What puts the wind up a man camped solo in the bush?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:27
ThreadID: 59596 Views:9499 Replies:21 FollowUps:34
Must admit I've been pretty luckily over the years camping alone. There's been a couple though. The first I recall was not long after the missus and I were given an old swag. We decided to camp for the weekend up on Mt Macedon.

After dinner we went to bed early and fell asleep. Sometime during the night we were woken up by the sound of a revving engine and full beams about 30 feet away.

Stood there looking at them for a moment..... then the missus yelled 'throw the axe at the bastards'

The next time was a while after the missus and I split up.

Feeling down a bit, I took the dogs and camped at Big River, which wasn't all that well known back then. We'd had a feed and were sitting around looking into the fire when one of the Kelpies start to bark and snarl. Then the other one started.

Got half way to the car to get the spotlight when this fella walked into the camp looking like something out of a Rambo movie with a short barrelled rifle in hand.

Here's a fella who's walked into a man's camp unannounced, and didn't much worry about the fact that he was going to be attacked by the dogs.

He came over and said Gidday. Asked him to put the gun on the bonnet of the car, which he did. We shared a coffee around the fire, then this fella started to talk the biggest load of rot I've ever heard. He finally wandered off into the night.

Relating the story to a mate a few days later. He said 'congratulations mate, you've come across a fella high on dope'

Kim

Reply By: Louie the fly - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:43

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:43
You know when there's nobody else around, middle of the night, no wind, no rain, no other noises and you're in your tent? That freaks me out a bit.

We camped just 30m off a bush track a few years ago on the way to Innaminka, just off the Strezlecki Track near Yunningarrie Waterhole (I think). About 2am we were woken up by the roar of a roadtrain. It sounded like it was about to drive over the top of our tent. I went outside straight away and couldn't see anything - no lights, nothing.
AnswerID: 314438

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:30

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:30
The corrigations probably vibrated the lights off the bloody thing.
FollowupID: 580610

Reply By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:50

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:50
Kim,

Years ago I always used to take an auto Shotgun with me.

I haven't done so for the last 15 or so years, but we had a worrying incident (nothing serious) that made me feel vulnerable a couple of years ago which has made me reconsider.

I really don't like the idea of carrying a firearm for protection, however the thought of joiining a Pistol Club to be able to own one legally is not far from my mind.

Sad that we may feel this way, but one can't be too prudent.

AnswerID: 314442

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:26

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:26
Gidday Jim

Gidday Jim

Don't know if I'd do that for a couple of reasons. First of all, it's not necessary. A bit of talk go's a long way to fix a matter up.

Secondly, I don't think too many shooters camp with the thought of a gun as protection.

My post wasn't meant to focus on self protection, but more a light hearted look at those times when the hairs bristle.

I could have gone on about all the other experiences, but it's too long winded.

Kim
FollowupID: 580466

Follow Up By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:36

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:36
G'day Jim,

Thought about the pistol thing myself however...........try getting a licence for one. If your lucky enough to get a licence for a pistol you need to be a member of a pistol club. The pistol club must keep your pistol as part of the licence process. Might be easier to buy the winning tattslotto ticket mate.....LOL
FollowupID: 580471

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:55

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:55
Sort of thing we dont need at our pistol club anymore than we need someone on the news tearing the bush up in a 4by
FollowupID: 580491

Follow Up By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:28

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:28
Are you referring to me Davoe or just generalising?

I am familiar with hand guns as it was a requirement of my job for many years and I would not be irresponsible with one if I had one now.

Secondly, just because I drive a 4by doesn't mean I go tearing into the bush to cause damage to the environment.

Your comments aren't specific to the post. I was merely telling Jim that getting a pistol licence is extremely difficult and I knew Jim was being flippant also.
FollowupID: 580531

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:41

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:41
No Paul not you

im saying pistol clubs need people joining them in order to obtain pistols for reasons so they can carry it for "self defense"
as much as the 4wd comunity needs hoons in 4bys tearing up the bush.

FollowupID: 580533

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:04

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:04
Must be me LOL.

There are plenty of irresponsible people out there who own Pistols for offensive purposes. You won't find any of them being Pistol Club members.

Paul is right, it was a flippant comment, I'd hate to see Australia go the way of America.

FollowupID: 580539

Follow Up By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 13:11

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 13:11
Here here Jim, gawd, how would it be if everyone had a hand gun in Australia. God help us. I mean, unless your a member of a pistol club and I dare say they are fairly stringent on membership, its only the crims who seem to have most of the hand guns here in Australia......lol

Thanks for your response also Davoe. You almost had me going there for a moment....lol

FollowupID: 580562

Reply By: Brian - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:19

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:19
Just last week we were camped on the Birdsville Track, where the Inside & Outside Tracks meet. I think about 10-20 k's or so from Clifton Hills. The silence at night was deafening. But just after we turned in for the night, in that dream-like state I'm in just before fully falling asleep, (as opposed to the dream-like state I'm in when I'm awake....... ) a noise had me awake with a start. Laying there, eyes wide open staring at the roof of the dome tent, I wondered what could have possibly woken me? Was it a feral animal come to sniff around our stuff?? And then, there it was again......

My 15 year old son.......... in the next tent................ snoring!

Member Brian (Gold Coast)
AnswerID: 314450

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:29

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:29
You just made me chuckle,I have done the same thing, only it was me snoring.
Cheers pete
FollowupID: 580467

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:33

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:33
Thats funny
FollowupID: 580611

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:24

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:24
When out hunting i always kept my pump action shotgun handy until little Johnny banned them.
One night getting into my tent my mate said what do want that for and i reminded him that they have not caught the Back packer murder, aka Ivan Milat to which there was no reply and things went very silent.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 314453

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:39

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:39
http://www.thehomegunsmith.com/
FollowupID: 580472

Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:03

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:03
Yeah I got a mate I go shooting with once in a wile, Ex army, he sleeps with his 30-06 in his swag. Funniest thing is when we were on a shoot up north and one of the guys as we were sitting down to dinner was saying sometimes you get people wandering into the camp unannounced around hear

At this point we had, 1> 30-06, 2> 6.5*55’s,> Lever Action 44Mag and a 12 gauge leaning up against the Ute. My comment was “yeah and they will see that arsenal Chit em-self’s and back track quicker than a Italian Tank” LOL
FollowupID: 580499

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:37

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:37
A funny thing that happened to me was we layed out our swags quite late and was woken by a felloow in the morning we had camped in the bottom of his yard and 50 metres from his house one of those very dark nights and and couldnt see a thing,
just rolled out the swags a went to sleep.
We all saw the funny side of it.

all the best
AnswerID: 314456

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:13

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:13

I'll send you a MM tomorrow talking about a similar story.

Would'nt feel all that comfortable posting it on this site.

Kim
FollowupID: 580503

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:40

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:40
G'day Kim,

never been troubled in the bush, she is my good medicine....

EXCEPT FOR THE TIME WHEN....

early 80's after "Razorback" came out. I was bush with just one other and we heard the grunting and screeching, we ran, we climbed the first tree, it headed a different direction. Geez well we were passing bricks at the time okay don't laugh. I carry steel but not firearms.
AnswerID: 314457

Reply By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:41

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:41
I took the money from the gun buyback and bought a chainsaw. I have been trained in the safe use and handling of semiautomatic and fully automatic weapons I have no training with a chainsaw.

Margo is fine with me owning guns she is terrified of me with a chainsaw.

We carry a couple of pick axe handles beside the drivers and passenger seats in the truck.

I have used the pickaxe handles twice so far once to discuss a matter with a truckie off his face on speed or ice.

The other was outside Kalgoorlie WA.

An emu had been hit by a truck and was still alive on the side of the road. Traffic was pretty heavy but I could stop safely so pulled off the road.

The emu had both legs smashed but was still alive so I took the pick axe handle and clubbed it to death.

On returning to the truck Margo commented "That was surprising, no one stopped to help you"

My reply was " Well if you saw someone like me standing beside the road beating an emu to death with a club, WOULD YOU STOP ?"

AnswerID: 314458

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:51

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:51
ha ha, yep.

a big stick can talk.

looking after your Margo mate, good on you.
FollowupID: 580479

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:57

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:57
Margo has here own big stick on her side of the truck.
Discussions can get interesting after a few weeks on the road :-)

Especially when she accused me of killing her pet bush fly, Harold, in outback western Queensland.
FollowupID: 580480

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:58

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:58
YOU SAW HAROLD?

look mate it took me ten years to train him, talk he can, too much sometimes but........oooooooooohhhh!
FollowupID: 580492

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:11

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:11
Oh don't you start !

Margo was having long conversations with him

it was him or me I had to do it !

You know you have been in the bush too long when you start keeping pet bush flys :-)
FollowupID: 580502

Reply By: Baldrick - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:43

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:43
I camped by the side of the Trans line 100km east of Kalgoorlie once. Thought it would be kinda cool to see some trains in the morning, didn't realise it was so busy!

Woke up in the middle of the night by a very bright light followed by a freight train coming by at at least 140km/h. I was only about 5m from the track. Got the heart going!!
AnswerID: 314459

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:02

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:02
The worst camping spot I've ever picked was between Purni Bore and some cattle who were thirsty. They stampeded during the night, what a disaster. Luckily I'd camped close to the vehicle so the damage was nil. (except to the drink cabinet the next day).

Now I'm not going to mention the spot I picked in a National Park. How was I to know it was a dry creek bed ? Up all night digging trenches around the tent while my family and belongings threatened to float away. I wondered why it was the last not taken site :)
FollowupID: 580497

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:51

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:51
G'day Kim. Have only had one heart starter in the bush; my first trip up to Oodnadatta. By myself, almost ready for bed when a car came looking down the track in front of me. I was ready to roll in 30 seconds...turned out to be a mob looking for a decent spot with firewood. I thought they'd seen the moonlight off the windscreen and were looking for me! Just fellow campers, that's all.
Suddenly the bush lost it's unfriendly feeling:)
You know I've often had to look over my shoulder in the city, but very rarely in the bush.
Perhaps it's because I don't camp within about 300km of so called civilization.
If I have to overnight in or near a town then a motel/cabin is the way to go. Just close the door and forget the world.
I can tell you that Windorah is a lot more attractive when you're not frozen solid from camping along the Coopers :)
AnswerID: 314474

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:06

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:06
Although when sleeping in the car one day (because I was stranded by rain) I was just dozing off when a crow jumped onto the bonnet to check me out...I guess since I hadn't moved in a while he thought I was a dead body. I awoke to his red eyes and huge long sharp beak peering in through the windscreen. Yikes !
A quick blast on the horn let him know that I was still alive :))
FollowupID: 580500

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:23

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:23
SWIMBO and I ,with our 2yo boy, were free camping in France in 1975 in a Kombi.
Picture a pitch black night, and about 3am we were woken by the rattling of chain and a dull clunk and the Kombi rocking a little. CHIT!
Was not game to turn on the headlights and just sat there shaking till dawn when all was revealled.
We had camped in a bloody cow paddock and one old girl thought she would scratch her head on the front of the car. The rattling was from a bell on a chain around her neck.
That was the last time we free camped on that trip.
Lesson was " look for cow poop" before you camp!!
AnswerID: 314481

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:43

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:43
G'day Kim

I remember back in 2003 , the Missus and i were travelling around Aust, it was late in the afternoon and we had just pulled into Lake Indoon in W.A. We were the only people there and thought this place looks pretty good, might stop here a couple of days...well we were busy setting up the camper trailer when i heard this rather noisy vehicle approaching pretty quickly ...all of a sudden there was this 75series ute pulled up alongside of us with this strange looking fella just sitting there staring at us....well after a few mins i started feeling a bit uncomfortable, so i approached him and asked if anything was wrong....he didn't say a word , just put his stubby up to his mouth and then drove off...needless to say the missus and i had the worst sleep you could imagine that nite, so next morning packed up and got the hell outa there...lol...
a couple of years ago i was looking at an image of Brad Murdoch...not saying it was him , but bloody hell there was definitely a resemblance... made me feel sick just thinking about it......

Cheers......Borgy
AnswerID: 314485

Follow Up By: solo - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 23:23

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 23:23
We came out of the William Creek pub one night and threw the swags down. One of our party who was a renown snorer was accustomed sleeping apart from the crew to give us some peace.
He awoke with a fright before dawn next morning as the early Lake Eyre scenic flight skimmed inches above his swag. He'd dossed down in the middle of the airstrip!

SOLO
FollowupID: 580518

Follow Up By: HappyCamper - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 16:22

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 16:22
G'day Borgy

Understand what you say about BM, I've come across him somewhere/sometime myself but can't remember where. Creepy because I travel solo!!

HC ;-)
FollowupID: 580582

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 07:12

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 07:12
Hi Borgy,

who is/was Brad Murdoch?
FollowupID: 582066

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 12:59

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 12:59
G'day Brian

Bradley Murdoch is/was the fella charged with the murder of Peter Falconio in the Northern Territory in July 2001

Peter Falconio Murder

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 582115

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 04:47

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 04:47
Geez, remember pulling into a parking bay just over the NT border heading South on the Stuart, warm night, the missus inside the Troopy, me on the roof rack in me swag, been asleep for awhile.
Got woken up with eerie howling, swung the 'Big Jim' around only to see a heap of Dingoes about 100 metres away. Spent the rest of the night inside.
Another time heading towards Kal from Leanora just on dark, pulled into parking bay for a coffee and thought I could feel something looking at me, swung the torch around and there was a dingo about 20 feet away on top of a pile a gravel. Grabbed the .22, took a shot at it, missed, looked again, the bloody thing was back on the gravel!! Turfed the coffee and got going.
Used to drive Semi's yonks ago, you want to ask the Truckies about the Pilega (sp) and the yowies there.
Dennis
AnswerID: 314489

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:12

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:12
What/where is Pilega?

Mark.
FollowupID: 580593

Follow Up By: dieselman - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 20:07

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 20:07
Pilliga forest between Coonabarabran and Narrabri I would say. I have heard all the yowie and pig stories from out there.

Ben
FollowupID: 580619

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 15:03

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 15:03
Sounds like another post! I'm sure there will be others.

Mark.
FollowupID: 580706

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 15:56

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 15:56
Hi Mark,
Not sure how it came about but hardly anyone would stop anywhere in the Pilliga Scrub during the night, not even me, lol.
Probably all changed now.
Dennis
FollowupID: 580711

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 06:14

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 06:14
Landed in darwin aiport about 11pm and my connecting flight wasnt till 7am rolled out the swag in a corner of the air port.

Pushing out the ZZZZZs I fell a tap on the side and there was a secrurity guard standing over me I thought the worst.

All he said was stop snoring your keeping up the whole of the air port..

AnswerID: 314490

Reply By: landed eagle - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 07:08

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 07:08
A friend has just returned from a climbing trip in yosemite national park USA. He's one of these fearless dudes who thinks nothing of hanging by your fingernails 1000 metres in the air.
Asked him if he'd had any worrying moments while there.

Funnily enough the only thing that scared him was one night sleeping in a swag under the stars ,only to be woken by a loud crashing and scraping sound. He was about to check it out when he realised it was a BEAR looking for a feed!

"Just closed my eyes and pretended it wasn't there" was his comment.Makes the wildlife,both native, and feral human in Australia pale to insignificance he reckons.
AnswerID: 314493

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:41

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:41
Remember visiting Banf national park in Canada.
Rangers hand out a fact sheet on bears.
Two types, black and brown.
If you come a cross a brown bear, climb a tree , they can't climb, just reach a long way.
Black bears have claws good enough to climb trees, so a tree won't save you. You just got to play dead and let it knock you around a little and hope you survive.
The note at the bottom said brown bears are usually brown, light brown through to black, while black bears can be a colour from black to mid brown. Only way to tell for sure is the shape of the claw.
So, I asked how do you get close enough to a a bear to show you their claws without asking for trouble? They just gave me a strange look.

As a follow up, my son gets visiting Canadians at work, from their Canadian office. Don't like going camping, too worried about the snakes etc. I ask about bears (re above) when they go camping at home, and they say 'bears, no problem', just ignore them. I said the same about snakes, be careful but not afraid. They don't get it, still won't go camping.

What you are used to I suppose :o)
FollowupID: 580532

Follow Up By: Ken S - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:51

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:51
Talking of information sheets on bears the one I got was from the Fisheries and Wildlife advising of the increasing encounters of bears and humans , it when on to advise to wear small noisy bells on all your clothing so bears would hear you coming and you would not walk onto them and startle them . It went on to advise you to carry pepper spray if you were confronted by a bear you could pepper spray them . The last bit of advice was to familiarise yourself with what bear s%*t looked like so as you would know if there has been recently bear activity in your area .
The description for bear cub s%*t is small black scat full of berries . Adult bear s#*t is large black scat full of bells and smelling like pepper .
FollowupID: 580546

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:50

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:50
Used to live in California - heard a clanking noise up near the car at about midnight in a quiet campground - so I went to investigate (thought maybe someone had broken in) - walked around the car to come face to face with a black bear's pulling his head out of a 44 gallon drum of rubbish he'd knocked over.

Faceoff lasted maybe 30 seconds before he ambled off.

In the same campground, a ranger later showed me tracks where some parents had slept in their tent, and two boys (maybe 8 and 10) had slept out under the stars on sleeping pads. There were bear tracks passing through the space in the sleeping pads - including where the bear had stopped to sniff each kid as they slept! No-one knew until they saw the tracks the next morning.

Same year a camper was killed in Utah by a black bear that attacked during the night, and a girl riding a mountain bike down in southern California was taken down by a cougar while she was riding, and killed. They found another missing hiker half eaten when they went to recover her body and hunt the cougar.

People reckon Australia has deadly animals!!!
FollowupID: 580559

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:14

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:14
What people are not taking into consideration is that the Government hav shut down all the loony bins !
Which means they hav to go somewhere...

Nothing worse than sleeping in your swag and bloody shotguns going off nearby just when your nodding off...

When we were at Enoch Point/Big River a few months back a big bloke came wondering out of the bush,No-one else about with a gold pan in hand,my mate said where in the hell did he come from...Never think your alone in the bush,there's always someone watching somewhere...

AnswerID: 314501

Reply By: Ken S - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:16

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:16
My young bloke was working on Nockatunga Station in SW Queensland Channel Country . Nockatunga is 8500 km2 so quite a large station .
My son and one other Jackaroo had left the main homestead about midnight and headed to an outstation to cull wild pigs that were swarming in to feed on the hay that had been spread for the stock horses . About 3am in the morning they were heading back to the main station when a light was seen up ahead , they first thought it was the head stock man coming out to check on them or possibly shooters poaching . The light approached them then dissapeared . It then appeared to their side keeping up to them ,( they were travelling about 80kms an hour ) but where the light was was thick scrub and ditches every where . The light would dissapear and reappear back in front of them and then across the the side of them . After five long minutes my son who had been driving said to the other Jackaroo , did you see that ! All the other bloke said was YEP ! . Next day they were telling other people at the station about the lights and found out they weren't the first to experience this phenomenon and they could just add themselves to the list of people that have witnessed MIN MIN lights . Often wonder if Mick's ( the other Jackaroo ) grip on the .223 tightened during those five minutes .
AnswerID: 314502

Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 10:48

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 10:48
While asleep on a camp stretcher beside lake mackenzie on fraser in the seventies . My eyes were closed but i could smell this awful smell . Opened my eyes to see a dingoes noes an inch in front of my face . While camped in an abandoned mine . It took 5 hours to drive in as the road was washed away and probably 20 years since the last vehicle went down there . Got to sleep at night then woke up to close by gun fire . Guiness book record for packing a 4by .
AnswerID: 314512

Reply By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 11:18

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 11:18
two time come to mind

Last year we were heading to Coober Pedy and decided to stop at one of the road side areas. Our 1st night out of a van park. Had a nice chat around a fire with some fellow travellers then all went to bed. Little while later a car comes off the hwy and drives right between our campers. Four doors go, bang, bang, bang, bang. Footsteps crunch on the gravel... which sounds very loud in the still of the night. A very long minute or two later they jump back in the car and take off. Phew! Must have just needed a toilet stop.

Many years ago I was fishing with the then bro-in-law up near Dartmouth.Weather was terrible, rain and high winds. We had had a quick tea and dived into the tent. Thought the tent was going to disappear, with us in it, so couldn't get to sleep. Next thing we hear a whole lot of growling, grunting and snorting outside. Something was checking out the area for a snack but buggered if we were going to poke our noses out to see what it was. Just lay there and hoped it didn't want a yellow tent for dinner!
AnswerID: 314518

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:00

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:00
About 25 years ago a group of us where camped on the Pennefather River, Cape York.
Young and full of ideas, we decided to catch ourselves a Tiger Shark.

Our shark rig consisted of a snatch strap shackled to a tree, 30 metres of 10mm wire rope ended by 20 metres of 3mm stainless wire rope, a float and a hook big enough to anchor the Queen Mary! Our bait was a heap of fish frames from the lunch time catch.

We walked the rig across the sand flats at low tide as far out as the end of the wire would allow and wait.

About 3 in the morning my mates then girlfriend, now wife comes to wake me up. "We've caught a crocodile, we've caught a crocodile" was the cry. I'm a bugger to wake when I'm real tired.
I just mumbled something apparently about "get it off in the morning"

"No, no the crocodile is thrashing about you've got to get it off"

This went on for about 15 minutes or so apparently.

Eventually she coaxed me out of the swag and down to the beach. I've given the snatch strap a couple of tugs, sure enough there's something swimming about on the end and it's big.

I mumble something about sleep and bed then turn around. "No, no says the mates girlfriend, you've got to get it off"

So I starts hauling the rope in, pitch black, 3 in the morning, Pennefather River on Cape York, me armed to the teeth in a pair of underpants, a hooked crocodile and one frightened girl with a torch, get the picture? Should have been a movie!

I get this thing into about 2 feet of water and it goes ballistic! I'm now standing on a pitch black Cape York beach, armed to the eye teeth in my underpants, holding a piece of 10mm wire rope that's supposed to have a crocodile on the end of it. My torch and torch bearer have run so far they are found 3 days later in Rockhampton!

This is about the time I wake up and think about the what I'm going to do with the crocodile. I'm sure I can give it a mean elastic flick with my Jocks!

So, I finally coax the torch bearer back from Rocky and pull a little further. This bloody great round black mouth about the size of a garbage tin lid appears.

I exclaim, "it's a bloody great cod"

With that the hero's appear out of the darkness armed with a heap of camera's and torches to "see what they had caught" we take a sheite load of photo's and roll the cod back into the river.

Moral of the story?

With good mates there is no room in your life for enemies!

AnswerID: 314522

Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:50

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:50
Another 'good mate' story!

I was camped in an Army Training range and my co driver and I were fast asleep in swags about 2 meters apart under a tarp strung off the side of the vehicle.

Sound alseep I wake to the sound of a kuthump.....pause.......kathump..........soft but definately getting closer. Every image runs through the brain of what animal hops and stops like that.....seriously coulndt think of anything sensible so the imagination runs wild.

Now the swag im in is a zip up version so very niosey to get out of to take a peek so lay motionless hoping it would go away.....nope getting closer.......

Swear to god the animal is now beween my snoring mate and I.....then I feel it......

something outside the swag pressing gently on my arm through the canvas...getting heavier.....

I relax my arm and prepare for the hardest flick I can manage in the 3 inches of space inside the swag that I can to launch my new bed buddie away.

boom I lash out and feel the animal fly through the air away from me....and its then I remeber my mate is sound asleep 2m away in the direction I just flung this unknown creature.

I can picture it landing on him going absolutely ferral and then him waking up in shock and compounding the problem and a screaming flayling swag running of into the bush in hysterics but.....

nothing....not a sound

its then in my relief I can relax and then the giggles set in and Im a mess for about 30 minutes laughing my head off.

My mate never woke up and didint remeber a thing in the morning and I still dont know what the creature was!!!

But makes me smile thinking about it!
AnswerID: 314531

Follow Up By: wendys - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:28

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:28
brings to mind camping trip some years back with my kids aged about 12 and 14. not being the greatest of friends, they weren't too happy about having to share small hike tent. I woke in pitch black, rainy night to screams of (roughly) "get it off mum, help, etc. One kid had woken because he thought the other was rolling into his space, pushed "other" away. Second kid woke - ditto. After a bit of this, dawned on them ,simultaneously, that what they were pushing didn't feel like a sibling in a sleeping bag, but was furry, wet....that's when the screaming started. ever tried to shift a very large wombat that wants to stay in a warm, dry but very small hike tent??
FollowupID: 580639

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 23:53

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 23:53
hehe! that is funny!
FollowupID: 580657

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 14:05

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 14:05
HAHAHAH you can imaggine the wombat thinking...will you buggers keep it down Im trying to sleep....or stop thrashing about, you are making it cold in here!!

Good one Wendys
FollowupID: 580702

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:34

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:34
Sorry about that Kim.....
Are you saying I should have anounced myself?

Hahaha

AnswerID: 314600

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 20:01

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 20:01
Hairy

Go away, I'm busy trying to cut the gut out of the cat. Bloody thing won't co operate!

Kim
FollowupID: 580618