Maximum Towing Capacities

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:22
ThreadID: 59614 Views:15900 Replies:14 FollowUps:28
I find manufacturers stated maximum towing capacities a bit hard to understand.

For example, I have a 120 Prado TD (3 litre) Auto and the Max towing capacity specified by Toyota is 2500kg. However a friend of mine has a late model Jeep Cherokee TD ( also about 3 litre I believe) and it has a rated towing capacity of 3500kg, the same as a 'Cruiser. My friend makes full use of this, towing a humungous caravan.

On the face of it I reckon the Prado is a sturdier, tougher vehicle than the Cherokee, so cannot see much logic in this situation. Is it merely that Toyota adopt a much more conservative line than Jeep, or are there technical and specification reasons for this? Can anyone throw some light on this?

Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:31

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:31
I suspect that it fits in with Toyota, and other manufacturers as to where they want to slot their vehicles into the market.

For instance if they made the Prado 3.5 tonnes, who would buy a LC 200.

A lot of these so called 3.5 tonne capacity only hold good if the GCM isn't exceeded.

So if your GCM is say 5.5 tonnes and the vehicle weighs 2 tonnes bare then you may be able to tow up to 3.5 tonnes. There again load it up like most of us do and the vehicle may weigh up to 2.8 tonnes or so then you can only tow 2.7 tonnes.

Bit od a can of worms this towing, maybe I should go back to me toyota echo and stay in motels??

AnswerID: 314559

Follow Up By: Member - Philip S (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:21

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:21
G'day Notso,

You may well be right and its a marketing thing for Toyota, not to encroach on LC sales.

BTW I presume you mean GTM ( Gross Trale Mass), not GCM?

With the price of diesel where it is you might be right about the Echo and motels. Do I already detect that there are more s/h vans coming on the market, and that prices are easing?

Cheers, Phil
FollowupID: 580598

Follow Up By: Notso - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:37

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:37
Nope, The GCM is the Gross Combination Mass which is the maximum allowable weight of the combination of the trailer and the towing vehicle.

A lot of people overlook this when towing.
FollowupID: 580599

Follow Up By: Member - Philip S (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:22

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:22
I looked at the following URL which defines a lot of the terms, eg ATM, GTM, Tare, etc, but it does not define GCM. I think this page may be pretty old.

Site Link

Does anyone know of a comprehensive and up to date article on this topic?

FollowupID: 580605

Follow Up By: Notso - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:35

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:35
http://www.truelux.com.au/en-us/dept_11.html

Should explain it I think
FollowupID: 580612

Follow Up By: Notso - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:38

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:38
‘GCM’, in relation to a motor vehicle, means the greatest
possible sum of the maximum loaded mass of the motor
vehicle and of any vehicles that may be towed by it at one
time—
(a) that, subject to subsection 8A (1) of the Motor
Traffic Act, is specified by the manufacturer of the
motor vehicle or the Registrar, as the case may be;
or
(b) if the vehicle is registered in a State or another
Territory and the registration authority of that State
or other Territory has specified the sum—that is
specified by that authority;
FollowupID: 580613

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:20

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:20
GCM gross combination mass, full weight of vehicle and fully loaded trailer., With all passengers on board. Col
FollowupID: 580650

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:42

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:42
It's got me knackered too.

My Terracan was a 3.5L V6 Wagon rated to 2.5T.

Now I have a Courier 4L V6 Ute which is a commercial vehicle designed for hard work and it is only rated to 1.8T.

Work that out?

AnswerID: 314564

Reply By: Louie the fly - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:50

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:50
Maybe something to do with coil springs v's leaf springs, unless its a coil spring Cherokee as well. Then I dunno.
AnswerID: 314568

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:57

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:57
The specs I just found say max towing of a coil sprung Jeep Cherokee is around 2800 KG. Thats for a 6spd manual 2.8 turbo diesel. Is your mate's manual or auto? Maybe he's reading the book wrong. lol
FollowupID: 580591

Reply By: Corio - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:07

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:07
I think Notso maybe pretty close to the mark.My HiLux was 2250 but a Navara and Bt50 are 3 tonne.subsequently traded the HiLux on TD100 series to tow my van legally.

AnswerID: 314574

Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:11

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:11
Don't take this as gospel Philip, but I was lead to believe it has a lot to do with braking ability, chassis design (strength), cooling capacity of engine/transmission and GCM (as already mentioned) of the tow vehicle.

I would hazard to guess that any non "ladder frame" chassis vehicle will not have as high a towing capacity as say an older ladder frame chassis vehicle.

Only the manufacturers would know the real reasons why their particular ratings are given though.

How many people want to tow something weighing 3500kg anyway?? I would guess that it would be so few that its not worth the extra engineering and design costs for most manufacturers, hence Toyota only have the biggest vehicle (Landcruiser) in their range with that sort of towing capacity.
AnswerID: 314576

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 01:47

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 01:47
You can also add axle strength and mountings to the list above. The axles and axle tubes are the interface between the transmission and the ground.

The answer to the Jeep Vs others question is that the Jeep uses a DOM tube out from the cast diff centre whereas the others tend to use steel pressings seam welded, which are not as strong.
FollowupID: 580661

Reply By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:44

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:44
I take it you're referring to a V6 3.0 litre TD Jeep Grand Cherokee, that engine produces 510nm of torque and 160kw and is regarded as one of the best tow vehicles on the market. Maximum tongue weight is 325kg

There are technical specs which rate the vehicle as having a 3500kg towing capacity and it's principally the torque of the engine matched to the gearbox combined with it's weight.

I tow a 6 metre boat with mine which weights close to 3 tonne and it makes towing the boat a breeze, the torque of that engine is incredible.

When you compare the Prado it has a 4 cylinder TD enginebut the Jeep has a V6 common rail variable geometry turbo diesel which means the turbo is working even at low revs. The Prado's engine only outputs 127kw and 410nm of torque so there's a bit of difference in the 2 power plants particularly when it comes to towing.

Even though they are both 3.0 litre engines I think to compare the 2 would be like comparing apples and oranges

I believe the Prado's engine and gearbox would really be working hard to tow 3500 tonnes and would be overall better matched to the 2500 tonne rating and I'd suggest that's why Toyota have rated it as they have.

If you compare the cruiser with it's 3500 tonne rating there's a bit of a difference in it's engine to the 3.0 litre Prado.

I wouldn't underestimate a jeeps toughness compared to your Prado. As I've noted other members on this site say, they are a very underestimated vehicle.
AnswerID: 314585

Follow Up By: Member - Philip S (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:09

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:09
Roscoe,
That's pretty definitive - thanks. His vehicle is indeed a TD Grand Cherokee.

(BTW, I also reckon the poor ol' Prado would be working pretty hard pulling 3500 tonnes!)

Thanks to all for your replies and comments.

FollowupID: 580604

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:30

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:30
My std wagon cruiser has 96Kw/285Nm and is rated to tow 3500kg (350kg towball weight).
It's slow when empty, bit more slower with empty trailer, with 2500kg behind it. . . . friggin hell!
But apart from it's performance (or lack of), the big cruiser is like a rock and didn't really feel the weight behind it.
Solid chassiss and shear mass is what makes a good tow vehicle, in my opinion,A HSV commodore has in excess of 300 Kw power,over 500nm of torque, but how would it go dragging 2.5-3.5T?
Shane
FollowupID: 580609

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:22

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:22
I had a grand, what a great 4b apart from the lack of left foot room.
They also do crack in the rear when towing heavy loads, I feel they are over rated in the towing weight but under rated as a 4b.
FollowupID: 580635

Follow Up By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 08:47

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 08:47
Shane D,

My view is that there are some "givens" in the whole issue of tow vehicles the weight of the tow vehicle compared to what is being towed is one of them. An SS Commodore would certainly have the balls but to pull a 2.5 - 3.5 tonne van behind it would be dangerous... they are rated at 2100kg so Holden must consider they are good enough for that weight.

I have seen some towing 20' vans but the owners have set their rigs up right though.

Stu-k,

That's the first time I've heard of one cracking in the rear, the tow ball weight must have been well and truly exceeded? The vehicle would have had to have been continually bottoming out and jarring the heck out of everything surely?

As I mentioned I tow a 3 tonne boat and the vehicle pulls it up steep hills with ease @ 80k/2,000rpm.

I think any manufacturer who overrated their vehicles towing capacity would be leaving themselves open wouldn't they?

FollowupID: 580675

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 12:38

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 12:38
Roscoe,
I have no doubt about the jeep having plenty of power, fantastic motor!
I always thought mine was strong to but I never towed anything either.
To me most cars/4bs are over rated in their towing capacity. I do a lot of towing for work and have seen plenty of autos and other bits bit the dust. I think they rate them for easy freeway driving and not stop start and hill climbs.

Here is a link of a jeep that had towing problems Site Link

FollowupID: 580694

Follow Up By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:52

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:52
Thanks for that site link Stu very interesting. Had a good look at mine and I just can't see how it could happen. My tow bar assembly is bolted to the rear frame by a 1/4' plate and the rear frame looks pretty solid to me.

Maybe they have changed the design since 2005, nevertheless for the tow hitch to pull through the chassis would require enormous force and with a 1/4 backing plate it's hard to image it could happen.

It's interesting that Jeep refused to fix it under warranty yet maintained the line that their camper trailer could not have caused the damage. The problem when people put these posting on forums is that we don't get to hear the other side so readers can't make an informed judgment.

Anyway it hasn't happened to my vehicle and I spend most of my touring on gravel roads. The CRD is my second jeep and the previous one was an 02 V8 which had done just under 140k when I traded it, never had any issues with it. If I hadn't went for test drive in the CRD I'd probably still have it!!
FollowupID: 580725

Follow Up By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:58

Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:58
Stu-k,
Just thought I'd let you know I've been making a few enquiries over the last few days and have ascertained that some of the WG's and the early WH's did have some issues with the tow hitch and associated frame.

I have established that this was not a common problem but the vehicles that suffered the failures were all using weight distribution hitches.

I understand that investigations conducted by Jeep concluded that the tow ball weights on each vehicle would have been either on the limit or in excess of it. Additionally, in circumstances where the vehicle was also loaded to maximum capacity or over and the WDH had been cranked up to compensate for the two situations the WDH would have placed extreme load on the tongue and connections to the chassis thereby eventually causing metal fatigue.

I am advised that Jeep have rectified this problem and all vehicles were re-engineered consequently there have been no such issues since.

At least now I have the other side of the story.

I guess this re-enforces what the manufacturers loading limits are, and that they should not be exceeded. Eventually something must give and that includes the chassis.
FollowupID: 581445

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:21

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:21
Land Rover are rated to 4 tonnes.
AnswerID: 314592

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:23

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:23
Those of you that know the road between Dalby and Chinchilla QLD. There was a flash commodore sedan towing a huge Jayco Heritage. It looked all out of wack. Even the truckies were talking about small cars towing big vans. If the vehicle and towed vehicle isn't sitting level, get it sorted. its dangerous.
While up near Bundy we were following a jayco off road camper that didn't look to healthy travelling at the speed limit. Coming to a T junction they didn't realise it was there and couldn't pull it up. They went straight across the intersection narrowloy missing a couple of tip trucks coming along. We were going over to see if they were ok until we saw the tow vehicle. Rav 4. Thought only got one thing to say to them and we moved on.
AnswerID: 314593

Reply By: kiwicol - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:24

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:24
I think towing capacity is rated on braking ability and chasis strenght, the new LC 200 has a very low towing capcity than what alot of people think. L/C has tried to upgrade the capacity through the federal transport dept without much luck. Same as the heavy transport industry trucks are not trucks when it comes to the weight that brand of vehicle is cabable of carrying, some trucks have the horse power but are not rated for road train for a lot of reasons, ie air supply to start with for the brake sysytem. The average lay persom has no idea what a vehicle is able to tow or stop safely,as goes for the main stream caravan sales person selling vans not able to be towed safely behind a big percentage of a lot of tow vehicles. All the above comments are the writers veiw and may not be fact. Col
AnswerID: 314595

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:03

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:03
Not sure I follow your comment about the LC200 towing capacity being a lot less than people think...??? It is well known and published at 3500kg and well within it's liimits but what the hell has that got to do with the debate about the towing capacities of the Prado and a Jeep Cherokee....???
FollowupID: 580625

Follow Up By: jomah - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:13

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:13
cant see your point here kiwicol. I was not aware the caravan salesman is responsible to ensure the van purchaser has a good tow vehicle. Suffice that he/she ensures the purchaser has a legal tow vehicle.If the govt regulations state that a certain vehicle can tow a stated weight then wheres the problem? if its legal then go ahead and do it.
FollowupID: 580630

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:04

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:04
Jomah,fair statement, but tow ball weight is what is real ,if a van is at the max of a vehicles tow ball weight then yhe vevicle is not capable to tow that unit. Start putting in what most people carry in a van then the equation goes out the window. Its my understanding of tow ball weight and axle weights to be the max you can carry. If you where in the transport industry and carry over GVM as do most 4b4 and caravans you would goe broke as the fines for over weight per ale are horrendous. Qld per tonne over weight is about $1000 per tonne. If these figures and rules where applied to our pleasure there would be howls of disgust, but the old trucky has to wear them. Col
FollowupID: 580647

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:16

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:16
Hi Don, published and legal weights 2 different things start putting ball weights into the equation and everything changes. The debate is very broad as i would think a cruiser would have a better towing capacity than a Landrover ( no offense ) but the rover has one of the best ball and towing capcities around. Braking capacity is paramount , rotor size and diameter, and the amont of pistons in the calipor, and pressure comes into the equation. Col
FollowupID: 580649

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 07:09

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 07:09
Col,
You have lost me a bit in the area of published and legal weights. I have (obviously) a LC200 TTD and will be towing a 2200kg van.
Now as long as I am not stupid, I will never have the van loaded to weigh more than 2600kg. This will increase the load reasonably proportionally over the axles but will not, again if I pack it properly, add anything much at all to the tow ball weight.
The LC200 is rated for 3500kg and the towball weight of the tow bar is rated at 350kg. The van has a tow ball weight of 215kg as standard. What am I missing??
Oh and the LC200 develops 650Nm of torque all the way from 1200rpm to 3600rpm and no less than 400Nm from 600rpm to 4000rpm.
FollowupID: 580667

Follow Up By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 09:09

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 09:09
This is probably getting away from the original question on this thread but what you say about not being stupid and making sure you load your van correctly is paramount in the whole issue of towing I see too many people overload their vehicles, their vans and pull rigs that are not level; a recipe for disaster.

All they need is a blowout on the vehicle or van and disaster awaits...physics are against them.

Maybe I'm being a bit pedantic but I have a set of bathroom scales and I weight everything that goes in my van and vehicle so I make sure I am always within the specs. I can check the ball weight with the scales as well and knowing what weighs what I can balance everything up very well.

I also have a weight distribution hitch and an anti sway device as a safety measure.

By the way your LC200 is a top tow vehicle for what you are pulling, those torque ranges are excellant.
FollowupID: 580679

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 09:50

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 09:50
Hey Roscoe,
Your set up is level just like ours. The caravan sales person should know what he is selling as there is a lot of people out there that are confused with GVM TARE TOW BALL weights. Our Prado has a higher tow ball weight than our 80 series. There are a lot of experts out there but realy common sense prevales usally.
Sharon
FollowupID: 580685

Follow Up By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:02

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:02
Sharon,
The key is making sure you have the right vehicle for your set up, keeping them level, watch the tow ball weight, don't overload both the vehicle and van, use a weight distribution hitch and anti sway bar, don't tow too fast and I reckon you'll keep yourself safe; and it all come down to common sense.

I'll have to update that photo too I don't have the Jayco anymore I upgraded to a full off road van just a few weeks ago but the set up is level.
FollowupID: 580733

Reply By: Member - AVA 191 (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:29

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:29
Philip's question is one I've always wondered about also.

In it's starkest form, compare my Avalanche wagon to a 10 year old Falcon sedan

Wagon is 270kw/475nm/all wheel drive/ humungous brakes/ huge tyres/long wheel base/ estimated 2"wider track front and rear.
Rated 2100kg. towing

Base Falcon sedan appx 180kw/appx 380nm/2wd/skinny brakes/skinny tyres.
Rated 2300kg towing. - legally

Go figure!
(this is not a Holden vs Ford post - it's much more serious than that).

I've towed our 1900kg rig over the last decade with an 80 series, a 2.7CRD Grand Cherro and now the Ava wagon. With an incident in Victoria when using the Cruiser, where there was a whoopsy in the highway (like a pot hole but with the bitumen in tact), there is no way in the world I would tow this weight with a 2wd!! The deisel Cruiser, due to ample mass and constant 4wd, was just able to pull the rig out of the sway (more power would have helped!!)

The official legal tow weights of many vehicles defy common sense - as others have inferred above.

AnswerID: 314597

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 02:00

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 02:00
Interesting one for you

Kia Sportage 2002

Tare 1640kg
GVM 2390kg (ie 750kg in the vehicle!)
Ball weight 120kg
Trailer weight 1850kg

2 litre, 94kW, 175Nm

Towed a "healthy"(may have been a bit overweight) 12' x 6' x 7' furniture trailer MEL-TSV in 38 degree heat/30 kt headwind 2500km in two and a half days. Did well apart from around Dubbo in "hot and high" conditions, limiting the available power from the engine.
FollowupID: 580662

Reply By: Russell [SA] - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:33

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 19:33
I'm not sure where I read it but I understand the Pajero is rated at 2.5 in Australia and 3.2 in New Zealand. It was said that the braking system and average temperatures in Australia caused the manufacturers to down grade the capacity.

There's the rub, its the plated values (van and car) are the things that count for legal and insurance purposes.

Russell
AnswerID: 314599

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 13:37

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 13:37
Russell I think that is a very valid point, take the vehicle outside its design limitations and have an accident and it all gets very messy for you.
FollowupID: 580699

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 16:38

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 16:38
From above,

Don't take this as gospel Philip, but I was lead to believe it has a lot to do with braking ability, chassis design (strength), cooling capacity of engine/transmission and GCM (as already mentioned) of the tow vehicle.

This person has stated the correct reasons for the rating on vehicles.
The Manufacturer makes these limits so that the tow vehicle will be able to handle the weight within limits.

There are in some cases max speed limits placed on vehicles when towing. EG. Volvo 80kph when towing the full capacity. See this months Caravan World.

The problem is that many exceed these limits.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 314690

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:21

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:21
Something else that people forget when towing is that the Ball weight is part of your load in the towing vehicle.
EG towing vehicles load capacity is say 600kg
Ball weight is 300kg.
Therefore you can only load 300kg in the vehicle or you are illegal.
Just something to think about
AnswerID: 314693

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 23:08

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 23:08
I cant remember the exact figures but listening to the fellas down our local 4x4 shop they were chatting about this stuff and they mentioned the 100 series loaded with camping gear then you put 4 fellas in the car makes it over loaded. Its a scary thought when it comes to insurance companies rejecting a claim.
FollowupID: 580956

Follow Up By: jdbb - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 09:27

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 09:27
You are right about most people choosing to ignore the fact that ball weight is part of the payload Graham. I had this discussion with a van salesman last week and his version that apparently came from their industry body was that the only numbers that mattered were the max. towing capacity and and max. tow ball weight for the towing vehicle.

I tried to explain that in addition to a number of other restrictions, what you can tow is dependent on GVM, GTM and GCVM. Given that GTM is the weight on the trailer wheels, and GCVM is the combined weight on the tow vehicle and trailer wheels, it follows that GVM is the weight on the tow vehicle wheels which must include the weight on the tow ball.

Can you point me at any published material that will support my argument?

FollowupID: 580981

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:22

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:22
Cant find it a the mo.
However from the Toyota owners hadbook it states this.

The gross vehicle weight must not exceed the following

The gross vehicle weight is the sum of the unloaded vhicle, all occupants, luggage, hitch and trailer tongue load IE ball weight.

max load 1HD-FTE 3260kg

Distributed load on axles of above must not exceed
Front 1630kg
Rear 1950kg

Another thing that a lot of people seem to think is that if your vehicle can legally tow 2,500kg and you buy a van that has a GVM of 2600kg you can just not load it up by not filling the water tanks and its ok.
ITS NOT.
What the law means is that you may not tow a van that has a plated GVM that is greater than your vehicles legal towing weight.

I made the mistake of buying the car first and bought a Patrol 3l auto, rated towing cap 2500kg. I then bought a Roadstar van with a GVM of 2564kg.
Result I had to change the tow vehicle to stay legal.
Now have a croozer and have uprated the GVM of the van to 2800kg so as to be able to get everything needed in ok.
I still however have to watch that I dont exceed the GCVM
FollowupID: 581005

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 13:34

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 13:34
This site has some enlightening articles on towing ,weights and suspensions etc

http://www.lets-getaway.com/index.htm

Specifically here

http://www.lets-getaway.com/caravan-complianceplates.htm
AnswerID: 314955