LPG prices

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 20:04
ThreadID: 59622 Views:2762 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
We are approaching that time of the year when Northern hemisphere LNG/LPG re-stocking will shortly take place for their coming winter and energy in whatever form is being repriced in terms of new contracts.
I expect a price shock soon for those used to low 60c/L LPG and it might reach 80-90 in Melbourne on the back of increased exports/reduced domestic supply before long and much higher prices outback.
We are lucky that gas (in whatever form) in Oz is so cheap BUT the good times wont last too much longer

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 20:24

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 20:24
Dave,

I haven't seen it over 70 cents for two years.

Sure, it used to be 20 cents/L but Petrol was only 80.

It only seems to vary by about 10 cents from season to season.

On the whole, it is so cheap as to make any other fuel choice irrelevant.

AnswerID: 314609

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:06

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:06
I know Jim,
But NG in Oz is around 1/3 the world price and that can't last surely.
I converted a V6 Peugeot to LPG many years ago and my fuel cost savings was around $12000 on a vehicle that I bought for $7500 in 1985 so I was an early convert.
I just think we need to be prepared price shocks in all gas in the coming months/years
FollowupID: 580627

Follow Up By: zumzum - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 10:20

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 10:20
Did you see the price in Kangaroo Island (SA) ??? 99.9 C. !!!
FollowupID: 580686

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:59

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:59
G'day David,

was that a 604? The old man had one for a while back in the eighties. Great car, but a bit thirsty after the 504. Luxury with sunroof, leather and power windows, like a millionaire we felt. Always had great seats and brakes those pugs.
FollowupID: 580788

Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 20:34

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 20:34
Guys

Using the northern hemisphere winter restocking as an excuse to up the prices of LPG is a crock!
Australia sells HUGE amounts of LPG and LNG to China. Our domestic consumption is but a small blip in the scheme of things. We're giving it to China for 5 cents a litre!
AnswerID: 314610

Follow Up By: Charlie - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 16:40

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 16:40
I'm not sure about SA but WA exports LPG whilst the eastern states inports needs from the middle east which is why the price is set by the middle east. My local servo has LNG on tap is just you can't buy a car that runs it!
FollowupID: 580714

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:23

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:23
re- LNG. any car that can be fitted with sequential LPG can also be fitted with CNG, around $500 more than an LPG system.

different tank / convertor / injectors, and NO REBATE, so there's another $2000.

And once the Phill home compressors are approved (about 2 months off) you can fill it overnight at home, but the unit will cost about $6000.

At the moment unless you are driving a vehicle flat out all day (courier etc) its not viable to go CNG with home fill.

How much is the LNG selling for?

cheers Brad.
FollowupID: 580752

Reply By: jomah - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 20:54

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 20:54
Im not sure you are qualified to make these types of statements are you David? The cycle of pre winter stocking has been occuring for years so why should this year be any different? Are you just shyt stirring or are you a prophet of DAG (doom and gloom)?
AnswerID: 314616

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:19

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:19
Many years of observation,
The fuel companies have usually raised LPG prices to 50% of petrol at that time of the year which on current prices equals 80 plus cpl.
Best to be prepared for reality, that's globalisation in trade for you and we all have to compete for energy now
FollowupID: 580632

Reply By: Warrie - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:16

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:16
Check out this site: http://www.lpgaustralia.com.au/displaycommon.cfm?an=1&subarticlenbr=11
This gives the international price for LPG since Jan 2000. The bad news is that it keeps going up. Yes it fluctuates seasonally - up in the northern winter and down in their summer. With all the kerfuffle re petrol prices lately, I haven't heard one report about switching to LPG. Wayne Swan will give you a 2 grand rebate and you can fill up at 65cpl while the bowser next to you has ULP at $1.65 and diesel at nearly $1.90. Here's another thought,LPG is going to stay cheap for a while yet as there simply isn't the demand like there is for petrol. Even if everybody wanted to switch to LPG it would take years to convert the entire Aust car fleet. And maybe if China put our LPG into Beijing's car fleet the air would be a bit cleaner too. Cheers, Warrie
Warrie

AnswerID: 314632

Reply By: kcandco - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 16:52

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 16:52

65 cents a litre. I just wish it was so. We haven't seen auto gas in Bundaberg at 65 cents since september 2006. Presently it is 78 here. A friend who has been all over Aus in the last few months says Bundaberg is one of the dearest places he has seen for gas. Why is this so???

Kc
AnswerID: 314691

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:29

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:29
We get it cheaper because its piped from Bass Strait direct to Melbourne and because its where the industry started and Vic was the LPG capital of Oz
FollowupID: 580777

Follow Up By: jomah - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:55

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:55
Mate,
I lived in Bundy for years and it was not only LPG that was dear; all fuel was. Why is it so? Who knows; maybe it is all the cashed up pensioners that live there push up the price. The wrinklies are wrolling in it!(dont tell my mother in law I said that or she might reposses her daughter.)Then again; you know; now that I think about it.......
FollowupID: 580787