CHECK YOUR NUTS !!!!
Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:40
Stephen M (NSW)
This is what happens when you get your car serviced by a dealer ship. This happened on my way to work this morning at 5.45am and unfortunately my wife's car,a Holden rodeo, and Toyota camry copped it. The rodeo copped it straight through the grill, bounced back down on the road alloy wheel facing downwards,wet and dark, right in the middle of the right hand lane, I could either swerve to the left and clean up the front of the camry putting me at fault hitting his car so swerved to the right under brakes but still caught it on the left front, lifting the car up in the air blowing out my tyre, 2/3 of the rim buckled, ripping off front bumper, bending strut tower and bending drive shaft, ripped off mud flap, and lower control arm then the tyre speared off to the left hitting the camry in the front drivers side guard, damaging his front guard, spoiler, driving light. Walked back up to see where the hell this tyre appeared and found a
young girl, crying, shaking, freezing, and she was concerned some one had been seriously injured from the wheel/tyre. Luckily was only all the cars damaged no person. Put my around her to settle her down and told her not to worry thats why there called accidents. Found out she had her car serviced last week, brand new only 2 weeks old and was the usual first service free, check this check that. When she got home from getting it serviced she couldn't ring them as it was to late they were shut so she rang them the next morning to inform them that there was a slight vibration at higher speeds and there was just a slight noticeable clunk in the front, it wasnt there before you serviced it can I rebook it in so get it checked. Sorry love but cant fit you in till next week. Oh would it still be ok to drive would it be anything serious ?? No it will be fine !!!
Well that's where she was going this morning to get checked out. All I can say is thank god she didn't actually merge on the free way and was doing 110. Would not like to think of the outcome. She rang me back this arvo and the dealership is putting it through there insurance company, offered her a loan car for how ever long it takes to fix hers with paid fuel. MMMMM who's guilty then ??? Dont ask me the brand of car or Dealership as I'm not going to say. Dont want the
young girl to have any problems. All I can say is she was a lot calmer then I would have been once it was towed to the dealership. Pays to check your nuts after getting a service !!!!!!. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Louie the fly - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:49
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:49
It seems like a regular thing, loose wheel nuts after servicing / work. I always check
mine once I get home. In their defense though, it sounds like they didn't give you any grief about making things right. Saw a front wheel fall off a Fairlane once while being test driven in a
carpark by a brake repairer.
A quick trip around Australia with paid fuel might be the go.
Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:20
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:20
Unbelievable, glad to see everyone was all right Steve.I bet it half gave you a fright. The old nerves would have been shot for the rest of the day. I prefer small workshops where you know who is working on your car. Most likly went to morning tea half way though job, and forgot to finish it of.
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:41
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:41
Hi Pete, firstly I just a saw this wheel in front of me and thought #%ck, swerved as said & hit it. Was all over within seconds. I cant believe how high it lifted me. I had cans of drink in my lunch bag on front
seat one hit the windscreen and landed on the floor. The ashtry that was on the drivers side up near top vent ended up under the passengers
seat and the dash mat on my lap. Just said to myself f@#k that hit hard. Nerves were fine, I think cause I saw some one pick up the wheel and head back up to the vehicle that it come off, I thought it was a ute or some thing and was going to do a runner so I ran a few hundred metres (dont normally run anywhere LOL) back up to the lights to get hold of them, wasnt untill I saw the ladys car and realized that the bloke with the wheel was actually the passenger from the rodeo getting the wheel off the road thats when I started comforting the
young girl to make sure she was alright as she saw all of this happen and couldnt do anything in time to stop it. Anyway wifes car already been checked out by accesor and down repairers already where I use to work so hopefully will get it back next week probably later in the week I presuming. I dont want it rushed and he knows what a fussy pri#k I am LOL. egards steve M
Reply By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:27
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:27
I am glad no one was hurt I have heard horror stories of dealer servicing no oil or
water replaced bolts left undone and faults not fixed.
Many many years ago we towed a largish tinny from
Canberra to
Brisbane. We stopped for lunch in a small country town and drove on up the Newell highway after lunch.
Just outside Dubbo late on a saturday afternoon we saw a wheel come past the car at high speed.
We soon realized it was the wheel from our trailer as we slewed to a stop beside the road.
From inspection and deduction someone had attempted to steal our anunger mag
wheels off the trailer while we had lunch. they could not undo the lock nuts so they had left the wheel on the trailer.
Several hundred KM down the road the bolts has worn through and one wheel came adrift.
The odd part of the whole incident was that Anunger mags use specific nuts to hold them in place we had lost most of our wheel nuts thanks to the attempted theft.
The first person to stop to help went to his tool box and pulled out 6 new anunger nuts that he had been carrying for several years for no reason at all!
The next coincidence was we drove into dubbo late on Saturday night on sunday morning we drove past a trailer repair
shop that was open they had come down to do some work on sunday morning so could supply us with replacement bolts for the ones that had sheared off and let us use their
tools to replace the bolts.
This allowed us to resume our trip the same day.
The chances of this happening were just amazingly remote.
Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:10
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:10
We blew a motor in the
heritage listed paj up in the barossa and were towed to a holden dealership in a larger town by the RAA. Since it was there we got them to install the new motor.
The first pick up only lasted 5km down the road when there was a loud bang under the bonnet followed by a choof choof choof sound. We lifted the bonned to see number 3 plug hanging from it's lead. It turned out that the apprentice had been pressure testing the pots and left the conical adapter in number 3 then wound the spark plug into that - it was only holding by a thread.
The following week we tried again. On the way back to
Adelaide we noticed it was hunting on idle. Back home I checked for a loose cable connection and found that not one bolt or nut was done up tight under the bonnet - mounting bolts, belt tensioners, cables, accessories etc. All were on only finger tight.
The third time we picked it up it went straight to my regular mechanic for a full check up and finally this time it was done right -
well it hasn't fallen out in the last 4 years anyway.
Pete
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:23
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:23
Un believeable eh Pete. Should be shut down half these joints. Regads steve M
Reply By: Steve Ellis - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:21
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:21
Gday. We can sympathise. Years ago wife had a Cortina in for service. Next day she drove it 20k to work and the oil light came on on the way home. Thats right no oil. The mechanic WAS a mate of
mine. Denied responsibility, said the apprentice MIGHT have done it. Now do ALL my own servicing. Crook when you cant trust the professionals and/or your mates.
Follow Up By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:59
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:59
Image Could Not Be FoundAhhh Yes - Dealers....
If you check my blog you will see we have 2 Prados in the family. My wifes apparently had a oil and filter change just before we bought it (Feb 08). Mmmm. Then why was the oil black and the filter covered in dust? When questioned, the dealer (while not admitting to it), suggested we bring the Prado in and they would "inspect" the problem. Funny, that no questions were asked - they carried out the log book service without question OR charge!
2 weeks later
mine went in (different dealer) for it's 80,000km major service. It was returned to me without the oil, oil filter and fuel filter being changed - as per the schedule. The oil was still black, the oil & fuel filter covered in road grime and I had done only 20km from the dealer to
my home. Outcome? Free loan car & fuel for the day, while they completed the service that I had paid over $600 for! I wont even mention how the underside of the car was covered in brake fluid!
TOYOTA make fine cars, but their Australian service departments leave a lot to be desired!
TIP: Mark all your filters etc (and take photos if you are so inclinedImage Could Not Be Found) and check them after the service. You will soon know if you got what you paid for!
Cheers, Matt
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 23:04
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 23:04
Hi Matt, unbelievable eh !!! My wifes car has not been back to Toyota since the day we bought it new and it never will be. Either do it myself and what I cant do I will get done by mate who use to work for Toyota. As far as warranty goes they can jam it. I'll run the risk. Would have saved myself the $$$$ anyway with what dealers charge. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:03
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:03
My horror story was taking the 4x4 into the local dealer for a service. Complained about a funny noise coming from the front left hand
suspension.
Picked up car from dealer with a written statement that front
suspension was OK. Next weekend while driving front left hand wheel parted company with the car due to failure of lower ball joint.
More recently a friend was looking at the font diff of current 4x4. 4x4 had just been dealer serviced, and for that particular service the diif oil was meant to be replaced. Friend pointed out as the diff drain plug was full of dried mud there was no way that the oil had been changed. Friend also found that a couple of teeth where broken on front diff, again something that a stealership had also missed.
Another dealer in southern Australia has found a way to cut their servicing costs. They have sacked most of their Australian servicing staff (2 tradies and 6 apprentices remaining) and replaced them with Chinese "Trainees" brought in on 456 Visas. The "Trainees" get rotated back to china every 6 months. While here in Australia they are being paid about $240 per week.
I am now starting to think it has become dangerous to get your vehicle serviced at certain
well known franchised dealers as the service quality is now so poor.
Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:13
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:13
Stephen M
While on my way home one day recently, I crested a rise to be confronted by two wayward
wheels and a white
sedan fishtailing its way across the road in front of me.
The
sedan ended up backwards of my side of the road.
The lady driver had just had her car serviced and had just pulled onto the road.
No injuries or major damage that goodness.
Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:38
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 08:38
I believe this might have been said before but YOU MUST check EVERYTHING (fluids, nuts, filters, pressures, etc) whenever you have your vehicle serviced by someone that YOU don't know. Despite the fact that there are some service centres that have reasonably
well trained and enthusiastic staff who know their stuff, unfortunately there are just to many of the opposite who either don't care or just don't know.
You should be able to place enough trust in the staff (and their supervisor) at workshops so that you don't have the slightest doubt as to the standard(s) of their workmanship.
I have experienced similar when picking up a vehicle from dealer after service. NO oil whatsoever in the sump. Luckily I checked it before driving off. Something that I always do after every service.
Follow Up By: EscapeArtists - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 13:45
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 13:45
And under no circumstances Copy and Paste others knowledge and know how. You forgot to mention that Ronnie.
prove that you are'nt a tool dude.
Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 11:39
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 11:39
Hi Steve,
Very lucky not to be more serious.
I know we all make mistakes, but come on when it comes to things like this, some one has to be held responsible. They do have a duty of care. I bet it was an apprentice unsupervised.
Happened to a mates Suburban at a tyre
shop. Travelled 40km's home only to find the nuts were finger tight on all four rims. The
shop denied any wrong doing. $1600 worth of tyres and they say it not their fault. As you'd expect he does not deal with them, nor do I and we will tell anybody who cares to listen.
And there is nothing you can do about.
Just glad to hear nobody was hurt.
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:11
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:11
Even the so called prestige end of the market has problems. Local Porsche dealer responsible for a mate's engine seizing due to oil leaking out after service, and my back wheel nearly falling off after picking it up from service. I've never gone back.
Locking tabs on hubs not replaced after Lexus service resulted in front wheel nearly coming adrift.
Its not as if these people are pressured by costs etc - they charge top dollar- it should be perfect.
Reply By: T-Ribby - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:36
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:36
The dealership must be passing around the brown trou wondering about being sued etc. Good to come out of it uninjured though.
I have always struck the overtightened mode - where two heavy adults jumping on an extreme wheelbrace can't budge them because the service guy (not a mechanic by any definition) used his Super V8 nut rattler to wind them on. Mazda have only done this to me once, and never again after I threatened to take a rattle gun around their staff
carpark and attend to their vehicles nuts.
Considering that having
wheels staying attached to a vehicle is a major safety issue, there is absolutely no excuse. It's easy for us strong hairy types (
well skip the hairy in my case) to check when we get home, but not an easy task for a woman only half our size and weight.
T.R.
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:17
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:17
Hi ya TR, They will be hearing from me tomorrow as our car will be off the road for two weeks I was informed today. I will be hitting them for a loan car etc till myn is back on the road, OTHERWISE I will be going further with it myself and making sure every one knows what brand of car it was and who the dealership was. Even if it includes current affairs. I have all the pics I need and all the contact numers, details etc of the 4 vehicles involved. We'l see how they respond tomorrow after I speak to the manager and if I dont get anywhere with him I will be ringing head office. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Member - Len H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:45
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:45
My tale in this vein was that having decided to go with a local tag along tour company, who also work in close with a 4WD service mob, we elected to have the 40,000 K service done by them on our 2004 TD6 (which at that stage was just over than 2 years old) so we would all know the thing was in good nick; which it most assuredly was.
After picking up the TD6, and handing over the $, I swung out onto the road and made my way towards the traffic lights. An application of the brakes resulted in nothing more than my foot and the brake pedal finding the bulkhead and the TD6 sailed majestically through the lights; only to be stopped some 100 or so metres down the road by my riding it along the gutter and finding a small tree that I could lean the thing on to stop forward progress. As you’d expect, I sat for a while contemplating all that had occurred in that space of time, and the damage that more than 2 tonnes of metal could do had I not been at the front of the queue. When I had recovered and put my heart back in, I put it into 1st and went across the road and the median strip thing and made my way back to the service mob. Conclusion? The three mechanics prescribed failed master cylinder!
I doubted this as the TD6 was in mint condition, so elected to roll it gingerly to the Nissan dealer a couple of buildings down the road. A very helpful service manager, who could see the stressed state I was in, immediately sent out a search party for strong coffee and the TD6 was promptly rolled away, only to be returned in less than ½ an hour with the news that the brakes had been bled and the truck was right as rain! Apparently caused during wheel bearing re-pack it seems.
I was in no mood to drive the truck in peak hour traffic, and asked them to look over the thing with the 40,000 service in mind. They came back with a list of things that clearly had not been done and showed me all of it at some length. I left it with them, and made my way VERY gently to work in the loaned Nissan they insisted I take.
On picking up the TD6 later that day, I forked out a very little amount of money for the considerable work they did, and walked back to the other mob up the road with the written report from Nissan. They said little, beyond a comment that they firmly believed it to be an issue with the master cylinder but refunded the money and we parted company. It may not surprise members to learn that my wife and I did not go on the tag along tour, but did a similar trip on our own in the TD6 and had an absolute ball in the process.
Moral of my story? I am happy to continue taking the TD6 back to the Nissan dealer who looked after me so
well and the relationship with them remains very good. They appear to me anyway to go to some lengths to make sure the truck is
well looked after. I have no problem at all with paying for the good consistent service from them. Eighteen months later, the truck has 67,000 on it and they still remember me whenever I go there to have oil change or
services. I should add that the original brakes are still on the truck. Not all dealers can be tarred with the same brush, and bouquets are in many cases not provided when due!
Regards…..Len
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:30
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:30
That would have been scary Len no breaks, bloody hell. True not all dealers are the same but I reckon there becoming that way. Seems to be get them in as quick as you can get them back out again bring the next one in. I know when my mate finally left he had enough. 60/70 cars a day, yes some only oil changes the others timing belts bearings etc. He said was impossible to get it done in the time allowed, got to the point of put the cruiser up on the hoist, look underneath, na guys this ones never been off road dont worry about changing diff oils, etc would be no
water in them. When it got to this stage he said thats it no more and he left. Regards steve M
Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 13:40
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 13:40
Our son started a apprenticeship at a dealer workshop and he was instructed on his first day to do the car
services. His instruction was to fill the engine oil to the minimum mark only as this saved just over a litre of oil on each service. With 40 a day it added to the bottom line of the company. Needless to say he quit there after a week and advised TAFE of the reason and was relocated to another more honest dealership.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:17
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:17
i would have rang today tonight so that they could be exposed
and the relevent motor trades body..eg MTA here in SA
Follow Up By: Neil & Pauline - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:08
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:08
The TAFE college followed up by it is not illegal just not very ethical as they never put a volume of oil charged for just noted as "lubricants". If you calculated the cost per litre it was OK if they had filled it up. When I had my car serviced there I complained the second time that it used a litre of oil very quickly but never any more.
The answer, " modern oils will burn quicker until they run in. It is a
sign of a good oil". My answer was b***$#@ and never went back. when my son went there it just confirmed my thoughts.
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:11
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:11
Hi Neil,Pauline, Good to see that your son has some dignity about himself you should be (no doubt you are) proud of him. Must admit there are some apprentices that just dont give a toss. When my mate worked for Toyota where I was also he was floorshop controller and road tester. He couldnt remember the amount of times he would lift the bonnet to check the vehicle over even before test driving it to come across oil caps either loose or not there at all, oil filters dripping because they were not tight, spanners left under bonnet, brake fluid around master cylinder and numerous other things. I remember him calling a meeting with all the mechanics and sat them down. Told them all radio's to be removed from workbenches by the afternoon or they would be crushed in the press, all mobile phones to be off during work ours only allowed on during their breaks, and said if he saw some one not turning it off and receiving tex's or sending he would smash the phones in front of them, get a warning. He was sick to death of finding faults. Any one cought flogging the cars down the road or screeching the tyres, instant warning no questions asked.He had one bloke (apprentice) who was his own nephew working with him, twice he didnt put sump plug washer on and twice left oil filter loose on two cruisers. He even gave him two warnings the next he would be looking for a new job, he didnt care who it was. NO ONE on a friday afternoon (worst day) was allowed to leave to go home untill all cars that had been serviced were checked and all passed, if they hadnt cleaned down the motors bad luck, get the hose back out,get the car in the wash bay and clean it then chamois it down, then recheck. He was there for 18 years and was the best they had and had pride in his work. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:18
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:18
is it a Mitsi?
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:32
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:32
Na mate not a Mitsi, dont keep guessing but cause Im not going to say yes or no to any more guesses LOL. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:31
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:31
Pays to
check your nuts after getting a service !!!!!!. Regards Steve M
I always
check mine, the prices they charge I am lucky to get out of the
shop with them intact.
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:20
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:20
LOL How true that is. Good one Bonz :-) Regards Steve M
Reply By: roblin - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:54
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:54
The problem is the poor apprentice will get blamed for this!
Many years ago when I did my electrical apprenticeship, it was common place for the tradesman to
check eveything the apprentices did until trust was established.
Having worked in the RAAF for almost 23 years, there is no way a trainee or in fact a tradie can perform work without an in inependent inspection being done. I thought this was the place of the service manager and/or foreman in a workshop so, ultimately, any of these servicing issues (including no oil, brakes, etc) should be blamed on the quality management of the workshop.
Before I bought my TD Prado I used to do all my own servicing. I took it to Toyota a couple of times but now have a reliable local mechanic. Small local business, 3 tradies and a reputation they want to keep. I get good, honest service at a reasonable price. Many dealerships are about quantity, not quality and make their money thorugh the (misguided) customer belief that a dealer must service your car when it is under warranty.
Follow Up By: roblin - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:58
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:58
By the way, thank God the poor
young lady didn't get hurt from the injury. The situation could very easily have had her rolling down the road and then spending some time in ICU. The papers would then have a field day with 'another inexperienced driver has major accident' as opposed to 'dealerships failure to correctly service vehicles injures
young driver!'
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:42
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:42
Hi Roblin, I have found that in the big workshops they are not taught properly as there are way to many apprentices compared to fully qualified mechanics. I don't know what the ratio is eg 1 mechanic to 4 apprentice's I have no idea but there must be one. I find the
young guns in the private little workshops learn allot more and are instructed and directed in the right direction. I have found in some of the bigger
places they throw the vehicles at them and say do it, poor bugger has no idea. But yep can guarantee the poor apprentice will cop the flack if not be sacked BUT at the end of the day it should have been checked over by floor
shop controller,
test driver, or qualified mechanic. Simple as that. It could have ended in a tragedy and could have involved a few more vehicles in allot worse way (meaning drivers). Regards Steve M
Reply By: astrawed - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:04
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:04
Know how you feel a few years back we had some new tyres fitted to our beloved HSV and when travelling along the hwy we heard a terrible noise coming from the front of the car when we pulled over the front right hand wheel nuts had all come loose. After checking all the wheel nuts on all the wheels we noted that they were all loose. we were a little fortunate than you that the wheel didn't actually come off.
We went back to the tyre dealer and insisted that the stud bolts and the wheel nuts be replaced and a crack detection done on all the mag wheels.
When we got it back we checked it again, low and behold the wheel nuts were still loose (what does it take these days to get a decent service on your valuable Goods)
Cheers Viv