the gear in/on them and no trouble at all. We stayed at seaside holiday cottages (i think) near the road out of town and were a bit lax on security side off things. It is getting hard but i still like to think you can trust others.Bill n Di we saw literally 100's of dugong's in a day in one area had a whale surface within 15 mtrs of boat at
steep point (bit scary in a 14 footer)dolphins sea snakes you name it.
Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:21
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:21
Sorry to hear about the loss of the hitch, we have a lock on ours.
We will be at the Blue Dolphin in a few weeks so if we hear anything we will let you know.
Chees
D
Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 00:02
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 00:02
Bill n Di sorry to hear that
(PS - Saw Rob & Paul last week - Clay has been selected for the Olympics)
Follow Up By: Bill n Di - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 15:11
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 15:11
Hi Peter,
Fantastic news - and
Lucinda on it too - it must be the first time, for Aust. anyway, to have a husband and wife on the eventing team. Lets hope they can make it 4 in a row wouldn;t it be if they win again?
Di and Bill
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:07
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:07
Things are pretty bad when you need to lock bits onto your car, its pretty common for those to go missing, especially shiney ones like that. i made up an allen headed bolt for
mine, with a nylex nut on it...if they carry around allen keys and spanners, it would still be easier to steel the whole car.
Follow Up By: DIO - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:45
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:45
Things are no different in some
places than they have been for decades. There will always be someone who wants something for nothing and if it happens to be yours so what. Anyone who leaves gear in a boat, towing equipment not secired etc is just asking for trouble for the 'dishonest opportunists' in our society. Just spend some time in your local pawn shops or
places that 'convert goods into cash' and most of what you will see on display was stolen from the owner(s).
Reply By: Bill n Di - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 15:13
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 15:13
Thanks for all your replies and help. We are certainly going to put a lock on ours.
Dian