9505A doesn't like Next G SIM...huh ??
Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:47
Member - Footloose
My wife's Next G SIM goes great guns in a 9500 satphone. But put the same SIM into a 9505A and it says check SIM or something...tried every way I could but no go. Very strange as I've read the threads and they say it should be right.
Had a quick dekko and part of the simcard appears covered when slipped into the SIM holder.
What have I done wrong ? (apart from getting up this morning:)
Reply By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:58
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:58
G'day Footy,
Is the SIM card going in the right way? I had a bit of a stuff-up when I first put the SIM card in my 9505a - totally different way of putting it in the holder. I'm not sure of the 9500 - but the 9505a holders has the sim card face down (contacts down) with the notched corner facing towards the centre of the phone. Once the SIM card carrier is put back flat you have to slide it across to the right to lock it in.
I'm probably telling you how to suck eggs but if it works in the 9500 it should work no worries in the 9505a as you obviously know!
Tim
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:45
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 18:45
Tim, thanks for the response. I'll have another go at it (as soon as I can nick her sim again ...my phone is optus :)
Even though I might "know" something, sometimes a gentle prod is all that one needs to work out the obvious.
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 16:16
Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 16:16
I knew that there was a problem. The simcard holder isn't locking properly...looks like the previous owner was a tad heavy handed. I had to put a bit of bubble wrap between the sim holder and the battery to make it work...but work it did ! (Ve haf vays )