If you weren't on here....

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:13
ThreadID: 59601 Views:2498 Replies:10 FollowUps:19
If you weren't on here, where would you be ?
In the kitchen, washing up?
On Ebay buying more junk ?
Out at the pub with some mates?
Reading a good book and trying to ignore SWMBO?
On another forum stirring the possums ?

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:15

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:15
LOL well most likely in bed which I must admit with the temp dropping seems like a place to move to very soon.

AnswerID: 314479

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:17

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:17
Hi Brian, not wrong ! I think I saw those three brass monkeys last night ...
FollowupID: 580506

Follow Up By: Bongo (Darwin NT) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:26

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:26
23 degrees here and temperature dropping by the minute. I'll have to turn off the fan soon!
FollowupID: 580509

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:38

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:38
Bongo, we wouldn't want you getting goosebumps on your sunburn :))
FollowupID: 580512

Follow Up By: Bongo (Darwin NT) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 23:05

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 23:05
FollowupID: 580517

Follow Up By: Member - kevin Y (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 16:01

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 16:01
make the most of it bongo before you don your waterwings again
FollowupID: 580580

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:36

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:36
Probably being more productive........
Planning on putting TV's into storage and getting rid of the internet box for 2 months towards the end of the year.
Got too much work to do before the end of the year.
AnswerID: 314483

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:42

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:42
"productive" is so subjective, isn't it ? Good luck, I'm sure that when you realize how productive this site is that you'll be back. For example reading of the travels of others has helped the oil industry out quite a bit. Not to mention the 4wd and associated industries. Now what could be more expensive...oops I meant productive than that ?
FollowupID: 580513

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:49

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:49
I'll still be on this site....... and be able to check emails and such at the bosses office......... Just won't have it at home. Have a major project (5 small ones) that must be completed by January
FollowupID: 580514

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 23:45

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 23:45
Footy

Sitting in the pub with my best mate, and bitching on about life!

Kim
AnswerID: 314487

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 23:55

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 23:55
Kim, that doesn't sound like you at all ! :))
FollowupID: 580523

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 07:03

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 07:03
Footloose.

Based on the time of this post.

Having now got the fire up and going and the tea made. I would be warming myself (by the fire) and watching the sun rise over some red dune somewhere.
Oops I had better check my eggs and bacon.

Have a good day
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 314492

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:38

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:38
I'm with you Wim,cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 580614

Reply By: Tony - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 07:25

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 07:25
Just on my way to muster a mob of weaner steers. - 4 at the moment.
AnswerID: 314494

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 14:30

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 14:30
Shifted 400 steers onto more feed yesterday, Tony.

Bright, sunny day but didn't get warm till nearly 1pm.

Don't think could handle your -4 degrees!!!!!!!!

Hooroo,

FollowupID: 580576

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 07:43

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 07:43
Hi Footy

Had Breakfast about an hour ago, now having a Cuppa, checked work
related Emails now having a look at the Forum, just about to throw the Boots on and head up to Brisbane to do Battle on a job site,
oops I HAVE TO PUT THE WHEELIE BINS OUT, todays the day the
Rubbish Truck comes, mate its all go.

Daza
AnswerID: 314496

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:04

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:04
*oops I HAVE TO PUT THE WHEELIE BINS OUT, todays the day the
Rubbish Truck comes, mate its all go.*

Thats the Wifes Job !

FollowupID: 580540

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 13:59

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 13:59
Yep, I know its a hard life, but some of us have to do what a man
must do, I help fill em up with the empties, and I let her play with
the Lawn Mower, its only fair that I share them chores.

Daza
FollowupID: 580571

Follow Up By: Member - Au-2 - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 14:05

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 14:05
Garn, you fellas, I suppose you get the 'little woman' to dig your latrines for ya in the bush, too? What a bunch of wooses! I should think you do the ironing or vacuumming to make up for your short-comings, too?
Sheila.
FollowupID: 580572

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 14:22

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 14:22
Hi Sheila

Me Hunter & Gatherer, Me earn Dollar, She spend Dollar.
Me get kicked in Bum if I touch her Toys.
Me dont dig latrine, have one in Caravan.
Me dont have what you call short bits.lol

Daza
FollowupID: 580574

Follow Up By: Member - Au-2 - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 20:07

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 20:07
DAZA,

Looks um., lilke you um., need um training wheels a little bit longer yet. You not quite trained um right, you gotta bring um She Who Should Be Obeyed breakfast in um bed every day when um not hunting.
Sheila.
FollowupID: 580620

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:57

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:57
Footy,

For the past 4 weeks I was on the Canning Stock Route but I still managed to appear on this forum from time to time, thanks to Globalstar and Belinda.
For the next 2 weeks I will be on the forum then away for 4 weeks while I do a trip through the Kimberly's and another 2 weeks while I go from Broom to Ayers Rock via Rudall River National Park, Talawana Track and Gary Hwy.

So to answer your question if I am not here I am enjoying travelling this great country.

AnswerID: 314509

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 10:10

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 10:10
just by the by Wayne,

did you get that HF issue sorted out?
FollowupID: 580549

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 15:09

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 15:09
Doing work it's 1.09 pm.. LOL
AnswerID: 314545

Reply By: Louie the fly - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:10

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:10
In the garage, working on my other car. But it's too damn cold, and my motivation level is currently at the CGAF level.
AnswerID: 314575

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:03

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:03
Footy,

When you did the post I'd already turned the 'puter off, and wondering how bloody cold it was going to be this morning.

Well, it was 5 degrees @ 7 am, so a good excuse to check EO, then spend the morning doing a couple of monthly reports. By midday it was warm enough to venture out and service one of the gensets.

Oh, and a bit more EO too,

Had windfall too this morning. A couple of caravanners had camped at a waterhole down from the house, wanting to do some fishing. "No bloody fish around here, mate" I says.
He rocks up this morning with a bag full of Yellowbelly fillets. so much for my knowledge of fishing on the Diamantina!!!

Hooroo,

AnswerID: 314622

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:22

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:22
Goodday Bob,
Its amazing how you acclimatize to whereever you live. I was just having a chuckle at footy, and some of the other northern boys sooking about the cold.I live in the central tablelands of nsw and a cold morning is minus 6. 5 deegrees at 7am is a beauitfull morning, and I would have to strip off once I started working.
You must be out in the channel country?
Hope you enjoy those Yellowbelly.
FollowupID: 580634

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 07:10

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 07:10
Know what you mean, Pete.

We used to have blokes come up here from Guyra, chasing pigs, and we'd be walking round with jackets on, and they'd be in stubbie shorts & tee shirts.

But have also seen Victorians whinge about the cold when that icy SE wind starts up, like it did on Tuesday.

Yeah, we're about 3 hours south of Winton, in the country where it hasn't rained this year.

Fish was good!

Hooroo,

FollowupID: 580668

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:54

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:54
Been fascinated by the channel country ever since I read Kings in grass castles years ago. Where old Patsy Durack started at Goulburn was a stone throw from my mothers people property. They where the Macormicks.
Don't worry Bob I had the tables turned on me in Tassie a few years ago. Camped on Arthur's lake central highlands at a altitude of 9oo m in Feb. I had flown down so could not take to much clobber.Got up in the morning, and it was freezing, put every item of clothes I had on, and was still cold. Little old lady (local) comes over to me and asks if I have the flu. Now she has a pair of shorts and a short sleeved blouse on. Anyway I replied I could not believe how cold it was, she replied don't be stupid its the middle of Feb. Anyway I walked over to my mate and he checked the temp and it was 2c with a vicious wind blowing.
Those tassies are tough, and I grew up in the high country of the central west of NSW.
Sorry to hear you have had no rain. Brother has three small properties and plants oats all over the place in the hope one lot will get rain. We got 20 mm this week so it will get a start.
FollowupID: 580747